DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-20 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 4-20 are not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diet et al. (US PGPub No. 2007/0086971) in view of Cardola et al. (US Patent No. 6,537957), Kato et al. (JP 2004123979 – English translation referenced for citations), Klofta et al. (US PGPub No. 2017/0003257), and Petri et al. (US Patent No. 6,114,298) as evidenced by Nichiguchi et al. (US PGPub No. 2008/02876).
Diet et al. teach an acidic cleaning composition composed of a first acid with a pKa of less than 3, a second acid with a pKa greater than 3, a nonionic surfactant, water, and a pH of less than 2.5 (see abstract). The composition is further taught and exemplified to include an organic solvent and an anionic surfactant (see paragraphs 12-20). The organic solvent is preferably present at 2 to 5 wt% and is envisioned as lower alkanol and glycol ethers while the anionic surfactant in combination with the nonionic surfactant is preferably present at 3 to 5 wt% and envisioned as sulfonate compounds (see paragraphs 15-17). The composition may further include cheating agents, caustic agents, and fragrance (see paragraph 21; instant claim 3). An example details 3 wt% phosphoric acid (pH modifier), 3 wt% lactic acid, 0.35 wt% caustic soda (pH modifier), 3.55 wt% ethoxylated C9-C11 alcohols (nonionic surfactant), 0.4 wt% sodium cumene sulfonate (anionic surfactant), 1 wt% dipropylene glycol mono-butyl ether (solvent), 1 wt% propylene glycol n-butyl ether (solvent), 1 wt% ethanol, 0.39 wt% perfume, and the balance water (see paragraph 48 formula A). Dipropylene glycol mono-butyl ether and propylene glycol n-butyl ether are envisioned solvents along with aromatic alcohols (see paragraph 45). Diet et al. teach the composition as a cleaner for hard surfaces that include metals, enamel, glass, and hard plastic (see paragraph 9). Use of the composition is envisioned as application to a desired surface without requiring dilution (ready-to-use) (see paragraph 30).
Cardola et al. teach a liquid acidic cleaning composition for hard surfaces (see abstract). They envision the inclusion sulphonate anionic surfactants (see column 3 line 65-column line 24). In addition, the composition also includes chelating agents at 0.1 to 5 wt%, where phosphonate compounds (buffering agent) such as 1-hydroxy diphosphonates (HEDP), aminotri(methylene phosphonic acid) (ATMP), nitrilo trimethylene phosphonates (NTP), and diethylene triamine pentamethylene phosphonates (DTPMP) are envisioned (see column 18 lines 39-59).
Kato et al teach a cleaning composition for hard surfaces that includes metals (see paragraph 1). The composition includes weak acids that are envisioned to include lactic acid and boric acid (see paragraph 16). Klofta et al. teach that boric acid has a pKa of 9.3 (see table of paragraph 36).
Petri et al. teach a hard surface cleaning composition (see abstract). The composition is taught to include solvents such as glycol ethers and aromatic alcohols, where benzyl alcohol is envisioned (see column 9 line 64-column 10 line 3 and lines 53-54). They further detail direct surface application for use or from a wipe wetted/impregnated with the composition (see column 16 lines 3-11 and 60-63). They detail that wetted wipes have the benefit of faster usage with fewer steps (see column 16 line 63-column 17 line 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a chelating agent in the exemplary composition of Diet et al. because they suggest to do so. The selection of HEDP, ATMP, NP, or DTPMP as the chelating agent would have been obvious in light of Cardola et al. at their taught proportion because they were known to be chelating agents in acidic cleaning compositions. The modification is obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. It additionally would have been obvious to exchange boric acid for the lactic in the exemplary composition of Diet et al. because it was a known acid with a pKa in accordance with their teachings and known to be included in cleaning compositions for hard surfaces as detailed by Kato et al. and Klofta et al. Substitution of benzyl alcohol for one or both of the glycol ether solvents would have been obvious in light of Petri et al. as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield the same improvement. The result is a composition with all the claimed components of the instant virucidal composition at the claimed proportions that is free of carboxylic acid, quaternary ammonium and added peroxide. According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Since the composition rendered obvious has all the claimed components at the claimed proportions, the corresponding claimed degree of virucidal efficacy function would follow, absent evidence to the contrary. It further would have been obvious to provide the composition soaked (saturated) on a wipe in light of Petri et al. as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-3 are obvious over Diet et al. in view of Cardola et al., Kato et al., Klofta et al., and Petri et al. as evidenced by Nichiguchi et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,660,817 in view of Diet et al., Cardola et al., Kato et al., Klofta et al., and Petri et al. as evidenced by Nichiguchi et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim an acidic ready-to-use virucidal composition that contains a sulfonated anionic surfactant, a pH modifier, a nonionic surfactant, and additional components such as chelating agents and fragrance. The patented claims recite the anionic surfactant at about 0.001 to about 0.075 wt%, a strong acid which meets the limitations of a pH modifier at about 0.0005 to about 0.5 wt%, and a pH that ranges from about 1.5 to about 4. The strong acid is recited to be selected from options that include inorganic acids such as phosphonic acid. The anionic surfactant is recited to be selected from alkyl sulfonates. The composition also includes a weak acid with a pKa of greater than about 2.5. Peroxide, quaternary ammonium, and organic (carboxylic) acid are not required components. The patented claims do not explicitly teach the composition on a wipe, the presence of a phosphonic acid, or a non-carboxylic acid as the weak acid.
Diet et al. teach an acidic cleaning composition composed of a first acid with a pKa of less than 3, a second acid with a pKa greater than 3, a nonionic surfactant, water, and a pH of less than 2.5 (see abstract). The composition is further taught an exemplified to include an organic solvent and an anionic surfactant (see paragraphs 12-20). The first acid is preferably present at 2 to 5 wt% and envisioned as phosphoric acid while the second acid is preferably present at 2 to 5 wt% and envisioned as lactic acid (see paragraphs 13-14). The organic solvent is preferably present at 2 to 5 wt% and is envisioned as lower alkanol and glycol ethers while the anionic surfactant in combination with the nonionic surfactant is preferably present at 3 to 5 wt% and envisioned as sulfonate compounds (see paragraphs 15-17). The composition may further include cheating agents, caustic agents, and fragrance (see paragraph 21; instant claim 3). An example details 3 wt% phosphoric acid (pH modifier), 3 wt% lactic acid, 0.35 wt% caustic soda (pH modifier), 3.55 wt% ethoxylated C9-C11 alcohols (nonionic surfactant), 0.4 wt% sodium cumene sulfonate (anionic surfactant), 1 wt% dipropylene glycol mono-butyl ether (solvent), 1 wt% propylene glycol n-butyl ether (solvent), 1 wt% ethanol, 0.39 wt% perfume, and the balance water (see paragraph 48 formula A; instant claims 1-3). The composition contains no added peroxide or quaternary ammonium. Dipropylene glycol mono-butyl ether and propylene glycol n-butyl ether are envisioned solvents along with aromatic alcohols (see paragraph 45). Diet et al. teach the composition as a cleaner for hard surfaces that include metals, enamel, glass, and hard plastic (see paragraph 9). Use of the composition is envisioned as application to a desired surface without requiring dilution (ready-to-use) (see paragraph 30). They do not explicitly teach the composition on a wipe, the presence of a phosphonic acid, or a non-carboxylic acid as the second acid.
Cardola et al. teach a liquid acidic cleaning composition for hard surfaces (see abstract). They envision the inclusion of sulphonate anionic surfactants (see column 3 line 65-column line 24). In addition, the composition also includes chelating agents at 0.1 to 5 wt%, where phosphonate compounds (buffering agent) such as 1-hydroxy diphosphonates (HEDP), aminotri(methylene phosphonic acid) (ATMP), nitrilo trimethylene phosphonates (NTP), and diethylene triamine pentamethylene phosphonates (DTPMP) are envisioned (see column 18 lines 39-59).
Kato et al teach a cleaning composition for hard surfaces that includes metals (see paragraph 1). The composition includes weak acids that are envisioned to include lactic acid and boric acid (see paragraph 16). Klofta et al. teach that boric acid has a pKa of 9.3 (see table of paragraph 36).
Petri et al. teach a hard surface cleaning composition (see abstract). The composition is taught to include solvents such as glycol ethers and aromatic alcohols, where benzyl alcohol is envisioned (see column 9 line 64-column 10 line 3 and lines 53-54). Benzyl alcohol has a water solubility of 3.8 wt% (see Nishiguchi et al. paragraph 73). They further detail direct surface application for use or from a wipe wetted/impregnated with the composition (see column 16 lines 3-11 and 60-63). They detail that wetted wipes have the benefit of faster usage with fewer steps (see column 16 line 63-column 17 line 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an alkyl sulfonate as the anionic surfactant, an inorganic acid as the strong acid, a chelating agent and fragrance in the patented composition because they suggest to do so. The selection of HEDP, ATMP, NTP, or DTPMP as the chelating agent would have been obvious in light of Cardola et al. at their taught proportion because they were known to be chelating agents in acidic cleaning compositions. The modification is obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. It additionally would have been obvious to select boric acid for the weak acid because it was a known acid with a qualifying pKa, according to Klofta et al., and known to be included in cleaning compositions for hard surfaces that include similar acids as detailed by Diet et al. and Kato et al. The application of the proportion of nonionic surfactant in accordance with Diet et al. also would have been obvious because they teach it as suitable in a similarly constructed acidic hard surface cleaner. The proportions for the components and pH of the composition overlap with the instantly claimed ranges for these parameters, thereby rendering the instantly ranges obvious. “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990)” (see MPEP 2144.05). It additionally would have been obvious to add benzyl alcohol as a solvent at a proportion suggested by Diet et al. to the composition to support the function of the acid based composition as the teachings of Diet et al. and Kato et al. suggest. The result is a composition with all the claimed components of the instant virucidal composition at the claimed proportions that is free of carboxylic acid, quaternary ammonium, and added peroxide. According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Since the composition rendered obvious has all the claimed components at the claimed proportions, the corresponding claimed functionality would follow, absent evidence to the contrary. It further would have been obvious to provide the composition soaked (saturated) on a wipe in light of Petri et al. as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-3 are obvious over claims 1-3 and 5-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,660,817 in view of Diet et al., Cardola et al., Kato et al., Klofta et al., and Petri et al. as evidenced by Nichiguchi et al.
The following is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11-13, and 15-20 of copending Application No. 19/690887 (reference application) in view of Diet et al., Cardola et al., Kato et al., Klofta et al., and Petri et al. as evidenced by Nichiguchi et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim an acidic ready-to-use virucidal composition that contains a sulfonated anionic surfactant, a pH modifier, a nonionic surfactant, and additional components such as chelating agents and fragrance. Both compositions are also free of quaternary ammonium and carboxylic acids where peroxide is not an added component. The copending claims recite the anionic surfactant at about 0.001 to about 0.6 wt%, a strong acid which meets the limitations of a pH modifier at about 0.0001 to about 0.3 wt%, a weak acid at about 0.0001 to 1 wt%, and a pH of 4 or less. The strong acid is recited to be selected from options that include inorganic acids such as phosphonic acid. The anionic surfactant is recited to be selected from alkyl sulfonates. The weak acid has a pKa of greater than about 2.5. The copending claims also recite wiping the composition on a surface which implies the presence of the composition on a wipe. The patented claims do not explicitly teach the composition on a wipe, the presence of a phosphonic acid, or a non-carboxylic acid as the weak acid.
Diet et al. teach an acidic cleaning composition composed of a first acid with a pKa of less than 3, a second acid with a pKa greater than 3, a nonionic surfactant, water, and a pH of less than 2.5 (see abstract). The composition is further taught an exemplified to include an organic solvent and an anionic surfactant (see paragraphs 12-20). The first acid is preferably present at 2 to 5 wt% and envisioned as phosphoric acid while the second acid is preferably present at 2 to 5 wt% and envisioned as lactic acid (see paragraphs 13-14). The organic solvent is preferably present at 2 to 5 wt% and is envisioned as lower alkanol and glycol ethers while the anionic surfactant in combination with the nonionic surfactant is preferably present at 3 to 5 wt% and envisioned as sulfonate compounds (see paragraphs 15-17). The composition may further include cheating agents, caustic agents, and fragrance (see paragraph 21; instant claim 3). An example details 3 wt% phosphoric acid (pH modifier), 3 wt% lactic acid, 0.35 wt% caustic soda (pH modifier), 3.55 wt% ethoxylated C9-C11 alcohols (nonionic surfactant), 0.4 wt% sodium cumene sulfonate (anionic surfactant), 1 wt% dipropylene glycol mono-butyl ether (solvent), 1 wt% propylene glycol n-butyl ether (solvent), 1 wt% ethanol, 0.39 wt% perfume, and the balance water (see paragraph 48 formula A; instant claims 1-3). The composition contains no added peroxide or quaternary ammonium. Dipropylene glycol mono-butyl ether and propylene glycol n-butyl ether are envisioned solvents along with aromatic alcohols (see paragraph 45). Diet et al. teach the composition as a cleaner for hard surfaces that include metals, enamel, glass, and hard plastic (see paragraph 9). Use of the composition is envisioned as application to a desired surface without requiring dilution (ready-to-use) (see paragraph 30). They do not explicitly teach the composition on a wipe, the presence of a phosphonic acid, or a non-carboxylic acid as the second acid.
Cardola et al. teach a liquid acidic cleaning composition for hard surfaces (see abstract). They envision the inclusion of sulphonate anionic surfactants (see column 3 line 65-column line 24). In addition, the composition also includes chelating agents at 0.1 to 5 wt%, where phosphonate compounds (buffering agent) such as 1-hydroxy diphosphonates (HEDP), aminotri(methylene phosphonic acid) (ATMP), nitrilo trimethylene phosphonates (NTP), and diethylene triamine pentamethylene phosphonates (DTPMP) are envisioned (see column 18 lines 39-59).
Kato et al teach a cleaning composition for hard surfaces that includes metals (see paragraph 1). The composition includes weak acids that are envisioned to include lactic acid and boric acid (see paragraph 16). Klofta et al. teach that boric acid has a pKa of 9.3 (see table of paragraph 36).
Petri et al. teach a hard surface cleaning composition (see abstract). The composition is taught to include solvents such as glycol ethers and aromatic alcohols, where benzyl alcohol is envisioned (see column 9 line 64-column 10 line 3 and lines 53-54). Benzyl alcohol has a water solubility of 3.8 wt% (see Nishiguchi et al. paragraph 73). They further detail direct surface application for use or from a wipe wetted/impregnated with the composition (see column 16 lines 3-11 and 60-63). They detail that wetted wipes have the benefit of faster usage with fewer steps (see column 16 line 63-column 17 line 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an alkyl sulfonate as the anionic surfactant, an inorganic acid as the strong acid, a chelating agent and fragrance in the copending composition because they suggest to do so. The selection of HEDP, ATMP, NTP, or DTPMP as the chelating agent would have been obvious in light of Cardola et al. at their taught proportion because they were known to be chelating agents in acidic cleaning compositions. The modification is obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. It additionally would have been obvious to select boric acid for the weak acid because it was a known acid with a qualifying pKa, according to Klofta et al., and known to be included in cleaning compositions for hard surfaces that include similar acids as detailed by Diet et al. and Kato et al. The application of the proportion of nonionic surfactant in accordance with Diet et al. also would have been obvious because they teach it as suitable in a similarly constructed acidic hard surface cleaner. The proportions for the components and pH of the composition overlap with the instantly claimed ranges for these parameters, thereby rendering the instantly ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). It additionally would have been obvious to add benzyl alcohol as a solvent at a proportion suggested by Diet et al. to the composition to support the function of the acid based composition as the teachings of Diet et al. and Kato et al. suggest. The result is a composition with all the claimed components of the instant virucidal composition at the claimed proportions that is free of carboxylic acid, quaternary ammonium, and added peroxide. According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Since the composition rendered obvious has all the claimed components at the claimed proportions, the corresponding claimed functionality would follow, absent evidence to the contrary. It further would have been obvious to provide the composition soaked (saturated) on a wipe in light of Petri et al. as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Therefore claims 1-3 are obvious over claims 1-8, 11-13, and 15-20 of copending Application No. 19/690887 in view of Diet et al., Cardola et al., Kato et al., Klofta et al., and Petri et al. as evidenced by Nichiguchi et al.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CARALYNNE E HELM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1615