DETAILED ACTION
This action is a first action on the merits. The claims filed on April 30, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-16 are pending and addressed below.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
This application is a CON of US Application No. 18/239,649, which is now US Patent No.12,331,598, filed on August 29, 2023. US Application No. 18/239,649, is a CON of US Application No. 17/576,223, which is now US Patent No. 11,739,597, filed on January 14, 2022. US Application No. 17/576,223 is a CON of US Application No. 16/357,398, which is now US Patent No.11,255,135, filed on March 19, 2019. US Application No. 16/357,398 is a CON of US 15/704,795, which is now US Patent No. 10,267,100, filed on September 14, 2017. US Application No. 15/704,795 is a CON of US Application No. 14/551 ,928, now US Patent No. 9,777,541, filed on November 24, 2014. US Application No. 14/551 ,928 is a CON of US Application No. 13/008,337, now US Patent No. 8, 919,436, filed on January 18, 2011, which claims benefit of US Provisional Application No. 61/296,530.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on May 12, 2025 and May 15, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show "a jar" as described in the specification.
The "jar" of claims 1-16 is not shown. The examiner notes that while jars are generically known and need not be shown in full exacting detail, Applicant is expressly claiming an assembly with a primary claimed feature not shown (the jar) in the assembly (see present figure 3) and also links the position of this unshown feature (the jar) to a primary inventive aspect of the invention (changing the cable drag on the jar, as embodied by claims 2-5, for example). The examiner respectfully asserts that, given prominence with which the "jar" features in the claims it is necessary and appropriate that it be shown in the figures.
Similarly, claim 2 recites the "jar is configured to fire as a result of firing tension". This "configuration" is not shown in the drawings. The same is similarly true of claim 7.
Similarly, the "distance from the jar" of claims 3-5 is not shown, nor are the "locations" of claims 13-16 shown.
Claim 8 recites "re-cocking the jar by decreasing a tension applied to the wireline cable". This configuration is not shown.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the recitation of “a wireline standoff that may ameliorate the effects” as recited in line 1 is considered to be purported merits. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wheater, United Kingdom Pat. No. GB 2,450,918 A (hereinafter Wheater) in view of Vermeeren, US 5,941,312 (hereinafter Vermeeren), Sugiura, US 2009/0058675 (hereinafter Sugiura), and Gazda, US 4,007,798 (hereinafter Gazda).
Claim 1: Wheater discloses wireline assembly (see Fig 3), comprising:
a wireline cable (wireline 2); and
one or more wireline standoffs (1) located on the wireline cable (2) above a downhole tool (see Fig 2), wherein each of the one or more wireline standoffs (1) comprises a pair of opposing assemblies (see Fig 2),
wherein each of the opposing assemblies (see Fig 2) comprises a half shell (see Fig 4-6); and
external fins (external fins 4) coupled to the half shell (see Fig 2).
Wheater fails to discloses a jar, the wireline standoffs located on the wireline cable above the jar, wherein each of the one or more wireline standoffs comprises a cable insert disposed between a pair of opposing assemblies, wherein the cable insert comprises a cable insert interior and a cable insert exterior, and
wherein the cable insert interior is of a unified diameter, further wherein the cable insert exterior has a raised flange, still further wherein the raised flange is completely enclosed within the half shells, and further wherein the cable insert comprises an anti-rotation spigot.
Vermeeren discloses a rod guide for a sucker rod used to prevent the sucker rod from rubbing against interior walls of the production tubing (col 1, In 12-14). The rod guide includes a cable insert (split sleeve insert 14) with a cable insert interior (interior surface 24) and a cable insert exterior (outer surface of 14) (see Fig 2), and wherein the cable insert interior (24) is of a unified diameter (split sleeve segments 14a, 14b form a diameter when brought together, see Fig 2, col 2, ln 39-49). A sucker rod (22) exterior has a raised flange (raised profile 20). The raised flange (20 is completely encloses within the half shells (14a, 14b) of the split sleeve (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the wireline standoff of Wheater to include the cable insert (14) of Vermeeren such that the segments of cable insert of Vermeeren are secured in each of the half shells of Wheater and this modification would have yielded the predictable results of securing the wireline standoff to the wireline disposed in the half shell and preventing axial movement of the wireline standoff relative to the wireline (Vermeeren, col 1, In 65-67, col 2, ln 1). Additionally, the wireline standoff and the rod guide are both from the same problem solving area of preventing rubbing and/or sticking of a downhole device against interior walls of production tubing, casing, or a borehole (Wheater, pg 1, par 5 and Vermeeren, col 1, ln 85-87).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify the cable insert (14, split sleeve) of Vermeeren to include the flange (20) of Vermeeren such that the flange is disposed over the middle portion of the split sleeve of Vermeeren, as this modification would have yielded predictable results of providing a raised surface on the exterior of the cable insert (14, split sleeve) providing an annular mating surface to be used in conjunction with the interior of the wireline standoff (overlying sleeve) and preventing axial movement relative to the wireline (Vermeeren, col 2, In 39-44).
Wheater, as modified by Vemeeren, fails to disclose a jar, the wireline standoffs located on the wireline cable above the jar, and wherein the cable insert comprises an anti-rotation spigot
Sugiura discloses a downhole assembly including a transceiver housing (225) and a tool housing (110). The transceiver housing (225) is located inside the tool housing (110) (see Fig 2-3B). An anti-rotation spigot (tab 245 is inserted into spigot as shown in Fig 3A) is located between the transceiver housing (225) and the tool housing (110). The anti-rotation spigot (tab 245 is inserted into spigot as shown in Fig 3A) prevents relative rotation between the transceiver housing (225) and the tool housing (110) (Fig 2-3B, par [0031], [0045]).
It would have been obvious ton one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cable insert of Wheater and Vermeeren, to include an anti-rotation spigot as disclosed by Sugiura, as this modification would have yielded the predictable e results of preventing relative rotation between the cable insert and the pair of opposing assemblies (Sugiura, par [0031], [0035]). Further, Wheater, Vermeeren, and Sugiura are all disclose downhole tools used in a wellbore and are therefore from the same field of endeavor.
Wheater, as modified by Vermeeren and Sugiura, fails to discloses a jar and the wireline standoffs located on the wireline cable above the jar
Gazda discloses a wireline jar (hydraulic jar, see Fig). The wireline jar (see Figure) is operated by applying or releasing tension on the wireline (col 5, ln 22-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the wireline tool of Wheater to include a jar as disclosed by Gazda, such that the wireline standoffs are located on the wireline cable above the jar, as this modification would have yielded the predictable results of allowing for imparting an upward impactive force in a well tool string (Gazda, col 1, ln 10-12).
Claim 2: Wheater, as modified by Vermeeren and Sugiura, Gazda further discloses the jar is configured to fire as a result of a firing tension applied to the wireline cable (Gazda, tension is applied to the wireline to stretch it and create varying amounts of potential energy, housing means 14 is free to accelerate upward, it rapidly moves until hammer means 46 engages anvil means 42 at which time an upward impactive force is imparted to the jar to the tool means and stuck object, col 5, ln 22-44).
Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gazda are silent as to wherein a cable drag imparted to the wireline cable increases the firing tension.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a cable drag imparted to the wireline cable would increases the firing tension as one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that that firing the jar would require overcoming the cable drag on the wireline in addition to applying the tension needed to fire the jar and as such the firing tension of the jar would be increased.
Claim 3: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gazda discloses at least one of the one or more wireline standoffs (Wheater, wireline standoffs 1) are located on the wireline cable (Wheater, wireline 2) at a distance from the jar (Wheater, wireline tool 12, Gaza, jar) which reduces the cable drag (Wheater, reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by leading a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract).
Claim 4: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gazda discloses at least one of the one or more wireline standoffs (wireline standoffs 1) are located on the wireline cable (2) at a distance from the jar (Wheater, wireline tool 12, Gaza, jar) which prevents key-seating of the wireline assembly (Wheater, reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by leading a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract).
Claim 5: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gaza discloses at least one of the one or more wireline standoffs (Wheater, wireline standoffs 1) are located on the wireline cable (Wheater, 2) at a distance from the jar (Wheater, wireline tool 12, Gaza, jar) which prevents differential sticking of the wireline assembly (Wheater, reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by leading a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract).
Claim 6: Wheater discloses method of reducing cable friction above a downhole tool of a wireline assembly (reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by leading a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract), comprising:
providing a wireline assembly (see Fig 3) comprising a wireline cable (2) and a downhole tool (12);
securing one or more wireline standoffs (1) to the wireline cable (2) above the downhole tool (12), wherein each of the one or more wireline standoffs (1) a pair of opposing assemblies (see Fig 2);
external fins (external fins 4) coupled to the half shell (see Fig 2).
conveying the wireline assembly (see Fig 3) into a borehole (cased hole, open hole, see Fig 3); and
reducing a cable friction caused by the wireline cable (2) contacting a wall of the borehole (open hole), wherein the reducing results from the one or more wireline standoffs lowering an area of contact between the wireline cable and the wall of the borehole (an array of wireline standoffs 1 are clamped onto the wireline 2 to cover the open hole section being logged, resulting in a lower borehole contact area, lower applied pressure against the borehole wall, and lower rolling resistance when conveying the logging tools in or out of the hole, see abstract).
Wheater fails to disclose a jar; securing one or more wireline standoffs to the wireline cable above the jar, and wherein each of the one or more wireline standoffs comprises a cable insert disposed between a pair of opposing assemblies, wherein each of the opposing assemblies comprises a half shell, wherein the cable insert comprises a cable insert interior and a cable insert exterior, and wherein the cable insert interior is of a unified diameter, further wherein the cable insert exterior has a raised flange, still further wherein the raised flange is completely enclosed within the half shells, and further wherein the cable insert comprises an anti-rotation spigot.
Vermeeren discloses a rod guide for a sucker rod used to prevent the sucker rod from rubbing against interior walls of the production tubing (col 1, In 12-14). The rod guide includes a cable insert (split sleeve insert 14) with a cable insert interior (interior surface 24) and a cable insert exterior (outer surface of 14) (see Fig 2), and wherein the cable insert interior (24) is of a unified diameter (split sleeve segments 14a, 14b form a diameter when brought together, see Fig 2, col 2, ln 39-49). A sucker rod (22) exterior has a raised flange (raised profile 20). The raised flange (20 is completely encloses within the half shells (14a, 14b) of the split sleeve (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the wireline standoff of Wheater to include the cable insert (14) of Vermeeren such that the segments of cable insert of Vermeeren are secured in each of the half shells of Wheater and this modification would have yielded the predictable results of securing the wireline standoff to the wireline disposed in the half shell and preventing axial movement of the wireline standoff relative to the wireline (Vermeeren, col 1, In 65-67, col 2, ln 1). Additionally, the wireline standoff and the rod guide are both from the same problem solving area of preventing rubbing and/or sticking of a downhole device against interior walls of production tubing, casing, or a borehole (Wheater, pg 1, par 5 and Vermeeren, col 1, ln 85-87).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify the cable insert (14, split sleeve) of Vermeeren to include the flange (20) of Vermeeren such that the flange is disposed over the middle portion of the split sleeve of Vermeeren, as this modification would have yielded predictable results of providing a raised surface on the exterior of the cable insert (14, split sleeve) providing an annular mating surface to be used in conjunction with the interior of the wireline standoff (overlying sleeve) and preventing axial movement relative to the wireline (Vermeeren, col 2, In 39-44).
Wheater, as modified by Vemeeren, fails to disclose a jar, the wireline standoffs located on the wireline cable above the jar, and wherein the cable insert comprises an anti-rotation spigot
Sugiura discloses a downhole assembly including a transceiver housing (225) and a tool housing (110). The transceiver housing (225) is located inside the tool housing (110) (see Fig 2-3B). An anti-rotation spigot (tab 245 is inserted into spigot as shown in Fig 3A) is located between the transceiver housing (225) and the tool housing (110). The anti-rotation spigot (tab 245 is inserted into spigot as shown in Fig 3A) prevents relative rotation between the transceiver housing (225) and the tool housing (110) (Fig 2-3B, par [0031], [0045]).
It would have been obvious ton one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cable insert of Wheater and Vermeeren, to include an anti-rotation spigot as disclosed by Sugiura, as this modification would have yielded the predictable e results of preventing relative rotation between the cable insert and the pair of opposing assemblies (Sugiura, par [0031], [0035]). Further, Wheater, Vermeeren, and Sugiura are all disclose downhole tools used in a wellbore and are therefore from the same field of endeavor.
Wheater, as modified by Vermeeren and Sugiura, fails to discloses a jar and the wireline standoffs located on the wireline cable above the jar
Gazda discloses a wireline jar (hydraulic jar, see Fig). The wireline jar (see Figure) is operated by applying or releasing tension on the wireline (col 5, ln 22-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the wireline tool of Wheater to include a jar as disclosed by Gazda, such that the wireline standoffs are located on the wireline cable above the jar, as this modification would have yielded the predictable results of allowing for imparting an upward impactive force in a well tool string (Gazda, col 1, ln 10-12).
Claim 7: Wheater, as modified by Vermeeren and Sugiura, Gazda further discloses firing the jar by increasing a tension applied to the wireline cable (Gazda, tension is applied to the wireline to stretch it and create varying amounts of potential energy, housing means 14 is free to accelerate upward, it rapidly moves until hammer means 46 engages anvil means 42 at which time an upward impactive force is imparted to the jar to the tool means and stuck object, col 5, ln 22-44).
Claim 8: Wheater, as modified by Vermeeren and Sugiura, Gazda further discloses re-rocking the jar by decreasing a tension applied to the wireline cable (Gazda, returning the jar to a collapsed position so that another impactive force may be imparted, col 5, ln 45-60).
Claim 9: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gazda discloses attenuating a tension applied to the wireline cable (Wheater, reducing the effects of differential sticking and key- seating of the wireline by eliminating direct contact of the wireline to the borehole wall resulting in lower contact area per unit length of the open borehole, lower applied pressure of the wireline against the borehole wall and lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, Fig 3, pg 1, par [1]-[2], [5]).
Claim 10: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gazda discloses preventing key-seating of the wireline assembly (Wheater, reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by leading a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract).
Claim 11: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gazda discloses preventing differential sticking of the wireline assembly (Wheater, reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by leading a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract).
Claim 12: Wheater, discloses a method of assembling a wireline assembly (see Fig 3), comprising:
a. disposing a wireline assembly comprising a wireline cable (2) and a downhole tool (logging tool 12) into a borehole (cased hole, open hole);
d. placing a pair of opposing assemblies (half shells, see Fig 2) around the wireline cable (2) at a location above the downhole tool (wireline standoffs 1 are located above the downhole tool 12, see Fig 3),
e. securing the pair of opposing assemblies to each other (four bolts 3 are utilized to clamp the two half shells tightly together, Fig 2, pg 3); wherein each of the opposing assemblies comprises a half shell (see Fig 2), and external fins coupled to the half shell (see Fig 2);
f. repeating steps (b) through (f) at a different location on the wireline cable above the jar (multiple wireline standoffs 1 above the downhole tool 12, shown in Fig 3).
Wheater fails to disclose a jar; b. placing two parts of a cable insert around the wireline cable at a location above the jar, wherein the cable insert comprises an anti-rotation spigot; c. securing the two parts of the cable insert to each other; d. placing a pair of opposing assemblies around the cable insert; e. wherein the cable insert comprises a cable insert interior and a cable insert exterior, and wherein the cable insert interior is of a unified diameter, further wherein the cable insert exterior has a raised flange, still further wherein the raised flange is completely enclosed within the half shells.
Vermeeren discloses a rod guide for a sucker rod used to prevent the sucker rod from rubbing against interior walls of the production tubing (col 1, In 12-14). The rod guide includes a cable insert (split sleeve insert 14) with a cable insert interior (interior surface 24) and a cable insert exterior (outer surface of 14) (see Fig 2), and wherein the cable insert interior (24) is of a unified diameter (split sleeve segments 14a, 14b form a diameter when brought together, see Fig 2, col 2, ln 39-49). A sucker rod (22) exterior has a raised flange (raised profile 20). The raised flange (20 is completely encloses within the half shells (14a, 14b) of the split sleeve (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the cable insert (14) of Vermeeren with the wireline standoff of Wheater, in order to b. place two parts of a cable insert around the wireline cable at a location above the downhole tool; c. securing the two parts of the cable insert to each other; d. placing the pair of opposing assemblies around the cable insert; e. securing the pair of opposing assemblies to each other; and f. repeating steps (b) through (f) at a different location on the wireline cable above the downhole tool in order to secure the wireline standoff to the wireline disposed in the half shell and prevent axial movement of the wireline standoff relative to the wireline (Vermeeren, col 1, In 65-67, col 2, In 1). Additionally, the wireline standoff and the rod guide are both from the same problem solving area of preventing rubbing and/or sticking of a downhole device against interior walls of production tubing, casing, or a borehole (Wheater, pg 1, par 5 and Vermeeren, col 1, 85-87).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify the cable insert (14, split sleeve) of Vermeeren to include the flange (20) of Vermeeren such that the flange is disposed over the middle portion of the split sleeve of Vermeeren, as this modification would have yielded predictable results of providing a raised surface on the exterior of the cable insert (14, split sleeve) providing an annular mating surface to be used in conjunction with the interior of the wireline standoff (overlying sleeve) and preventing axial movement relative to the wireline (Vermeeren, col 2, In 39-44).
Wheater, as modified by Vermeeren, fails to disclose a jar and the cable insert comprises an anti-rotation spigot.
Sugiura discloses a downhole assembly including a transceiver housing (225) and a tool housing (110). The transceiver housing (225) is located inside the tool housing (110) (see Fig 2-3B). An anti-rotation spigot (tab 245 is inserted into spigot as shown in Fig 3A) is located between the transceiver housing (225) and the tool housing (110). The anti-rotation spigot (tab 245 is inserted into spigot as shown in Fig 3A) prevents relative rotation between the transceiver housing (225) and the tool housing (110) (Fig 2-3B, par [0031], [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cable insert of Wheater and Vermeeren, to include an anti-rotation spigot as disclosed by Sugiura, as this modification would have prevented relative rotation between the cable insert and the pair of opposing assemblies (Sugiura, par [0031], [0035]) when assembled on the wireline. Further, Wheater, Vermeeren, and Sugiura all disclose downhole tools used in a wellbore and are therefore from the same field of endeavor.
Wheater, as modified by Vermeeren and Sugiura, fails to discloses a jar and securing one or more wireline standoffs located to the wireline cable above the jar.
Gazda discloses a wireline jar (hydraulic jar, see Fig). The wireline jar (see Figure) is operated by applying or releasing tension on the wireline (col 5, ln 22-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the wireline tool of Wheater, Vermeeren, and Sugiura to include a jar as disclosed by Gazda, such that the wireline standoffs are located on the wireline cable above the jar, as this modification would have allowed for imparting an upward impactive force in a well tool string (Gazda, col 1, ln 10-12).
Claim 13: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gaza discloses the location (Wheater, above the downhole tool 12, see Fig 3) is selected in order to reduce a friction caused by the wireline cable contacting a wall of the borehole (Wheater, an array of wireline standoffs are clamped onto the wireline to cover the open hole section being logged, resulting in a lower borehole contact area, lower applied pressure against the borehole wall, and lower rolling resistance when conveying the logging tools in or out of the hole, see abstract).
Claim 14: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gazda discloses the location is selected in order to prevent key-seating of the wireline assembly (Wheater, reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by yielding a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract).
Claim 15: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gaza discloses preventing differential sticking of the wireline assembly (Wheater, reduction of differential sticking and key-seating of the wireline cable by yielding a lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, see abstract).
Claim 16: Wheater, Vermeeren, Sugiura, and Gaza discloses the location reduces a tension applied to the wireline cable which causes the jar to fire (Wheater, reducing the effects of differential sticking and key- seating of the wireline by eliminating direct contact of the wireline to the borehole wall resulting in lower contact area per unit length of the open borehole, lower applied pressure of the wireline against the borehole wall and lower rolling resistance when conveying the wireline in or out of the borehole, Fig 3, pg 1, par [1]-[2], [5]).
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/CAROLINE N BUTCHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676