DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, a new reference (US Pub. 2024/0114229 A1 to Agrawal et al.) is applied to a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2013/0113738 A1) in view of Agrawal et al. (US Pub. 2024/0114229 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Seok teaches an electronic device (a mobile terminal 120, Fig. 1) comprising:
one or more sensors (a photograph unit 520 and a sensing unit 560, Fig. 5);
communication circuitry (a communication unit 540, Fig. 5);
one or more processors (a controller 510, Fig. 5); and memory (a storage unit 570, Fig. 5) storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors (para. [0062]), the instructions for:
obtaining, via a first subset of the one or more sensors, an image, wherein the image includes a display associated with an external electronic device (Fig. 1, para. [0011, 0034, and 0057], the mobile terminal 120 is configured to display an image of a remote screen 111 as a camera screen. The controller is configured to define a remote screen area in the image of the captured remote screen, to perform screen mapping between the rectangle bounds of remote screen area and the real remote screen, to generate, if user input events related to the rectangle of the remote screen are occurred, event information for controlling an object corresponding to the user input signal based on the results of the screen mapping, and to transmit the event information to the remote apparatus through the communication unit);
obtaining, via a second subset of the one or more sensors (a user input unit 550, Fig.5), an input (Fig.6, para. [0038 and 0059], if the user may perform an input corresponding to a remote screen area on the mobile terminal 120; the controller may generate an event information for controlling at least one of the objects, based on the results of the screen mapping);
determining, using at least the input and the image, a location on the display (para. [0038], the mobile terminal 120 detects a position of a user input event on the mobile terminal 120. Then, the mobile terminal 120 converts the detected position of the user input event into the corresponding position on the remote screen 111 using the conversion matrix acquired in operation 250. That is, the mobile terminal 120 may apply the detected position of the user input event to the conversion matrix to thereby calculate the corresponding coordinate values on the remote screen 111);
obtaining, via the second subset of the one or more sensors, a gesture input (para. [0007, 0010, 0059, and 0088-0093], the mobile terminal 120 is configured to detect a user input. A user input may comprise a multi-touch gesture input); and
transmitting information associated with the location on the display and the gesture input to an external electronic device using the communication circuitry (para. [0012-0014, 0038-0039, and 0055-0056 ], the mobile terminal 120 generates event information associated with the location of the user input event to the remote apparatus 110 using the communication unit. It is noted that “event information” would be associated with the location on the remote screen and the gesture input).
Lee does not teach a gaze input with a point of gaze on the display; and determining, using at least the gaze input and the image, a location of the point of gaze on the display.
(Figs. 6C and 6D of Agrawal reproduced)
Agrawal teaches a gaze input with a point of gaze on an external object (Figs. 6C,6D, 6E, and 6F; Agrawal discloses an electronic device 100 comprising a front facing camera 132 (e.g., 132A in Fig. 6C) configured to detect a user’s gaze within a front field of view (FOV) 612 and a rear facing camera 133 configured to capture an image of a scene within a rear field of view (FOV) 646. The front facing camera 132 is configured to detect a user’s gaze 260B at an external object (e.g., a dog 262B) within the rear FOV 646. When it is determined that the user 610 is gazing at the dog 262B, a window 632 on the electronic device 100 is configured to display an image of the dog 262B); determining, using at least the gaze input and the image, a location of the point of gaze (Para. [0055 and 0064], the rear facing camera 133 is configured to capture images of distant objects within the rear FOV 646. The electronic device 100 determines a location where the user is looking (i.e., eye gaze location 262). For example, eye gaze location 262 can have a distance 20 feet from electronic device 100, a vertical orientation of 5 degrees upwards, and a horizontal direction that is positive (right) 15 degrees from the rear surface 180 of electronic device 100. For example, the user may be looking at a second location 262B (e.g., a dog)).
Accordingly, Lee in view of Agrawal would render a method of using the rear facing camera of the mobile terminal to capture an image of the remote screen; using the front facing camera of the mobile terminal to detect a user’s gaze at a user interface on the remote screen; and select an item displayed on the remote screen in response to the user’s gaze. Therefore, the combination of Lee and Agrawal would teach “a gaze input with a point of gaze on the display; and determining, using at least the gaze input and the image, a location of the point of gaze on the display”.
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lee of enabling a user to control a user interface on a remote screen by capturing an image of the remote screen and providing an input on a mobile terminal to include the teaching of Agrawal of using a front facing camera of an electronic device to detect a gaze input on an external object and to select the external object as an object of interest. Accordingly, Lee in view of Agrawal would render a method of using the rear facing camera of the mobile terminal to capture an image of the remote screen; using the front facing camera of the mobile terminal to detect a user’s gaze at a user interface on the remote screen; and select an item displayed on the remote screen in response to the user’s gaze. Therefore, the combination of Lee and Agrawal would teach “a gaze input with a point of gaze on the display; and determining, using at least the gaze input and the image, a location of the point of gaze on the display”. The motivation would have been in order to improve the user’s experience.
Regarding claim 3; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee further teaches after obtaining the image (Fig.2, in an operation 240, the method comprises defining remote screen area after capturing an image of the remote screen and displaying the captured image on the mobile terminal 120), determining a location of the display relative to the electronic device using the image (para. [0041], the method comprises determining whether there is a change in motion of the mobile terminal 120. If so, the mobile terminal 120 may define a new remote screen area. In other words, a change in motion of the mobile terminal would be equivalent to a change in a location of the remote screen 111 with respect to the mobile terminal 120); and after determining the location of the display relative to the electronic device using the image, continually tracking the location of the display relative to the electronic device using data from a third subset of the one or more sensors (para. [0061], the sensing unit 560 detects a change in motion of the mobile terminal 120, including a change in location or position of the mobile terminal 120 with respect to the remote apparatus 110).
Regarding claim 4; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the electronic device of claim 3 as discussed above. Lee further teaches the third subset of the one or more sensors comprises a motion sensor (para. [0061], the sensing unit 560 may be configured to include a gravity sensor, a gyro sensor, a geo-magnetic sensor, etc.).
Regarding claim 7; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee further teaches the external electronic device comprises a source device that provides images to a television that comprises the display (para. [0029], the remote apparatus 110 may include a smart TV) and wherein the electronic device is a cellular telephone or a tablet computer (para. [0029], the mobile terminal 120 may be a mobile phone).
Regarding claim 8; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches a method of operating an electronic device that comprises one or more sensors and communication circuitry, the method comprising: obtaining, via a first subset of the one or more sensors, an image, wherein the image includes a display; obtaining, via a second subset of the one or more sensors, a gaze input with a point of gaze on the display; determining, using at least the gaze input and the image, a location on the display of the point of gaze; obtaining, via the second subset of the one or more sensors, a gesture input; and transmitting information associated with the location on the display and the gesture input to an external electronic device using the communication circuitry (similar to the analysis of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 8 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 3.
Regarding claim 11; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 10 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 4.
Regarding claim 13; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 8 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 6.
Regarding claim 14; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 8 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 7.
Regarding claim 15; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Lee, a storage unit 570, Fig.5) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors (Lee, a controller 510, Fig.5) of an electronic device (Lee, para. [0062]) that comprises one or more sensors and communication circuitry, the one or more programs including instructions for: obtaining, via a first subset of the one or more sensors, an image, wherein the image includes a display associated with an external electronic device; obtaining, via a second subset of the one or more sensors, a gaze input with a point of gaze on the display; determining, using at least the gaze input and the image, a location of the point of gaze on the display; obtaining, via the second subset of the one or more sensors, a gesture input; and transmitting information associated with the location on the display and the gesture input to an external electronic device using the communication circuitry (similar to the analysis of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 3. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 3.
Regarding claim 18; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 4. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 4.
Regarding claim 22; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee does not teach determining the location of the point of gaze on the display comprises determining the location of the point of gaze on the display using ray tracing.
Agrawal teaches determining the location of the point of gaze comprises determining the location of the point of gaze using ray tracing (Figs. 6C-6F; para. [0062-0063], a location of a gaze is determined by determining an eye gaze direction 260).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2013/0113738 A1) in view of Agrawal et al. (US Pub. 2024/0114229 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Sydorenko et al. (US Pub. 2020/0394408 A1).
Regarding claim 2; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Lee further teaches the electronic device has first and second opposing sides (Fig.1, the mobile terminal 120 has a front side and a rear side), wherein the first subset of the one or more sensors comprises a first camera on the first side (Fig.1, para. [0029], the mobile terminal 120 comprises a camera to capture the remote screen 111. It is understood that the camera would be disposed on the rear side of the mobile terminal 120).
Lee in view of Agrawal does not teach the second subset of the one or more sensors comprises a second camera on the second side.
Sydorenko teaches the second subset of the one or more sensors comprises a second camera on the second side (Figs. 2 and 3, para. [0102 and 0171], an electronic device 200/300 comprises a front camera 320 configured to determine eye-gaze position).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lee in view of Agrawal to include the teaching of Sydorenko of providing a front camera on an electronic device to detect an eye’s gaze. The motivation would have been in order to simplify the system.
Regarding claim 9; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 8 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 9 is substantially similar to claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 2.
Regarding claim 16; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 2.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2013/0113738 A1) in view of Agrawal et al. (US Pub. 2024/0114229 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Ko et al. (US Pub. 2019/0075610 A1) and Greene (US Pub. 2017/0243474 A1).
Regarding claim 5; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above.
Lee in view of Agrawal does not teach obtaining a user input associated with an intent for interaction with the external electronic device, wherein obtaining the gaze input comprises obtaining the gaze input in response to obtaining the user input associated with the intent for interaction with the external electronic device and wherein obtaining the image comprises obtaining the image in response to obtaining the user input associated with the intent for interaction with the external electronic device; and in accordance with obtaining the user input associated with the intent for interaction with the external electronic device, transmitting, using the communication circuitry, an instruction to the external electronic device to suppress user input from an accessory electronic device.
Agrawal teaches obtaining the gaze input (see the analysis of claim 1 above). The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 1.
Ko teaches obtaining a user input associated with an intent for interaction with the external electronic device (Fig.1, para. [0074], Ko discloses a method of pairing a mobile device 1000 with nearby electronic devices 210 through 230. A user may select an external electronic device to be controlled. For example, in Fig.11, para. [0145-0147], the mobile device 1000 may select an electronic device to pair with from among multiple electronic devices included in an obtained image. The mobile device 1000 may receive an input from a user to select an electronic device for pairing from between the remote controller 210 and the TV 240. For example, if an input to pair with the TV 240 is received from a user via the display unit 1400, the mobile device 1000 pairs with the TV 240).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Lee in view of Agrawal for controlling content on remote screen to include the method of Ko of enabling a user to select an electronic device for pairing with a mobile device. Accordingly, in the system of Lee in view of Agrawal and Ko, the mobile terminal would receive an input of the user to select a remote apparatus among multiple remote apparatuses for pairing. Then, after establishing a connection between the mobile terminal and a remote apparatus, the user may perform a gaze input and a gesture input on the mobile terminal to control the user interface on the remote screen. Therefore, a combination of Lee, Agrawal, and Ko teaches “obtaining a user input associated with an intent for interaction with the external electronic device, wherein obtaining the gaze input comprises obtaining the gaze input in response to obtaining the user input associated with the intent for interaction with the external electronic device and wherein obtaining the image comprises obtaining the image in response to obtaining the user input associated with the intent for interaction with the external electronic device; and in accordance with obtaining the user input associated with the intent for interaction with the external electronic device”. The motivation would have been in order to enable the user to easily select a desired controllable device.
Greene teaches in accordance with obtaining the user input associated with the intent for interaction with the external electronic device, transmitting, using the communication circuitry, an instruction to the external electronic device to suppress user input from an accessory electronic device (Fig.2, para. [0030], Greene discloses a method of pairing a remote control with an A/V system 12. Specifically, the remote 30a is paired to the A/V system 12a, the remote 30b is paired to the A/V system 12b and the remote 30c is paired to the A/V system 12c. When a remote control 30 and an A/V system are paired, the A/V system 12 will only respond to commands from the particular remote control 30 with which it is paired. Therefore, when a user 28a presses a button on the remote control 30a to control the A/V system 12a, the radio signal which is transmitted carries through the entire network 10 and is received by the A/V systems 12b and 12c. The codes in the other A/V systems of the network, other than the one with which the remote control 30a is paired, are set to ignore all signals except from their own specific remote control they are paired with. Therefore, when a signal is output by a remote control 30a, it is received by the A/V systems 12b and 12c but they ignore these systems because they are not paired with that particular remote control. The A/V system 12a is paired to remote control 30a and therefore it responds to signals output by the remote control 30a).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lee in view of Agrawal and Ko to include the teaching of Greene of enabling an A/V system to ignore all signals from a remote control that they are not paired with; and only responding to signals output from a paired remote control. The motivation would have been in order to reduce erroneous inputs.
Regarding claim 12; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 8 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 5.
Regarding claim 19; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected based on the same analysis as claim 5.
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Pub. 2013/0113738 A1) in view of Agrawal et al. (US Pub. 2024/0114229 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above; further in view of Nelson (US Pub. 2019/0094957 A1).
Regarding claim 6; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the electronic device of claim 1 as discussed above. Lee does not teach the gesture input comprises a hand gesture or a head gesture.
Nelson teaches the gesture input comprises a hand gesture or a head gesture (para. [0119 and 0122], a user may select a target using gaze and confirm a selection by performing a gesture input. The gesture input may be provided using hands or head).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lee in view of Agrawal to include the teaching of Nelson of selecting a target using gaze and confirming a selection by performing a gesture input including a hand or a head gesture. The motivation would have been in order to improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 20; Lee in view of Agrawal teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15 as discussed above. Lee further teaches wherein the external electronic device comprises a source device that provides images to a television that comprises the display, and wherein the electronic device is a cellular telephone or a tablet computer (Para. [0029], the remote apparatus 110 may be a TV that comprises the remote screen 111. The mobile terminal 120 may be a smartphone).
Lee does not teach the gesture input comprises a hand gesture or a head gesture.
Nelson teaches the gesture input comprises a hand gesture or a head gesture (para. [0119 and 0122], a user may select a target using gaze and confirm a selection by performing a gesture input. The gesture input may be provided using hands or head).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Lee in view of Agrawal to include the teaching of Nelson of selecting a target using gaze and confirming a selection by performing a gesture input including a hand or a head gesture. The motivation would have been in order to improve the user experience.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623