DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 12, 14-17, 21, 26, 27, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuta (JP 5350982 B2) in view of Coates (US 2015/0330001 A1) and Bush et al. (WO 2016/187526 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, 27, 33, Mizuta teaches a composite material air duct (Paragraph 0001) comprising a plurality of discrete layered on top of each other to form fibrous sheets (Paragraph 0032), where the fibrous sheets are shaped to form a generally hollow member (Fig. 2). Mizuta teaches the fibrous sheets provide acoustic absorbing properties. (Paragraph 0036).
Mizuta does not specifically teach the claimed composition of the fibrous sheets.
Coates teaches a fibrous sheet consisting of two polyester needle punched layers having a basis weight of 200 gsm sandwiching a core material of short fibers of PET and PP having a length of 12 mm or less. (Paragraph 0041, 0063). Coates teaches this fiber sheet provides the advantage of being a fibrous acoustic sheet that provides excellent sound absorption while using less waste, thus making the sheet cheaper. (Paragraph 0003-0006). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use the claimed fiber sheet of Coates as the fibrous sheets in Mizuta.
Coates does not specifically teach the nonwoven needle punched layers are PET.
Bush teaches an acoustic absorber fiber sheet formed of needle punched layers are PET. (Abstract; Paragraph 0019-0025). As Bush teaches PET is suitable to form needle punched layers, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use the PET as the polyester in both the needle-punched layers of Coates. The selection of a known material based on it suitability for its intended use supports a prima face case of obviousness. (MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding Claim 12, Mizuta teaches the composite material is thermoformable. (Paragraph 0051)
Regarding Claims 14-16, Coates teaches the fibrous material layer comprises short fibers having a length of 12 mm or less or less than about 6 mm or about 2 mm to about 5 mm. (Paragraph 0063). These overlap the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 17, Bush teaches an acoustic composite, where layers adjacent to each other had different specific air flow resistance. (Claim 13 of Bush; Abstract). Bush teaches this means the acoustic composite has greater sound absorption. (Claim 13 of Bush; Paragraph 0015). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have different specific air flow resistance for each layer directly adjacent to each other in Mizuta and Coates for improved acoustic absorption.
Regarding Claim 21, Mizuta teaches the composite material is shaped to form an air duct. (Fig 1-5)
Regarding Claim 26, Mizuta teaches a portion of the composite material is free of overmolding. (Fig. 2)
Regarding Claim 31, Mizuta teaches the composite material comprises two thermoformed fibrous sheets joined at a lip portion to form the generally hollow member. (Fig. 2).
Claims 4-5, 22 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuta, Coates, and Bush in view of Shinoda (JP 2008-281276 A).
Regarding Claims 4-5, 22 and 29-30, Mizuta and Coates do not specifically teach one or more film, foil or facing layers located on an outermost surface of the composite material and the basis weight is less than 50 gsm, where the foil, film or facing is only on portions of the duct
Shinoda teaches a duct comprising an acoustic absorbing non-woven fabric (Abstract; Page 1-3) with a covering layer on acoustic fabric and located on the outermost surface of the composite material, portion of the duct. (Page 3) Shinoda teaches a film with an aluminum foil coating onto a resin film as the cover layer, where the aluminum foil has a thickness of 7 to 20 microns. (Page 3). Aluminum has a density of approximately 2.7 g/cm3, which multiplied with the thickness yields a basis weight that lies within the claimed range of less than 50 gsm. Shinoda teaches this coating provides waterproofing that protects the acoustic absorber. (Page 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply the claimed covering layer to the composite of Mizuta and Coates to protect the acoustic absorber.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuta, Coates, and Bush in view of Akasaka et al. (US 2017/0309266 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Mizuta and Coates do not teach the claimed porosity.
Akasaka teaches a non-woven fabric laminate (Abstract), where the porosity of the non-woven acoustic absorber is less than 0.92 or 92%. (Paragraph 0096). This overlaps the claimed range. Akasaka teaches this porosity ranges ensure the non-woven laminate will be able to have sound absorption at all frequencies, especially low frequencies which are difficult for some absorbers to capture. (Paragraph 0094-0096). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in ensure the porosity of the composite of Mizuta and Coates to have the claimed range to ensure sound absorption at large range
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuta, Coates and Bush in view of Patsouras (US 2009/0166126 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, Mizuta and Coates do not specifically teach compressed regions have a thickness than is less than another portion of the composite material.
Patsouras teaches an acoustic duct work component (Abstract), where the injection molded portion of the duct should not enter completely through. Patsouras teaches these compressed areas, having a lesser thickness than other parts of the composite, of the composite prevent the intrusion in order to allow little flow resistance and minimal noise development (Paragraph 0016, 0047, 0056-0059). Therefore, as Patsouras teaches compressed areas prevent injection mold material infiltration provides the advantage of lower flow resistance and minimal noise development, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to ensure Mizuta and Coates also had compressed areas having a lesser thickness to also aid in prevention of the molded material from entering into the core layer.
Claim 1 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephens (US 3,078,880 A) in view of Coates and Bush.
Regarding Claims 1 and 32, Stevens teaches a composite material molded to form a hollow air duct, where the composite material is a single fibrous sheet (Fig. 3-4). Stevens does not specifically teach the composition of the fibrous sheet/discrete layers.
Coates teaches a fibrous sheet consisting of two polyester needle punched layers having a basis weight of 200 gsm sandwiching a core material of short fibers of PET and PP having a length of 12 mm or less. (Paragraph 0041, 0063). Coates teaches this fiber sheet provides the advantage of being a fibrous acoustic sheet that provides excellent sound absorption while using less waste, thus making the sheet cheaper. (Paragraph 0003-0006). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use the claimed fiber sheet of Coates as the fibrous sheets in Stevens.
Coates does not specifically teach the nonwoven needle punched layers are PET.
Bush teaches an acoustic absorber fiber sheet formed of needle punched layers are PET. (Abstract; Paragraph 0019-0025). As Bush teaches PET is suitable to form needle punched layers, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use the PET as the polyester in both the needle-punched layers of Coates. The selection of a known material based on it suitability for its intended use supports a prima face case of obviousness. (MPEP §2144.07).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 12, 14-17, 20, 21-22, 26-33 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,045. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent teaches overlapping ranges for the fiber length and basis weight.
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781