DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22, 28-34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 22, there is inadequate description that “…an overlap is formed between the leading edge of each of the plurality of first blades and the trailing edge of each of the plurality of second blades that creates a momentary blockage over a radial range smaller than a radial range of a distance from root to tip of at least the plurality of first blades…”. The specification states in paragraph [0071] “…Therefore, biasing is introduced to increase efficiency as well as provide non-parallel trailing and leading edges between adjacent components in the flow path; where momentary tip to root blade blockage occurs blades pass (in scenarios of relative speed between the adjacent components)…”. This is the only mention of a blockage and is inadequate to determine the scope of the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 28 and 30-32, there is inadequate description of what constitutes “a momentary tip to root blade blockage” and “the momentary tip to root blade blockage having a radial dimension less than a radial length between the stator blade root and the stator blade tip”. The specification states in paragraph [0071] “…Therefore, biasing is introduced to increase efficiency as well as provide non-parallel trailing and leading edges between adjacent components in the flow path; where momentary tip to root blade blockage occurs blades pass (in scenarios of relative speed between the adjacent components)…”. This is the only mention of a blockage and is inadequate to determine the scope of the claimed limitation.
Regarding claims 29, 33, and 34, their dependence on inadequately described claim 28 and 32, renders the claims themselves inadequately described.
Claims 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Regarding claims 35 and 38, one is not enabled as to how “…the region of closest approach moving in a radial direction as the leading edge of the first blade of the plurality of first blades and the trailing edge of the first blade of the plurality of second blades move circumferentially relative to each other…”. It appears that this region would depend on the blade shapes of the blades involved, but there is no depiction or clear description of how the claimed movement of the region of closest approach is achieved.
Regarding claims 36, 37, 39, and 40, their dependence on non-enabled claim 35, renders the claims themselves non-enabled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21, 22, as far as it is described, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schneider et al. (2,306,758). Schneider et al. discloses (claims 21 and 22) a torque converter having a pump P and a turbine T, the torque converter comprising a shell (outer border o) extending about an axis of rotation; a core (inner border i) extending about the axis of rotation (A-A) and defining a fluidic recirculating flow path with the shell, the shell and the core configured to provide a recirculating flow of incompressible fluid used in the torque converter to transfer work between the pump P and the turbine T of the torque converter; and a plurality of first blades Ri,Pi,Ti and a plurality of second blades Pi,Ti,Ri located between the shell and the core in the fluidic recirculating flow path, a leading edge of each of the plurality of first blades Ri,Pi,Ti adjacent to a trailing edge of each of the plurality of second blades Ti,Ri,Pi, the plurality of first blades Ri,Pi,Ti and the plurality of second blades Ti,Ri,Pi configured to be rotatable relative to each other, the leading edge of each of the plurality of first blades Ri,Pi being non-parallel with the trailing edge of each of the plurality of second blades Ti,Ri when the plurality of first blades are rotated into circumferential alignment such that at least a first point of the leading edge of a blade of the plurality of first blades Ri,Pi is in a plane with a second point of the trailing edge of a blade of the plurality of second blades Ti,Ri the plane defined by the first point, the second point, and the axis of rotation A-A.
Regarding claim 23, Schneider et al. discloses that the plurality of first blades and the plurality of second blades defines a first blade/second blade pairing, and wherein the first blade/second blade pairing is one of a stator/pump pairing Ri,Pi, pump/turbine pairing Pi,Ti, or turbine/stator pairing Ti,Ri.
Regarding claim 24, Scheider et al. discloses that the plurality of first blades Pi are configured to rotate about the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 25, Schneider et al. discloses that the plurality of second blades Ri are stationary about the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 26, Schneider et al. discloses that the non-parallel orientation between each of the plurality of first blades Ri,Pi and each of the plurality of second blades Ti,Ri mitigates a cavitation potential formed between the leading edge of each of the plurality of first blades Ri,Pi and the trailing edge of each of the plurality of second blades Ti,Ri when the plurality of first blades Ri,Pi are swept past the plurality of second blades Ti,Ri.
Regarding claim 27, Schneider et al. discloses that the plurality of first blades Pi is the pump and the plurality of second blades Ti is the turbine, wherein the pump P is configured to be driven from an engine (page 3, left col., line 35) and the turbine T is configured to drive an input to a transmission (page 3, left col., line 33).
Claim 21, 23-26, 36, 37, 39, 40, 22 and 28, as far as they are described, and 35 and 38, as far as they are enabled, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigemasa et al. (4,726,185). Shigemasa et al. discloses (claims 21 and 22) a torque converter having a pump 10 and a turbine 12, the torque converter comprising a shell (not numbered) extending about an axis of rotation; a core 14b extending about the axis of rotation and defining a fluidic recirculating flow path with the shell, the shell and the core 14b configured to provide a recirculating flow of incompressible fluid used in the torque converter to transfer work between the pump 10 and the turbine 12 of the torque converter; and a plurality of first blades 16,T,P and a plurality of second blades T,P,16 located between the shell and the core 14B in the fluidic recirculating flow path, a leading edge of each of the plurality of first blades 16,T,P adjacent to a trailing edge of each of the plurality of second blades T,P,16, the plurality of first blades 16,T,P and the plurality of second blades T,P,16 configured to be rotatable relative to each other, the leading edge of each of the plurality of first blades 16,P being non-parallel with the trailing edge of each of the plurality of second blades T,16 when the plurality of first blades are rotated into circumferential alignment such that at least a first point of the leading edge of a blade of the plurality of first blades is in a plane with a second point of the trailing edge of a blade of the plurality of second blades, the plane defined by the first point, the second point, and the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 23 (first and third alternatives), Shigemasa et al. discloses that the plurality of first blades and the plurality of second blades defines a first blade/second blade pairing, and wherein the first blade/second blade pairing is one of a stator/pump pairing 16,P, pump/turbine pairing, or turbine/stator pairing T,16.
Regarding claim 24, Shigemasa et al. discloses that the plurality of first blades P are configured to rotate about the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 25, Shigemasa et al. discloses that the plurality of second blades 16 are stationary about the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 26, Shigemasa et al. discloses that the non-parallel orientation between each of the plurality of first blades 16,P and each of the plurality of second blades T,16 mitigates a cavitation potential formed between the leading edge of each of the plurality of first blades 16,P and the trailing edge of each of the plurality of second blades T,16 when the plurality of first blades 16,P are swept past the plurality of second blades T,16.
Regarding claims 28 and 30-32, as far as they are described, Shigemasa et al. discloses a torque converter, the torque converter comprising: a pump 10 having a pump blade P extending from a pump blade root to a pump blade tip, the pump 10 configured to rotate about an axis of rotation through a plurality of circumferential stations defined about the axis of rotation, and a stator 14 having a stator blade 16 extending from a stator blade root to a stator blade tip, the stator blade swept by the pump blade during rotation of the pump 10 about the axis of rotation;
Regarding claim 29, Shigemasa et al. discloses a recirculating fluid flow path configured to flow an incompressible fluid, the pump and the stator disposed in the recirculating flow path.
Regarding claim 33, Shigemasa et al. discloses comprising a turbine 12 downstream of the pump 10.
Regarding claim 34, Shigemasa et al. discloses a recirculating fluid flow path configured to circulate an incompressible fluid, wherein the pump 10 is located downstream of the stator 14, and wherein the stator 14 is located downstream of the turbine 12.
Regarding claims 35 and 38, as far as they are enabled, Shigemasa et al. discloses a torque converter configured to fluidically converter mechanical power from an engine to a transmission, the torque converter having a pump 10, a turbine 12, and a stator 14, the torque converter comprising: a recirculating flow path defined between the pump 10, the turbine 12, and the stator 14 during operation of the torque converter, a plurality of first blades 16,T,P disposed in the recirculating flow path, each of the plurality of first blades 16,T,P having a leading edge and a trailing edge; and a plurality of second blades T,P,16 disposed in the recirculating flow path, each of the plurality of second blades T,P,16 having a leading edge and a trailing edge: wherein during relative rotation between the plurality of first blades 16,T,P and the plurality of second blades T,P,16 about an axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 36, Shigemasa et al. discloses the plurality of first blades is the pump, and wherein the plurality of second blades is the stator.
Regarding claim 37, Shigemasa et al. discloses a plurality of third blades disposed in the recirculating flow path, the plurality of third blades being the turbine.
Regarding claim 39, Shigemasa et al. discloses the plurality of first blades P is configured to rotate about the axis of rotation.
Regarding claim 40, Shigemasa et al. discloses the plurality of second blades 16 are arranged circumferentially about the axis of rotation and remain static relative to the axis of rotation (stator 14 remains static with blades 16).
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other torque converters with leading edges of first blades in non-parallel relationships with trailing edges of second blades.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
April 16, 2026