DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment to claims filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2 and 6 are amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Previous prior art rejection is withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on a new ground of rejection. See the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As amended, claim 1 recites “a leakage conductive structure provided in the isolation region and provided between the first doped layer and the second doped layer, wherein the leakage conductive structure comprises a first conductive block, a second conductive block, and a leakage tunneling layer, the first conductive block is connected to the first doped layer, and the second conductive block is connected to the second doped layer, the first conductive block and the second conductive block are partially overlapped, and the leakage tunneling layer is provided between the first conductive block and the second conductive block” in lines 6-12. Applicant has no support for the limitations in the originally filed disclosure. On the contrary, Applicant discloses and shows the isolation region (15) does not provide a leakage conductive structure (14) comprising a first conductive block, a second conductive block and a leakage current as claimed (see figs. 1-23 of Applicant’s disclosure).
Claims 2-20 are rejected on the same ground as claim 1.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As amended, claim 1 recites “a leakage conductive structure provided in the isolation region and provided between the first doped layer and the second doped layer, wherein the leakage conductive structure comprises a first conductive block, a second conductive block, and a leakage tunneling layer, the first conductive block is connected to the first doped layer, and the second conductive block is connected to the second doped layer, the first conductive block and the second conductive block are partially overlapped, and the leakage tunneling layer is provided between the first conductive block and the second conductive block” in lines 6-12. It is unclear what is being claimed since an isolation region conventionally is for isolation, and not for conduction that include conductive blocks and tunneling layer.
Claims 2-20 are rejected on the same ground as claim 1.
For the purpose of this office action, the recitation “a leakage conductive structure provided in the isolation region and provided between the first doped layer and the second layer” is construed as “a leakage conductive structure” and “an isolation region” are the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 115832065A) in view of Choi et al. (US Patent 10,566,484).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. discloses an IBC (interdigitating back contact) solar cell (see annotated fig. 1 below) comprising:
a silicon substrate (11);
a first doped layer (see annotated fig. 1 below) on a backside of the silicon substrate;
a second doped layer (see annotated fig. 1 below) spaced apart from the first doped layer on the backside of the silicon substrate (11, see annotated fig. 1 below);
an isolation region comprising a leakage conductive structure that is provided between the first doped layer and the second doped layer (see annotated fig. 1 below); and
wherein the leakage conductive structure comprises:
a first conductive block connected to the first doped layer (see annotated fig. 1 below);
a second conductive block connected to the second doped layer (see annotated fig. 1 below), and
a leakage tunneling layer (or the protruding part of the second passivation layer 17 from the substrate 11, see annotated fig. 1 below; [0007], [0011-0012], [0067-0068]);
wherein doping types of the first doped layer (part of layer 141) and the second doped layer (or part of layer 18) are different (see [0005], [0007], [0059] of the translation);
wherein the first conductive block and the second conductive block are partially overlapped (see annotated fig. 1 below), and the leakage tunneling layer (17) is provided between the first conductive block and the second conductive block (see annotated fig. 1 below).
As shown in fig. 1, the width of the first conductive block is selectively about 40% of the doped semiconductor layer (141, see annotated fig. 1 above) and the width of the second conductive block is selectively about 25% of the second doped semiconductor layer (18, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Zhang et al. does not teach a width of the first conductive block or the second conductive block to be in a range from 5mm to 500mm.
Choi et al. discloses a width of a doped semiconductor layer (or doped area 120) is 50mm to 1000mm to provide efficient electrical connection between the doped area and the electrode, and more specifically 100mm to 500mm in consideration of the connection to the electrode (see col. 11, lines 30-41).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first doped semiconducting layer (141) and/or the second doped semiconducting layer (18) to have a width in the direction parallel to a longitudinal direction to be 50mm to 1000mm or 100mm to 500mm in consideration of providing efficient electrical connection between the doped area and the electrode as taught by Choi et al.. 40% and 25% of the width of 50mm-1000mm or 100-500mm of the doped semiconductor layer are found to be 20-400mm or 40-300mm and 12.5-250mm 25-125mm. 20-400mm, 40-300mm, 12.5-250mm and 25-125mm are right within the claimed ranges of 5mm to 500mm.
Furthermore, as the current leakage and photoelectric conversion efficiency are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the width of the conductive blocks and the overlapped portion between the conductive blocks, precise width of the conductive blocks would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed width of the conductive blocks cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the width of the conductive blocks in the solar cell of Zhang et al. to obtain the desired balance between leakage current and the efficiency of the solar cell as disclosed by Zhang et al. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the material of the first conductive block is a same from a material of the first doped layer (to form the first doped semiconductor layer 141 as a whole); or a material of the second conductive block is a same as the material of the second doped layer (to form the second doped semiconductor layer 18 as a whole, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the first conductive block comprises doped silicon with a same doping type as a doping type of the first doped layer (or of the same material 141, see annotated fig. 1 above); or the second conductive block comprises doped silicon with a same doping type as a doping type of the second doped layer (or of the same material 18, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 4, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the first conductive block is integrally formed with the first doped layer (to form layer 141); or the second conductive block is integrally formed with the second doped layer (to form layer 18, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, and teaches the leakage tunneling layer (or a portion of the second passivation layer 17) is a tunneling passivation layer and using amorphous silicon (see [0011-0012], [0067-0068] of the translation). Zhang et al. also teaches using silicon oxide for a tunneling passivation layer (see [0065] of the translation), and a tunneling layer having a thickness of 1.2nm to 1.8 nm (see [0123] of the translation). It is noted that 1.2nm to 1.8nm is right within the claimed range
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach the leakage tunneling layer (17) is a silicon oxide layer or a hydrogenated amorphous silicon layer; or a thickness of the leakage tunneling layer is in a range from 1nm to 5 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell of Zhang et al. by using silicon oxide for the leakage tunneling layer (or the second passivation layer 17) or forming the leakage tunneling layer (or the second passivation layer 17) having a thickness of 1.2nm to 1.8 nm, because Zhang et al. explicitly suggests doing so for a tunneling layer.
Regarding claim 7, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. shows the overlapping portion between the first conductive block and the second conductive block is about 1/3 of the width of the first conductive block (or 40% of the doped semiconductor layer 141, see fig. 1 above), wherein the width of the first conductive block is 20-400mm or 40-200mm. Therefore, 1/3 of 20-400mm and 40-200mm is 6.67-133.33mm and 13.33-66.67mm which are right within the claimed range of 1mm to 300mm.
Regarding claim 8, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches along a thickness direction of the silicon substrate, an orthographic projection of the first conductive block is within an orthographic projection of the second conductive block (see annotated fig. 1 above), or an orthographic projection of the first conductive block is partially overlapped with an orthographic projection of the second conductive block (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the leakage conductive structure further comprises an insulating layer (see doped glass 15, fig. 2) provided between overlapped portions of the first conductive block (or the end part of layer 141) and the second conductive block (or the hook of the layer 18, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 9 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the insulating layer (doped glass 15) comprises a borosilicate glass layer (see [n0095] of the translation) and a thickness of the insulating layer (or doped glass layer) from 40nm to 60nm (see [n0097] of the translation), which is right in the claimed range from 1nm to 90 nm.
Regarding claim 11, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 9 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches a part of the leakage tunneling layer (or the hook part of the second passivation layer 17) provided between the insulating layer (15) and the second conductive block (or the protruding part/hook part of the layer 18, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 18, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches a first passivation tunneling layer (see first passivation layer 121) provided between the first doped layer (right part of the layer 141) and the silicon substrate (11, see annotated fig. 1 above), and between the first conductive block (or the left part of layer 141) and the silicon substrate (11, see annotated fig. 1 above); and a second passivation tunneling layer (see top horizontal portion of the second passivation 17) provided between the second doped layer (the left part of layer 18) and the silicon substrate (11, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim l8 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the second passivation tunneling layer (top horizontal part of layer 17) is integrally formed with the leakage tunneling layer (the protruding portion of the layer 17) to form the second passivation tunneling layer (17) as a whole (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell according to claim 18, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the first passivation tunneling layer (121) abuts against the leakage tunneling layer (17, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claims 6 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhang et al. (CN 115832065A) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Niira et al. (US 2011/0000532).
Regarding claim 6, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches the leakage tunneling layer is a passivation layer (17, see annotated fig. 1 above).
Modified Zhang et al., and more specifically Zhang et al. does not teach the leakage tunneling layer is a hydrogenated amorphous silicon layer.
Niira et al. teaches using hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) as the passivation layer (8, [0034]) and using hydrogenated amorphous silicon would provide the effect that hydrogen diffuses to make hydrogen passivation of dangling bonds at the interface between the semiconductor substrate (1) and the insulation layer (7, or insulating layer having passivation effect) and theses effects contribute to the achievement of a high-efficiency solar cell device having excellent output characteristics ([0063]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell of modified Zhang et al. by using hydrogenated amorphous silicon (a-Si:H) as taught by Niira et al. for the leakage tunneling layer (or the passivation layer 17) of Zhang et al., because Niira et al. teaches using hydrogenated amorphous silicon would provide the effect the hydrogen diffuses to make hydrogen passivation of the dangling bonds at the interface, which contributes to the achievement of a high-efficiency solar cell device having excellent output characteristics.
Regarding claim 12, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 1 above, wherein Zhang et al. shows the first doped layer connecting to the corresponding electrode (22) and the second doped layer connecting the corresponding electrode (23, see figs. 1-2).
Modified Zhang et al., or more specifically Zhang et al. does not show the first doped layer comprises a first busbar region and a plurality of first finger regions connected to the first busbar region, the second doped layer comprises a second busbar region and a plurality of second finger regions connected to the second busbar region, and the first finger regions and the second finger regions located between adjacent first busbar region and second busbar region are alternately spaced apart.
Niira et al. shows a first doped layer (see first conductivity type layer 3, fig. 1) connected to the corresponding first electrode (11, fig. 1) and the second doped layer (see second conductivity type layer 4, fig. 1) connected to the corresponding second electrode (12, fig. 1, [0037-0038]). Niira et al. teaches the first electrode (11) includes a first busbar region/section (11a, fig. 2B) and a plurality of first finger regions/sections (11b, fig. 2B), and the second electrode (12) includes a second busbar region/section (12a, fig. 2B) and a plurality of second finger regions/sections (12b, fig. 2B), wherein the first finger regions (11b) and the second finger regions (12b) located between adjacent first busbar region (11a) and the second busbar region (12a) are alternately spaced apart (see fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar cell of modified Zhang et al. by forming the first doped layer comprises a first busbar region and a plurality of first finger regions connected to the first busbar region, the second doped layer comprises a second busbar region and a plurality of second finger regions connected to the second busbar region, and the first finger regions and the second finger regions located between adjacent first busbar region and second busbar region are alternately spaced apart, so that the corresponding electrodes having first and second busbar regions, a plurality of first finger regions and a plurality of second finger regions as taught by Niira et al.; because Niira et al. teaches such configuration would allow connections to wiring for connection to different solar cell devices (see figs. 12A-B, [0037]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 12 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches a leakage conductive structure is provided in the region between the first doped region (e.g. right portion of the first doped semiconductor 141 and the first electrode 22) and second doped region (e.g. left portion of the second doped semiconductor 18, see annotated fig. 1 above), and Niira et al. shows there are a plurality of regions between the first fingers (11b) and the second finger regions (12b) that are adjacent to each other (see fig. 2B). As such, in the solar cell of modified Zhang et al., there are a plurality of leakage conductive structures provided, and at least part of the leakage conductive structures are connected to the first finger region and the second finger region that are adjacent to each other.
Regarding claim 14, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 12 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches a leakage conductive structure is provided in the region between the first doped region (e.g. right portion of the first doped semiconductor 141 and the first electrode 22) and second doped region (e.g. left portion of the second doped semiconductor 18, see annotated fig. 1 above), and Niira et al. shows there are a plurality of regions between the first fingers (11b) and the second busbar regions (12a) that are adjacent to each other (see fig. 2B). As such, in the solar cell of modified Zhang et al., there are a plurality of leakage conductive structures are provided, and at least part of the leakage conductive structures are connected to the first finger region and the second busbar region.
Regarding claim 15, modified Zhang et al. discloses an IBC solar cell as in claim 12 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches a leakage conductive structure is provided in the region between the first doped region (e.g. right portion of the first doped semiconductor 141 and the first electrode 22) and second doped region (e.g. left portion of the second doped semiconductor 18, see annotated fig. 1 above), and Niira et al. shows there are a plurality of regions between the second finger regions (12b) and the first busbar region (11a) that are adjacent to each other (see fig. 2B). As such, in the solar cell of modified Zhang et al., there are a plurality of leakage conductive structures are provided, and at least part of leakage conductive structures are connected to the second finger region and the first busbar region.
Regarding claim 16, modified Zhang et al. IBC solar cell as in claim 12 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches a leakage conductive structure is provided in the region between the first doped region (e.g. right portion of the first doped semiconductor 141 and the first electrode 22) and second doped region (e.g. left portion of the second doped semiconductor 18, see annotated fig. 1 above), and Niira et al. shows there are a plurality of regions between the second fingers (12b) and the first busbar regions (11a) that are adjacent to each other (see fig. 2B). Niira et al. also teaches the busbar regions are the soldering pad regions (see [0037], [0117-0124], [0137]). As such, in the solar cell of modified Zhang et al., there are a plurality of leakage conductive structures are provided, a plurality of first soldering pad regions are provided on the first busbar region, and at least part of the leakage conductive structures are connected to the second finger region and the plurality of first soldering pad regions (e.g. the soldering regions on the first busbar regions).
Regarding claim 17, modified Zhang et al. IBC solar cell as in claim 12 above, wherein Zhang et al. teaches a leakage conductive structure is provided in the region between the first doped region (e.g. right portion of the first doped semiconductor 141 and the first electrode 22) and second doped region (e.g. left portion of the second doped semiconductor 18, see annotated fig. 1 above), and Niira et al. shows there are a plurality of regions between the first fingers (11b) and the second busbar regions (12a) that are adjacent to each other (see fig. 2B). Niira et al. also teaches the busbar regions are the soldering pad regions (see [0037], [0117-0124], [0137]). As such, in the solar cell of modified Zhang et al., there are a plurality of leakage conductive structures are provided, a plurality of second soldering pad regions are provided on the second busbar region, and at least part of the leakage conductive structures are connected to the first finger region and the plurality of second soldering pad regions (e.g. the soldering regions on the second busbars).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Zhang does not teach the width of the conductive blocks as claimed.
However, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the above amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726