CTNF 19/194,671 CTNF 85303 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10-11, 15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Cordray et al. (US 2007/0157220) . Regarding claim 1, Cordray teaches a display apparatus comprising: communication circuitry configured to communicate with an external device ([0110], “Control circuitry 602 is connected to input/output 604. Input/output 604 may be connected to one or more communications paths such as paths 114, 116, 118, 128, 136, and 138 of FIG. 1. Media (e.g., television programming, music programming, other video and audio, and web pages) may be received via input/output 604 (e.g., from programming sources 102, servers or other equipment, such as server 130, service providers such as service provider 142, distribution facility 104, etc.). Interactive media guidance application data, such as program schedule information for an interactive television program guide, may be received from data source 120 via input/output 604. Input/output 604 may also be used to receive data from data source 120 for other interactive television applications. The user may use control circuitry 602 to send and receive commands, requests, and other suitable data using input/output 604.” [0112], “A user may control the control circuitry 602 using user input interface 614. User input interface 614 may be any suitable user interface, such as a mouse, trackball, keypad, keyboard, touch screen, touch pad, voice recognition interface, or a remote control.” Fig. 6); a display configured to display at least one application ([0111], “Television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 610. Display 610 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images. In some embodiments, display 610 may be HDTV-capable.” Fig. 6); an input portion configured to receive an execution command for the at least one application from a user ([0110], “Control circuitry 602 is connected to input/output 604. Input/output 604 may be connected to one or more communications paths such as paths 114, 116, 118, 128, 136, and 138 of FIG. 1. … The user may use control circuitry 602 to send and receive commands, requests, and other suitable data using input/output 604.” [0112], “A user may control the control circuitry 602 using user input interface 614. User input interface 614 may be any suitable user interface, such as a mouse, trackball, keypad, keyboard, touch screen, touch pad, voice recognition interface, or a remote control.” Fig. 6); memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled to the communication circuitry, the display, the input portion, and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor ([0111], “Control circuitry 602 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 606 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc. In some embodiments, control circuitry 602 executes instructions for an interactive media guidance application or other interactive application (e.g., web browser) from memory. Memory (e.g., random-access memory and read-only memory), hard drives, optical drives, or any other suitable memory or storage devices may be provided as storage 608 that is part of control circuitry 602.” Fig. 6), cause the display apparatus to: control the display to display a plurality of user accounts that were previously logged in in response to receiving the execution command ([0156], “Referring briefly to FIG. 19, an illustrative user profile selection screen 1900 is shown. Display screen 1900 may be displayed in response to the selection of a button or buttons on a remote control or by navigating a highlight in an interactive media guidance application means to select an option that causes screen 1900 to be displayed.”), and control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts differently from remaining user accounts based on communication information with the external device ([0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. … The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button.” Fig. 19). Regarding claims 4 and 18, Cordray further teaches wherein, based on the plurality of user accounts being horizontally arranged and displayed, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to allow at least one of the plurality of user accounts to be positioned to a left or right side of the remaining user accounts ([0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. User profile buttons 1912 correspond to user profiles created for a particular individual (shown as Mom and Mary). User profile button 1914 corresponds to a user profile created for a group of individuals (shown as Family). …The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button. When the user selects one of the user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916, the identity or identities of the user or users, or whether the user is anonymous, is determined.” Fig. 19). Regarding claim 5, Cordray further teaches wherein, based on the plurality of user accounts being vertically arranged and displayed, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to allow at least one of the plurality of user accounts to be positioned above the remaining user accounts ([0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. User profile buttons 1912 correspond to user profiles created for a particular individual (shown as Mom and Mary). User profile button 1914 corresponds to a user profile created for a group of individuals (shown as Family). …The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button. When the user selects one of the user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916, the identity or identities of the user or users, or whether the user is anonymous, is determined.” Fig. 19). Regarding claim 6, Cordray further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one of the plurality of user accounts in a highlighted or selectable state relative to the remaining user accounts ([0157], “User profile selection area 1902 may include a highlight region 1910 and user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916. … The interactive media guidance application may allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to one of user profile buttons 1912, 1914, and 1916 and select the highlighted user profile button.” Fig. 19). Regarding claim 10, Cordray further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to register information about a newly logged-in user account in a login history, based on absence of a previously logged-in user account ([0158], “The interactive media guidance application may further allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to user profile create button 1904, user profile delete button 1906, or user profile modify button 1908, and if desired the user may select a highlighted button. Selection of user profile create button 1904 may cause the interactive media guidance application to display one or more setup screens for the purpose of creating a new user profile.”). Regarding claim 11, Cordray further teaches wherein, based on another user's preset account being registered together with the newly logged-in user account, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to register information about the other user's account in the login history ([0158], “The interactive media guidance application may further allow the user to navigate highlight region 1910 to user profile create button 1904, user profile delete button 1906, or user profile modify button 1908, and if desired the user may select a highlighted button. Selection of user profile create button 1904 may cause the interactive media guidance application to display one or more setup screens for the purpose of creating a new user profile.”). The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §102 presented with respect to claim 1 are similarly applied to claim 15. Regarding claim 19, Cordray teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a display apparatus, individually or collectively, cause the display apparatus to perform operations ([0058], [0084], Fig. 1). The grounds of rejection under 35 USC §102 presented with respect to claim 1 are similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 19 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Cordray and Foo et al. (US 2021/0378038) . Regarding claims 2, 16, and 20, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with the communication circuitry. Foo teaches displaying at least one user account , the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with communication circuitry ([0036], [0050], “In some implementations, communal device 110 can broadcast advertisement 302 to determine which user devices are near communal device 110. For example, advertisement 302 can be broadcast using a short-range wireless communication (e.g., networking) technology, such as Bluetooth, Bluetooth LE, peer-to-peer Wi-Fi, or other wireless networking technology.” [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408.” Fig. 4). In view of Foo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with the communication circuitry. The modification would serve to facilitate identification of multiple users of the display apparatus. Regarding claims 3 and 17, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device connected to the same network as the communication circuitry. Foo teaches displaying at least one user account , the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device connected to the same network as communication circuitry ([0036], [0050], “In some implementations, communal device 110 can broadcast advertisement 302 to determine which user devices are near communal device 110. For example, advertisement 302 can be broadcast using a short-range wireless communication (e.g., networking) technology, such as Bluetooth, Bluetooth LE, peer-to-peer Wi-Fi, or other wireless networking technology. In some implementations, advertisement 302 can be broadcast over a wired and/or wireless local area network (e.g., a home network, office network, etc.).” [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408.” Fig. 4). In view of Foo’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device connected to the same network as the communication circuitry. The modification would serve to facilitate identification of multiple users of the display apparatus. Regarding claim 8, the combination further teaches wherein, based on a single external device performing short-range communication with the communication circuitry, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to perform a login with the user account registered on the external device (Foo: [0061], “Application 112 may present on GUI 402 graphical objects 404-408 identifying known user devices, and/or the users thereof, that responded to advertisement 302 broadcast by communal device 110. For example, communal device 110 may store user identifiers (e.g., user names) and/or images (e.g., photographs, avatars, etc.) associated with previously paired user devices and/or related user accounts in paired devices database 114 or related accounts database 116, respectively. Communal device 110 can look up the user names and/or images associated with known user devices that responded to advertisement 302 and present the corresponding user names and/or images in lieu of user device identifiers when presenting graphical objects 404-408. A user of communal device 110 can provide user input selecting one or more of the graphical objects 404-408 to select the corresponding user (e.g., user, user device, user account, etc.) as a participant in the activity hosted by communal device 110.” Fig. 4). Regarding claim 9, the combination further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: receive information of a plurality of external devices, in which the plurality of user accounts that were previously logged in are registered, from a server through long-range communication of the communication circuitry, and control the display to display at least one user account differently from the remaining user accounts, the at least one user account being registered on at least one external device that performs short-range communication with the communication circuitry from among the plurality of external devices in which the plurality of user accounts that were previously logged in are registered (Cordray: [0157]; Foo: [0036], “User device 130 and communal device 110 can communicate with each other through network 170. For example, network 170 can be a wide area network, local area network, the Internet, Wi-Fi network, an ad-hoc peer-to-peer network, a direct peer-to-peer Wi-Fi connection, a direct Bluetooth (e.g., Bluetooth, Bluetooth low energy, etc.) connection or any other inter-device communication network. In some implementations, two different network types may be used to communicate between user device 130 and communal device 110.”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Cordray and Chung (US 10334303) . Regarding claim 7, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach further teaches wherein, in response to a plurality of external devices performing short-range communication with the communication circuitry, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display a plurality of user accounts registered on the external devices differently from the remaining user accounts, based on at least one of a strength of a signal received from each of the plurality of external devices through the communication circuitry, a number of logins of user accounts registered on the plurality of external devices, or a login order of the user accounts registered on the plurality of external devices. Chung teaches displaying a plurality external devices , based on at least one of a strength of a signal received from each of the plurality of external devices through communication circuitry (Col. 15, lines 34-47, “The interrupt window 500 may also include a proximity settings button 506, which may be clicked on to open a proximity settings window 510, as shown in FIG. 7. FIG. 7 shows a proximity settings window 510. The proximity settings window 510 (may be referred to as a proximity settings display screen). The proximity settings window 510 lists mobile devices and corresponding range settings for the mobile devices. The range settings may correspond to received signal strength indicator (RSSI) values. If a signal strength of a mobile device as detected by a user receiving device is greater than or equal to a received signal strength indicator value corresponding to the range set for the mobile device, then the mobile device is within range for the user receiving device to perform certain tasks.”). In view of Chung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein, in response to a plurality of external devices performing short-range communication with the communication circuitry, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the display to display a plurality of user accounts registered on the external devices differently from the remaining user accounts, based on at least one of a strength of a signal received from each of the plurality of external devices through the communication circuitry. The modification would serve to aid in identification and communication with external devices . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Cordray and Grumer et al. (US 2019/0082229) . Regarding claim 12, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: transmit a signal about whether to allow login to the external device, based on receiving a user input for selecting differently displayed user account, and perform a login to the selected user account, based on receiving a signal that allows login from the external device. Grumer teaches transmitting a signal about whether to allow login to an external device, based on receiving a user input , and perform authorization to a selected user account, based on receiving a signal that allows authorization from the external device ([0041], “In some example embodiments, the user of the set-top box requests authorization to view an item of media content. In response, the set-top box causes an interactive notification to be presented on a mobile device. A user of the mobile device provides a response that indicates whether or not the set-top box should play the item of media content. The mobile device transmits the response to the set-top box, which plays the item of media content only if authorized.” [0049], [0061], “For example, the user interface module 270 may cause a user interface to be presented on the parent device 120 that requests authorization for the child device 105 to play a media content item.” [0148], “The notification 1405 indicates a name of a child requesting permission to view an item of media content. In the particular example shown, the child is Jessica and the item of media content being requested is UFC 011. The button 1415 is operable by the user of the GUI 1400 (e.g., by a user of the parent device 120 of FIG. 1) to approve the viewing of the media content item by the child.”). In view of Grumer’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to: transmit a signal about whether to allow login to the external device, based on receiving a user input for selecting differently displayed user account, and perform a login to the selected user account, based on receiving a signal that allows login from the external device. The modification would serve to allow for the application of parental controls for child users. The modification would thereby improve the user experience. Regarding claim 13, Cordray teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein, based on the newly logged-in user account being an account of a child, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to perform a login to the child account in response to a determination that the login is attempted by an external device to which an account of a guardian of the child is registered. Grumer teaches wherein, based on a user account being an account of a child, performing an authorization to the child account in response to a determination that the authorization is attempted by an external device to which an account of a guardian of the child is registered ([0041], “In some example embodiments, the user of the set-top box requests authorization to view an item of media content. In response, the set-top box causes an interactive notification to be presented on a mobile device. A user of the mobile device provides a response that indicates whether or not the set-top box should play the item of media content. The mobile device transmits the response to the set-top box, which plays the item of media content only if authorized.” [0049], [0061], “For example, the user interface module 270 may cause a user interface to be presented on the parent device 120 that requests authorization for the child device 105 to play a media content item.” [0148], “The notification 1405 indicates a name of a child requesting permission to view an item of media content. In the particular example shown, the child is Jessica and the item of media content being requested is UFC 011. The button 1415 is operable by the user of the GUI 1400 (e.g., by a user of the parent device 120 of FIG. 1) to approve the viewing of the media content item by the child.”). In view of Grumer’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cordray wherein, based on the newly logged-in user account being an account of a child, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to perform a login to the child account in response to a determination that the login is attempted by an external device to which an account of a guardian of the child is registered. The modification would serve to allow for the application of parental controls for child users. The modification would thereby improve the user experience. Regarding claim 14, the combination further teaches wherein, based on a preset setting value being included in the child's account, the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the display apparatus to control the preset setting value to be applied to logged-in display apparatus (Grumer: [0041], “In some example embodiments, the user of the set-top box requests authorization to view an item of media content. In response, the set-top box causes an interactive notification to be presented on a mobile device. A user of the mobile device provides a response that indicates whether or not the set-top box should play the item of media content. The mobile device transmits the response to the set-top box, which plays the item of media content only if authorized.” [0049], [0061], “For example, the user interface module 270 may cause a user interface to be presented on the parent device 120 that requests authorization for the child device 105 to play a media content item.” [0148], “The notification 1405 indicates a name of a child requesting permission to view an item of media content. In the particular example shown, the child is Jessica and the item of media content being requested is UFC 011. The button 1415 is operable by the user of the GUI 1400 (e.g., by a user of the parent device 120 of FIG. 1) to approve the viewing of the media content item by the child.”). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL R TELAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5940. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nasser Goodarzi can be reached at (571) 272-4195. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL R TELAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 2 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 3 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 4 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 5 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 6 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 7 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 8 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 9 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 10 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 11 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 12 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 13 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 14 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 15 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 16 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 17 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 18 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/194,671 Page 19 Art Unit: 2426