DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al (hereinafter Wu) US 12101529.
Referring to claim 1, Wu discloses a computer-implemented method for generating integrated video streams for live events, the method comprising:
prior to a live event, generating a plurality of enhancement streams based on a plurality of enhancement video inputs (see Fig. 1a, Col. 1, Line 50 – Col. 3, Line 24, and Col. 5, Lines 29-42 for disclosing multiple secondary content/enhancement streams are generated and placed in a repository prior to the streaming of a live event into which they will be integrated);
during the live event, generating a video stream based on a live video feed associated with the live event (see Figs. 1a-1b, Col. 1, Line 50 – Col. 3, Line 24, and Col. 3, Line 66 – Col. 4, Line 27 for disclosing during the live event a live video stream based on a live video feed of the live event is distributed);
during the live event, generating a plurality of integrated video streams based on the plurality of enhancement streams and the video stream (see Figs. 1a-1b and Col. 1, Line 50 – Col. 3, Line 24, and Col. 3, Line 66 – Col. 4, Line 27 for disclosing during the live event, a plurality of integrated video streams (i.e., each of the enhancement streams/supplement content overlays, which include videos, are overlaid/integrated onto the video stream of the live event);
during the live event, transmitting a first integrated video stream included in the plurality of integrated video streams to a first endpoint device for decoding and playback and during the live event, transmitting a second integrated video stream included in the plurality of integrated video streams to a second endpoint device for decoding and playback (see Figs. 1a-1b and 2, Col. 1, Line 50 – Col. 3, Line 24, and Col. 3, Line 66 – Col. 4, Line 27 for disclosing during the live event, live streams of the integrated video streams are transmitted to client devices/endpoint devices for decoding and playback, wherein Col. 5, Lines 29-42 further discloses that the secondary content/enhancement streams can differ from client to client based on client preferences, thereby causing a first client’s integrated video stream to be different from a second client’s integrated video stream).
Referring to claim 2, Wu discloses generating the plurality of enhancement streams comprises performing one or more encoding operations on a first enhancement video input included in the plurality of enhancement video inputs and a blending input to generate a first enhancement stream (see Figs. 1a-1b and Col. 1, Line 50 – Col. 2, Line 2, Col. 2, Line 23 – Col. 3, Line 24, Col. 4, Lines 28-39, Col. 5, Lines 1-20 and Col. 5, Lines 54-59 for disclosing a particular secondary content/enhancement stream video of the plurality of secondary contents is encoded and a blending input to generate the secondary content overlays).
Referring to claim 3, Wu discloses generating the video stream comprises performing one or more encoding operations on the live video feed to generate a base layer (see Col. 4, Lines 28-39 for disclosing the video feed of the live event is encoded to generate a base layer).
Referring to claim 8, Wu discloses generating the plurality of integrated video streams comprises generating a first custom video feed based on the video stream and a first enhancement stream included in the plurality of enhancement streams and performing one or more encoding operations on the first custom video feed to generate the first integrated video stream as seen in the rejection of claims 1-3, wherein the custom video feed can be interpreted as the integrated video stream including secondary content that meets the preferences of the user of a particular client device.
Referring to claim 9, Wu discloses the video stream and the plurality of enhancement video streams are associated with a first video coding specification and the plurality of integrated video streams is associated with a second video coding specification (see Col. 1, Line 50 – Col. 2, Line 2, Col. 3, Lines 9-24, Col. 4, Lines 28-39, Col. 5, Lines 43-53, and Col. 8, Line 45 – 51 for disclosing the varying video coding specifications between enhancement video streams/secondary content and integrated video streams including the video stream).
Referring to claim 10, Wu discloses each enhancement video input included in the plurality of enhancement video inputs includes different advertising content (see Col. 1, Line 50 – Col. 2, Line 2 for disclosing the enhancement video input includes advertising).
Referring to claim 11, Wu discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable media including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to generate integrated video streams for live events (see Col. 4, Lines 53-67) by performing the steps as seen in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Referring to claim 20, Wu discloses a system comprising one or more memories storing instructions and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (see Col. 11, Lines 1-32) that, when executing the instructions, perform the steps as see in the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tang US 2016010568 for disclosing a live stream converter that can overlay, replace, combine, or insert an advertisement audio, text, image, or video into the web accessible video stream produced from real-time video data of a TV channel; and
Kedenburg III EP 3324636 A1 for disclosing enhancing a live video stream with embedded overlays.
/NICHOLAS T CORBO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424
06/23/2026