DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that the cited prior art does not teach the amended claims. Remarks, pp. 7-13.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC §103 over a combination of Cordray et al. (US 2007/0157220) and Foo et al. (US 2021/0378038).
Cordray teaches causing the display apparatus to:
control the display to display a plurality of user accounts that were previously logged in in response to receiving the execution command ([0156], “Referring briefly to FIG. 19, an illustrative user profile selection screen 1900 is shown. Display screen 1900 may be displayed in response to the selection of a button or buttons on a remote control or by navigating a highlight in an interactive media guidance application means to select an option that causes screen 1900 to be displayed.”), and
control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts differently from remaining user accounts based on communication information with the external device ([0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. … The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button.” Fig. 19).
Foo teaches determining whether an external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with a display apparatus or currently connected to a same network as the display apparatus, and in response to determining that the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to the same network as the display apparatus, controlling a display to display at least one of a plurality of user accounts based on communication information with the external device ([0036], [0050], “In some implementations, communal device 110 can broadcast advertisement 302 to determine which user devices are near communal device 110. For example, advertisement 302 can be broadcast using a short-range wireless communication (e.g., networking) technology, such as Bluetooth, Bluetooth LE, peer-to-peer Wi-Fi, or other wireless networking technology.” [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408.” Fig. 4).
In view of Foo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray to include determining whether the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to a same network as the display apparatus, and in response to determining that the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to the same network as the display apparatus, control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts differently from remaining user accounts based on communication information with the external device. The modification would serve to facilitate identification of multiple users of the display apparatus.
The above remarks are similarly applied to independent claims 15 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Cordray et al. (US 2007/0157220) and Foo et al. (US 2021/0378038).
Regarding claim 1, Cordray teaches a display apparatus comprising:
communication circuitry configured to communicate with an external device ([0110], “Control circuitry 602 is connected to input/output 604. Input/output 604 may be connected to one or more communications paths such as paths 114, 116, 118, 128, 136, and 138 of FIG. 1. Media (e.g., television programming, music programming, other video and audio, and web pages) may be received via input/output 604 (e.g., from programming sources 102, servers or other equipment, such as server 130, service providers such as service provider 142, distribution facility 104, etc.). Interactive media guidance application data, such as program schedule information for an interactive television program guide, may be received from data source 120 via input/output 604. Input/output 604 may also be used to receive data from data source 120 for other interactive television applications. The user may use control circuitry 602 to send and receive commands, requests, and other suitable data using input/output 604.” [0112], “A user may control the control circuitry 602 using user input interface 614. User input interface 614 may be any suitable user interface, such as a mouse, trackball, keypad, keyboard, touch screen, touch pad, voice recognition interface, or a remote control.” Fig. 6);
a display configured to display at least one application ([0111], “Television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 610. Display 610 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images. In some embodiments, display 610 may be HDTV-capable.” Fig. 6);
an input portion configured to receive an execution command for the at least one application from a user ([0110], “Control circuitry 602 is connected to input/output 604. Input/output 604 may be connected to one or more communications paths such as paths 114, 116, 118, 128, 136, and 138 of FIG. 1. … The user may use control circuitry 602 to send and receive commands, requests, and other suitable data using input/output 604.” [0112], “A user may control the control circuitry 602 using user input interface 614. User input interface 614 may be any suitable user interface, such as a mouse, trackball, keypad, keyboard, touch screen, touch pad, voice recognition interface, or a remote control.” Fig. 6);
memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled to the communication circuitry, the display, the input portion, and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor ([0111], “Control circuitry 602 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 606 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc. In some embodiments, control circuitry 602 executes instructions for an interactive media guidance application or other interactive application (e.g., web browser) from memory. Memory (e.g., random-access memory and read-only memory), hard drives, optical drives, or any other suitable memory or storage devices may be provided as storage 608 that is part of control circuitry 602.” Fig. 6), cause the display apparatus to:
control the display to display a plurality of user accounts that were previously logged in in response to receiving the execution command ([0156], “Referring briefly to FIG. 19, an illustrative user profile selection screen 1900 is shown. Display screen 1900 may be displayed in response to the selection of a button or buttons on a remote control or by navigating a highlight in an interactive media guidance application means to select an option that causes screen 1900 to be displayed.”), and
control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts differently from remaining user accounts based on communication information with the external device ([0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. … The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button.” Fig. 19).
Cordray does not expressly teach determining whether the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to a same network as the display apparatus, and in response to determining that the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to the same network as the display apparatus, control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts differently from remaining user accounts based on communication information with the external device.
Foo teaches determining whether an external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with a display apparatus or currently connected to a same network as the display apparatus, and in response to determining that the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to the same network as the display apparatus, controlling a display to display at least one of a plurality of user accounts based on communication information with the external device ([0036], [0050], “In some implementations, communal device 110 can broadcast advertisement 302 to determine which user devices are near communal device 110. For example, advertisement 302 can be broadcast using a short-range wireless communication (e.g., networking) technology, such as Bluetooth, Bluetooth LE, peer-to-peer Wi-Fi, or other wireless networking technology.” [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408.” Fig. 4).
In view of Foo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray to include determining whether the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to a same network as the display apparatus, and in response to determining that the external device is currently disposed in short-range communication with the display apparatus or currently connected to the same network as the display apparatus, control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts differently from remaining user accounts based on communication information with the external device. The modification would serve to facilitate identification of multiple users of the display apparatus.
Regarding claims 2, 16, and 20, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with the communication circuitry.
Foo teaches displaying at least one user account, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with communication circuitry ([0036], [0050], “In some implementations, communal device 110 can broadcast advertisement 302 to determine which user devices are near communal device 110. For example, advertisement 302 can be broadcast using a short-range wireless communication (e.g., networking) technology, such as Bluetooth, Bluetooth LE, peer-to-peer Wi-Fi, or other wireless networking technology.” [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408.” Fig. 4).
In view of Foo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with the communication circuitry. The modification would serve to facilitate identification of multiple users of the display apparatus.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device connected to the same network as the communication circuitry.
Foo teaches displaying at least one user account, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device connected to the same network as communication circuitry ([0036], [0050], “In some implementations, communal device 110 can broadcast advertisement 302 to determine which user devices are near communal device 110. For example, advertisement 302 can be broadcast using a short-range wireless communication (e.g., networking) technology, such as Bluetooth, Bluetooth LE, peer-to-peer Wi-Fi, or other wireless networking technology. In some implementations, advertisement 302 can be broadcast over a wired and/or wireless local area network (e.g., a home network, office network, etc.).” [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408.” Fig. 4).
In view of Foo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device connected to the same network as the communication circuitry. The modification would serve to facilitate identification of multiple users of the display apparatus.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combination further teaches wherein, based on the plurality of user accounts being horizontally arranged and displayed, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to allow at least one of the plurality of user accounts to be positioned to a left or right side of the remaining user accounts (Cordray: [0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. User profile buttons 1912 correspond to user profiles created for a particular individual (shown as Mom and Mary). User profile button 1914 corresponds to a user profile created for a group of individuals (shown as Family). …The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button. When the user selects one of the user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916, the identity or identities of the user or users, or whether the user is anonymous, is determined.” Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 5, the combination further teaches wherein, based on the plurality of user accounts being vertically arranged and displayed, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to allow at least one of the plurality of user accounts to be positioned above the remaining user accounts (Cordray: [0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. User profile buttons 1912 correspond to user profiles created for a particular individual (shown as Mom and Mary). User profile button 1914 corresponds to a user profile created for a group of individuals (shown as Family). …The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button. When the user selects one of the user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916, the identity or identities of the user or users, or whether the user is anonymous, is determined.” Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 6, the combination further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts in a highlighted or selectable state relative to the remaining user accounts (Cordray: [0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. … The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button.” Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 8, the combination further teaches wherein, based on a single external device performing short-range communication with the communication circuitry, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to perform a login with the user account registered on the external device (Foo: [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408. A user of communal device 110 can provide user input selecting one or more of the graphical objects 404-408 to select the corresponding user (e.g., user, user device, user account, etc.) as a participant in the activity hosted by communal device 110.” Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, the combination further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: receive information of a plurality of external devices, in which the plurality of user accounts that were previously logged in are registered, from a server through long-range communication of the communication circuitry, and control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with the communication circuitry from among the plurality of external devices in which the plurality of user accounts that were previously logged in are registered (Cordray: [0157]; Foo: [0036], “User device 130 and communal device 110 can communicate with each other through network 170. For example, network 170 can be a wide area network, local area network, the Internet, Wi-Fi network, an ad-hoc peer-to-peer network, a direct peer-to-peer Wi-Fi connection, a direct Bluetooth (e.g., Bluetooth, Bluetooth low energy, etc.) connection or any other inter-device communication network. In some implementations, two different network types may be used to communicate between user device 130 and communal device 110.”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to register information about a newly logged-in user account in a login history, based on absence of a previously logged-in user account (Cordray: [0158], “The interactive media guidance application may further allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to user profile create button 1904, user profile delete button 1906, or user profile modify button 1908, and if desired the user may select a highlighted button. Selection of user profile create button 1904 may cause the interactive media guidance application to display one or more setup screens for the purpose of creating a new user profile.”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination further teaches wherein, based on another user's preset account being registered together with the newly logged-in user account, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to register information about the other user's account in the login history (Cordray: [0158], “The interactive media guidance application may further allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to user profile create button 1904, user profile delete button 1906, or user profile modify button 1908, and if desired the user may select a highlighted button. Selection of user profile create button 1904 may cause the interactive media guidance application to display one or more setup screens for the purpose of creating a new user profile.”).
The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §103 presented with respect to claim 1 are similarly applied to claim 15.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a display apparatus, individually or collectively, cause the display apparatus to perform operations (Cordray: [0058], [0084], Fig. 1). The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §103 presented with respect to claim 1 are similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 19.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Cordray, Foo, and Chung (US 10334303).
Regarding claim 7, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach further teaches wherein, in response to a plurality of external devices performing short-range communication with the communication circuitry, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display a plurality of user accounts registered on the external devices differently from the remaining user accounts, based on at least one of a strength of a signal received from each of the plurality of external devices through the communication circuitry, a number of logins of user accounts registered on the plurality of external devices, or a login order of the user accounts registered on the plurality of external devices.
Chung teaches displaying a plurality external devices, based on at least one of a strength of a signal received from each of the plurality of external devices through communication circuitry (Col. 15, lines 34-47, “The interrupt window 500 may also include a proximity settings button 506, which may be clicked on to open a proximity settings window 510, as shown in FIG. 7. FIG. 7 shows a proximity settings window 510. The proximity settings window 510 (may be referred to as a proximity settings display screen). The proximity settings window 510 lists mobile devices and corresponding range settings for the mobile devices. The range settings may correspond to received signal strength indicator (RSSI) values. If a signal strength of a mobile device as detected by a user receiving device is greater than or equal to a received signal strength indicator value corresponding to the range set for the mobile device, then the mobile device is within range for the user receiving device to perform certain tasks.”).
In view of Chung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein, in response to a plurality of external devices performing short-range communication with the communication circuitry, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display a plurality of user accounts registered on the external devices differently from the remaining user accounts, based on at least one of a strength of a signal received from each of the plurality of external devices through the communication circuitry. The modification would serve to aid in identification and communication with external devices.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Cordray, Foo, and Grumer et al. (US 2019/0082229).
Regarding claim 12, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: transmit a signal about whether to allow login to the external device, based on receiving a user input for selecting differently displayed user account, and perform a login to the selected user account, based on receiving a signal that allows login from the external device.
Grumer teaches transmitting a signal about whether to allow login to an external device, based on receiving a user input, and perform authorization to a selected user account, based on receiving a signal that allows authorization from the external device ([0041], “In some example embodiments, the user of the set-top box requests authorization to view an item of media content. In response, the set-top box causes an interactive notification to be presented on a mobile device. A user of the mobile device provides a response that indicates whether or not the set-top box should play the item of media content. The mobile device transmits the response to the set-top box, which plays the item of media content only if authorized.” [0049], [0061], “For example, the user interface module 270 may cause a user interface to be presented on the parent device 120 that requests authorization for the child device 105 to play a media content item.” [0148], “The notification 1405 indicates a name of a child requesting permission to view an item of media content. In the particular example shown, the child is Jessica and the item of media content being requested is UFC 011. The button 1415 is operable by the user of the GUI 1400 (e.g., by a user of the parent device 120 of FIG. 1) to approve the viewing of the media content item by the child.”).
In view of Grumer’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: transmit a signal about whether to allow login to the external device, based on receiving a user input for selecting differently displayed user account, and perform a login to the selected user account, based on receiving a signal that allows login from the external device. The modification would serve to allow for the application of parental controls for child users. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 13, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein, based on the newly logged-in user account being an account of a child, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to perform a login to the child account in response to a determination that the login is attempted by an external device to which an account of a guardian of the child is registered.
Grumer teaches wherein, based on a user account being an account of a child, performing an authorization to the child account in response to a determination that the authorization is attempted by an external device to which an account of a guardian of the child is registered ([0041], “In some example embodiments, the user of the set-top box requests authorization to view an item of media content. In response, the set-top box causes an interactive notification to be presented on a mobile device. A user of the mobile device provides a response that indicates whether or not the set-top box should play the item of media content. The mobile device transmits the response to the set-top box, which plays the item of media content only if authorized.” [0049], [0061], “For example, the user interface module 270 may cause a user interface to be presented on the parent device 120 that requests authorization for the child device 105 to play a media content item.” [0148], “The notification 1405 indicates a name of a child requesting permission to view an item of media content. In the particular example shown, the child is Jessica and the item of media content being requested is UFC 011. The button 1415 is operable by the user of the GUI 1400 (e.g., by a user of the parent device 120 of FIG. 1) to approve the viewing of the media content item by the child.”).
In view of Grumer’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein, based on the newly logged-in user account being an account of a child, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to perform a login to the child account in response to a determination that the login is attempted by an external device to which an account of a guardian of the child is registered. The modification would serve to allow for the application of parental controls for child users. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 14, the combination further teaches wherein, based on a preset setting value being included in the child's account, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the preset setting value to be applied to logged-in display apparatus (Grumer: [0041], “In some example embodiments, the user of the set-top box requests authorization to view an item of media content. In response, the set-top box causes an interactive notification to be presented on a mobile device. A user of the mobile device provides a response that indicates whether or not the set-top box should play the item of media content. The mobile device transmits the response to the set-top box, which plays the item of media content only if authorized.” [0049], [0061], “For example, the user interface module 270 may cause a user interface to be presented on the parent device 120 that requests authorization for the child device 105 to play a media content item.” [0148], “The notification 1405 indicates a name of a child requesting permission to view an item of media content. In the particular example shown, the child is Jessica and the item of media content being requested is UFC 011. The button 1415 is operable by the user of the GUI 1400 (e.g., by a user of the parent device 120 of FIG. 1) to approve the viewing of the media content item by the child.”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426