DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 6-8, 17, and 18, references to “the triangular sheet” is unclear as to which sheet is being referred to. Previously, a plurality of sheets are introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Razzaque et al (US Pub 2014/0343404 -cited by applicant).
Re claims 13, 20: Razzaque discloses an ultrasonic imaging method and device including an ultrasound probe and Tx/Rx circuit to control the probe and capable of transmitting waves to an ovary and receiving echo signals, a memory to store instructions, a processor to execute the instructions, and a display to display the image [0022, 0024, claim 23, fig 1; see the probe 155 guidance unit 130 that includes Tx/Rx control; and see the instructions stored on a readable medium; see display 120] to perform:
obtaining a three-dimensional data to be rendered of a first organ and a second organ of an examined object, wherein the first organ at least partially wraps the second organ [0017, 0024, 0036; see the anatomical features that are imaged including depiction of organs that wrap around and see the ultrasound imaging to obtain 3D data];
detecting a first organ region corresponding to the first organ and a second organ region corresponding to the second organ in the three-dimensional data [0024, 0036; see the depiction of the organs from ultrasound that detects the features];
determining transparency coefficients of different portions of the first organ region according to results of the detection [0048, 0133; see the transparent volume; and see the transparency levels determined for different features and for different portions of features];
rendering the three-dimensional data according to the determined transparency coefficients to obtain a rendered image of the first organ region and the second organ region, wherein, in the rendered image, different portions of the first organ region are represented with different transparency [0134; see the transparency levels used to render a displayed image].
Re claim 14: The method includes determining anterior portions of the first organ region from a user's perspective according to the results of the detection, wherein determining the coefficients comprises: determining the transparency coefficients of the anterior portions and other portions of the first organ region, respectively; and in the rendered image, the anterior portions of the first organ region are represented with a variety of different transparency, and the other portions are represented with a same transparency or opacity [0048, 0133; see the transparent volume; and see the transparency levels determined for different features and for different portions of features, which includes anterior portions from a user’s perspective; fig 2; see the perspective views of the rendering].
Re claim 15: The method includes determining target portions to be rendered in the first organ region; wherein determining the transparency coefficients of different portions of the first organ region comprises: determining the transparency coefficients of the target portions and the other portions of the first organ region, respectively; and in the rendered image, the target portions of the first organ region are represented with a variety of different transparency, and the other portions are represented with a same transparency or opacity [0048, 0054, 0133; see the transparent volume that includes a target to which a device is guided toward; and see the transparency levels determined for different features and for different portions of features, which includes anterior portions from a user’s perspective].
Re claim 16: The method includes determining colors for rendering the first organ region and the second organ region; and rendering the three-dimensional data according to the determined colors [0133; see the transparency levels that result in different displayed colors]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzaque et al (US Pub 2014/0343404 -cited by applicant) in view of Subbarao et al (US Pub 2019/0307417 -cited by applicant).
Re claims 1, 19: Razzaque discloses an ultrasonic imaging method and device including an ultrasound probe and Tx/Rx circuit to control the probe and capable of transmitting waves to an ovary and receiving echo signals, a memory to store instructions, a processor to execute the instructions, and a display to display the image [0022, 0024, claim 23, fig 1; see the probe 155 guidance unit 130 that includes Tx/Rx control; and see the instructions stored on a readable medium; see display 120] to perform:
obtaining a three-dimensional data to be rendered of a first organ and a second organ of an examined object, wherein the first organ at least partially wraps the second organ [0017, 0024, 0036; see the anatomical features that are imaged including depiction of organs that wrap around and see the ultrasound imaging to obtain 3D data];
detecting a first organ region corresponding to the first organ and a second organ region corresponding to the second organ in the three-dimensional data [0024, 0036; see the depiction of the organs from ultrasound that detects the features];
determining transparency coefficients of different portions of the first organ region according to results of the detection [0048, 0133; see the transparent volume; and see the transparency levels determined for different features and for different portions of features];
rendering the three-dimensional data according to the determined transparency coefficients to obtain a rendered image of the first organ region and the second organ region, wherein, in the rendered image, different portions of the first organ region are represented with different transparency [0134; see the transparency levels used to render a displayed image].
Razzaque discloses all features except that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Re claim 2: Razzaque discloses determining anterior portions of the first organ region from a user's perspective according to the results of the detection, wherein determining the coefficients comprises: determining the transparency coefficients of the anterior portions and other portions of the first organ region, respectively; and in the rendered image, the anterior portions of the first organ region are represented with a variety of different transparency, and the other portions are represented with a same transparency or opacity [0048, 0133; see the transparent volume; and see the transparency levels determined for different features and for different portions of features, which includes anterior portions from a user’s perspective; fig 2; see the perspective views of the rendering].
Razzaque discloses all features except that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Re claim 3: Razzaque discloses determining target portions to be rendered in the first organ region; wherein determining the transparency coefficients of different portions of the first organ region comprises: determining the transparency coefficients of the target portions and the other portions of the first organ region, respectively; and in the rendered image, the target portions of the first organ region are represented with a variety of different transparency, and the other portions are represented with a same transparency or opacity [0048, 0054, 0133; see the transparent volume that includes a target to which a device is guided toward; and see the transparency levels determined for different features and for different portions of features, which includes anterior portions from a user’s perspective].
Razzaque discloses all features except that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Re claim 4: Razzaque discloses determining colors for rendering the first organ region and the second organ region; and rendering the three-dimensional data according to the determined colors [0133; see the transparency levels that result in different displayed colors].
Razzaque discloses all features except that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Re claim 5: Razzaque discloses determining a target region that obscures one or more other regions under a user's perspective from the multiple regions according to results of the detection; and determining transparency coefficients of different portions of the target region; wherein, in the rendered image, the different portions of the target region are represented with different transparency [0048, 0054, 0133; see the transparent volume that includes a target that obscures another region behind it; and see the transparency levels determined for different features and for different portions of features].
Razzaque discloses all features except that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Re claims 9, 10: Razzaque discloses rendering the three-dimensional data comprises rendering the three-dimensional data with a volume rendering method, and determining the transparency coefficients of different portions of the region according to results of the detection comprises: determining a contour of the region according to the results of the detection; obtaining gray values of at least a part of pixels within the contour of the region from the three-dimensional data; and determining transparency coefficients of at least a part of pixels within the contour of the region corresponding to the volume rendering method and according to a preset mapping relationship between gray values and transparency coefficients [0048, 0133; see the transparent volume and the contour of the region to be rendering into 3D data based on transparency levels wherein the transparency levels correspond to gray levels of the displayed pixels].
Razzaque discloses all features except that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Re claim 11: Razzaque discloses detecting the regions in the three-dimensional data at least with an object detection method [0024, 0036; see the depiction of the organs from ultrasound that detects the features in a detection method].
Razzaque discloses all features except that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Re claim 12: Razzaque discloses 3D ultrasound imaging but does not disclose that the organs are an ovary and multiple follicles wrapped in the ovary. However, Subbarao teaches a method of ultrasound imaging wherein the ovary and follicles are identified in a 3D ultrasound image [0047, 0049; see the 3D imaging of the ovary and follicles]. The examiner takes Official Notice that four-dimensional imaging is well known and is merely a 3D image with a time component. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to detect an ovary and follicles as taught by Subbarao, as such is well known specific anatomy imaged via ultrasound and would facilitate the corresponding procedure.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzaque et al (US Pub 2014/0343404 -cited by applicant) in view of Subbarao et al (US Pub 2019/0307417 -cited by applicant) and Keranen (US Pub 2007/0139408 -cited by applicant)
Re claims 6, 8: Razzaque/Subbarao disclose all features except for obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating a normal vector of the triangular sheet according to the vertex coordinates of three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating an angle between the normal vector of the triangular sheet and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to a size of the angle. However, Keranen teaches of a method for rendering surfaces of a 3D object including obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating a normal vector of the triangular sheet according to the vertex coordinates of three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating an angle between the normal vector of the triangular sheet and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to a size of the angle [0032, 0035; see the determination of a vertex and its coordinates, the calculation of the normal vector, the triangular sheets formed from the xyz coordinates, and see the angle from the normal that is equivalent to the angle between the view vector and the normal]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque/Subbarao, to determine coefficients as taught by Keranen, in order to improve the calculation of the 3D rendered data, thereby making detection more accurate.
Re claim 7: Razzaque/Subbarao disclose all features except obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region and a coordinate of center of gravity of the ovary region from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating direction vectors between three vertices of the triangular sheet and the center of gravity of the mesh model according to the vertex coordinates of the three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating angles between the direction vectors and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to sizes of the angles. However, Keranen teaches of a method for rendering surfaces of a 3D object including obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region and coordinate of center of gravity from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating a normal vector of the triangular sheet according to the vertex coordinates of three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating an angle between the normal vector of the triangular sheet and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to a size of the angle [0032, 0035; see the determination of a vertex and its coordinates, the calculation of the normal vector, the triangular sheets formed from the xyz coordinates which corresponds to a center of gravity, and see the angle from the normal that is equivalent to the angle between the view vector and the normal]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque/Subbarao, to determine coefficients as taught by Keranen, in order to improve the calculation of the 3D rendered data, thereby making detection more accurate.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razzaque et al (US Pub 2014/0343404 -cited by applicant) in view of Keranen (US Pub 2007/0139408 -cited by applicant).
Re claim 17: Razzaque disclose all features except for obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating a normal vector of the triangular sheet according to the vertex coordinates of three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating an angle between the normal vector of the triangular sheet and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to a size of the angle. However, Keranen teaches of a method for rendering surfaces of a 3D object including obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating a normal vector of the triangular sheet according to the vertex coordinates of three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating an angle between the normal vector of the triangular sheet and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to a size of the angle [0032, 0035; see the determination of a vertex and its coordinates, the calculation of the normal vector, the triangular sheets formed from the xyz coordinates, and see the angle from the normal that is equivalent to the angle between the view vector and the normal]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to determine coefficients as taught by Keranen, in order to improve the calculation of the 3D rendered data, thereby making detection more accurate.
Re claim 18: Razzaque disclose all features except obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region and a coordinate of center of gravity of the ovary region from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating direction vectors between three vertices of the triangular sheet and the center of gravity of the mesh model according to the vertex coordinates of the three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating angles between the direction vectors and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to sizes of the angles. However, Keranen teaches of a method for rendering surfaces of a 3D object including obtaining vertex coordinates of a mesh model of the ovary region and coordinate of center of gravity from the three-dimensional data according to the results of the detection, wherein the vertex coordinates are used to form a plurality of triangular sheets for constructing the mesh model of the ovary region; and for at least a part of the plurality of triangular sheets, performing following steps: calculating a normal vector of the triangular sheet according to the vertex coordinates of three vertices of the triangular sheet; calculating an angle between the normal vector of the triangular sheet and a preset reference direction; and determining a transparency coefficient of the triangular sheet according to a size of the angle [0032, 0035; see the determination of a vertex and its coordinates, the calculation of the normal vector, the triangular sheets formed from the xyz coordinates which corresponds to a center of gravity, and see the angle from the normal that is equivalent to the angle between the view vector and the normal]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razzaque, to determine coefficients as taught by Keranen, in order to improve the calculation of the 3D rendered data, thereby making detection more accurate.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797