Detailed Action
This Office Action is made in reply to Application 19/195,370 filed November 21, 2011. As originally filed, Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2 and 8 of copending Application No. 19/195,444 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and the co-pending application disclose similar limitations as presented in the following table..
Instant Application 19/195,370
Co-pending Application 19/195,444
Explanation
1. A computer-implemented method for generating custom video feeds for live events, the method comprising:
prior to a first live event, generating a plurality of enhancement streams based on a plurality of enhancement video inputs;
during the first live event, generating a first video stream based on a first live video feed of the first live event;
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a first enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a first endpoint device, wherein the first endpoint device generates and plays back a first custom video feed associated with the first live event; and
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a second enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a second endpoint device, wherein the second endpoint device generates and plays back a second custom video feed associated with the first live event.
1. A computer-implemented method for generating integrated video streams for live events, the method comprising:
prior to a live event, generating a plurality of enhancement streams based on a plurality of enhancement video inputs;
during the live event, generating a video stream based on a live video feed associated with the live event;
during the live event, generating a plurality of integrated video streams based on the plurality of enhancement streams and the video stream;
during the live event, transmitting a first integrated video stream included in the plurality of integrated video streams to a first endpoint device for decoding and playback; and
Claim 8 –
generating a first custom video feed based on the video stream and a first enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams
during the live event, transmitting a second integrated video stream included in the plurality of integrated video streams to a second endpoint device for decoding and playback.
Claim 7 –
Generate a second custom video feed
- In the instant application, the limitations for generating integrated video streams based on enhancement streams are included in the transmitting limitations.
- In the instant application, the transmitting the first video limitation is not patentably distinct from the transmitting a first integrated video stream limitation in the co-pending application in combination with the limitations from Claim 8 as they both transmit a video stream with an enhancement stream to a first endpoint device and then playback the custom video feed
- In the instant application, the transmitting the first video limitation is not patentably distinct from the transmitting a first integrated video stream limitation in the co-pending application in combination with the limitations from Claim 7 as they both transmit a video stream with an enhancement stream to a first endpoint device and then playback the custom video feed
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if all rejections for these claims were overcome and the claims were rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 5 – 7, 11 – 12, 15 – 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang, US Pub. 2016/0105698 A1 (hereinafter Tang) [included in the IDS received 09 May 2026].
In regards to Claim 1, Tang discloses a computer-implemented method for generating custom video feeds for live events (Tang: [0005], where customized video stream with different targeted advertisement embedded into different video streams is provided to video customers), the method comprising:
prior to a first live event, generating a plurality of enhancement streams based on a plurality of enhancement video inputs (Tang: [0047], where a targeted advertisement model can select advertisement media segment to insert/encode into video streams by using a user profile type associated with an advertisement segment and a user profile database to identify users that match the user profile type);
during the first live event, generating a first video stream based on a first live video feed of the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes decoded real-time video data into a video stream that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices;);
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a first enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a first endpoint device, wherein the first endpoint device generates and plays back a first custom video feed associated with the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices); and
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a second enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a second endpoint device, wherein the second endpoint device generates and plays back a second custom video feed associated with the first live event (Tang: [0005], where a different targeted advertisement can be embedded into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices).
Regarding Claim 2, Tang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the plurality of enhancement streams comprises performing one or more encoding operations on an enhancement video input and at least one of a blending input or a placeholder input to generate the first enhancement stream (Tang: [0047], where the targeted advertisement module can select advertisement media segment to insert/encode into video streams; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can then inject the selected advertisements into a video stream where the injection can replace an existing content, a generic advertisement originated from the content provider, etc.; [0035], where and advertisement may overlay, replace, be combined with or inserted into the video stream).
Regarding Claim 5, Tang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating the first video stream comprises performing one or more encoding operations on the first live video feed (Tang: [0028], where 4K content can be encoded by the backend video conversion system and streamed to the local streaming unit).
Regarding Claim 6, Tang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein each enhancement video input included in the plurality of enhancement video inputs includes different advertising content (Tang: [0005], where a different targeted advertisement can be embedded into different video streams for at least two different video consumers).
Regarding Claim 7, Tang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
during a second live event, generating a second video stream based on a second live video feed of the second live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes decoded real-time video data into a video stream that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices);
during the second live event, transmitting the second video stream and the first enhancement stream to a third endpoint device, wherein the third endpoint device generates and plays back a third custom video feed associated with the second live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices); and
during the second live event, transmitting the second video stream and the second enhancement stream to a fourth endpoint device, wherein the fourth endpoint device generates and plays back a fourth custom video feed associated with the second live event (Tang: [0005], where a different targeted advertisement can be embedded into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices).
In regards to Claim 11, Tang discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable media including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to generate custom video feeds for live events (Tang: [0094], where software or firmware for use in implementing the techniques may be stored on a machine-readable storage medium and may be executed by one or more general-purpose microprocessors) by performing the steps of:
prior to a first live event, generating a plurality of enhancement streams based on a plurality of enhancement video inputs (Tang: [0047], where a targeted advertisement model can select advertisement media segment to insert/encode into video streams by using a user profile type associated with an advertisement segment and a user profile database to identify users that match the user profile type);
during the first live event, generating a first video stream based on a first live video feed of the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes decoded real-time video data into a video stream that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices);
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a first enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a first endpoint device, wherein the first endpoint device generates and plays back a first custom video feed associated with the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices); and
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a second enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a second endpoint device, wherein the second endpoint device generates and plays back a second custom video feed associated with the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices).
Regarding Claim 12, Tang discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, wherein generating the plurality of enhancement streams comprises performing one or more encoding operations on an enhancement video input and at least one of a blending input or a placeholder input to generate the first enhancement stream (Tang: [0047], where the targeted advertisement module can select advertisement media segment to insert/encode into video streams; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can then inject the selected advertisements into a video stream where the injection can replace an existing content, a generic advertisement originated from the content provider, etc.; [0035], where and advertisement may overlay, replace, be combined with or inserted into the video stream).
Regarding Claim 15, Tang discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, wherein generating the first video stream comprises performing one or more encoding operations on a portion of the first live video feed to generate a segment included in the first video stream (Tang: [0028], where 4K content can be encoded by the backend video conversion system and streamed to the local streaming unit).
Regarding Claim 16, Tang discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, wherein the first custom video feed includes first integrated advertising, and the second custom video feed includes second integrated advertising (Tang: [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers).
Regarding Claim 17, Tang discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, further comprising:
during a second live event, generating a second video stream based on a second live video feed of the second live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes decoded real-time video data into a video stream that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices);
during the second live event, transmitting the second video stream and the first enhancement stream to a third endpoint device, wherein the third endpoint device generates and plays back a third custom video feed associated with the second live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices); and
during the second live event, transmitting the second video stream and the second enhancement stream to a fourth endpoint device, wherein the fourth endpoint device generates and plays back a fourth custom video feed associated with the second live event (Tang: [0005], where a different targeted advertisement can be embedded into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices).
In regards to Claim 20, Tang discloses a system comprising:
one or more memories storing instructions (Tang: [0094], where software or firmware for use in implementing the techniques may be stored on a machine-readable storage medium and may be executed by one or more general-purpose microprocessors); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories that, when executing the instructions (Tang: [0094], where software or firmware for use in implementing the techniques may be stored on a machine-readable storage medium and may be executed by one or more general-purpose microprocessors), perform the steps of:
prior to a first live event, generating a plurality of enhancement streams based on a plurality of enhancement video inputs (Tang: [0047], where a targeted advertisement model can select advertisement media segment to insert/encode into video streams by using a user profile type associated with an advertisement segment and a user profile database to identify users that match the user profile type);
during the first live event, generating a first video stream based on a first live video feed of the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes decoded real-time video data into a video stream that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices);
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a first enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a first endpoint device, wherein the first endpoint device generates and plays back a first custom video feed associated with the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices); and
during the first live event, transmitting the first video stream and a second enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams to a second endpoint device, wherein the second endpoint device generates and plays back a second custom video feed associated with the first live event (Tang: [0035], where the live stream converter encodes the decoded real-time video data into a video stream [first video stream] that can be digitally streamed to multiple target devices [endpoint device] and can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image or video [enhancement stream] into the video stream; [0005], where each video stream can be customized by embedding a different targeted advertisement into different video streams for at least two different video consumers; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject targeted and personalized commercial advertisement into a video stream watched by the subscriber account where the advertisement injections can be applied on live broadcasting contents; [0098], where the computer server system transcodes in real-time, the input feed into a video stream and provide live distribution the video stream live to multiple user devices; [0100], where multiple video streams are generated from the input feed, with different targeted advertisements based on viewing behaviors of the multiple user devices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Parks, US Pub. 2020/0128284 A1 (hereinafter Parks).
Regarding Claim 3, Tang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2. But Tang fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the blending input includes at least one of per-pixel or per-sample transparency information associated with the enhancement video input.
Parks from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the blending input includes at least one of per-pixel or per-sample transparency information associated with the enhancement video input (Parks: [0078]-[0079], where the process of stitching [blending] an overlay into a vide stream can be accomplished via two simple steps. First, the images that are to serve as the overlay are mapped into the required size by the stitcher. For example, ad images first need to be mapped into the 192x108 pixel format. The remapping is done by computing and average chroma and luminance value for each 2x2 block of pixels. Second, the remapped pixels are merged by stitcher into the main video content that then serves as the background for the overlay).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang in view of Parks such that the process of injecting the selected of advertisements into the video stream as disclosed by Tang, (Tang: [0050]) could be modified in view of Parks to include per-pixel transparency information including computing the chroma and luminance value for each 2x2 block of pixels, (Parks: [0078]-[0079]). This allows for commercial messages to be presented more efficiently, (Parks: [0001]).
Regarding Claim 13, Tang discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 12. But Tang fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the blending input includes transparency information associated with the enhancement video input.
Parks from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the blending input includes transparency information associated with the enhancement video input (Parks: [0078]-[0079], where the process of stitching [blending] an overlay into a vide stream can be accomplished via two simple steps. First, the images that are to serve as the overlay are mapped into the required size by the stitcher. For example, ad images first need to be mapped into the 192x108 pixel format. The remapping is done by computing and average chroma and luminance value for each 2x2 block of pixels. Second, the remapped pixels are merged by stitcher into the main video content that then serves as the background for the overlay).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang in view of Parks such that the process of injecting the selected of advertisements into the video stream as disclosed by Tang, (Tang: [0050]) could be modified in view of Parks to include per-pixel transparency information including computing the chroma and luminance value for each 2x2 block of pixels, (Parks: [0078]-[0079]). This allows for commercial messages to be presented more efficiently, (Parks: [0001]).
Claim(s) 4, 8, 10, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Hannuksela et al., US Pub. 2023/0112309 A1 ( hereinafter Hannuksela).
Regarding Claim 4, Tang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1. But Tang fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the first enhancement stream includes an alpha enhancement layer, a texture enhancement layer, and a placeholder base layer.
Hannuksela from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the first enhancement stream includes an alpha enhancement layer, a texture enhancement layer, and a placeholder base layer (Hannuksela: [0248], where a scalable bitstream may comprise multiple independent layers, e.g. a texture video layer, a depth video layer, and an alpha map video layer and where a portion of a scalable video bitstream that provides a decoded enhancement requires decoding of one or more other layers; [0249], where a scalable bitstream includes a base layer which may provide a basic representation and one or more enhancement layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang in view of Hannuksela such that the video stream of Tang, (Tang: [0005]) may comprise multiple independent layers, as disclosed by Hannuksela, (Hannuksela: [0248]). Enhancement layer may refer to enhancing one or more aspects of reference layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]). A portion of the bitstream that remains after removal of all enhancement layers may be referred to as the base layer, (Hannuksela: [0249]). In order to improve coding efficiency for an enhancement layer, the coded representation of that layer may depend on one or more of the lower layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]).
Regarding Claim 8, Tang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a first custom stream definition to the first endpoint device specifying that a first custom video stream is to include the first video stream, first blending metadata from the first enhancement stream, wherein the first endpoint device generates the first custom video stream for decoding and playback in accordance with the first custom stream definition (Tang: [0047], where the targeted advertisement module can receive a user profile type associated with an advertisement media segment from and advertiser [custom stream definition] and where the targeted advertisement module can use the user profile database to identify users and associated devices that match the user profile type; [0048], where an advertiser of TV programming provider can associate advertisement media segments with a target real-time video watching context and the targeted advertisement module can match real-time video watching context demanded by the advertiser or the TV programming provider; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject selected advertisements into a video stream watched by the subscriber account). But Tang fails to explicitly disclose a base layer; a first alpha enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream, and a first texture enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream.
Hannuksela from a similar endeavor teaches a base layer; a first alpha enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream, and a first texture enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream (Hannuksela: [0248] – [0249]), where a scalable video bitstream includes multiple independent layers such as a texture video layer, a depth video layer, and an alpha map video layer and also includes a base layer. The bitstream includes a base layer and one or more enhancement layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang in view of Hannuksela such that the video stream of Tang, (Tang: [0005]) may comprise multiple independent layers, as disclosed by Hannuksela, (Hannuksela: [0248]). Enhancement layer may refer to enhancing one or more aspects of reference layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]). A portion of the bitstream that remains after removal of all enhancement layers may be referred to as the base layer, (Hannuksela: [0249]). In order to improve coding efficiency for an enhancement layer, the coded representation of that layer may depend on one or more of the lower layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Tang and Hannuksela discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, further comprising transmitting a second custom stream definition to the second endpoint device specifying that a second custom video stream is to include the base layer, second blending metadata from the second enhancement stream, a second alpha enhancement layer from the second enhancement stream, and a second texture enhancement layer from the second enhancement stream, wherein the second endpoint device generates the second custom video stream for decoding and playback in accordance with the second custom stream definition (Tang: [0047], where the targeted advertisement module can receive a user profile type associated with an advertisement media segment from and advertiser [custom stream definition] and where the targeted advertisement module can use the user profile database to identify users and associated devices that match the user profile type; [0048], where an advertiser of TV programming provider can associate advertisement media segments with a target real-time video watching context and the targeted advertisement module can match real-time video watching context demanded by the advertiser or the TV programming provider; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject selected advertisements into a video stream watched by the subscriber account; Hannuksela: [0248] – [0249]), where a scalable video bitstream includes multiple independent layers such as a texture video layer, a depth video layer, and an alpha map video layer and also includes a base layer. The bitstream includes a base layer and one or more enhancement layers).
Regarding Claim 14, Tang discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11. But Tang fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the first enhancement stream includes an alpha enhancement layer, a texture enhancement layer, and a placeholder base layer.
Hannuksela from a similar endeavor teaches wherein the first enhancement stream includes an alpha enhancement layer, a texture enhancement layer, and a placeholder base layer (Hannuksela: [0248], where a scalable bitstream may comprise multiple independent layers, e.g. a texture video layer, a depth video layer, and an alpha map video layer and where a portion of a scalable video bitstream that provides a decoded enhancement requires decoding of one or more other layers; [0249], where a scalable bitstream includes a base layer which may provide a basic representation and one or more enhancement layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang in view of Hannuksela such that the video stream of Tang, (Tang: [0005]) may comprise multiple independent layers, as disclosed by Hannuksela, (Hannuksela: [0248]). Enhancement layer may refer to enhancing one or more aspects of reference layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]). A portion of the bitstream that remains after removal of all enhancement layers may be referred to as the base layer, (Hannuksela: [0249]). In order to improve coding efficiency for an enhancement layer, the coded representation of that layer may depend on one or more of the lower layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]).
Regarding Claim 18, Tang discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 11, further comprising transmitting a first custom stream definition to the first endpoint device specifying that a first custom video stream is to include the first video stream, first blending metadata from the first enhancement stream, wherein the first endpoint device generates the first custom video stream for decoding and playback in accordance with the first custom stream definition (Tang: [0047], where the targeted advertisement module can receive a user profile type associated with an advertisement media segment from and advertiser [custom stream definition] and where the targeted advertisement module can use the user profile database to identify users and associated devices that match the user profile type; [0048], where an advertiser of TV programming provider can associate advertisement media segments with a target real-time video watching context and the targeted advertisement module can match real-time video watching context demanded by the advertiser or the TV programming provider; [0050], where the targeted advertisement module can inject selected advertisements into a video stream watched by the subscriber account). But Tang fails to explicitly disclose a base layer; a first alpha enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream, and a first texture enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream.
Hannuksela from a similar endeavor teaches a base layer; a first alpha enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream, and a first texture enhancement layer from the first enhancement stream (Hannuksela: [0248] – [0249]), where a scalable video bitstream includes multiple independent layers such as a texture video layer, a depth video layer, and an alpha map video layer and also includes a base layer. The bitstream includes a base layer and one or more enhancement layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tang in view of Hannuksela such that the video stream of Tang, (Tang: [0005]) may comprise multiple independent layers, as disclosed by Hannuksela, (Hannuksela: [0248]). Enhancement layer may refer to enhancing one or more aspects of reference layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]). A portion of the bitstream that remains after removal of all enhancement layers may be referred to as the base layer, (Hannuksela: [0249]). In order to improve coding efficiency for an enhancement layer, the coded representation of that layer may depend on one or more of the lower layers, (Hannuksela: [0249]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Loheide et al., US Pub. 2021/0368221 A1 teach that at content placement opportunities defined by metadata for live input streams, identifying pre-encoded media assets to include can provide for personalized feed associated with the live streams, ([0123]).
Grover, US Pub. 2018/0279005 A1 teaches an advertisement targeter may identify overlay content for a viewer of streaming live media feed based on viewing habits of the viewer, ([0014]).
Publicover et al., US Pub. 2017/0201779 A1 teach improved customization of video content to improve a user’s viewing experience and thereby provide increased revenue opportunities for advertisers and content providers, ([0008]).
Robey, US Pub. 2008/0031600 A1 teaches using metadata to properly display a primary and/or secondary video stream. Per pixel alpha-blending may be employed when generating composite video from a primary and a secondary video, ([0018]).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/CYNTHIA M FOGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421