DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/03/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hager et al. (US 12,057,821; “Hager”) .
The applied reference has common Applicants and common inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Hager teaches a resonator (Figure 2A) comprising:
a first drive cell (29-1) coupled to a positive drive terminal (D+) and having a first group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (2 transistors; col. 5, lines 35-42);
a second drive cell (29-2) coupled to a negative drive terminal (D-) and having a second group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (2 transistors; col. 5, lines 35-42); and
a first sense cell (27-1) coupled to a positive sense terminal (S+) and having a third group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (2 transistors; col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 3).
As for claim 2, Hager teaches a second sense cell (27-2) coupled to a negative sense terminal (S-) and having a fourth group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (2 transistors; col. 6, lines 3-7).
As for claim 3, Hager teaches wherein the first drive cell and the first sense cell (27-1, 27-2) have a same number (2) of fin field-effect transistors.
Regarding claim 4, Hager teaches an even number of intervening fin structures (22) interposed between the first drive cell (29-1) and the first sense cell (27-1).
Regarding claim 5, Hager teaches an even number of intervening fin structures (22) interposed between the first drive cell (29-1) and the second drive cell (29-2).
As for claim 6, Hager teaches wherein: the first group of even number of fin field-effect transistors have fin structures of a first height; and the even number of intervening fin structures have a second height less than the first height (Col. 8, lines 9-25).
Regarding claim 7, Hager teaches wherein the first drive cell and the second drive cell are not separated by any intervening fin structures (See figure 7A and 8B).
As for claim 8, Hager teaches a third drive cell coupled to the positive drive terminal and having a fourth group of even number of fin field-effect transistors, wherein second drive cell is disposed between the first drive cell and the third drive cell (See figure 10A).
As for claim 9, Hager teaches a Bragg mirror or a phononic crystal layer disposed over at least the first and second drive cells (Col. 8, lines 45-47).
As for claim 10, Hager teaches wherein the resonator has a resonant frequency, and wherein the positive and negative drive terminals are configured to receive drive signals that generate acoustic waves that travel through at least the first and second drive cells and that pulse at a frequency that is in a subharmonic frequency range of the resonant frequency of the resonator (Col. 1, lines 39-49).
Regarding claim 11, Hager teaches a resonator (figure 2A) comprising:
a first drive cell (29-1) coupled to a positive drive terminal (D+) and having a first group of n fin field-effect transistors, wherein n is an even integer (2 transistors; col. 5, lines 35-42);
a second drive cell (29-2) coupled to a negative drive terminal (D-) and having a second group of n fin field-effect transistors (2 transistors; col. 5, lines 35-42); and
m intervening fin structures interposed between the first drive cell and the second drive cell, wherein m is an integer greater than n (Col. 9, lines 41-45).
As for claim 12, Hager teaches wherein m is equal to two times n (Col. 5, lines 35-42 and Col. 9, lines 41-45).
As for claim 13, Hager teaches wherein n is equal to two, and wherein m is equal to four (Col. 5, lines 35-42 and Col. 9, lines 41-45).
Regarding claim 14, Hager teaches a first sense cell (29-1) coupled to a positive sense terminal (S+) and having a third group n fin field-effect transistors (col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 7); and
a second sense cell (29-2) coupled to a negative sense terminal (S-) and having a fourth group n fin field-effect transistors (col. 5, line 65 through col. 6, line 7).
As for claim 15, Hager teaches a first set of m additional intervening fin structures interposed between the first sense cell and the second sense cell; and a second set of m additional intervening fin structures interposed between the first drive cell and the first sense cell (Col. 9, lines 41-45).
As for claim 16, Hager teaches wherein at least the first drive cell is confined between a substrate layer and an acoustic wave reflecting layer to form a resonant cavity (Col. 8, lines 45-47).
Regarding claim 17, Hager teaches wherein: the first group of n fin field-effect transistors have fin structures of a first height; and the m intervening fin structures have a second height different than the first height (Col. 8, lines 9-25).
Regarding claim 18, Hager teaches a resonator (figure 2A) comprising:
a first drive cell (29-1) coupled to a positive drive terminal (D+) and having a first group of n field-effect transistors, wherein n is an even integer (2 transistors; col. 5, lines 35-42);
a second drive cell (29-2) coupled to a negative drive terminal (D-) and having a second group of n field-effect transistors (2 transistors; col. 5, lines 35-42); and
a plurality of intervening fin structures interposed between the first drive cell and the second drive cell (22; Col. 9, lines 41-45).
Claims 1-5, 7, 11-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hudeczek et al. (US 2021/0305245).
Regarding claim 1, Hudeczek teaches a resonator (figure 11A) comprising:
a first drive cell (connected to 1161F and 1161H) coupled to a positive drive terminal (D+) and having a first group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (See transistors in figure 11A);
a second drive cell (connected to 1161A and 1161C) coupled to a negative drive terminal (D-) and having a second group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (See transistors in figure 11A); and
a first sense cell (connected to 1161D) coupled to a positive sense terminal (S+) and having a third group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (Para. [0074] teaches adding more than two sense transistors/fins.).
As for claim 2, Hudeczek teaches a second sense cell (connected to 1161E) coupled to a negative sense terminal (S-) and having a fourth group of even number of fin field-effect transistors (Para. [0074] teaches adding more than two sense transistors/fins.).
As for claim 3, Hudeczek teaches wherein the first drive cell (connected to 1161F and 1161H) and the first sense cell (connected to 1161D; para. [0074]) have a same number (two) of fin field-effect transistors.
Regarding claim 4, Hudeczek an even number of intervening fin structures (two; para. [0074]) interposed between the first drive cell (connected to 1161F and 1161H) and the first sense cell (connected to 1161D).
Regarding claim 5, Hudeczek teaches an even number (two) of intervening fin structures (1161D, 1161E) interposed between the first drive cell (1161F, 1161H) and the second drive cell (1161A, 1161C).
As for claim 7, Hudeczek teaches wherein the first drive cell and the second drive cell are not separated by any intervening fin structures (See positive drive cell 1161F and negative drive cell 1161G).
Regarding claim 11, Hudeczek teaches a resonator (figure 11A) comprising:
a first drive cell (connected to 1161F and 1161H) coupled to a positive drive terminal (D+) and having a first group of n fin field-effect transistors, wherein n is an even integer (See transistors in figure 11A);
a second drive cell (connected to 1161A and 1161C) coupled to a negative drive terminal (D-) and having a second group of n fin field-effect transistors (See transistors in figure 11A); and
m intervening fin structures (connected to 1161D and 1161E) interposed between the first drive cell and the second drive cell, wherein m is an integer greater than n (Para. [0074]).
As for claim 12, Hudeczek teaches wherein m is equal to two times n (Para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 13, Hudeczek teaches wherein n is equal to two (see figure 11A), and wherein m is equal to four (Para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Hudeczek teaches a first sense cell (connected to 1161D) coupled to a positive sense terminal (S+) and having a third group n fin field-effect transistors; and
a second sense cell (connected to 1161E) coupled to a negative sense terminal (S-) and having a fourth group n fin field-effect transistors.
Regarding claim 18, Hudeczek teaches a resonator (figure 11A) comprising:
a first drive cell (connected to 1161F and 1161H) coupled to a positive drive terminal (D+) and having a first group of n field-effect transistors, wherein n is an even integer (two);
a second drive cell (connected to 1161A and 1161C) coupled to a negative drive terminal (D-) and having a second group of n field-effect transistors; and
a plurality of intervening fin structures (1161D-1161E) interposed between the first drive cell and the second drive cell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudeczek.
Regarding claim 8, Hudeczek teaches the resonator of claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach a third drive cell coupled to the positive drive terminal and having a fourth group of even number of fin field-effect transistors, wherein second drive cell is disposed between the first drive cell and the third drive cell.
However, it has been held by the court that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the number of drive cells in the resonator of Hudeczek because such a modification would have provided the benefit of the ability to increase the drive current in the resonator of Hudeczek, while adding no patentably significant subject matter.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudeczek in view of Bahr et al. (US 9,899,363; “Bahr”).
Regarding claim 9, Hudeczek teaches the resonator of claim 1, as detailed above, but fails to teach a Bragg mirror or a phononic crystal layer disposed over at least the first and second drive cells.
Bahr teaches a phononic crystal for confining vibrational energy above drive cells of a resonator. See figure 4 and col. 4, lines 15-22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a phononic crystal layer above the drive cells of Hudeczek because such a modification would have provided the benefit of confining vibrational energy in the resonator of Hudeczek.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0212194 to Gosayi et al. teaches a transistor-based resonator comprising: finFETs, drive cells, and sense cells.
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 June 24, 2026