Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and species C, Figs. 13-16, and claims 1-18 are readable on Species C are acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a search of the relevant prior art for the claims of Species C would inherently cover a corresponding search for the claims of the other group and species. Thus, Applicants submit that there would be no additional burden to include claims 19-20 when examining this application.” and Applicants request that the restriction requirement be withdrawn. They are not found persuasive because the inventions are independent and distinct from each other and because examination of each invention will necessitate disparate searches which would clearly pose a serious burden as clearly shown by the Examiner in the restriction requirement. Applicants are not entitled to examination of multiple independent inventions in one application. Therefore, claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Gaschino et al. (9,114,010; hereinafter Gaschino) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gaschino in view of The Official Notice and/or O'Mahony et al. (12,458,482; hereinafter O'Mahony).
As to claim 1, Gaschino discloses an assembly (1A’) comprising a jar (J) having an open end and configured to receive a valve holder, a lid (240A’) configured to cover the open end of the jar, and a valve holder (2, 2A’, 24A’) including a base (5, 6, 14, 16), a column (12) connected to and extending axially away from the base, and a plurality of circumferentially spaced valve retention members (5) mounted on the base. Gaschino discloses the valve holder is configured to receive a prosthetic heart valve (4). The valve holder of Gaschino is inherently capable to hold the prosthetic heart valve in a partially compressed state within the jar.
To the extent that Gaschino fails to show the valve holder is configured to hold the prosthetic heart valve in a partially compressed state within the jar, The Official Notice is taken of an old and conventional practice of providing a valve holder which is configured to hold a prosthetic heart valve in a partially compressed state within a container. O'Mahony, is cited by way of example only, teaches an assembly (1; Fig. 3) comprising a outer container/jar (100) having an open end, a lid (102) configured to cover the open end of the jar, and a valve holder (50, 54) is configured to receive a prosthetic heart valve (10) and to hold the prosthetic heart valve in a partially compressed state (column 4, lines 6-9 & column 5, lines 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of The Official Notice and/or O'Mahony to modify the assembly of Gaschino so the assembly is constructed with the valve holder is configured to hold the prosthetic heart valve in a partially compressed state within the jar because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 2, the assembly of Gaschino as modified comprises the plurality of circumferentially spaced valve retention members (5) are inherently capable to hold the prosthetic heart valve under a radial compressive strain as claimed.
As to claim 3, to the extent that Gaschino fails to show the radial compressive strain is less than 6% as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Gaschino as modified so the assembly is constructed with the radial compressive strain is less than 6% because the selection of the specific percentage of the radial compressive strain such as less than 6% as claimed would appear to have been an obvious matter of design choice based upon conventional design considerations, such as to prevent the prosthetic heart valve from getting damage during storage and/or to better securing the prosthetic heart valve.
As to claim 4, Gaschino discloses a position of the plurality of circumferentially spaced valve retention members (5; Figs. 3-4). Gaschino further discloses the support member (6) may be releasably coupled the holder member (2; column 7, lines 1-5). To the extent that Gaschino fails to show the plurality of circumferentially spaced valve retention members is adjustable inwardly and outwardly relative to an outer circumference of the base, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Gaschino as modified so the assembly is constructed with the plurality of circumferentially spaced valve retention members is adjustable inwardly and outwardly relative to an outer circumference of the base for allowing the valve holder to holder various sizes of prosthetic heart valves.
As to claims 6 and 7, Gaschino discloses the column has an upper end portion connected to the lid. To the extent that Gaschino fails to show the upper end portion is removably attached to the lid, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Gaschino so the assembly is constructed with the upper end portion is either connected or removably attached to the lid because it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art or vice versa.
As to claim 8, Gaschino discloses the assembly comprising the jar, the lid and the valve holder as claimed (see claim 1).
As to claim 9, Gaschino discloses the valve holder comprises the plurality of valve retention members as above.
As to claim 10, Gaschino discloses the valve holder comprises the base and the column (see claim 1).
As to claims 13 and 14, Gaschino discloses the valve retention members (5) as above.
As to claim 15, Gaschino discloses each valve retention member comprises a radially facing recess (Figs. 3 & 4 show each valve retention member (5) comprises a radially facing recess)
As to claim 16, see claim 7 above.
As to claims 17 and 18, see Fig. 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736