DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Independent claims 1 and 13 recite a liquid filtration system. In each of claims 1 and 13 the filter subsystem is recited as being “capable of attachment to a container opening of a container”. Thus, claims 1 and 13 are interpreted as not including the container as the container is recited as an intended use of the claimed invention. Similarly, claim 28 is directed to a filtration system comprising a threaded attachment mechanism configured to secure attachment of a filter subsystem to a container. The filter subsystem and container are interpreted as an intended use for the threaded attachment mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17, 20 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites a filter subsystem capable of attachment to threads at a container opening. Thus, it is clear the container is not being positively recited as part of the system. However, lines 8-9 recite the filter media, when installed, resides at the container opening. It is unclear if the limitation of the filter media being installed is required by the claim. Such a limitation requires the container to be present in order for the filter media to be located as claimed. Therefore, it is unclear if the container is part of the claimed invention or not. For examination purposes, the container is assumed to not be part of the claimed invention.
Claim 28 recites a liquid filtration system comprising a threaded attachment mechanism “capable of direct engagement to threads at a threaded opening of a container holding a liquid containing microplastic particulates”. It does not appear that the container holding a liquid containing microplastic particulates is being positively recited as part of the filtration system. It is unclear if this element is meant to be positively recited as part of the claimed invention or if it recited as an intended use of the claimed invention. Also, lines 5-12 recite the filter media, when installed, is positioned in at least one of a neck of the container opening or into a body of the container. It is unclear if the limitation of the filter media being installed is required by the claim. Such a limitation requires the container to be present in order for the filter media to be located as claimed. Therefore, it is unclear if the container is part of the claimed invention or not. For examination purposes, any limitations in the claim directed to the container or the orientation of the filter subsystem to the container do not provide any further structural limitations to the claimed system.
The additional claims are rejected as depending from one of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nohren US 6,193,886.
Claim 13, Nohren teaches a filtration system comprising: a filter subsystem (10) capable of attachment to a container opening of a container and configured to receive water through a filter media (14, 29) of the filter subsystem, and an attachment mechanism (18) comprising the filter subsystem and only one instance of threads (22) dedicated to and capable of direct engagement of the filter subsystem to the threads at the container opening wherein, when installed, the filter media is configured to reside at the container opening, the attachment mechanism further comprises an internal opening and an external opening distal to the internal opening, the internal opening enables access by the filter media of the filter subsystem to fluid in the container, the filter media configured and installed to filter fluid, the external opening enable external access to filtered fluid passed through the filter subsystem (fig. 1, abstract).
Claims 14-17, Nohren further teaches the filter media is configured to filter micro-plastic particulates from the fluid as the fluid is pushed or drawn through the filter subsystem (fig. 1, abstract); the filter media is a carbon cylindrical filter (29) configured to filter micro-particulates (fig. 1, abstract, col. 6, lines 22-44); the attachment mechanism is compatible with container threads of a container and is configured to secure directly over a container opening via the container threads (fig. 1); and the filter media is of a filter cartridge configured to extend into a container opening in a neck portion of the container (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miga US 2009/0145839.
Claim 1, Miga teaches a filtration system comprising: a filter subsystem (22) capable of direct attachment to a container opening of a container, and when installed, the filter subsystem further comprises a filter media (47) configured to receive a liquid therethrough, and an attachment mechanism having threads (28) configured for direct engagement to compatible container threads and when installed the threads enable attachment of the filter subsystem in direct insertion alignment to a container opening and when installed a portion of the filter media is capable of extending into the container opening while a different portion of the filter media resides outside the container opening, the attachment mechanism further comprises the filter subsystem having an internal opening, and an external opening distal from the internal opening, the internal opening enable access of the filter media to a liquid within the container, the external opening enables external access of the filter subsystem to filter liquid passed through the filter subsystem (fig. 3, par 38).
Claims 10 and 12, Miga further teaches an inner cover (23) installed over the external opening (fig. 3); and the attachment mechanism and filter subsystem are polymers and therefore considered recyclable and are either replaceable or disposable (fig. 3, par 35).
Claim(s) 28 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being ancipated by Hull et al. US 2011/0278206.
Claim 28, Hull teaches a filtration system comprising: a threaded attachment mechanism (50) comprising a filter subsystem (156), the threaded attachment mechanism further having only one set of threads (55) dedicated to and capable of direct engagement to threads at a threaded opening of a container, and when installed, the filter subsystem comprises a filter cartridge having a top end cap (168) and a bottom endcap (162), the top endcap and bottom end cap configured to support a filter media (158) having a central conduit therebetween to pass liquid, the threaded attachment mechanism further configured to receive the bottom end cap thereinto, in that the filter subsystem is inserted into the threaded attachment mechanism, and into the container opening, and further configured to receive the top end cap in abutment and proximate the container opening, where the abutment results in the filter media capable of being positioned in a neck of the container (fig. 1-28). The recitation of the container holding a liquid containing microplastic particulates is a recitation of an intended use of the system and does not provide any further structural limitations to the system.
Claim 20, Hull further teaches the attachment mechanism is compatible with threads of a threaded opening manufactured into a container and the attachment mechanism is configured to secure the filter subsystem over the container opening to filter water within the container (fig. 1-28). The recitation of the container being plastic does not provide any further structural limitations to the system but Hull does teach a plastic container (par 106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miga US 2009/0145839.
Claim 2, Miga teaches the system of claim 1 and filters (47, 48, 49) which will capture particulates but does not teach the size of particulates the filter is configured to filter. The recitation of the filter being configured to capture micro-particulates is a recitation of a size of the pores of the filter material, which is a well-established result effective variable of a filter material to achieve the desired filtering effect. The recitation of the size of particles is merely an optimization of the pore size to achieve the desired filtering effect of the fluid to be filtered. [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
Claim 3, Miga further teaches the filter media is a carbon filter media (47) but does not teach the media being cylindrical or the size of particulates the filter is configured to filter. The recitation of the media being cylindrical is a recitation of the shaped of the media. The configuration of the apparatus is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (1966). The recitation of the filter being configured to capture micro-particulates is a recitation of a size of the pores of the filter material, which is a well-established result effective variable of a filter material to achieve the desired filtering effect. The recitation of the size of particles is merely an optimization of the pore size to achieve the desired filtering effect of the fluid to be filtered. [W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nohren teaches multiple threaded instances to get the filter attached to the Nohren container, the top (31) threaded to the container threads and threads (33) of the filter housing into the top (31). Nohren does not teach any other threads that connect the filter housing to the top but rather seals (28). Even if the filter housing were attached to the top by threads, Nohren would still meet the claim limitations because there are only one instance of threads (21) dedicated to and capable of direct engagement to the threads of the container (fig. 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779