DETAILED ACTION
Specification
ABSTRACT - The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it merely consists of a single run-on sentence without regard for proper grammatical form. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
TITLE - The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
“JUMBO CASE” - The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a guide portion in claim 1.
Claim Objections
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: particular operation or condition during which a time acquired by dividing 360 degrees by an angular velocity of the rotary is measured.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,565,973 to Fujishiro et al. in view of KR 2008-0072366 to Hwang.
Regarding claim 1, Fujishiro teaches an image forming apparatus comprising:
a photosensitive drum (1);
a rotary (300) rotatable about a rotation axis extending in an axial direction;
a toner cartridge (314) which is supported by the rotary and includes a discharge opening (327) from which toner is discharged; and
a developing unit (302) which is supported by the rotary and configured to develop an electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive drum at a development position, wherein the developing unit has a receiving opening (311) configured to receive the toner discharged from the discharge opening, an accommodating chamber (312) configured to accommodate the toner received from the receiving opening, a developing roller (303) configured to carry the toner, a supply roller (306) configured to rotate about a roller axis extending along the axial direction to supply the toner accommodated in the accommodating chamber to the developing roller.
Fujishiro appears silent about the developing unit including a guide portion.
Hwang discloses an image forming apparatus (Fig.1) comprising a photosensitive drum (22); a developer storage chamber (27) including a discharge opening (29) from which toner is discharged; and a developing unit (A) configured to develop an electrostatic latent image formed on the photosensitive drum at a development position, wherein the developing unit has a receiving opening (29) configured to receive the toner discharged from the discharge opening, an accommodating chamber (28) configured to accommodate the toner received from the receiving opening, a developing roller (31) configured to carry the toner, a supply roller (33) configured to rotate about a roller axis extending along the axial direction to supply the toner accommodated in the accommodating chamber to the developing roller, and a guide portion (36) configured to guide the toner, which moves in a direction intersecting the axial direction in accordance with the rotation of the supply roller, away from the receiving opening in the axial direction.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the developing unit of Fujishiro to further comprise a guide portion, and the guide portion is configured to guide the toner, which moves in a direction intersecting the axial direction in accordance with the rotation of the supply roller, away from the receiving opening in the axial direction, as suggested by Hwang’s invention, for at least the purpose of ensuring a density of developer supplied to the developer roller.
The modified image forming apparatus further renders obvious:
(claim 2) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the guide portion is a rib which protrudes, in an area between an inner surface of the accommodating chamber of the developing unit and the supply roller, from the inner surface of the frame toward the supply roller and extends in the direction intersecting the axial direction (Hwang: Figs. 2 & 3).
(claim 3) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the rib has a first rib end which is an end on an upstream side in a rotation direction of the supply roller and a second rib end which is an end on a downstream side, and the toner moves from the second rib end toward the first rib end in accordance with the rotation of the supply roller (Hwang: Figs. 2-4).
(claim 4) The image forming apparatus according to claim 3, wherein, in a cross-section orthogonal to the axial direction, the shortest distance between an outer circumference of the supply roller and the first rib end is longer than the shortest distance between the outer circumference of the supply roller and the second rib end (Hwang: Fig.4).
(claim 7) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the inner surface includes a supply roller opposing portion having a shape extending along an outer circumference surface of the supply roller in a cross-section orthogonal to the axial direction, and the guide portion is disposed in the supply roller opposing portion (Hwang: Fig.2).
(claim 8) The image forming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the guide portion is disposed from a surface on which the receiving opening is provided to the supply roller opposing portion in the developing unit (Hwang: Fig.2).
(claim 9) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the supply roller has a foam body configured to absorb the toner housed in the accommodating chamber on an outer circumference, the supply roller is configured to rotate while being brought into contact with the developing roller such that a nip portion is formed between the developing roller and the supply roller, and the toner absorbed by the foam body on a downstream side of the nip portion in the rotation direction of the supply roller is discharged from the foam body on an upstream side of the nip portion to move the toner in a direction intersecting the axial direction (Fujishiro: col.6 lines 30-33).
(claim 10) Fujishiro in view of Hwang teaches an image forming apparatus according to claim 3. Although the combination does not explicitly teach wherein, in a state in which the developing unit is at the development position, the second rib end is located below the first rib end, the relative positioning of the parts is deemed an obvious matter of design choice would not have modified the operation of the device (MPEP 2144.04).
(claim 11) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the guide portion has a portion located below the roller axis of the supply roller in a state in which the developing unit is at the development position, and a portion located above the roller axis in the state in which the developing unit is at the development position (Fujishiro:Fig.2A in view of Hwang:Fig.4; the guide portion extends along greater than a quarter circumference of the supply roller).
(claim 12) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the developing unit has a developing blade (Fujishiro:308) regulating a thickness of toner supplied to the developing roller, and, in a state in which the developing unit is at the development position, the developing blade is located below the developing roller (Fujishiro: Fig.2A).
(claim 13) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, when the developing unit is at an attachment and detachment position that is a position different from the development position, the toner cartridge is attachable to and detachable from the developing unit (Hwang: Fig.14).
(claim 14) The image forming apparatus according to claim 13, wherein a positional relation between the supply roller and the rib is different, in at least one of a vertical direction and a horizontal direction, between a case in which the developing unit is at the development position and a case in which the developing unit is at the attachment and detachment position (du to rotation of the rotary).
(claim 15) Fujishiro in view of Hwang teach an image forming apparatus according to claim 2, but appear silent about a time in which the supply roller is rotating during execution of the image forming operation. Hwang discloses the rotational speed of the supply roller as a result effective variable impacting how smoothly developer is supplied to the developing roller and, hence, to the photosensitive member; if the developer is not smoothly supplied to the photosensitive member, image quality is deteriorated. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover the optimum or workable range of a time in which the supply roller is rotating during execution of the image forming operation, as a recognized result-effective variable, by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). As a result, its relative value compared to a time acquired by dividing 360 degrees by an angular velocity of the rotary could also be optimized.
Regarding claim 5, Fujishiro in view of Hwang teach an image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the guide portion includes a rib but do not explicitly suggest the guide portion including a plurality of the ribs. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the guide portion to include a plurality of the ribs aligned along the axial direction, as a mere duplication of parts having a similar expected result of guiding the developer towards the supply position.
Regarding claim 6, Fujishiro in view of Hwang teach an image forming apparatus according to claim 5, but appear silent about first and second receiving openings, as claimed.
Fujishiro further teaches the configuration of the disclosed developing unit implements a miniature revolver where toner is circulated in the axial direction through circulating portion 312 and the hopper 311 wherein supply of developer to the supply roller 306 is controlled by adequately selecting the amounts of toner to be conveyed by the screws 309 and 310. Fujishiro also teaches using a plurality of guides (333, Fig.7B) provided on the inner periphery of a developer containing portion to guide developer in a particular direction, and positioned such that their distance sequentially decreases from the upstream side toward the downstream side in the direction in which the toner moves.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fujishiro such that in a case where one side of the developing unit with respect to a central portion in the axial direction is defined as a first portion and the other portion is defined as a second portion, a first receiving opening is provided in the first portion, and a second receiving opening is provided in the second portion, and the guide portion includes a first rib that is disposed in the first portion and a second rib that is disposed in the second portion, for at least the purpose of effectively directing the developer towards the effective diameter portions of the supply roller and the developer roller in the axial direction, thus ensuring an adequate amount of developer is available for image formation.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/198,436 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the main feature not recited in claim 1 of the reference application is “a photosensitive drum”, which would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the electrophotographic arts, to which both inventions pertain.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852