DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
REJECTION BASED ON ADAMS
Claim(s) 1-4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 9727776 to Adams.
Regarding claim 1, Adams discloses an article of manufacture comprising: a container portion (2); a seat portion (5) coupled to the container portion (via 1), wherein the seat portion is movable between a first stowed configuration (Fig. 3) and a first deployed configuration (Fig. 1); and a frame portion (11, 1) coupled to the container portion, wherein the frame portion is movable between a second stowed configuration (Fig. 3) and a second deployed configuration (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Adams discloses wherein the frame portion comprises: a first support portion (11); a second support portion (1); and one or more brackets (45), wherein the first support portion is coupled to the second support portion via the one or more brackets (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Adams discloses wherein the first support portion comprises a first leg (left 12 – Fig. 2) and a second leg (right 12 – Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Adams discloses wherein the second support portion (11 is the second support portion for this claim) comprises: a first leg (left 12 in Fig. 2) having a proximal end (top end) and a distal end (bottom end); a second leg (right 12 in Fig. 2) having a proximal end (top end) and a distal end (bottom end); and a crossbar (13), wherein the crossbar spans between the distal end of the first leg and the distal end of the second leg.
Regarding claim 14, Adams discloses one or more retaining mechanisms (22) coupled to the container portion, wherein the one or more retaining mechanisms couples the frame portion to the container portion (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of US Patent 4,846,486 to Hobson.
Regarding claim 5, Adams fails to disclose the claimed bracket configuration. However, Hobson discloses a foldable chair including a pivot bracket (Fig. 5) that comprises a sleeve portion (Fig. 5 – portion receiving 25) and a clip portion (Fig. 5 – portion receiving and releasing from 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used the bracket from Hobson in Adams because the modification only involves a simple substitution of one known, equivalent pivot bracket for another to obtain predictable results. In the combination, the sleeve portion would receive the top of one leg (12 – Adams) of one support portion (11 – Adams) and the clip portion would receive the other support portion (1 – Adams).
Regarding claim 6, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the sleeve portion is configured to receive a leg of the second support portion (11 can be considered the second support portion, and 1 can be considered the first support portion).
Regarding claim 7, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the first bracket further comprises a retention mechanism (28 – Hobson), wherein the leg of the second support portion is secured in the sleeve portion by the retention mechanism (Adams/Hobson).
Regarding claim 8, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the clip portion comprises a hinge (27 – Hobson), wherein a leg of the first support portion is secured to one end of the clip portion by the hinge (Adams/Hobson) and wherein the first bracket is configured to rotate about the hinge between an engaged position and a disengaged position (Hobson Fig. 5, dashed and solid lines).
Regarding claim 9, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the clip portion is configured to partially fit around the leg of the first support portion (Hobson Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the clip portion being configured to partially fit around the leg of the first support portion comprises the clip portion being semicylindrical (Hobson Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein the first bracket being in the engaged position comprises the leg of the first support portion being positioned lengthwise in the clip portion (Adams Fig. 2, as modified by Hobson).
Regarding claim 13, the combination from claim 5 discloses wherein moving the frame portion from the second stowed configuration to the second deployed configuration comprises rotating the leg of the first support portion about the hinge from the disengaged position to the engaged position (Adams as modified by Hobson).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams and Hobson, further in view of US Patent 3,292,830 to Mack.
Regarding claim 12, the combination from claim 5 fails to disclose a retention mechanism. However, Mack discloses a chair including retention mechanisms (36, 37, 38, 39) to retain a hinge in a desired position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included retention mechanisms in the combination to retain the bracket in the engaged and/or disengaged positions.
REJECTION BASED ON DAVIES
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 303,513 to Davies.
Regarding claim 1, Davies discloses an article of manufacture comprising: a container portion (2); a seat portion (4) coupled to the container portion, wherein the seat portion is movable between a first stowed configuration (Fig. 2) and a first deployed configuration (Fig. 1); and a frame portion (6, 7, 8, 16) coupled to the container portion, wherein the frame portion is movable between a second stowed configuration (Fig. 5) and a second deployed configuration (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Davies discloses wherein the frame portion comprises: a first support portion (6, 8); a second support portion (7, 16); and one or more brackets (Fig. 4 – pivot brackets connecting the two portions), wherein the first support portion is coupled to the second support portion via the one or more brackets.
Regarding claim 3, Davies discloses wherein the first support portion comprises a first leg (6) and a second leg (8).
Regarding claim 14, Davies discloses one or more retaining mechanisms (14, top and bottom 15 on right side in Fig. 3) coupled to the container portion, wherein the one or more retaining mechanisms couples the frame portion to the container portion (Figs. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 15, Davies discloses wherein a first retaining mechanism of the one or more retaining mechanisms comprises a first sleeve (15, top right in Fig. 3), a second sleeve (15, bottom right in Fig. 3), and a retaining member (14), wherein the first leg is inserted through the second sleeve and into the first sleeve and wherein the retaining member maintains a position of the first leg within the first sleeve and second sleeve (Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davies in view of US Published Application 2022/0104605 to Lacehapelle.
Regarding claim 19, Davies discloses a backpack comprising: a container portion (2) comprising a back side; a seat portion (4) coupled to the back side via a hinge mechanism (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5), wherein the seat portion is rotatable about the hinge mechanism from a first stowed configuration to a first deployed configuration (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5); and a frame portion (6, 7, 8, 16) removably coupled to the container portion via a retaining mechanism (13, 14, 15), the frame portion having a first support portion (7, 16) and a second support portion (6, 8) coupled to the first support portion via one or more brackets (Fig. 4 – pivot brackets connecting the two portions), wherein the frame portion is movable from a second stowed configuration to a second deployed configuration via the one or more brackets (Figs. 1-2 and 4-5). Davies fails to disclose fasteners on the seat portion and container portion. However, Lacehapelle discloses a seat backpack including corresponding fasteners (12, 14) on the container and seat portions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included fasteners on the container and seat portions in Davies because it would securely hold the seat in the stowed position when desired, as taught by Lacehapelle (paras. 0021-0022).
REJECTION BASED ON LACEHAPELLE
Claim(s) 1, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacehapelle in view of McBride.
Regarding claim 1, Lacehapelle discloses an article of manufacture comprising: a container portion (10); a seat portion (6) coupled to the container portion, wherein the seat portion is movable between a first stowed configuration (Fig. 1) and a first deployed configuration (Fig. 8). Lacehapelle fails to disclose a frame portion. However, McBride discloses a seat backpack including a frame portion (Figs. 3-5 – One or both of 7) coupled to the container portion, wherein the frame portion is movable between a second stowed configuration (Figs. 3-4) and a second deployed configuration (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included a frame in Lacehapelle to allow for the backpack to be used as an inclined backrest, as taught by McBride (abstract, lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 16, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the seat portion comprises a proximal edge, a distal edge, and a first set of one or more fasteners (12 – Lacehapelle), wherein the seat portion is coupled to the container portion at the proximal edge via a hinge mechanism (24 – Lacehapelle).
Regarding claim 17, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the seat portion being movable between the first deployed configuration and the first stowed configuration comprises the seat portion being configured to rotate via the hinge mechanism from a position approximately perpendicular to a back side of the container portion (Lacehapelle Fig. 8) to a position approximately parallel to the back side (Lacehapelle Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, the combination from claim 1 discloses wherein the back side comprises a second set of one or more fasteners (14 – Lacehapelle), wherein the first set of one or more fasteners mate with the second set of one or more fasteners when the seat portion is in the first stowed configuration (Lacehapelle Fig. 1), and wherein the first set of one or more fasteners and the second set of one or more fasteners are configured to maintain the seat portion in the first stowed configuration.
Regarding claim 20, Lacehapelle discloses a system comprising: a container portion (10 – Lacehapelle); a seat portion (6 – Lacehapelle); a means for coupling the seat portion to the container portion (24 – Lacehapelle) and allowing the seat portion to move between a first stowed configuration (Fig. 2 – Lacehapelle) and a first deployed configuration (Fig. 8 – Lacehapelle); a means for maintaining the seat portion in the first stowed configuration (12, 14 – Lacehapelle). Lacehapelle fails to disclose a frame portion. However, McBride discloses a seat backpack including a frame portion (Figs. 10-11, 15 – one or both of 7); a means for removably coupling the frame portion to the container portion (plug and sockets – Fig. 15); and a means for allowing the frame portion to move between a second stowed configuration and a second deployed configuration (pivot mechanisms at 20 – Fig. 15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have included a frame in Lacehapelle to allow for the backpack to be used as an inclined backrest, as taught by McBride (abstract, lines 6-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references disclose configurations similar to that disclosed by applicant.
/SCOTT T MCNURLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734