DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “a substrate between the first and second metal layers”. It is unclear if this substrate is the same or a different substrate from “the at least one substrate layer coupled a first side of the first metal layer”. In order to expedite prosecution, this claim has taken to read that the substrate between the first and second metal layers is one of the at least one substrate layers coupled to a first side of the first metal layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranjbarnikkhah et al. (US20240313412; hereinafter Ranjbarnikkhah).
Regarding claim 12, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “An antenna comprising: a metasurface structure having a plurality of RF radiating antenna elements, where each of the RF antenna elements includes at least one tunable iris (slot in 1111) formed in a first metal layer (1111), at least one substrate layer (1101) coupled a first side of the first metal layer, a superstrate (1170) coupled to a second side of the first metal layer”.
Fig. 11 of Ranjbarnikkhah does not disclose “a tuning element coupled to the first metal layer through the superstrate”.
However, Fig. 8A of Ranjbarnikkhah teaches “a tuning element (803) coupled to the first metal layer”. Fig. 8A does not disclose that the tuning element is coupled through the superstrate, however, fig. 11 shows using vias (1163) to connect components from the microstrip line to the metal layer through the superstrate. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would make the simple substitution of the microstrip line of fig. 8A for the microstrip line of fig. 11 and keep the same connecting structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of fig. 8A and make Ranjbarnikkhah’s antenna of fig. 11 with a tuning element coupled to the first metal layer through the superstrate, in order to tune the iris element.
Regarding claim 13, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 12 wherein the at least one tunable iris is part of a double layer iris (fig. 11A) with the first metal layer (1111) having a first iris (slot in 1111) and a second metal layer (1110) having a second iris (1106) in which first and second irises form a vertical stack in which the first iris is over the second iris”.
Regarding claim 14, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 12 wherein the tuning element is coupled to the first metal layer and second metal layer using vias (1160/1161)”.
Regarding claim 15, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 12 wherein the at least one tunable iris comprises a resonator (803/1103 is a resonator)”.
Regarding claim 16, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 12 wherein the tuning element comprises a varactor (803/1103 is a varactor)”.
Regarding claim 17, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 12 further comprising at least one via on each of opposite sides of the first iris and second iris extending between and coupling the first and second metal layers (fig. 11A)”.
Regarding claim 18, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 17 wherein the at least one via on each of opposite sides of the first iris to reduce leakage of electromagnetic energy between RF radiating antenna elements (¶[0093]; Via cage 861 is designed or configured to reduce, and potentially avoid, radiation from coupler 800 interfering with patch antenna 802)”.
Regarding claim 19, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 17 wherein the at least one via comprises a plurality of vias located along a portion of each of two elongated sides of the first and second irises (fig. 11A)”.
Regarding claim 20, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 19 wherein the plurality of vias form a via wall (via cages)”.
Regarding claim 21, Ranjbarnikkhah discloses “The antenna of claim 12 further comprising a substrate (1101) between the first and second metal layers”.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845