DETAILED ACTION
In Applicant’s Response filed 8/11/26, Applicant has withdrawn claims 14 and 20. Claim 21 is cancelled. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending (claims 14 and 20 are withdrawn).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A, directed to claims 1-13 and 15-19, in the reply filed on 8/11/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 14 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/11/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US 2025/0281311).
With respect to claim 1, Johnson discloses a knee orthosis (orthotic shown in figs 6a-6b; para [0065]) for a trans-tibial amputee (the orthosis is for use by patients with prosthetic limbs such as below knee amputees – para [0021]) having a leg prosthesis including a socket for receiving a stump (components of a below the knee prosthesis such as the one described in para [0065]; see also para [0009]), the knee orthosis comprising:
a femoral cuff configured for engaging an upper leg portion of the trans-tibial amputee (top frame element 65 which straps to the wearer’s upper leg – para [0065]; fig 6b) ;
a tibial cuff configured for engaging the socket of the leg prosthesis (lower frame element 66; fig 6b), the tibial cuff having an inner face facing the socket (inner surface of frame element 66 that faces the prosthetic in fig 6b) and an outer face opposed to the inner face (surface of element 66 shown in fig 6b which faces away from the prosthetic during use), the tibial cuff (66) defining a locating member (receiver 67; fig 6b; para [0065]); and
a tibial cuff locator (protrusions; para [0065] figs 6a-6b) including a body protruding from a base (the “protrusions” inherently are configured as a body protruding from a base structure), the base of the tibial cuff locator having a prosthesis engaging surface adapted to be mounted on the leg prosthesis (the protrusions are bonded to the posterior outer surface of the prosthesis – para [0065]), the body of the tibial cuff locator extending outwardly from the base along a locator axis (it is inherent that protrusions extend outwardly from a base along an axis), the body of the tibial cuff locator being matingly engaged with the locating member of the tibial cuff (the receiver engages with the protrusions – para [0065]), wherein translation of the tibial cuff relative to the tibial cuff locator in one or more directions transverse to the locator axis is mitigated with the tibial cuff locator matingly engaged with the locating member of the tibial cuff (the mechanical connection provided by the protrusions and the receiver is sufficient to secure the orthotic to the prosthesis – para [0065] thus, it is inherent that the mechanical connection between the protrusions and receiver prevents movement of the frame element 66 transverse to the axis that extends along the protrusions).
Johnson does not explicitly disclose in the embodiment of fig 6b that the orthosis comprises a hinge pivotally connecting the femoral cuff to the tibial cuff. However, Johnson does teach an embodiment in fig 3a of an orthosis 30 configured to be clamped to a leg that includes a prosthesis 39 wherein the orthosis has a polycentric hinge 37 (para [0049]) that connects the upper frame to the lower frame (as shown in fig 3a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the orthosis in fig 6b of Johnson having a hinge pivotally connecting the femoral cuff to the tibial cuff, like the orthosis in fig 3a of Johnson, in order to permit bending of the knee joint during use to thereby more closely mimic natural motion.
With respect to claim 2, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the locator axis (axis that extends along the protrusions) is transverse to the prosthesis engaging surface of the base of the tibial cuff locator (it is inherent that the axis that runs along the protrusions extends away from the prosthesis in order for the elements to “protrude” therefrom - thus, the axis is transverse to the contact surface between the protrusions and the prosthesis that they are bonded to).
With respect to claim 3, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the tibial cuff locator (protrusions) is adapted to be mounted on the leg prosthesis (the protrusions are bonded to the posterior outer surface of the prosthesis – para [0065]) such that the tibial cuff (66) is engageable to the socket in a single position of the tibial cuff relative to the socket (the protrusions engage the receiver such that the mechanical connection provided by the protrusions and the receiver is sufficient to secure the orthotic to the prosthesis – para [0065]; it is inherent that the engagement is at a single position where the protrusion engages the receiver).
With respect to claim 4, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the tibial cuff locator and the locating member of the tibial cuff have at least partially complementary geometries (the protrusions engage the receiver and thus inherently must have at least partially complementary geometries; see para [0065]).
With respect to claim 5, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the body of the tibial cuff locator (body of the protrusions) has a substantially circular cross-section transverse to the locator axis (as shown in fig 6a).
With respect to claim 7, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the tibial cuff locator is configured to remain secured to the leg prosthesis to ensure that a position of the knee orthosis relative to the leg prosthesis is constant between successive installations of the knee orthosis (the receiver engages with the protrusions such that the mechanical connection provided by the protrusions and the receiver is sufficient to secure the orthotic to the prosthesis – para [0065]).
With respect to claim 8, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the tibial cuff locator and the tibial cuff define, when mated together, a load path extending from the tibial cuff to the socket through the tibial cuff locator (the protrusions are bonded to the outer surface of the prosthesis by means such as screws, bolts and rivets which, inherently, defines a load path at the connection point; see para [0065]).
With respect to claim 9, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the locating member (receiver) includes a recess defined by the tibial cuff, the body received within the recess (the receiver is generated and integrated into the frame element 66 and is interpreted as comprising a recess in order to accommodate a protrusion; see para [0065]) a shape of the body corresponding to a shape of the recess (the protrusions engage the receiver and thus inherently must have at least partially complementary shapes; see para [0065]).
With respect to claim 10, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the base has a length and a width transverse to the length (inherent characteristic; the base of each protrusion inherently has a length and width wherein the width is transverse to the length). Johnson does not, however, explicitly disclose the length being parallel to a socket central axis of the socket wherein the length is greater than the width. It would have been obvious, however, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have configured each protrusion so that the length of the base is parallel to a socket central axis of the socket since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. Additionally, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have configured each protrusion so that the length of the base is greater than the width since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 11, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 9) and Johnson also discloses that the recess is an aperture extending fully through the tibial cuff (it is inherent that the receiver is an aperture generated into frame element 66 in order to accommodate a protrusion therein).
With respect to claim 12, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the tibial cuff locator (protrusions) is located on an antero-lateral side of the knee orthosis (as shown in figs 6a-b the protrusions are located on the front outer side of the knee joint).
With respect to claim 13, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that the tibial cuff locator (protrusions) and the locating member (receiver 67) of the tibial cuff (66) are matingly engaged to prevent relative rotation between the tibial cuff locator and the tibial cuff about the locator axis (the mechanical connection provided by the protrusions and the receiver is sufficient to secure the orthotic to the prosthesis – para [0065] and, thus, inherently prevents rotation between the protrusions and the frame 66 about the axis that extends along the protrusions).
With respect to claim 15, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) and Johnson also discloses that a locking member removably fastens the knee orthosis and the tibial cuff locator together (the orthosis may include a locking component – para [0065]).
With respect to claim 16, Johnson discloses a knee orthosis (orthotic shown in figs 6a-6b; para [0065]) for a trans-tibial amputee (the orthosis is for use by patients with prosthetic limbs such as below knee amputees – para [0021]) having a leg prosthesis including a socket for receiving a stump (components of a below the knee prosthesis such as the one described in para [0065]; see also para [0009]), the knee orthosis comprising:
a femoral cuff configured for engaging an upper leg portion of the trans-tibial amputee (top frame element 65 which straps to the wearer’s upper leg – para [0065]; fig 6b);
a tibial cuff configured for engaging the socket of the leg prosthesis (lower frame element 66; fig 6b), the tibial cuff having an inner face facing the socket (inner surface of frame element 66 that faces the prosthetic in fig 6b) and an outer face opposed to the inner face (surface of element 66 shown in fig 6b which faces away from the prosthetic during use), the tibial cuff (66) defining a locating member (receiver 67; fig 6b; para [0065]), the locating member defining an abutment face configured to abut a tibial cuff locator (the receiver engages with protrusions that are bonded to the posterior outer surface of the prosthesis – para [0065]; the abutment face is interpreted as being the surface of receiver 67 that contacts the protrusion when the elements are engaged with one another), the abutment face being transverse to the outer face of the tibial cuff (shown in fig 6b), the abutment face and the tibial cuff locator adapted to abut one another to limit relative sliding movement between the tibial cuff and the leg prosthesis in one or more directions (the mechanical connection provided by the protrusions and the receiver is sufficient to secure the orthotic to the prosthesis – para [0065] thus, it is inherent that the mechanical connection between the protrusions and receiver prevents movement of the frame element 66 transverse to the axis that extends along the protrusions).
Johnson does not explicitly disclose in the embodiment of fig 6b that the orthosis comprises a hinge pivotally connecting the femoral cuff to the tibial cuff. However, Johnson does teach an embodiment in fig 3a of an orthosis 30 configured to be clamped to a leg that includes a prosthesis 39 wherein the orthosis has a polycentric hinge 37 (para [0049]) that connects the upper frame to the lower frame (as shown in fig 3a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have formed the orthosis in fig 6b of Johnson having a hinge pivotally connecting the femoral cuff to the tibial cuff, like the orthosis in fig 3a of Johnson, in order to permit bending of the knee joint during use to thereby more closely mimic natural motion.
With respect to claim 17, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 16) and Johnson also discloses that the one or more directions includes a direction that is transverse to the tibial cuff locator (the mechanical connection provided by the protrusions and the receiver is sufficient to secure the orthotic to the prosthesis – para [0065] thus, it is inherent that the mechanical connection between the protrusions and receiver prevents movement of the frame element 66 transverse to the axis that extends along the protrusions).
With respect to claim 18, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 16) and Johnson also discloses that the tibial cuff locator is circular (the protrusions are shown has having a circular shape in figs 6a-6b).
With respect to claim 19, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 16) and Johnson also discloses that the locating member (receiver) is a recess defined by the tibial cuff, the tibial cuff locator received within the recess (the receiver is generated and integrated into the frame element 66 and is interpreted as comprising a recess in order to accommodate a protrusion; see para [0065]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US 2025/0281311) in view of Summit et al (US 8613716).
With respect to claim 6, Johnson discloses the orthosis substantially as claimed (see rejection of claim 1) but does not disclose that the tibial cuff locator defines a central hole extending along the locator axis and through the tibial cuff locator, the central hole sized to receive a marking device for imprinting a mark on the socket with the marking device received through the central hole.
Summit, however, teaches a brace configured such that a doctor or practitioner can mark areas on the patient's body to indicate the location of features of the brace such as holes using a pen (col 5 lines 21-32; col 13 lines 9-11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have used a pen to mark the location of the hole at the tibial cuff locator of Johnson on a patient, as taught by Summit, in order to assist with proper placement and alignment of parts of the orthosis on the patient’s body.
Conclusion
/CAITLIN A CARREIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786