DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species B (figs.17-23) in the reply filed on 06/23/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a block and a reciprocal protrusion” in claim 1 and “a stop part receiving slot” in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,5-6,10-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baruch (US 20200298392 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Baruch teaches a module connection structure comprising (fig.12 shows the module connection structure):
a first connection part located on a first module, the first connection part comprising (see annotated fig.7 below for a first connection part locked on a first module):
a mounting part (see annotated fig.7 mounting part);
a locking part movable relative to the mounting part (see annotated fig.4 for the locking part that is movable relative to the mounting part); and a first elastic member positioned between the locking part and the mounting part (see annotated fig.4 below), wherein the first elastic member retains the locking part in a resting position within the mounting part (see annotated fig.4 below where the elastic member retains the locking part in a resting position within the mounting part);
a second connection part located on a second module, the second connection part comprising a mating part configured to receive the locking part (fig.12 show the two modules on top of each other and second connection part on the second module where the first connection part is attached as seen in fig.13 at 57a ); and
a stop part comprising a block and a reciprocal protrusion, wherein the block is configured to abut the reciprocal protrusion (see annotated fig.4 below for the stop part comprising a block and a reciprocal protrusion and since the block and protrusion interact with each other they are capable of abutting);
wherein when the block and the reciprocal protrusion are in abutment, the locking part is prevented from engaging with the mating part, such that the first connection part and the second connection part remain unlocked (see annotated fig.4 below where the block and reciprocal protrusion in abutment can prevent the locking part from engaging with mating part and two connection parts stay unlocked).
Annotated fig.7 of Baruch
Annotated fig.4 of Baruch
Regarding claim 2, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the block of the stop part is provided on the locking part, such that the locking part and the block are movable with respect to the mounting part while the reciprocal protrusion remains in a fixed position (see annotated fig.4 where the block of the stop part is provided on the locking part and capable of locking part and block are movable with respect to the mounting part which the protrusion inn fixed position).
Regarding claim 5, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the reciprocal protrusion is provided on the first connection part (see annotated fig.4 above for the protrusion provided on the first connection part).
Regarding claim 6, the references as applied to claim 2 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the reciprocal protrusion is provided on the second connection part (see annotated fig.4 above where the protrusion can be provided on the second connection part if the connection of the latch is reversed).
Regarding claim 10, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the locking part is a sliding latch configured to move horizontally relative to the mounting portion (fig.13-14 shows the locking part as a sliding latch capable of moving horizontally relative to the mounting portion).
Regarding claim 11, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the locking part is a flip latch or a rotary latch (see annotated figures above for the locking part as a rotary latch).
Regarding claim 12, the references as applied to claim 1 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches 1 modular storage system comprising two or more storage boxes comprising the module connection structure of claim 1, wherein each storage box of the two or more storage boxes comprises the first connection structure and the second connection structure, the first connection structure and the second connection structure being positioned on opposite ends of a side face of the storage box (see figure 12 that show the two or more storage boxes which comprises the module connection structure of claim 1 and each of the boxes will have two connection structures and they are positioned on opposite end od side face of the boxes).
Regarding claim 13, Baruch teaches a storage box assembly comprising (Fig.12 shows the module connection structure):
a first storage box providing a first connection part, the first connection part comprising (see annotated fig.7 above for a first connection part locked on a first module):
a mounting part (see annotated fig.7 above);
a locking part movable relative to the mounting part (see annotated fig.4 and 7 above); and a first elastic member positioned between the locking part and the mounting part, wherein the first elastic member retains the locking part in a resting position within the mounting part (see annotated fig.4 and 7 above);
a second storage box comprising a second connection part, the second connection part comprising a mating part configured to receive the locking part (fig.12 show the two modules on top of each other and second connection part on the second module where the first connection part is attached as seen in fig.13 at 57a); and
a stop part comprising a block and a reciprocal protrusion, wherein the block is configured to abut the reciprocal protrusion (see annotated fig.4 above for the stop part comprising a block and a reciprocal protrusion and protrusion is capable of abutting the block; it is noted this is a capable to limitation it is not positively claimed);
wherein, when the block and the reciprocal protrusion are in abutment, the locking part is prevented from being received within the mating part, such that the first connection part and the second connection part remain unlocked (see annotated fig.4 below where the block and reciprocal protrusion in abutment can prevent the locking part from engaging with mating part and two connection parts stay unlocked).
Regarding claim 14, the references as applied to claim 13 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the block of the stop part is provided on the locking part, such that the locking part and the block are movable with respect to the mounting part while the reciprocal protrusion remains in a fixed position (see annotated fig.4 where the block of the stop part is provided on the locking part and capable of locking part and block are movable with respect to the mounting part which the protrusion inn fixed position).
Regarding claim 15, the references as applied to claim 14 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein when the first connection part and the second connection part are in an unlocked state, the block is in the first position, and wherein when the first connection part and the second connection part are in a locked state, the block is in the second position (see fig.4 above and figs. 13-14 for the first and second connection part in an unlocked and locked state when block is in two different positions i.e. rotation)
Regarding claim 19, the references as applied to claim 13 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the locking part is a sliding latch configured to move horizontally relative to the mounting portion (see fig.13 and 14 where the locking part is a sliding latch capable of moving horizontally relative to the mounting portion).
Regarding claim 20, the references as applied to claim 13 above discloses all the limitations substantially claimed. Baruch further teaches wherein the locking part is a flip latch or a rotary latch (see annotated figures above for the locking part as a rotary latch).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-9 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PRINCE PAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3735