Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/22/26.
The applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims were considered and results as
follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 14-16 and 18-20 have been amended. Claim 12 has been
cancelled. No claims have been added. As a result, claims 1-11 and 13-20 are now
pending in this office action.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1-11 and 13-20 with respect to the rejection of
claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been fully considered. However, the rejection has
been maintained. For details see response to arguments section.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 02/27/26 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement
thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements
of this title.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites, “incrementally obtain metadata from one or more of the data objects that have changed since a previous time the metadata was obtained for the one or more data objects that have changed; log the metadata to the unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters; and expose the unified metadata catalog to one or more services that perform operations with respect to the unified metadata catalog..”.
The limitation of “incrementally obtain metadata from one or more of the data objects that have changed since a previous time the metadata was obtained for the one or more data objects that have changed; log the metadata to the unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters; and expose the unified metadata catalog to one or more services that perform operations with respect to the unified metadata catalog”. That is, other than reciting, “memory” and “processing circuitry”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical
application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a
“memory” and “processing circuitry”, to perform, obtaining, logging and exposing, steps. The memory and processing circuitry in each steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a memory and processing circuitry to perform, obtaining, logging and exposing steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
2 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to incrementally obtain the metadata from the one or more of the data objects while stored in the one or more server clusters in claim 2. But obtain the metadata from the data objects while stored in the one or more server clusters does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 3 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
3 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain the metadata during a backup performed by the computing system with respect to the data objects in claim 3. But obtain the metadata during a backup performed by the data platform with respect to the one or more data objects does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 4 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
4 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to correlate the metadata between different ones of the data objects from different ones of the one or more server clusters in claim 4. But a plurality of server clusters that each store a portion of the data objects does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 5 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
5 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to correlate the metadata between different ones of the one or more data objects from different ones of the one or more server clusters in claim 5. But correlate the metadata between different ones of the data objects from different ones of the one or more server clusters does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 6 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
6 recites wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: accept a subscription to the unified metadata catalog by a third-party service included in the one or more services, the subscription defining parameters for delivery of the metadata to the third-party service; and output the metadata from the unified metadata catalog based on the parameters for the delivery of the metadata to the third-party service in claim 6. But accept a subscription to the unified metadata catalog by a third-party service included in the one or more services, the subscription defining parameters for delivery of the metadata to the third-party service; and output the metadata from the unified metadata catalog based on the parameters for the delivery of the metadata to the third-party service does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 7 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
7 recites wherein the metadata includes one or more of a modification time by a user, whether a corresponding one of one or more the data objects contains personal identification information, an indication of an owner of the one or more data object, permissions assigned to the owner, permissions assigned to the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, access times by a user, permissions assigned to the user that accessed the corresponding one or more of the data objects, and a size of the corresponding one of the data objects in claim 7. But an indication of an owner of the data object, permissions assigned to the owner, permissions assigned to the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, access times by a user, permissions assigned to the user that accessed the corresponding one of the data objects, and a size of the corresponding one of the data objects does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 8 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
8 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to incrementally obtain the metadata according to an extensible metadata schema in claim 8. But obtain the metadata according to an extensible metadata schema does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 9 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim
7 recites wherein the one or more data objects include multiple copies of the same data object, and wherein the metadata indicates where each copy of the multiple copies of the same data object are stored within the data computing system in claim 7. But the metadata indicates where each copy of the multiple copies of the same data object are stored within the data management platform does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 10 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 10 recites wherein the services include one or more of: a security service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect security vulnerabilities; a compliance service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect compliance of the one or more data objects with various regulations; a troubleshooting service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect misconfiguration of the one or more server clusters; and a planning service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to determine resource planning for one or more of reconfiguring, expanding, and contracting the one or more server clusters.in claim 10. But a troubleshooting service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect misconfiguration of the one or more server clusters; a planning service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to determine resource planning for one or more of reconfiguring, expanding, and contracting the one or more server clusters does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 11 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 11 recites wherein the one or more services include a universal data access layer that provides a defined interface accessible by components of the data platform by which the components access the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog in claim 11. But wherein the one or more services include a universal data access layer that provides a defined interface accessible by components of the computing system by which the components access the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 13 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 13 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to expose the unified metadata catalog via an application programming interface in claim 13. But wherein the processing circuitry is configured to expose the unified metadata catalog via an application programming interface does not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 14 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 14 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: process the one or more data objects to identify one or more portions of the one or more data objects that satisfy a similarity threshold and obtain a similarity score; and log the similarity score as additional metadata to the unified metadata catalog in claim 14. But process the data objects to identify one or more portions of the data objects that satisfy a similarity threshold and obtain a similarity score; and log the similarity score as additional metadata to the unified metadata catalog not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 15 is dependent on claim 14 and includes all the limitations of claim 14. Claim 15 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform a byte-level comparison of the one or more data objects to determine whether the one or more data objects satisfy the similarity threshold in claim 15. But perform a byte-level comparison of the data objects to determine whether the data objects satisfy the similarity threshold not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 16 is dependent on claim 14 and includes all the limitations of claim 14. Claim 16 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform a semantic comparison of the data objects to determine whether the one or more data objects satisfy the similarity threshold in claim 16. But perform a semantic comparison of the data objects to determine whether the data objects satisfy the similarity threshold not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 17 is dependent on claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 17 recites wherein the processing circuitry is configured to provide different access modes based on permissions assigned to different users that restrict access to the metadata, wherein the different users are associated with the one or more services in claim 17. But provide different access modes based on permissions assigned to different users that restrict access to the metadata, wherein the different users are associated with the one or more services not go beyond the abstract idea itself. There are no additional components in the claim that would make it significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 18 recites the same limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, Claim 18 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 19 recites the same limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, Claim 19 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 20 recites the same limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, Claim 20 is rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seetharaman et al. (US 2024/0232175 A1) in view of Thibaux et al. (US Patent No. 8, 510, 312 B1).
Regarding claim 1, a computing system having access to one or more server clusters storing data objects, the system comprising, (See Lim paragraph [0073], data processing, data controls identification, data mapping, and data domain alignment as described with respect to FIG. 1. The technical metadata may include a group of data attributes, such the relationship with the data store):
a memory configured to store a unified metadata catalog, (See Lim paragraph [0043], unified data catalog 16 or components that interact with unified data catalog 16 may be configured to calculate overall data quality for one or more information assets stored in unified data catalog 16); and
processing circuitry configured to, (See Lim paragraph [0089], processing circuitry):
incrementally obtain metadata from one or more of the data objects that have changed since a previous time the metadata was obtained for the one or more data objects that have changed, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0048], the data catalog metadata repository 114 may store additional types of metadata for data assets and data objects managed by an external system…The additional metadata may include, operational metadata that describes when a data asset or a data object managed by the data asset was created and when it was accessed, used, or changed),
expose the unified metadata catalog to one or more services that perform operations with respect to the unified metadata catalog, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0031], the data catalog system 106 may be configured to provide users with a unified and centralized view of the data assets and the data objects associated with the data assets…the data catalog system 106 to retrieve metadata associated with the data object).
Lim does not explicitly disclose log the metadata to the unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time and to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters.
However, Thibaux teaches log the metadata to the unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time, (See Thibaux Col. 1 lines 45-52, the log of the probability of finding each term in the set of matches…By using logarithms of the probabilities rather than the probabilities themselves, the scale of the scoring may be expanded. Furthermore, by using the probabilities of finding the matching words in both the collection of documents and the collection of metadata records), to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters, (See Thibaux Col. 8 lines 13-15, , .times..function..function. ##EQU00005## represents the combined product of p(w).times.q(w) for each word in the set M. This product defines the probability P of observing at least the set of matches M among all copyright pages and metadata records).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify log the metadata to the unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time and to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters of Thibaux for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records; means for scoring each of the sets of matching phrases.
Regarding claim 2, Seetharaman taught the computing system of claim 1, as described. Seetharaman further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: incrementally obtain the metadata from the one or more of the data objects while stored in the one or more server clusters, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0048], the data catalog metadata repository 114 may store additional types of metadata for data assets and data objects managed by an external system…The additional metadata may include, operational metadata that describes when a data asset or a data object managed by the data asset was created and when it was accessed, used, or changed).
Regarding claim 3, Seetharaman; taught the computing system of claim 1, as described. Seetharaman further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (See Seetharaman; paragraph [0025], one or more processing units).
Seetharaman does not explicitly disclose incrementally obtain the metadata during a backup performed by the data platform computing system with respect to the data objects.
However, Thibaux teaches incrementally obtain the metadata during a backup performed by the data platform computing system with respect to the data objects, (See Thibaux Col. 6 lines 57-67, The processing may begin with identifying occurrences of words and phrases (i.e., combinations of words) found in the metadata records (block 510)…dynamically added into the recognized copyright pages for the purpose of metadata identification, thereby potentially increasing the number of accurately recognized words and phrases associated with the copyright page).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify incrementally obtain the metadata during a backup performed by the data platform computing system with respect to the data objects of Thibaux for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records; means for scoring each of the sets of matching phrases.
Regarding claim 4, Seetharaman taught the computing system of claim 1, as described. Seetharaman further teaches wherein the one or more server clusters comprise a plurality of server clusters that each store a portion of the data objects, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0025], (e.g., on a memory device). Portions of data or information used by or generated by the data catalog system 106 as part of its processing may be stored in a persistent memory store such as a data catalog metadata repository 114…the data catalog system 106 can be implemented using more or fewer subsystems than those shown in FIG. 1, may combine two or more subsystems, or may have a different configuration or arrangement of subsystems.
Regarding claim 5, Seetharaman taught the computing system of claim 1, as described. Seetharaman further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0025], one or more processing units): correlate the metadata between different ones of the one or more data objects from different ones of the one or more server clusters, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0047], the database table 300 can be implemented using more or fewer columns than those shown in FIG. 3, may combine two or more columns of information, or may have different columns than shown in the illustration. Additionally, while the implementation shown in table 300 depicts the metadata harvested for a specific type of data asset (e.g., a database and an object storage system)).
Regarding claim 6, Seetharaman taught the computing system of claim 1, as described. Seetharaman further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0025], one or more processing units): accept a subscription to the unified metadata catalog by a third-party service included in the one or more services, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0026], the data catalog system 106 may be implemented on one or more servers of a cloud provider and its functionality may be provided to subscribers of cloud services on a subscription basis), the subscription defining parameters for delivery of the metadata to the third-party service, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0103], database service offerings that are delivered to a customer in a self-service, subscription-based, elastically scalable, reliable, highly available, and secure manner. An example of such an IaaS system is the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)); and output the metadata from the unified metadata catalog based on the parameters for the delivery of the metadata to the third-party service, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0031], the data catalog system 106 may be configured to provide users with a unified and centralized view of the data assets and the data objects associated with the data assets…retrieve the data object and communicate a response 118 back to the user. The response 118 may be output to the user via the UI and may include metadata about the data object).
Regarding claim 8, Seetharaman taught the computing system of claim 1, as described. Seetharaman further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0025], one or more processing units), obtain the metadata according to an extensible metadata schema, (See Lim paragraph [0020], Metadata harvesting typically involves the collection of metadata about data stored in multiple data sources…a data catalog system identifies the data format, structure, or schema of a data source (e.g., file system).
Regarding claim 11, Lim taught the computing system of claim 1, as described.
Lim further teaches wherein the one or more services include a universal data access layer, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0004}, a Universal Resource Locator (URL)), that provides a defined interface accessible by components of the computing system by which the components access the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0004], the data catalog system performs processing to access a data catalog metadata repository comprising metadata associated with a data asset and metadata associated with a set of data objects associated with the data asset).
Regarding claim 14, Lim taught the computing system of claim 1, as described.
Lim further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0025], one or more processing units).
Seetharaman does not explicitly disclose process the one or more data objects to identify one or more portions of the one or more data objects that satisfy a similarity threshold and obtain a similarity score, and log the similarity score as additional metadata to the unified metadata catalog.
However, Thibaux teaches process the data objects to identify one or more portions of the data objects that satisfy a similarity threshold and obtain a similarity score, (See Thibaux Col. 6 lines 11-16, paragraph [0003], Once sets of matches have been identified for at least the selected copyright page, the sets of matches may be scored to reflect a measure of similarity between the copyright page and each metadata record corresponding to the sets of matches (block 460)); and
log the similarity score as additional metadata to the unified metadata catalog, (See Thibaux Col. 8 lines 25-30, the log of the probability of finding each term in the set of matches in a random copyright page with the log of the probability of finding each term in the set of matches in a random metadata record. By using logarithms of the probabilities rather than the probabilities themselves, the scale of the scoring may be expanded).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify process the data objects to identify one or more portions of the data objects that satisfy a similarity threshold and obtain a similarity score, and log the similarity score as additional metadata to the unified metadata catalog of Thibaux for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records; means for scoring each of the sets of matching phrases.
Regarding claim 15, Lim taught the computing system of claim 14, as described.
Lim further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0025], one or more processing units):
Lim does not explicitly disclose perform a byte-level comparison of the one or more data objects to determine whether the one or more data objects satisfy the similarity threshold.
However, Thibaux teaches perform a byte-level comparison of the data objects to determine whether the data objects satisfy the similarity threshold, (See Col. 1 lines 45-52, comparing the text of the document to content of metadata records; means for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records…at least one selected metadata record from the one or more metadata records with the document based on the scores of the sets of matching phrases).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify perform a byte-level comparison of the data objects to determine whether the data objects satisfy the similarity threshold of Thibaux for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records; means for scoring each of the sets of matching phrases.
Regarding claim 16, Lim taught the computing system of claim 14, as described.
Lim further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0025], one or more processing units).
Lim does not explicitly disclose perform a semantic comparison of the data objects to determine whether the one or more data objects satisfy the similarity threshold.
However, Thibaux teaches perform a semantic comparison of the data objects to determine whether the data objects satisfy the similarity threshold, (See Thibaux Col. 1 lines 45-52, comparing the text of the document to content of metadata records; means for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records…at least one selected metadata record from the one or more metadata records with the document based on the scores of the sets of matching phrases).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify perform a semantic comparison of the data objects to determine whether the data objects satisfy the similarity threshold of Thibaux for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records; means for scoring each of the sets of matching phrases.
Regarding claim 17, Lim taught the computing system of claim 1, as described.
Lim further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (See Seetharaman; paragraph [0025], one or more processing units): provide different access modes based on permissions assigned to different users that restrict access to the metadata, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0084], the customer can determine what the data plane VCN 618 can access, and the customer may restrict access to public Internet 654 from the data plane VCN 618. The IaaS provider may not be able to apply filters or otherwise control access of the data plane VCN 618 to any outside networks or databases), wherein the different users are associated with the one or more services, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0084], Applying filters and controls by the customer onto the data plane VCN 618, contained in the customer tenancy 621, can help isolate the data plane VCN 618 from other customers and from public Internet 654).
Regarding claim 18, Seetharaman teaches a method comprising:
incrementally obtaining metadata from one or more data objects stored by one or more server clusters, that have changed since a previous time the metadata was obtained for the one or more data objects that have changed, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0048], the data catalog metadata repository 114 may store additional types of metadata for data assets and data objects managed by an external system…The additional metadata may include, operational metadata that describes when a data asset or a data object managed by the data asset was created and when it was accessed, used, or changed),
exposing the unified metadata catalog to one or more services that perform operations with respect to the unified metadata catalog, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0031], the data catalog system 106 may be configured to provide users with a unified and centralized view of the data assets and the data objects associated with the data assets…the data catalog system 106 to retrieve metadata associated with the data object).
Lim does not explicitly disclose logging the metadata to a unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time, to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters.
However, Thibaux teaches logging the metadata to a unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time, (See Thibaux Col. 1 lines 45-52, the log of the probability of finding each term in the set of matches…By using logarithms of the probabilities rather than the probabilities themselves, the scale of the scoring may be expanded…by using the probabilities of finding the matching words in both the collection of documents and the collection of metadata records), to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters, (See Thibaux Col. 8 lines 13-15, , .times..function..function. ##EQU00005## represents the combined product of p(w).times.q(w) for each word in the set M. This product defines the probability P of observing at least the set of matches M among all copyright pages and metadata records).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify logging the metadata to a unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time, to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters of Thibaux for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records; means for scoring each of the sets of matching phrases.
Regarding claim 19, Lim taught the method of claim 18, as described.
Lim further teaches wherein incrementally obtaining the metadata comprises incrementally obtaining the metadata from the one or more data objects while stored in the one or more server clusters, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0048], the data catalog metadata repository 114 may store additional types of metadata for data assets and data objects managed by an external system…The additional metadata may include, operational metadata that describes when a data asset or a data object managed by the data asset was created and when it was accessed, used, or changed).
Regarding claim 20, Seetharaman teaches non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0007], non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing programs, code, or instructions executable by one or more processors), by processing circuitry of a data platform having access to one or more server clusters storing data objects, cause the processing circuitry to, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0004], the data catalog system performs processing to access a data catalog metadata repository comprising metadata associated with a data asset and metadata associated with a set of data objects associated with the data asset):
incrementally obtain metadata from one or more data objects stored by one or more server clusters that have changed since a previous time the metadata was obtained for the one or more data objects that have changed; (See Seetharaman paragraph [0048], the data catalog metadata repository 114 may store additional types of metadata for data assets and data objects managed by an external system…The additional metadata may include, operational metadata that describes when a data asset or a data object managed by the data asset was created and when it was accessed, used, or changed),
expose the unified metadata catalog to one or more services that perform operations with respect to the unified metadata catalog, (See Seetharaman paragraph [0031], the data catalog system 106 may be configured to provide users with a unified and centralized view of the data assets and the data objects associated with the data assets…the data catalog system 106 to retrieve metadata associated with the data object).
Seetharaman does not explicitly disclose log the metadata to a unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters.
However, Thibaux teaches log the metadata to the unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time; (See Thibaux Col. 1 lines 45-52, the log of the probability of finding each term in the set of matches…By using logarithms of the probabilities rather than the probabilities themselves, the scale of the scoring may be expanded. Furthermore, by using the probabilities of finding the matching words in both the collection of documents and the collection of metadata records), to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters, (See Thibaux Col. 8 lines 13-15, , .times..function..function. ##EQU00005## represents the combined product of p(w).times.q(w) for each word in the set M. This product defines the probability P of observing at least the set of matches M among all copyright pages and metadata records).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify log the metadata to the unified metadata catalog, the unified metadata catalog logging the metadata as the metadata changes over time to enable a time-based historical analysis of the metadata across the one or more server clusters of Thibaux for identifying sets of matching phrases between the text of the document and one or more of the metadata records; means for scoring each of the sets of matching phrases.
Claims 7, 9, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seetharaman et al. (US 2024/0232175 A1) in view of Thibaux et al. (US Patent No. 8, 510, 312 B1) and further in view of Lim et al. (US 2026/0003875 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Seetharaman together with Thibaux taught the computing system of claim 1, as described.
Seetharaman together with Thibaux does not explicitly disclose wherein the metadata includes one or more of a modification time by a user, whether a corresponding one of the one or more data objects contains personal identification information, an indication of an owner of the one or more data object, permissions assigned to the owner, permissions assigned to the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, access times by a user, permissions assigned to the user that accessed the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, and a size of the corresponding one of the data one or more objects.
However, Lim teaches wherein the metadata includes one or more of a modification time by a user, (See Lim paragraph [0009], an information asset of one of the data catalogs has been modified; and update the metadata registry in response to the modification), whether a corresponding one of the one or more data objects contains personal identification information, an indication of an owner of the one or more data object, (See Lim paragraph [0051], Data controls unit 26 may also be configured to determine the specific area or subject matter that the controls are related to. For example, if a data source contains sensitive personal information such as credit card numbers, social security numbers, or medical records, the data would be considered sensitive data), permissions assigned to the owner, permissions assigned to the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, access times by a user, (See Lim paragraph [0068], usage that ensure only authorized users are able to access certain data and that all data is stored and processed in compliance with regulatory requirements), permissions assigned to the user that accessed the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, and a size of the corresponding one of the data one or more objects, (See Lim paragraph [0068], APIs 14 may define and enforce rules for data access and usage that ensure only authorized users are able to access certain data and that all data is stored and processed in compliance with regulatory requirements).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the metadata includes one or more of a modification time by a user, whether a corresponding one of the one or more data objects contains personal identification information, an indication of an owner of the one or more data object, permissions assigned to the owner, permissions assigned to the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, access times by a user, permissions assigned to the user that accessed the corresponding one of the one or more data objects, and a size of the corresponding one of the data one or more objects of Lim in order to perform data lookups and reconcile states of data entities during the metadata harvesting process.
Regarding claim 9, Seetharaman together with Thibaux taught the computing system of claim 1, as described.
Seetharaman together with Thibaux does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more data objects include multiple copies of the same data object, and wherein the metadata indicates where each copy of the multiple copies of the same data object are stored within the data management platform.
However, Lim teaches wherein the one or more data objects include multiple copies of the same data object, (See Lim paragraph [0038], organizations typically rely on multiple data catalog tools to collect metadata from each of the various platforms into a single data catalog solution. However, this may result in creation of multiple copies of the metadata), and wherein the metadata indicates where each copy of the multiple copies of the same data object are stored within the data management platform, ((See Lim paragraph [0038], organizations typically rely on multiple data catalog tools to collect metadata from each of the various platforms into a single data catalog solution. However, this may result in creation of multiple copies of the metadata).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the one or more data objects include multiple copies of the same data object, and wherein the metadata indicates where each copy of the multiple copies of the same data object are stored within the data management platform of Lim in order to perform data lookups and reconcile states of data entities during the metadata harvesting process.
Regarding claim 10, Seetharaman together with Thibaux taught the computing system of claim 1, as described.
Seetharaman together with Thibaux does not explicitly disclose wherein the services include one or more of: a security service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect security vulnerabilities, a compliance service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect compliance of the one or more data objects with various regulations, a troubleshooting service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect misconfiguration of the one or more server clusters, and a planning service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog, to determine resource planning for one or more of reconfiguring, expanding, and contracting the one or more server clusters.
However, Lim teaches wherein the services include one or more of: a security service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect security vulnerabilities, (See Lim paragraph [0048], [0083], Risk notification unit 62 may generate alerts or messages to administrators upon the detection of any risks within unified data catalog system 40. For example, upon data processing unit 20 logging a particular error, risk notification unit 62 may send a message to alert administrators of unified data catalog system 40. In another example, upon certain metadata not being able to be loaded into unified data catalog system 40); a compliance service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect compliance of the one or more data objects with various regulations, (See Lim paragraph [0048], [0083], Risk notification unit 62 may generate alerts or messages to administrators upon the detection of any risks within unified data catalog system 40. For example, upon data processing unit 20 logging a particular error, risk notification unit 62 may send a message to alert administrators of unified data catalog system 40. In another example, upon certain metadata not being able to be loaded into unified data catalog system 40); a troubleshooting service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect misconfiguration of the one or more server clusters, (See Lim paragraph [0048], [0083], Risk notification unit 62 may generate alerts or messages to administrators upon the detection of any risks within unified data catalog system); and a planning service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog, (See Lim paragraph [0073], technical metadata may be pulled into unified data catalog 16 from a data store via APIs 14. The technical metadata may undergo data aggregation, data processing, data controls identification, data mapping, and data domain alignment as described with respect to FIG. 1. The technical metadata may include a group of data attributes, such the relationship with the data store), to determine resource planning for one or more of reconfiguring, expanding, and contracting the one or more server clusters, (See Lim paragraph [0096], Metadata generation unit 144 may generate element names, descriptions, and linkage to physical data elements for information assets…This may significantly reduce cycle times and increase efficiency).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the services include one or more of: a security service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect security vulnerabilities, a compliance service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect compliance of the one or more data objects with various regulations, a troubleshooting service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog to detect misconfiguration of the one or more server clusters, and a planning service that processes the metadata stored to the unified metadata catalog, to determine resource planning for one or more of reconfiguring, expanding, and contracting the one or more server clusters of Lim in order to perform data lookups and reconcile states of data entities during the metadata harvesting process.
Regarding claim 13, Seetharaman together with Thibaux taught the computing system of claim 1, as described.
Seetharaman together with Thibaux does not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, expose the unified metadata catalog via an application programming interface.
However, Lim teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, (See Lim paragraph [0089], processing circuitry), expose the unified metadata catalog via an application programming interface, (See Lim paragraph [0043], Unified data catalog 16 may provide business metadata curation and recommend data element names and business metadata. Unified data catalog 16 may enable lines of business to build their own metadata and lineage via application programming interfaces (APIs)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, expose the unified metadata catalog via an application programming interface of Lim in order to perform data lookups and reconcile states of data entities during the metadata harvesting process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusions/Points of Contacts
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MULUEMEBET GURMU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163