DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the response to election/restriction filed 16 July 2026.
Claims 1-17 are currently pending. Claims 11-17 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are rejected as shown in this detailed action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 16 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims use a number of different phrases to refer to an advertisement and an updated advertisement. While this use does not rise to the level of indefiniteness, term use should be consistent throughout to avoid any ambiguity. These phrases include “the digital advertisement,” “the digital advertisement content,” “the updated content,” “the advertisement,” and “the advertisement content.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the payload” in line 9 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A “payload identifier” is introduced, but it is unclear if “the payload” is referring to this identifier or is referring to something else. The claim and its dependents (claims 2-10) are indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the current digital property” in line 15 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim and its dependents (claims 2-10) are indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the advertisement interaction data” in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A “user interaction” is introduced in claim 1, but “advertisement interaction data” is not found. The claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-10 recite a method which is considered a process.
Step 2A-Prong One
The claims recite the concept of presenting and updating an advertisement presented to a user in addition to tracking and utilizing data from an interaction with the advertisement (see “presenting, on a user device, a digital advertisement including a unique payload identifier, a user identifier, and optional metadata; receiving a user interaction with the digital advertisement, the user interaction comprising a click, tap, press, or selection; sending the payload identifier, user identifier, and optional metadata to a click processing module; processing the payload and user data, and transmitting data to a retailer system to initiate a transaction or pre-fill a shopping cart associated with the retailer; updating the digital advertisement content on the user device in response to the user interaction without altering the surrounding user experience or redirecting the user to another page; and enabling further interaction with the updated content of the advertisement while allowing the user to remain on the current digital property” in claim 1). This concept falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract idea including commercial and advertising activities. The dependent claims further refine this concept but do not take the claims out of the identified abstract idea grouping. Thus, claims 1-10 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the additional element of a “computer” and “a user device” and includes no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using these generic computer components. The computer or user devices does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A-Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims do not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0092148 (“Ross”) in view of US 2020/0410547 (“Arora”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ross teaches a computer implemented advertising method for presenting zero bounce digital advertisements, comprising:
presenting, on a user device, a digital advertisement including a unique payload identifier, […], and optional metadata (See “The first webpage 200 includes a normal region for content 205, as well as, in a preferred embodiment, a top banner or side banner region for displaying the advertisement or other dynamic content 210” in ¶ 0027, “When a user visits the webpage 200 in a browser on the user's computer 100, in accordance with the code of webpage 200, the browser downloads an advertisement or other content 210 from the advertisement server 110 and displays it within the webpage (Step 300)” in ¶ 0030, and ¶¶ 0032-0038 providing example code to implement the advertisements including a unique payload identifier.);
receiving a user interaction with the digital advertisement, the user interaction comprising a click, tap, press, or selection (See “When a user interacts with the dynamic content 210 (for example, clicking on a product within an advertisement that has an “Add to cart” label), a message is sent from the dynamic content 210 to the message listener (Step 325)” in ¶ 0041.);
sending the payload identifier, user identifier, and optional metadata to a click processing module; processing the payload and user data, and transmitting data to a retailer system to initiate a transaction or pre-fill a shopping cart associated with the retailer (See “a message is sent from the dynamic content 210 to the message listener (Step 325). The message may contain information to be acted upon, such as a product id of the product to be added to the cart, credentials or tracking information from the user, or other relevant data” in ¶ 0041 and “When the message is received at the message listener, the iFrame containing the second webpage 220 makes an AJAX call or other function call that causes server-side code to be executed (Step 330) to fulfill some command or query that was requested by the user (for example, actually adding items to the user's cart on the second website). From the point of view of the second web server 115, there is no difference between the user navigating directly to the second website to perform the action and the user interacting with the advertisement or dynamic content 210” in ¶ 0042. See also ¶¶ 0043-0044 for code associated with the described functions.);
updating the digital advertisement content on the user device in response to the user interaction without altering the surrounding user experience or redirecting the user to another page (See “When the response is received, the advertisement or dynamic content 210 is updated (Step 340) to reflect the information received. There may be, for example, a shopping cart displayed that looks identical to how the shopping cart would appear if the user had directly navigated to the second webpage to shop for items. The update may also include a success or error message or other information in addition to mimicking the second webpage” in ¶ 0046 and “As a result of these features, a user visiting a first webpage can interact with advertisements or other dynamic content that not only have the “look and feel” of a second webpage, but that actually update the user's cart or other session on the second webpage, without the user having to navigate the browser to the second webpage” in ¶ 0047.); and
enabling further interaction with the updated content of the advertisement while allowing the user to remain on the current digital property (See “In FIG. 4C, clicking a product category causes a second row of elements 515 to be added, indicating a series of items that can be added to a cart” in ¶ 0051, “In FIG. 4D, clicking any of the “Add to cart” buttons will actually cause cart icon 510 to be updated to indicate items have been added” in ¶ 0052,“In FIG. 4E, if the user clicks on the cart icon 510, the browser will navigate to the second website (pictured below) and display the traditional cart, containing the items the user had added through the advertisement” in ¶ 0053.).
Ross does not expressly teach a user identifier.
However, Arora teaches a user identifier (See “FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating examples of various portions of the digital advertisement identification system 100 of FIG. 1. As indicated in the figure, database 116 stores user attribute data 360, user session data 320, and user transaction data 340. User attribute data 360 may include, for each user of a plurality of users, an age 362, gender 364, demographic data 366, address 368 (or other contact information, such as email address, phone number, etc.), and a user ID 334 (e.g., a customer ID, retailer website login ID, etc.)” and Fig. 3 showing the use of a User ID within user attribute data, user session data, etc. and its use throughout.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Ross and Aurora to utilize a user ID with the digital advertisement. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, in the combination each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 2, Ross further teaches the digital advertisement includes one or more of: a retailer identifier, a product SKU, quantity, promotional offer, and media content (See Fig. 4C showing the quantity such as “60 pack” and media content such the image of a pencil.).
Regarding Claim 3, Ross further teaches validating the payload identifier against a payload database prior to transmitting the data to the retailer system (See “When a user interacts with the dynamic content 210 (for example, clicking on a product within an advertisement that has an “Add to cart” label), a message is sent from the dynamic content 210 to the message listener (Step 325). The message may contain information to be acted upon, such as a product id of the product to be added to the cart, credentials or tracking information from the user, or other relevant data” in ¶ 0041, ¶¶ 0042-0044 describing the validation process, and “After the server-side code is executed, a response is provided (Step 335) to indicate the success or failure of processing the request, and any other relevant information in the response. For example, a response to a request to add to a shopping cart may include both an indicator of success and a current number of items in the cart and/or the total value of purchases in the cart” in ¶ 0045.).
Regarding Claim 4, Ross does not expressly teach updating the digital advertisement comprises: replacing the advertisement content with acknowledgement content, promotional messages, or additional purchase options.
However, Arora teaches updating the digital advertisement comprises: replacing the advertisement content with acknowledgement content, promotional messages, or additional purchase options (See “clicking scroll icon 816 may replace one or more item advertisements 808, 810, 812 with other item advertisements (e.g., in ranked order)” in ¶ 0139.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Ross and Aurora to replace the content with additional advertisements/promotional messages. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, in the combination each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable
Regarding Claim 6, Ross further teaches retrieving updated content from a content database based on at least one of the payload, retailer ID, advertisement type, or ad medium (See “After the server-side code is executed, a response is provided (Step 335) to indicate the success or failure of processing the request, and any other relevant information in the response. For example, a response to a request to add to a shopping cart may include both an indicator of success and a current number of items in the cart and/or the total value of purchases in the cart” in ¶ 0045 and “When the response is received, the advertisement or dynamic content 210 is updated (Step 340) to reflect the information received. There may be, for example, a shopping cart displayed that looks identical to how the shopping cart would appear if the user had directly navigated to the second webpage to shop for items. The update may also include a success or error message or other information in addition to mimicking the second webpage” in ¶ 0046.).
Regarding Claim 7, Ross further teaches the user device comprises a mobile device, desktop browser, connected TV, or augmented reality system (See “A user computing device 100 with software including a web browser is used to connect to the Internet 120 or another similar network. The user computing device 100 may be a PC, a mobile phone, a gaming console, or any other device capable of running a web browser to display a webpage to a human user” in ¶ 0022.).
Regarding Claim 8, Ross further teaches the user is presented with post-interaction options including: coupons or discounts; related product recommendations; or a link to immediately access the retailer's e-commerce cart or shopping application (See “In FIG. 4D, clicking any of the “Add to cart” buttons will actually cause cart icon 510 to be updated to indicate items have been added” in ¶ 0052 and “In FIG. 4E, if the user clicks on the cart icon 510, the browser will navigate to the second website (pictured below) and display the traditional cart, containing the items the user had added through the advertisement” in ¶ 0053.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Arora, and further in view of US 2023/0237555 (“Maitra”).
Regarding Claim 5, Ross further teaches the payload is transmitted to the retailer's cart system and/or point-of-sale (POS) system (See “The direct communication between advertisement and cart is bidirectional, so that if the consumer further modifies the cart on the merchant's website and then returns to the advertisement, all such modifications remain reflected in the cart within the advertisement. And if further modifications are made within the advertisement, they are also reflected in the cart on the website” in ¶ 0009 and “When a user interacts with the dynamic content 210 (for example, clicking on a product within an advertisement that has an “Add to cart” label), a message is sent from the dynamic content 210 to the message listener (Step 325). The message may contain information to be acted upon, such as a product id of the product to be added to the cart, credentials or tracking information from the user, or other relevant data” in ¶ 0041.).
Neither Ross nor Arora expressly teach a retailer push module configured to adapt the payload to retailer-specific API requirements.
However, Maitra teaches a retailer push module configured to adapt the payload to retailer-specific API requirements (See “Similar to the permission level for an anonymous token, the permission level for the guest account token can also allow the affiliate online service 30 to instruct the cart item API 23 to add one or more products to a retailer electronic shopping cart via the cart item API 23, add one or more fulfillment options via the cart item API 23, add one or more promotion codes to the retailer electronic shopping cart, add anonymous guest location information to the retailer electronic shopping cart, etc” in ¶ 0032, “In some embodiments, the affiliate GUI 32 can also optionally communicate with the retailer GUI 21, the cart-merge API 24, and the electronic shopping cart API 25” in ¶ 0037, and “At 255, the retailer GUI 21 initiates the cart-merge API 24 to access the pre-existing electronic shopping cart associated with the identified guest account and then transfer and merge the one or more products added to the anonymous electronic shopping cart with any products added to the pre-existing electronic shopping cart linked to the guest account to create a combined electronic shopping cart for the user. … In some embodiments, the retailer GUI 21 initiates the cart-merge API 24 to create the combined electronic shopping cart prior to the electronic shopping cart display of the retailer GUI 21 being viewable on the user device 15. In some embodiments, once the combined electronic shopping cart is created, the cart-merge API 24 abandons the anonymous electronic shopping cart” in ¶ 0053.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Ross, Aurora, and Maitra to configure according to retailer API requirements. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, in the combination each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Arora, and further in view of US 2014/0201100 (“Rellas”).
Regarding Claim 9, Ross teaches the digital advertisement is updated by and payload-specific content (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Neither Ross nor Arora expressly teach a creative update module using a creative template.
However, Rellas teaches a creative update module using a creative template (See “By pressing the arrows 3614, the brand owner can toggle between various templates. In some examples, a brand owner will be presented with a preset number of templates, perhaps each with a different pricing structure. In some examples, the brand owner can upload a brand page designed with any available software” in ¶ 0319.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Ross, Aurora, and Rellas to utilize a creative template. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, in the combination each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Arora, and further in view of US 2016/0140626 (“Agarwal”).
Regarding Claim 10, neither Ross nor Arora expressly teach the advertisement interaction data includes location data, device information, and a timestamp.
However, Agarwal teaches the advertisement interaction data includes location data, device information, and a timestamp (See “The following system can be continually improved focusing on the internal browser behavior. This clicktracking approach gives multiple advantages such as: 1) Not being dependent on the advertiser for click performance data 2) Having performance data as first-party data—on which we can apply multiple user behaviour and attributes as tags (IP address, exact or approximated geolocation, browser, time of the day, operating system, device type etc.) 3) Works across any ad network. 4) Ad performance is immediate, and not adjusted by the advertiser. 5) Etc. in ¶¶ 0073-0078.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Ross, Aurora, and Agarwal to determine the interaction information. The claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, in the combination each element merely performs the same function as it does separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
/MEREDITH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622