DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-21 are considered in this office action. Claims 2-21 are pending examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No.10569786 and over claims 1-17 of US Patent No. 11400947. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art to modify the patents resulting to the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. (US9491071) and in view of Wenhow et al. (US20150038130A1) and herein after will be referred as Hart and Wenhow respectively.
Regarding Claim 2, Hart teaches a method of managing a group of Internet of Things (loT) devices (Col.3 Line 60-62: “The present system and method includes various embodiments of dynamically grouping devices based on present device conditions.”), comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, measurement data from sensors associated with a plurality of loT devices (Col.5 Line 47-49: “The monitor agent 220 collects information from the
Sources of device data, such as a database, a registry, the file system, or data collection protocols.”);
determining, based on the measurement data, conditions of usage for each of the plurality of loT devices (Col.5 Line 49-57: “The type of data can include various classes of information including: monitoring data, usage data, and configuration data. This data, for example, can include the operational status, operational data, usage information, location information, environmen tal information, SW/HW (software/hardware) version infor mation (i.e. 'configuration' information), or any data available on the device that can be communicated to the enterprise 100.”);
identifying a subset of the plurality of loT devices operating under a similar condition of usage (Col.6 Line 2-10: “The administrator can also set up dynamic group rules at the same time. These rules are based on business logic and can be changed and modified at any time, which will be dis cussed later in more detail below. The monitor agent software is used to collect data that can be used to locally monitor the data and evaluate the monitoring or dynamic group rules, or sent to the enterprise where it can be monitored and trigger other processing like dynamic grouping”);
Hart may not expressly teaches selecting a parameter set from among a plurality of parameter sets associated with the similar condition of usage; and transmitting the selected parameter set to each of the plurality of loT devices in the subset to cause application of one or more adjustable elements of each of the plurality of loT devices in the subset.
Wenhow teaches selecting a parameter set from among a plurality of parameter sets associated with the similar condition of usage and transmitting the selected parameter set to each of the plurality of loT devices in the subset to cause application of one or more adjustable elements of each of the plurality of loT devices in the subset (Para [0035] : “In one or more embodiments of the invention, the shared data repository (116) may be periodically updated based on changes to the local data repositories. In one or more embodiments of the invention, the shared data repository (116) may be distributed across multiple mobile devices (100) and changes or updates are pushed to every mobile device (100) directly, rather than to a centralized shared data repository (116).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hart to incorporate the teachings of Wenhow to include selecting a parameter set from among a plurality of parameter sets associated with the similar condition of usage; and transmitting the selected parameter set to each of the plurality of loT devices in the subset to cause application of one or more adjustable elements of each of the plurality of loT devices in the subset. Doing so would optimize the group control of the devices.
Similarly Claim 9 and 16 are rejected on the similar rational.
Regarding Claim 3, Hart in view of Wenhow teaches the method of claim 2. Hart also teaches wherein the similar condition of usage includes one or more of: high or low ambient temperature, high or low humidity, high or low pressure, location (Col.7 Line 15-17).
Similarly Claim 10 and 17 are rejected on the similar rational.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 11-15 and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pogorelik et al. (US 9848035) discloses measurement exchange networks and protocols to exchange measurements of a parameter amongst devices (e.g., IoT devices), select the best measurement(s), accuracy/precision-wise, and determine a process variable for a control system based on the selected best measurement(s). A device may select a peer-provided best measurement to output as the process variable in place of a local measurement, and/or compute the process variable from multiple best measurements (e.g., local and/or peer-provided measurements). Metadata may be used to select a measurement(s) and/or to increase reliability/trust of exchanged data. In this way, each device of an exchange group/network may obtain the highest measurement accuracy of all available collocated sensors with little or no additional processing or cloud connectivity. A best measurement(s) may be selected based on measurement quality specifications extracted from metadata, measurement qualities computed from measurements of respective sensors, locations/proximities of the sensors, a policy(ies), and/or device IDs (e.g., extracted from metadata).
/ABDHESH K JHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668