DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/30/25. Examiner acknowledged that claims 1-14 are pending.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/25, 10/16/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,139. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain essentially the same components and functionality.
Instant Application
Pat. No. 12,294,139
1. An electronic device, comprising:
a first housing;
a display unit included in the first housing; a second housing; and
a hinge configured to couple the first housing and the second housing, wherein the display unit comprises: a first printed circuit board (PCB);
a first antenna pattern at least partially disposed at a first side surface of the first housing adjacent to the hinge;
a conductive member electrically connected to the first antenna pattern; and
a first conductive plate electrically connected to at least a portion of the conductive member, and wherein the first antenna pattern is coupled to at least a portion of the conductive member using a first fastening member and a second fastening member.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second housing comprises: a second conductive plate electrically connected to the first conductive plate; a third conductive plate electrically connected to the second conductive plate; and a second PCB at which a ground electrically connected to the third conductive plate is disposed.
1. (Currently Amended) An electronic device, comprising:
a display unit included in a first housing; a second housing; and
a hinge part configured to couple the first housing and the second housing, wherein the display unit comprises: a first printed circuit board (PCB);
a first antenna pattern at least partially disposed at a first side surface of the first housing adjacent to the hinge part;
a conductive member electrically connected to the first antenna pattern; and
a first conductive plate electrically connected to at least a portion of the conductive member, and wherein the second housing comprises: a second conductive plate electrically connected to the first conductive plate;
a third conductive plate electrically connected to the second conductive plate; and
a second PCB at which a ground electrically connected to the third conductive plate is disposed and wherein the conductive member is configured to shield at least one of noise or electromagnetic interference generated in the first PCB from the first antenna pattern.
Claims 3-14 are similarly rejected as they depend on the claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over machine translation of Jung (WO 2020085791 A1) in view of Shin (US 6957085).
Regarding Claim 1, Jung teaches an electronic device (Fig. 14: 1400, Fig. 3), comprising: a first housing (Fig. 3: 320); a display unit (Fig. 3: 402 part of 400) included in the first housing; a second housing (Fig. 3: 310); and a hinge (Fig. 3: 330) configured to couple the first housing and the second housing, wherein the display unit comprises: a first printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 5: 552); a first antenna pattern (Fig. 14: 1440 wireless communication circuit having antennas) at least partially disposed at a first side surface of the first housing adjacent to the hinge; a conductive member (Fig. 14: 1423a) electrically connected to the first antenna pattern; and a first conductive plate (Fig. 14: 1423).
Jung does not teach a first conductive plate electrically connected to at least a portion of the conductive member, and wherein the first antenna pattern is coupled to at least a portion of the conductive member using a first fastening member and a second fastening member.
Shin is in the field of antenna (abstract) and teaches a first conductive plate (Fig. 7: 41) electrically connected to at least a portion of the conductive member (Fig. 7: 69), and wherein the first antenna pattern (Fig. 7: 49 included in 40) is coupled to at least a portion of the conductive member using a first fastening member and a second fastening member (Fig. 7: 80, 81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jung with the antenna pattern coupled to the conductive member as taught by Shin in order to secure the antenna since that is the function of the fasteners.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Jung and Shin teach the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second housing comprises: a second conductive plate (Fig. 14: 1411) electrically connected to the first conductive plate; a third conductive plate (Fig. 14: 1412) electrically connected to the second conductive plate; and a second PCB (Fig. 5: 551) at which a ground electrically connected to the third conductive plate is disposed.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Jung and Shin teach the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the conductive member (Jung Fig. 14: 1423a) is disposed between the first antenna pattern and the first PCB (Jung Fig. 5: 552).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Jung and Shin teach the electronic device of The electronic device of wherein the conductive member is electrically connected to the first conductive plate using a contact part (Jung Fig. 14: 1423a is coupled to 1423 electrically).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection above and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Henry Luong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845