Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II/III there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/18/2026. Applicant has argued that the different inventions are related and make a contribution over the prior art and that they should all be searched and examined as there is no undue burden on the Office. Speaking to this final item, Examiner notes that the context of the valves in claims 14-23 are wholly divorced from any and all diaphragm pump context, which context influences the kind of valves to be searched, as not just any check valve can successfully incorporated within a diaphragm pump. Claims 14-23 have not such restraint, requiring a much broader scope of search for any and all kinds of valves. As such, Examiner finds that these claims would provide an additional burden on the scope of the search. Additionally, Examiner notes that an interrelationship between diaphragm pump components that work alongside the valve components is more apparent with respect to claim 12, and which also might provide patentability alongside any warranted for the valve itself. For these reasons, Examiner maintains his restriction.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the radiused transition mentioned in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoenmeyr (US2019/0145387A1).
Claim 1: Schoenmeyr discloses a diaphragm pump (Figs. 1-4) comprising a valve plate (22) having a planar valve engaging surface (note planar portion of 22 that accommodates (30/36), a plurality of planar valve seats (note seat under valve flap of 30/36) formed in the valve engaging surface, and a hole (32/38) extending through each of the valve seats to an opposite face (Fig. 3); a plurality of valves (30/36) disposed in the valve seats, each of the valves comprising a stem (see Figure below) having a longitudinal axis extending through an associated one of the holes, and a flap (see Figure below) at a first end of the valve extending transversely to the longitudinal axis, the stem and the flap having non-circular cross-section (note ovular shape of flap in Fig. 4), wherein a width of the flap and stem transverse to the longitudinal axis is greater than a depth of the flap and stem transverse to the longitudinal axis along the valve (see Figure below).
Claim 2: Schoenmeyr further discloses that the valve stem comprises a portion of increased cross-section spaced apart from the flap (Fig. 3, note enlarged portion of stem opposite valve flap).
Claim 3: Schoenmeyr further discloses that a thickness of the valve plate through the valve seat is greater than a distance between the flap and the portion of increased cross-section of the stem in a relaxed condition (see Figure above).
Claim 4: Schoenmeyr further discloses that the flap comprises a concave valve plate engagement surface (Fig. 3, note curved/concave end portion of valve flap).
Claim 5: Schoenmeyr further discloses that the flap has an elliptical periphery (Fig. 4).
Claim 6: Schoenmeyr further discloses that the plurality of valves comprise inlet valves (note paragraph 15).
Claim 7: Schoenmeyr further discloses that the plurality of valves comprise outlet valves (note paragraph 15).
Claim 8: Schoenmeyr further discloses that that the plurality of valves comprise inlet valves mounted on a first face of the valve plate and outlet valves mounted on an opposite face of the valve plate (see Fig. 3; paragraph 15).
Claim 9: Schoenmeyr further discloses that that the inlet valves and the outlet valves are interchangeable (Fig. 3, note matching inlet/outlet valves).
Claim 10: Schoenmeyr further discloses that a unitary wobble plate (44) and a plurality of distinct diaphragms (33, note also paragraph 15).
Claim 12: Schoenmeyr further discloses a wobble plate (44); a plurality of diaphragms (33, note also paragraph 15); a motor (46); an inlet port (18); and an outlet port (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenmeyr (US2019/0145387A1) in view of Hyeon (KR20010054595A).
Claim 11: Schoenmeyr discloses the previous limitations. Schoenmeyr is note explicit about the valve plate comprises a radiused transition from each of the valve seats to an associate one of the holes. However, Hyeon teaches a valve plate which utilizes a radiused transition (Fig. 6, note transition at/near 111b). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a transition in Schoenmeyr as taught by Hyeon to reduce abrupt fluid directional changes that could cause erosion of the valve plate surface.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenmeyr (US2019/0145387A1) in view of Hargraves (US 7,762,796).
Claim 13: Schoenmeyr discloses the previous limitations. Schoenmeyr is not explicit about the plurality of valves comprise an elastic material selected from the group consisting of ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM), Fluorine Kautschuk Material (FKM), or materials containing butadiene and sodium (BUNA®). However, Hargraves discloses a valve arrangement in which the valves are made from EPDM (see col. 5, lines 16-17). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a valve material in Schoenmeyr as taught by Hargraves as EPDM material is durable and low-cost, which qualities can ensure cost savings.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746