CTNF 19/194,390 CTNF 91131 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 04/30/2025. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US 6,059,068) . Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses a method to control a steer-by-wire steering system of a road vehicle, the steer-by-wire steering system including a feedback actuator (3) to apply a feedback torque to a steering wheel (2) and a road wheel actuator (5) to turn steerable road wheels (10), the method comprising: a. calculating a feedback actuator output torque; and b. when degradation of the steer-by-wire-steering system (overload state) occurs or an end of life of the steer-by-wire-steering system is detected, limiting the feedback actuator output torque by a limiter with a non-linear scaling function (see at least fig. 1, column 2, lines 9-25). Regarding claim 2, Kato further discloses wherein in step b, the feedback actuator output torque is limited only if the feedback actuator output torque is above a first threshold (column 2, lines 9-25). Regarding claim 3, Kato further discloses wherein the non-linear scaling function depends on the feedback actuator output torque value (see at least fig. 5). Regarding claim 4, Kato further discloses wherein a limitation of the limiter increases non-linearly with increasing feedback actuator output torque (fig. 1). Regarding claim 5, Kato further discloses wherein the limited feedback actuator output torque increases monotonously with increasing steering wheel angle (fig. 1). Regarding claim 6, Kato further discloses wherein below a first threshold value, no limitation takes effect (fig. 1). Regarding claim 7, Kato further discloses wherein above a second threshold, the limited feedback actuator output torque is a predefined maximum value (fig. 1). Regarding claim 8, Kato further discloses wherein step b includes reducing a speed of the road vehicle (column 1 line 50 – column 2 line 25). Regarding claim 9, Kato further discloses wherein step b includes adjusting a nonlinear scaling function over time in a case of one side failure of the feedback actuator or adjusting the nonlinear scaling function according to a degree of degradation to further reduce the feedback actuator output torque (fig. 1, fig. 5). Regarding claim 10, Kato further discloses a steer-by-wire steering system for a road vehicle configured or programmed to carry out the method according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to XIAO EN MO whose telephone number is (571)272-9970. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9-5:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Logan Kraft can be reached at 571-270-5065. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /XIAO EN MO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/194,390 Page 2 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/194,390 Page 3 Art Unit: 3747 Application/Control Number: 19/194,390 Page 4 Art Unit: 3747