DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed April 30, 2025, claims 1-17 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 17 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 2024-083144 filed in Japan on May 22, 2024 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted April 30, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (April 30, 2025) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed April 30, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed April 30, 2025 is accepted by the examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 20250335052 Al) in view of Shionoiri (US 20070216348 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Kim et al. discloses a method carried out by a sensor controller for detecting an electromagnetic resonance stylus using an electromagnetic resonance sensor (Kim, see Abstract, where Kim discloses an electronic device according to an embodiment includes: a display panel; a touch electrode layer disposed on the display panel and comprising at least one touch electrode; and a conductive wire disposed on the display panel, disposed on the same layer as the touch electrode layer, and generating a magnetic field signal for driving a stylus pen), the method comprising: upon elapse of a predetermined period (Kim, see paragraph [0835], where Kim discloses that the magnitude
of the received resonance signal decreases after the controller 2624 transmits the frequency change request signal, or a predetermined time elapses after the frequency change request signal is transmitted, the controller 2624 may determine that the resonance frequency has changed) after the electromagnetic resonance sensor (Kim, see paragraph [0756], where Kim discloses that the touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives an electrical signal and outputs it as a magnetic field signal. For example, the touch sensing unit 260 may further include a digitizer. A touch may be detected by the digitizer in the manner that a magnetic field signal electromagnetically resonant (or electromagnetically induced) by the stylus pen is detected by the digitizer. Alternatively, the touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives a magnetic field signal and outputs it as a resonant magnetic field signal. For example, the touch sensing unit 260 may further include a coil for applying a current as a driving signal, and a digitizer. The stylus pen resonates with the magnetic field signal generated by the current applied coil. A touch may be detected by the stylus pen in the manner that an electromagnetic resonance (or electromagnetic induction) magnetic field signal is detected by the digitizer. The touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives a magnetic field signal and outputs a predetermined signal. Here, the predetermined signal output from the stylus pen may be different from a signal resonant in the resonance circuit unit inside the stylus pen. For example, the predetermined signal may be a signal output from an active circuit unit inside the stylus pen. The active circuit unit may receive power from a battery charged by the resonance signal, and may output the predetermined signal) has stopped transmitting an alternating magnetic field (Kim, see paragraph [0557], where Kim discloses that the driving signal may include an alternating voltage or alternating current having a predetermined frequency) for feeding electric power to the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraphs [0810], [0815] and [0816], where Kim discloses that the controller 154 may modulate a sensor input value in an OOK method or an ASK method by controlling on/off of the switches SW0, SWl, SW2 according to an input value from the sensor. The electronic device 2 acquires data sensed by the sensor 154 by demodulating the transmitted resonance signal, and detects a touch input by the resonance signal S02. When the sensor 154 is a pen pressure sensor, and senses a hovering state, the controller 156 may control at least one of the switches SWO, SWl, SW2 and change the magnitude of the resonance signal. For example, the controller 156 may connect the voltage of the first node Nl to the ground of the battery 152, and may stop the output of the resonance signal in the hovering state. In this case, the controller 2624 may sense that the magnitude of the resonance signal received through the touch electrode 21 is very small or the resonance signal itself is not received, and may determine that there is no touch input by the stylus pen 10), transmitting, from the electromagnetic resonance sensor, a cancelling alternating magnetic field that oscillates in a phase that cancels residual resonance of the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraph [1397], where Kim discloses that when the amplitude values obtained in this way are substituted into Equation 13 above, the final signal amplitude value may be reduced through the cancellation between the amplitude values. That
is, since the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the in-phase driving signal is +2 and the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the out-of-phase driving signal is -2, the final signal amplitude obtained when the code is not applied
becomes (2+(-2))/2=0).
Kim differs from the claimed subject matter in that Kim does not explicitly disclose feeder. However in an analogous art, Shionoiri discloses feeder (Shionoiri, see paragraphs [0058]-[0059], where Shionoiri discloses that when a coiled antenna 705 that is connected to an antenna circuit 704 of the power feeder, which is connected to a power transmission control portion 703, is brought close to an antenna circuit 702 of a power receiving device portion 700, an alternating current magnetic field is generated from the coiled antenna 705 of the antenna circuit 704 in the power feeder. The alternating current magnetic field goes through the antenna circuit 702 inside the power receiving device portion 700, and an electromotive force is generated between terminals (between one terminal of the antenna and the other) of the antenna circuit 702 inside the power receiving device portion 700 by electromagnetic induction. A battery inside the power receiving device portion 700 can be charged by the electromotive force. Note that charging can be conducted from the power feeder even when antenna circuits 702 in the power receiving device portion 700 overlap one another, or when a plurality of antenna circuits 702 in the power receiving device portion 700 are in the alternating current magnetic field, as shown in FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim with Shionoiri. One would be motivated to modify Kim by disclosing feeder as taught by Shionoiri, and thereby an improved power receiving device having an antenna for receiving electric power through radio waves, and to an electric power supply system using a power feeder having an antenna for supplying electric power to the power receiving device via radio waves (Shionoiri, see paragraph [0001]).
As to Claim 2:
Kim in view of Shionoiri discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensor controller receives, within the predetermined period (Kim, see paragraph [0835], where Kim discloses that the magnitude of the received resonance signal decreases after the controller 2624 transmits the frequency change request signal, or a predetermined time elapses after the frequency change request signal is transmitted, the controller 2624 may determine that the resonance frequency has changed), a stylus signal generated in the electromagnetic resonance sensor (Kim, see paragraph [0756], where Kim discloses that the touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives an electrical signal and outputs it as a magnetic field signal. For example, the touch sensing unit 260 may further include a digitizer. A touch may be detected by the digitizer in the manner that a magnetic field signal electromagnetically resonant (or electromagnetically induced) by the stylus pen is detected by the digitizer. Alternatively, the touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives a magnetic field signal and outputs it as a resonant magnetic field signal. For example, the touch sensing unit 260 may further include a coil for applying a current as a driving signal, and a digitizer. The stylus pen resonates with the magnetic field signal generated by the current applied coil. A touch may be detected by the stylus pen in the manner that an electromagnetic resonance (or electromagnetic induction) magnetic field signal is detected by the digitizer. The touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives a magnetic field signal and outputs a predetermined signal. Here, the predetermined signal output from the stylus pen may be different from a signal resonant in the resonance circuit unit inside the stylus pen. For example, the predetermined signal may be a signal output from an active circuit unit inside the stylus pen) by an alternating magnetic field transmitted from the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraph [0557], where Kim discloses that the driving signal may include an alternating voltage or alternating current having a predetermined frequency).
As to Claim 3:
Kim in view of Shionoiri discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, after the electromagnetic resonance sensor has transmitted the cancelling alternating magnetic field (Kim, see paragraph [1397], where Kim discloses that when the amplitude values obtained in this way are substituted into Equation 13 above, the final signal amplitude value may be reduced through the cancellation between the amplitude values. That is, since the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the in-phase driving signal is +2 and the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the out-of-phase driving signal is -2, the final signal amplitude obtained when the code is not applied becomes (2+(-2))/2=0), the electromagnetic resonance sensor transmits the feeder alternating magnetic field again (Kim, see multiple out of phase sequences teaching multiple feeder alternating magnetic field signals in figure 144).
As to Claim 6:
Kim in view of Shionoiri discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the phase that cancels residual resonance of the electromagnetic resonance stylus is of a fixed value (Kim, see multiple out of phase with fixed values in figure 144).
As to Claim 7:
Kim in view of Shionoiri discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the phase that cancels residual resonance of the electromagnetic resonance stylus is of a value determined on a basis of a stylus signal received from the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraphs [1396] and [1397], where Kim discloses that the phase of the resonance signal generated by the stylus pen 10 is changed according to the phase of the driving signal applied to the touch sensor 261 or the loop coil 264. Accordingly, the phase of the sensing signal of the touch sensor 261 or the loop coil 264 that senses and outputs the resonance signal of the stylus pen 10 may be also changed in response to the phase of the driving signal applied to the touch sensor 261 or the loop coil 264. Taking FIG. 143 as an example, a sensing signal generated when an in-phase driving signal is applied and a sensing signal generated when an out-of-phase driving signal is applied appear different from each other in phase. Accordingly, the amplitude of the sensing signal received by applying the in-phase driving signal (e.g., the difference value ΔI between the sensing data sampled at the sampling points s0, s2) becomes +2, and the amplitude of the sensing signal received by applying the out-of-phase driving signal (e.g., the difference value ΔI between sensing data sampled at sampling points s4, s6) becomes -2. When the amplitude values obtained in this way are substituted into Equation 13 above, the final signal amplitude value may be reduced through the cancellation between the amplitude values. That is, since the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the in-phase driving signal is +2 and the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the out-of-phase driving signal is -2, the final signal amplitude obtained when the code is not applied becomes (2+(-2))/2=0)).
As to Claim 9:
Kim in view of Shionoiri discloses that the method according to claim 7, wherein the phase that cancels residual resonance of the electromagnetic resonance stylus is of a value determined on a basis of a phase of the stylus signal received from the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraphs [1396] and [1397], where Kim discloses that the phase of the resonance signal generated by the stylus pen 10 is changed according to the phase of the driving signal applied to the touch sensor 261 or the loop coil 264. Accordingly, the phase of the sensing signal of the touch sensor 261 or the loop coil 264 that senses and outputs the resonance signal of the stylus pen 10 may be also changed in response to the phase of the driving signal applied to the touch sensor 261 or the loop coil 264. Taking FIG. 143 as an example, a sensing signal generated when an in-phase driving signal is applied and a sensing signal generated when an out-of-phase driving signal is applied appear different from each other in phase. Accordingly, the amplitude of the sensing signal received by applying the in-phase driving signal (e.g., the difference value ΔI between the sensing data sampled at the sampling points s0, s2) becomes +2, and the amplitude of the sensing signal received by applying the out-of-phase driving signal (e.g., the difference value ΔI between sensing data sampled at sampling points s4, s6) becomes -2. When the amplitude values obtained in this way are substituted into Equation 13 above, the final signal amplitude value may be reduced through the cancellation between the amplitude values. That is, since the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the in-phase driving signal is +2 and the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the out-of-phase driving signal is -2, the final signal amplitude obtained when the code is not applied becomes (2+(-2))/2=0)).
As to Claim 16:
Kim in view of Shionoiri discloses that the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensor controller does not transmit the cancelling alternating magnetic field when it is not detecting the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraphs [0810], [0815] and [0816], where Kim discloses that the controller 154 may modulate a sensor input value in an OOK method or an ASK method by controlling on/off of the switches SW0, SWl, SW2 according to an input value from the sensor. The electronic device 2 acquires data sensed by the sensor 154 by demodulating the transmitted resonance signal, and detects a touch input by the resonance signal S02. When the sensor 154 is a pen pressure sensor, and senses a hovering state, the controller 156 may control at least one of the switches SWO, SWl, SW2 and change the magnitude of the resonance signal. For example, the controller 156 may connect the voltage of the first node Nl to the ground of the battery 152, and may stop the output of the resonance signal in the hovering state. In this case, the controller 2624 may sense that the magnitude of the resonance signal received through the touch electrode 21 is very small or the resonance signal itself is not received, and may determine that there is no touch input by the stylus pen 10).
As to Claim 17:
Kim et al. discloses a sensor controller for detecting an electromagnetic resonance stylus using an electromagnetic resonance sensor (Kim, see Abstract, where Kim discloses an electronic device according to an embodiment includes: a display panel; a touch electrode layer disposed on the display panel and comprising at least one touch electrode; and a conductive wire disposed on the display panel, disposed on the same layer as the touch electrode layer, and generating a magnetic field signal for driving a stylus pen), wherein the electromagnetic resonance sensor, upon elapse of a predetermined period (Kim, see paragraph [0835], where Kim discloses that the magnitude
of the received resonance signal decreases after the controller 2624 transmits the frequency change request signal, or a predetermined time elapses after the frequency change request signal is transmitted, the controller 2624 may determine that the resonance frequency has changed) after the electromagnetic resonance sensor (Kim, see paragraph [0756], where Kim discloses that the touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives an electrical signal and outputs it as a magnetic field signal. For example, the touch sensing unit 260 may further include a digitizer. A touch may be detected by the digitizer in the manner that a magnetic field signal electromagnetically resonant (or electromagnetically induced) by the stylus pen is detected by the digitizer. Alternatively, the touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives a magnetic field signal and outputs it as a resonant magnetic field signal. For example, the touch sensing unit 260 may further include a coil for applying a current as a driving signal, and a digitizer. The stylus pen resonates with the magnetic field signal generated by the current applied coil. A touch may be detected by the stylus pen in the manner that an electromagnetic resonance (or electromagnetic induction) magnetic field signal is detected by the digitizer. The touch sensing unit 260 detects a touch by the stylus pen that receives a magnetic field signal and outputs a predetermined signal. Here, the predetermined signal output from the stylus pen may be different from a signal resonant in the resonance circuit unit inside the stylus pen. For example, the predetermined signal may be a signal output from an active circuit unit inside the stylus pen. The active circuit unit may receive power from a battery charged by the resonance signal, and may output the predetermined signal) has stopped transmitting an alternating magnetic field (Kim, see paragraph [0557], where Kim discloses that the driving signal may include an alternating voltage or alternating current having a predetermined frequency) for feeding electric power to the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraphs [0810], [0815] and [0816], where Kim discloses that the controller 154 may modulate a sensor input value in an OOK method or an ASK method by controlling on/off of the switches SW0, SWl, SW2 according to an input value from the sensor. The electronic device 2 acquires data sensed by the sensor 154 by demodulating the transmitted resonance signal, and detects a touch input by the resonance signal S02. When the sensor 154 is a pen pressure sensor, and senses a hovering state, the controller 156 may control at least one of the switches SWO, SWl, SW2 and change the magnitude of the resonance signal. For example, the controller 156 may connect the voltage of the first node Nl to the ground of the battery 152, and may stop the output of the resonance signal in the hovering state. In this case, the controller 2624 may sense that the magnitude of the resonance signal received through the touch electrode 21 is very small or the resonance signal itself is not received, and may determine that there is no touch input by the stylus pen 10), transmits a cancelling alternating magnetic field that oscillates in a phase that cancels residual resonance in the electromagnetic resonance stylus (Kim, see paragraph [1397], where Kim discloses that when the amplitude values obtained in this way are substituted into Equation 13 above, the final signal amplitude value may be reduced through the cancellation between the amplitude values. That is, since the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the in-phase driving signal is +2 and the amplitude value of the sensing signal generated by the application of the out-of-phase driving signal is -2, the final signal amplitude obtained when the code is not applied becomes (2+(-2))/2=0).
Kim differs from the claimed subject matter in that Kim does not explicitly disclose feeder. However in an analogous art, Shionoiri discloses feeder (Shionoiri, see paragraphs [0058]-[0059], where Shionoiri discloses that when a coiled antenna 705 that is connected to an antenna circuit 704 of the power feeder, which is connected to a power transmission control portion 703, is brought close to an antenna circuit 702 of a power receiving device portion 700, an alternating current magnetic field is generated from the coiled antenna 705 of the antenna circuit 704 in the power feeder. The alternating current magnetic field goes through the antenna circuit 702 inside the power receiving device portion 700, and an electromotive force is generated between terminals (between one terminal of the antenna and the other) of the antenna circuit 702 inside the power receiving device portion 700 by electromagnetic induction. A battery inside the power receiving device portion 700 can be charged by the electromotive force. Note that charging can be conducted from the power feeder even when antenna circuits 702 in the power receiving device portion 700 overlap one another, or when a plurality of antenna circuits 702 in the power receiving device portion 700 are in the alternating current magnetic field, as shown in FIG. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Kim with Shionoiri. One would be motivated to modify Kim by disclosing feeder as taught by Shionoiri, and thereby an improved power receiving device having an antenna for receiving electric power through radio waves, and to an electric power supply system using a power feeder having an antenna for supplying electric power to the power receiving device via radio waves (Shionoiri, see paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 4, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the electromagnetic resonance sensor transmits the cancelling alternating magnetic field and then the feeder alternating magnetic field in succession”.
Referring to claim 5, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein, after the electromagnetic resonance sensor has transmitted the cancelling alternating magnetic field, the electromagnetic resonance sensor stops transmitting an alternating magnetic field and thereafter transmits the feeder alternating magnetic field.”.
Referring to claim 8, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the phase that cancels residual resonance of the electromagnetic resonance stylus is of a value determined on a basis of a position or a height of the electromagnetic resonance stylus that is detected using the stylus signal received from the electromagnetic resonance stylus”.
Referring to claim 10, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the sensor controller transmits the cancelling alternating magnetic field by starting to transmit the cancelling alternating magnetic field at a time delayed by a period corresponding to the phase that cancels residual resonance of the electromagnetic resonance stylus from a time upon elapse of the predetermined period after the electromagnetic resonance sensor has stopped transmitting the feeder alternating magnetic field.”.
Referring to claim 11, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the period corresponding to the phase that cancels residual resonance in the electromagnetic resonance stylus is smaller than one cyclic period of the cancelling alternating magnetic field.”.
Referring to claim 12, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the sensor controller transmits, upon elapse of the predetermined period after the electromagnetic resonance sensor has stopped transmitting the feeder alternating magnetic field, from the electromagnetic resonance sensor, either the cancelling alternating magnetic field or an amplifying alternating magnetic field that oscillates in a phase for increasing an amplitude of an alternating magnetic field transmitted from the electromagnetic resonance stylus”.
Referring to claim 13, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the sensor controller determines whether the electromagnetic resonance stylus is in contract with a panel face or not, and if the sensor controller decides that the electromagnetic resonance stylus is in contact with the panel face, the sensor controller transmits the cancelling alternating magnetic field, and if the sensor controller decides that the electromagnetic resonance stylus is not in contact with the panel face, the sensor controller transmits the amplifying alternating magnetic field”.
Referring to claim 14, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the sensor controller determines whether the electromagnetic resonance stylus is in contract with the panel face or not on a basis of a stylus pressure value received from the electromagnetic resonance stylus”.
Referring to claim 15, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the sensor controller determines whether the electromagnetic resonance stylus is in contract with the panel face or not on a basis of a maximum reception intensity of a stylus signal received from the electromagnetic resonance stylus”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Ito (US 20220004266 A1) discloses a position detection device that includes a communication circuit which, in operation, receives, from a stylus including a built-in acceleration sensor, acceleration information detected by the acceleration sensor, and a controller which, in operation, detects a first position indicating a position of the stylus on a touch surface and a second position indicating a position of a finger on the touch surface, and outputs the first position and the second position that have been detected. The controller controls the output of the second position based on the acceleration information received by the communication circuit.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624