DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, it is unclear what exactly the reference element is. The Applicant argues it is a physical, structural element; however, the specification notes that it can be an image having measurement lines (such as a ruler generated by a display) that is used to compare/measure height or other relevant data (Par. 0087-0088). The reference element is not shown in the drawings. Further clarification is needed by the applicant. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting this as something that can be used to measure/compare the relevant data to.
Claims 2-3 are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeBusschere (US 20170296119 A1).
In regards to claim 1, DeBusschere discloses an apparatus for capturing a video of a human patient suitable for monitoring a cardiac, respiratory or cardiorespiratory condition (Abstract), the apparatus comprising:
an electronic imager (Par. 0042 teaches an imaging camera), the imager positionable with respect to a neck of the patient to be able to capture electronic video of the neck of the patient (Par. 0045 discloses the neck can be imaged and recorded);
a locator object external to the body of the patient, the locator object structured to be repeatedly stably positionable on the body of the patient with respect to an anatomic location on a torso of the patient, the locator object being connected to the imager (The Applicant’s specification details the locator object as an adjustable object that can contain sensors and be worn by the subject/placed on the subject. Par. 0024 of DeBusschere teaches an abdominal pressure cuff [108] located on the torso of the patient); and
a reference element, the reference element being positionable with respect to the neck of the patient by positioning of the locator object; wherein the reference element has predetermined dimensions that render a height of the column of blood in a jugular vein of the patient with respect to at least one of the patient's sternal angle and another grossly immobile anatomic feature of the patient's torso determinable by a computer processor from the captured electronic video (Fig 1 and Par. 0032 teach there being a line [118] that measurement data is compared to/measured by; see also U.S.C. 112b rejection above. Par. 0050-0051 discloses using the imaging/recordings of the neck against the reference to determine the height of the blood that rises in the jugular vein);
In regards to claim 3, DeBusschere discloses the apparatus of claim 1 wherein the height of the column of blood in the jugular vein of the patient with respect to at least one of the patient's sternal angle and another grossly immobile anatomic feature of the patient's upper body is determinable by the computer processor from the captured electronic video without having reference to a different image of the neck of the patient and without requiring the imager having been fixed in a precise position with respect to the neck of the patient at the time that the electronic video was captured (Par. 0093 discloses processor means [710]. Par. 0050-0051 discloses using the imaging/recordings of the neck against the reference to determine a height of the blood that rises in the jugular vein. Fig 1 also shows the imager can be a phone which would not have to be in a fixed position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeBusschere in view of Rogers (US 20210113099 A1)
In regards to claim 2, DeBusschere discloses the apparatus of claim 1, except for wherein another grossly immobile anatomic feature of the patient's torso is one of a patent's clavicular head, suprasternal notch, and sternum.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rogers discloses a medical sensing device (Abstract) that can take relevant measurements and images of the of the user (Par. 0110) wherein the device is places on the suprasternal notch (Par. 0106 and Fig 2) in order to allow for accelerometric measurement of both the chest and neck.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of DeBusschere and modified them by having the device sit within a suprasternal notch of the patient, as taught and suggested by Rogers, in order to allow for accelerometric measurement of both the chest and neck.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12295707 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the same subject matter. The claims of the application under examination and claims of the other application/patent are not consonant with the restriction requirement made by the examiner, since the claims have been changed in material respects from the claims at the time the requirement was made.
Conclusion
/S.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796