DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 16 discloses “the operator control device provides dynamic stability to the operator by permitting the operator to use the handle to provide a bracing force during forward, stopping, and reversing operations of the lift truck”. Claim 17 discloses “the bracing force does not cause the operator control device to move”. The bracing force is provided by an operator thus a human organism is positively claimed. Claim 18 discloses “the bracing force travels through an arm and large muscle group of the operator”. Claim 18 positively claims an arm and muscle groups on an operator. The bracing force is created by a user applying a force to the handle as outlined in Paragraph 0083. Paragraph 0083 recites "the operator 20 can push against the operator control device 100 with his or her hand 22 (in some examples, primarily through the palm of the hand 22) to provide a bracing force (represented by arrow 830) in opposition to the stopping force 810." The operator is viewed as being a human organism because the claims recite human elements such as a wrist, a hand, an arm, fingers, a thumb, and shoulder muscles, and the user must be present for bracing force(s) to be created/present. While other claims include language to human body parts, they are located in intended use/functional language limitations thus the only the capability of a human body part needs to be present to meet the claim limitation. The Applicant is advised to either cancel the claims or amend the claims such that the claim limitations are a part of an intended use/functional language limitation such as --wherein the bracing force is configured to be directed through an arm and large muscle groups of the operator--, and --wherein the bracing force is configured to travel through an arm and large muscle group of the operator--. The Applicant is also advised to focus on the structure of the operator control device itself and not to how the user interacts with the operator control device.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0078, recites “the handle 112” which should be amended to recite --the handle 110-- in light of the language of Paragraph 0076.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lift truck" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Should lines 5-6 be amended to recite --the vehicle--? The limitation is also in claim 12.
The term "ergonomically" in claim 1, line 10, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "ergonomically" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as ergonomic may not be the same as what another person considers as ergonomic thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
Claim 1, lines 12-14, recites “one or more vehicle control features arranged on the handle such that all of the vehicle control features are within reach of an operator's fingers or thumbs while the operator's hands remain on the ergonomic upper surfaces of the handle” which is indefinite because hands come in various sizes thus it is unclear how position of the one or more control features changes based on that fact. Furthermore, how the operator’s hand(s) grasp the handle may change thus altering the location of a user’s fingers or thumbs which would also affect the position of the one or more control features.
The term "ergonomic" in claim 1, line 14, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "ergonomically" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as ergonomic may not be the same as what another person considers as ergonomic thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
Claim 6, line 7, recites “a vehicle” which is indefinite because it is unclear what the difference is between the vehicle from claim 6 and the materials-handling vehicle from claim 1, line 1. Should line 7 be amended to recite --the vehicle--?
The phrase "approximately about 45 degrees" in claim 10, line 2 and lines 2-3, is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase "approximately about 45 degrees" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as approximately about 45 degrees may not be the same as what another person considers as approximately about 45 degrees thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined. Furthermore, the term "approximately" before the word "about" also introduces a clarity issue as to exactly what the angle is.
Claim 12, lines 1-2, recites “wherein the handle is configured to direct bracing forces to stabilize the operator during movement of the lift truck through the handle upper surfaces and through both arms and large muscle groups of the operator's torso” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the handle itself performs this function. What structure of the handle must be present to meet this limitation? Can any handle direct bracing forces to stabilize the operator? Furthermore, what constitutes movement of the lift truck? Lift trucks can move in various ways along with movement of the forks.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the vehicle" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the Applicant trying to refer to the man-up lift truck from line 1 of claim 13?
Claim 17, lines 1-2, recites “the bracing force does not cause the operator control device to move” which is indefinite because it is unclear how the bracing force from the Applicant has to be implemented to meet the claim limitation. The bracing force comes from the operator, and the positioning of the operator is variable given the various shapes and sizes of operator’s. How must the operator control device be structured to meet this claim limitation? The metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
The term "ergonomically" in claim 21, line 2, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "ergonomically" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as ergonomic may not be the same as what another person considers as ergonomic thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
The term "ergonomic" in claim 26, line 5, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "ergonomically" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as ergonomic may not be the same as what another person considers as ergonomic thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the handle" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The phrase “dynamic stability” in claim 29, line 2, is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “dynamic stability” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person considers as dynamic may not be the same as what another person considers as dynamic thus the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be determined.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the bracing force" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the handle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 20-24, 26, 27, 29, and 30, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schroder et al. (US 7,278,509 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Schroder et al. discloses an operator control device for a materials-handling vehicle (1), said operator control device comprising:
a handle (8, 22a; see Figures 2 and 7) pivotably arranged on a support structure (9; see Figure 6) so as to pivot about a pivot point (the axial centerline of 9), wherein said support structure is configured to be secured to the vehicle such that a horizontal and a vertical position of the pivot point is substantially fixed with respect to the lift truck during operation of the vehicle (9 is fixed to 1), wherein movement of the handle around the pivot point is the only movement of the handle permitted by the arrangement of the handle on the support structure;
the handle comprising left (46, 46a) and right (48, 48a) handle portions, wherein each of the left and right handle portions comprises an upper surface (top surfaces of the left and right handles as shown in Figures 2 and 7) contoured to ergonomically support a hand of an operator (as best understood, the viewed upper surfaces are contoured in a manner to be considered as being ergonomic to a hand of an operator); and
one or more vehicle control features (60, 62, 64, 66, 70, 72, 74, 78, 52a, 54a, 68a, 70a, 72a, 74a) arranged on the handle such that all of the vehicle control features are within reach of an operator's fingers or thumbs while the operator's hands remain on the ergonomic upper surfaces of the handle (hands of operators come in various sizes thus the viewed vehicle control features are viewed as being within the reach of an operator’s fingers or thumbs).
Regarding claim 2, Schroder et al. discloses that each of the left and right handles comprises one or more of the vehicle control features (Column 7 / Lines 3-15) configured to control different vehicle operations (the right control element 54a is used for example for lifting and lowering the load-carrier on the mast of the not shown industrial truck. The left control element 52a is used for example for not named additional functions; Column 7 / Lines 12-15) from the one or more vehicle control features located on the other one of the left and right handles.
Regarding claim 3, Schroder et al. discloses that the rotation of the handle about the pivot point is configured to steer the vehicle (Column 3 / Line 60 – Column 4 / Line 14).
Regarding claim 4, Schroder et al. discloses that the one or more operations of the vehicle are selected from the group comprising: a throttle operation, a lift operation (the right control element 54a is used for example for lifting and lowering the load-carrier on the mast of the not shown industrial truck; Column 7 / Lines 12-14), a horn operation, an auxiliary function.
Regarding claim 5, Schroder et al. discloses a thumb switch (54a) configured to be operated by the operator's thumb to operate a lift function of the vehicle (the right control element 54a is used for example for lifting and lowering the load-carrier on the mast of the not shown industrial truck; Column 7 / Lines 12-14), wherein pushing on an upper portion (the surface that the leader line from 54a points to in Figure 7) of the thumb switch raises the lift and wherein pushing on a lower portion (the surface of 54a closest to 70 as shown in Figure 7) of the thumb switch lowers the lift.
Regarding claim 7, Schroder et al. discloses that the thumb switch **[can be operated to control the lift function while the vehicle is being operated in a forward or reverse direction]**.
Regarding claim 8, Schroder et al. discloses that the handle is biased in a neutral position (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Schroder et al. discloses that the handle can be rotated counterclockwise about the pivot point to initiate a left-turn operation of the vehicle and wherein the handle can be rotated clockwise about the pivot point to initiate a right-turn operation of the vehicle (the steering wheel operates in a conventional manner thus meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Schroder et al. discloses that the handle is configured to pivot up to approximately about 45 degrees in a clockwise direction and up to approximately about 45 degrees in a counter-clockwise direction about the pivot point (100 and 102 are fixed stops which limit rotation of the steering wheel, and 104 is an angle limiting means which limits the steering angle of the steering transmission ratio device; in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, the fixed stops are viewed as meeting the claim limitation because they stop rotation of the steering wheel at it predetermined position; see claim 2).
Regarding claim 11, Schroder et al. discloses that a speed of a turning operation of the vehicle is varied in a non-linear relationship based on an amount by which the handle is rotated about the pivot point (Column 3 / Line 60 – Column 4 / Line 19; see the bottom non-linear line in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Schroder et al. discloses that the handle is **[configured to direct bracing forces to stabilize the operator during movement of the lift truck through the handle upper surfaces and through both arms and large muscle groups of the operator's torso]**.
Regarding claim 20, Schroder et al. discloses a materials-handling vehicle (1) comprising:
a lift (11) configured to move up and down to enable picking and placing loads at various heights;
an operator control device (8, 22a; see Figures 2 and 7) arranged in a control panel (the dashboard of 6) and configured to control throttle and lift operations of the vehicle (the right control element 54a is used for example for lifting and lowering the load-carrier on the mast of the not shown industrial truck; Column 7 / Lines 12-14);
the operator control device comprising a handle (8, 22a; see Figures 2 and 7) arranged on a support (9; see Figure 6) in a manner that permits the handle to rotate about a pivot point (the axial centerline of 9), wherein the support is rigidly affixed to the vehicle in a manner that maintains the pivot point in a fixed position with respect to the vehicle during operation of the vehicle (9 is fixed to 1); and
one or more control features (60, 62, 64, 66, 70, 72, 74, 78, 52a, 54a, 68a, 70a, 72a, 74a) arranged on the handle to control one or more operations of the vehicle, wherein the one or more control features are configured to be operated by a finger or thumb of the operator without requiring movement of an operator's hand from an operating position on the operator control device (hands of operators come in various sizes thus the viewed vehicle control features are viewed as being within the reach of an operator’s fingers or thumbs);
wherein rotating the handle about the pivot point initiates an operation (movement of 1) of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 21, Schroder et al. discloses that the handle comprises an upper surface (top surfaces of the left and right handles as shown in Figures 2 and 7) configured to ergonomically support a hand of an operator (as best understood, the viewed upper surfaces are contoured in a manner to be considered as being ergonomic to a hand of an operator).
Regarding claim 22, Schroder et al. discloses that the handle provides dynamic stability to the operator by permitting the operator to use the handle to provide a bracing force during forward, plugging, and reverse operations of the vehicle, wherein the bracing force is configured to be activated by a large muscle group of the operator (an operator can brace themselves on the steering wheel thus is viewed as meeting the claim limitation; the claim provides no structure that must be present to meet function thus any form of operator control device is viewed as meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 23, Schroder et al. discloses that rotating the handle initiates a turning operation of the vehicle (Column 3 / Line 60 – Column 4 / Line 14).
Regarding claim 24, Schroder et al. discloses that the one or more control features of the operator control device comprises a thumb switch (54a) configured to be actuated by an operator's thumb to raise and lower the lift (the right control element 54a is used for example for lifting and lowering the load-carrier on the mast of the not shown industrial truck; Column 7 / Lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 26, Schroder et al. discloses an operator control device for a materials-handling vehicle (1), said control device comprising:
a yoke-style steering device (22a; see Figure 7) rotatably arranged on a support structure (9; see Figure 6) so as to rotate about a steering axis (the axial centerline of 9), wherein said support structure is configured to be secured to the vehicle (see Figure 6), the yoke-style steering device comprising ergonomic left (46a) and right (48a) handles, each comprising an upper surface (top surfaces of the left and right handles as shown in Figures 2 and 7) contoured to support a hand of an operator (hands of operators come in various sizes thus the left and right handles are viewed as being within the reach of an operator’s fingers or thumbs); and
an electrical steering system (Column 3 / Line 63 – Column 4 / Line 19) configured to produce a steering input signal (Column 3 / Line 65) based on an amount by which the yoke-style steering device is rotated about the steering axis, wherein the steering input signal is configured to be sent to a vehicle control system (Column 7 / Lines 59-67) to control an amount of vehicle turn based on the steering input signal.
Regarding claim 27, Schroder et al. discloses a thumb switch (54a) arranged on either the left or right handle (54a is on the viewed right handle) to be operated by a thumb of the operator without requiring movement of an operator's hand from an operating position on the control device, wherein the thumb switch is configured to operate a lift function of the vehicle (the right control element 54a is used for example for lifting and lowering the load-carrier on the mast of the not shown industrial truck; Column 7 / Lines 12-14), wherein pushing on an upper portion (the surface that the leader line from 54a points to in Figure 7) of the thumb switch raises the lift and wherein pushing on a lower portion (the surface of 54a closest to 70 as shown in Figure 7) of the thumb switch lowers the lift.
Regarding claim 29, Schroder et al. discloses that the handle provides dynamic stability to the operator by permitting the operator to use the handle to provide a bracing force during forward, plugging, and reversing operations of the vehicle (an operator can brace themselves on the steering wheel thus is viewed as meeting the claim limitation; the claim provides no structure that must be present to meet function thus any form of operator control device is viewed as meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 30, Schroder et al. discloses that a bracing force is directed through the handle and through an arm and large muscle groups of the operator (the operator interacts with the steering wheel through their hand(s) which is connected to an arm and shoulder thus meeting the claim limitation).
**The above statements in brackets are instances of intended use and functional language. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, see MPEP 2114. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13-19, 25, and 28, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroder et al. (US 7,278,509 B2) in view of Mariotti et al. (EP 3009325 A1; see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Schroder et al. discloses a thumb switch (52a) configured to be operated by the operator's thumb. Schroder et al. also discloses a control element (74a) that is used for changing the direction of travel (Column 7 / Lines 41-46).
Schroder et al. does not disclose that the thumb switch is configured to operate a throttle function of the vehicle, wherein pushing on an upper portion of the thumb switch increases the vehicle speed in a forward direction or slows, stops, and reverses the vehicle moving in a rearward direction and wherein pushing on a lower portion of the thumb switch slows, stops, or reverses the vehicle moving in a forward direction and increases the speed of a vehicle moving in a rearward direction.
Mariotti et al. teaches a thumb switch (B1, B2) is configured to operate a throttle function (B1 and B2 are for controlling a traction drive of the industrial truck; see the Abstract in the machine translation) of the vehicle, wherein pushing on an upper portion (a top portion of B1 or B2) of the thumb switch increases the vehicle speed in a forward direction or slows, stops, and reverses the vehicle moving in a rearward direction and wherein pushing on a lower portion (a bottom portion of B1 or B2) of the thumb switch slows, stops, or reverses the vehicle moving in a forward direction and increases the speed of a vehicle moving in a rearward direction (Page 9 / Lines 8-24 of the machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thumb switch of Schroder et al. to be configured to operate a throttle function of the vehicle, to function such that pushing on an upper portion of the thumb switch increase the vehicle speed in a forward direction or slows, stops, and reverses the vehicle moving in a rearward direction and to function such that pushing on a lower portion of the thumb switch slows, stops, or reverses the vehicle moving in a forward direction and increases the speed of a vehicle moving in a rearward direction, as taught by Mariotti et al., for the purpose of allowing the operator to control the vehicle without use of their feet thus simplifying the control operation(s) of the vehicle and for providing a more compact vehicle control structure.
Regarding claim 13, Schroder et al. discloses a method of controlling throttle, lift, and steering operations of a man-up lift truck (1) using an operator control device (8, 22a; see Figures 2 and 7), the method comprising:
supporting an operator's hands in a driving position on the operator control device (a user’s hand(s) operate the steering wheel);
in response to a rotation force imparted by the operator's hands, rotating the handle of the operator control device about a pivot point (the axial centerline of 9) that is fixed in relation to the man-up lift truck to steer the vehicle in a direction of rotation of the operator control device;
controlling an operation (the left control element 52a is used for example for not named additional functions; Column 7 / Lines 12-15) of the vehicle in response to a force by an operator's thumb on a first thumb switch (52a) arranged on the operator control device, wherein the first thumb switch is arranged in a position that it can be operated by the operator without the operator removing his/her hands from the driving position on the operator control device (see Figure 7); and
controlling a lift operation (the right control element 54a is used for example for lifting and lowering the load-carrier on the mast of the not shown industrial truck; Column 7 / Lines 12-14) of the vehicle in response to a force by an operator's thumb on a second thumb switch (54a) arranged on the operator control device, wherein the second thumb switch is arranged in a position that it can be operated by the operator without the operator removing his/her hands from the driving position on the operator control device (see Figure 7).
Schroder et al. does not disclose controlling a throttle operation of the vehicle in response to a force by an operator's thumb on the first thumb switch arranged on the operator control device.
Mariotti et al. teaches an operator control device (10) that comprises a thumb switch (B1, B2) that is configured to operate a throttle function (B1 and B2 are for controlling a traction drive of the industrial truck; see the Abstract in the machine translation) of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first thumb switch of Schroder et al. to control a throttle operation of the vehicle in response to a force by an operator's thumb on the first thumb switch arranged on the operator control device, as taught by Mariotti et al., for the purpose of allowing the operator to control the vehicle without use of their feet thus simplifying the control operation(s) of the vehicle and for providing a more compact vehicle control structure.
Regarding claim 14, Schroder et al. discloses that the operator control device comprises a left (46a) and right (48a) handle each configured to support a hand of an operator.
Regarding claim 15, Schroder et al. discloses that the first thumb switch is located on either the left or right handle of the operator control device (52a is attached directly to the viewed left handle) and where the second thumb switch is located on the opposite left or right handle (54a is directly to the viewed right handle).
Regarding claim 16, Schroder et al. discloses that the operator control device provides dynamic stability to the operator by permitting the operator to use the handle to provide a bracing force during forward, stopping, and reversing operations of the lift truck (an operator can brace themselves on the steering wheel thus is viewed as meeting the claim limitation; the claim provides no structure that must be present to meet function thus any form of operator control device is viewed as meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 17, Schroder et al. discloses that the bracing force does not cause the operator control device to move (as best understood and in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, the steering wheel of Schroder et al. meets this claim limitation).
Regarding claim 18, Schroder et al. discloses that the bracing force travels through an arm and large muscle group of the operator (the operator interacts with the steering wheel through their hand(s) which is connected to an arm and shoulder thus meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 19, Schroder et al. discloses turning the vehicle in a non-proportional relationship to the amount by which the operator control device is rotated about the pivot point (Column 3 / Line 60 – Column 4 / Line 19; see the bottom non-linear line in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 25, Schroder et al. discloses a thumb switch (52a) configured to be operated by the operator's thumb. Schroder et al. also discloses a control element (74a) that is used for changing the direction of travel (Column 7 / Lines 41-46).
Schroder et al. does not disclose that the thumb switch is configured to control the speed of the vehicle.
Mariotti et al. teaches a thumb switch (B1, B2) is configured to operate a speed function (B1 and B2 are for controlling a traction drive of the industrial truck; see the Abstract in the machine translation) of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thumb switch of Schroder et al. to control a speed of the vehicle, as taught by Mariotti et al., for the purpose of allowing the operator to control the vehicle without use of their feet thus simplifying the control operation(s) of the vehicle and for providing a more compact vehicle control structure.
Regarding claim 28, Schroder et al. discloses a thumb switch (52a) arranged on either the left (52a is on the viewed left handle) or right handle to be operated by a thumb of the operator without requiring movement of an operator's hand from an operating position on the control device. Schroder et al. also discloses a control element (74a) that is used for changing the direction of travel (Column 7 / Lines 41-46).
Schroder et al. does not disclose that the thumb switch is configured to control speed of the vehicle.
Mariotti et al. teaches a thumb switch (B1, B2) is configured to control a speed function (B1 and B2 are for controlling a traction drive of the industrial truck; see the Abstract in the machine translation) of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thumb switch of Schroder et al. to control a speed of the vehicle, as taught by Mariotti et al., for the purpose of allowing the operator to control the vehicle without use of their feet thus simplifying the control operation(s) of the vehicle and for providing a more compact vehicle control structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niebuhr (US 2008/0179141 A1) discloses a ground conveyor that has a steering structure that is comprised of a left handle and a right handle, and each handle has a driving switch.
Busboom et al. (US 6,557,331 B2) discloses an operator control system that is comprised of a left handle and a right handle, and an outermost axial end of each handle has a thumb switch.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617