DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 11/20/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are amended. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 11/20/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Hong”, US 2011/0153646) in view of Moore et al. (“Moore”, US 7,769,794) in view of Selfors (US 2021/0266641) and further in view of Tam et al. (“Tam”, US 2015/0149329).
As per claim 1, Hong teaches a method comprising:
generating a plurality of dynamic facets indicating content attributes associated with a plurality of content items of a content collection stored for a user account of a content management system (Hong, para.19-20, feed items include items from content management systems), the plurality of dynamic facets being selectable to arrange the plurality of content items into respective subgroupings (Hong, para.20, 22-23, 25, 36, info extracted as user selectable facets to filter items);
based on receiving an indication of a user interaction selecting a dynamic facet from the plurality of dynamic facets, generating a plurality of content items within a smart organization interface for display by a client device (Hong, Fig.4, interface 402 displaying content item in list 404; para.25, 35, 39, 41, selection of a facet updates content items) by:
determining, from among the plurality of content items, content items relevant to the dynamic facet (Hong, para.25, 28, 35, 39, 44, feed determined based on selected facet); and
generating a content item (Hong, para.25, 28, 35, 39, 44, feed displayed with content item); and
providing, for display within the smart organization interface, the content item relevant to the dynamic facet (Hong, para.25, 28, 35, 39, 44, subset of items displayed in feed).
Although, Hong teaches generating facet set represented by cards indicating how many content items belong to the facet set (Hong, para.37, Fig.4, number adjacent to icon 414a-b), Hong does not teach based on receiving a user interaction selecting a dynamic facet from the plurality of dynamic facets, generating a plurality of content sets represented by content item cards, determining, from among the plurality of content sets, a content set comprising content item relevant to the dynamic facet; and generating a content item card for the content set, the content item card indicating how many content items belong to the content set; providing, for display, the content item card together with content item cards of additional content sets of the plurality of content sets relevant to the dynamic facet. Moore teaches a method of organizing files wherein based on receiving a user interaction selecting a dynamic facet (Moore, col.26, lines 35-49, Fig.10, all categories quick link 610; col.27, line 35 - col.28, line 24; Fig.13, Stack by Author), generating a plurality of content sets represented by content item cards (Moore, col.27, line 35 - col.28, line 24; Fig.10, 14, sets 651-655, 791-792), determining, from among the plurality of content sets, a content set comprising content item relevant to the dynamic facet (Moore, col.27, line 35 - col.28, line 24; Fig.10, sets 651-655 relevant to categories; Fig.14, sets 791-792 relevant to Author); and generating a content item card for the content set, the content item card indicating how many content items belong to the content set (Moore, col.27, line 35 - col.28, line 24; Figs.10-14, number on top of stack sets 651-655, 791-792 indicate how many items in each stack set); providing, for display, the content item card together with content item cards of additional content sets of the plurality of content sets relevant to the dynamic facet (Moore, col.27, line 35 - col.28, line 24; Figs.10-14, stack sets 651-655, 791-792). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Moore‘s teaching with Hong’s method in order to display more content in an organized manner.
Furthermore, the method of Hong and Moore does not teach generating a content item segment card, wherein the content item segments comprise portions of content items; and generating a content item segment card for the content. Selfors teaches a method for generating video segments by searching including generating a content item segment card (Selfors, para.114, 128, Fig.28, thumbnail 303), wherein the content item segments comprise portions of content items (Selfors, para.114, 128, segments 802 relevant to selected facets 2740) and generating a content item segment card for the content (Selfors, para.114, 128, Fig.28, thumbnail 303, segment includes start/end time points, search hit count next to search results). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Selfors‘ teaching with the method of Hong and Moore in order to search for relevant data in multimedia files.
Additionally, the method of Hong, Moore and Selfors does not teach segment cards that are moveable and moving, in response to receiving an additional user interaction indicating to move the content item segment card, the content item segment card within the smart organization interface from the content collection to an additional content collection. Tam teaches a method of displaying collections of apps that are moveable and moving, in response to receiving user interaction indicating to move the content item from the content collection to an additional content collection (Tam, Fig.11A-B, para.90, 104, content moved from aggregated collection to custom collection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Tam‘s teaching with the method of Hong, Moore and Selfors in order to access create customized collections.
As per claim 2, the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising causing the client device to display, within the smart organization interface, the content item cards as visualizations of digital content within corresponding content items stored in respective network locations by generating the content item cards to include images of respective content item segments relevant to the dynamic facet (Hong, Fig.4, interface 402 displaying content item images in list 404, para.25, 28, 35, 39, 41, 44; Selfors, para.114, 128, Fig.28, thumbnail images 303).
As per claim 3, the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam teaches the method of claim 2, wherein generating the plurality of content sets further comprises:
providing, for display within the smart organization interface, one or more filter options (Hong, Fig.4, para.25, 28, 35, 39, 41, 44, selection of a facet filters 406, 408, 410, 412 updates content item feed 404, Moore, Fig.10-13, filter options 610-613, 620-626); and
grouping the content item segments relevant to the dynamic facet according to a filtering category corresponding to a filter option of the one or more filter options (Moore, col.26, lines 35-49, Fig.10, all categories quick link 610; col.27, line 35 - col.28, line 24; Fig.13, Stack by Author; col.27, line 35 - col.28, line 24; Fig.10, sets 651-655 relevant to categories; Fig.14, sets 791-792 relevant to Author).
As per claim 5, the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the plurality of content sets further comprising determining relationships between the content items and a filtering category (Hong, para.20, facets extracted from content items; Moore, col.30, lines 12-25, filter terms based on properties of content).
As per claim 7, the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the client device, an indication of user interaction selecting the content item segment card within the smart organization interface (Moore, Fig.11, col.27, line 45-60; Hong, para.23, link; Selfors, para.70, selection of thumbnail); and in response to the user interaction selecting the content item segment card, providing details of the content item segments of the content set for display in the smart organization interface (Moore, Fig.11, col.27, line 45-60; Hong, para.23, link to content; Selfors, para.70, launch video).
Claims 8 and 15 are similar in scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 9 and 16 are similar in scope to claim 2, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 10 and 17 are similar in scope to claim 3, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 12 and 19 are similar in scope to claim 5, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Hong”, US 2011/0153646), Moore et al. (“Moore”, US 7,769,794), Selfors (US 2021/0266641) and Tam et al. (“Tam”, US 2015/0149329) in view of Carlen et al. (“Carlen”, US 8,943,395).
As per claim 4, the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising providing the content item segment card for display within the smart organization interface by causing the client device to display a visualization of digital content within the content item segment (Hong, Fig.4, interface 402 displaying content item in list 404, para.25, 28, 35, 39, 41, 44; Selfors, para.114, 128, Fig.28, thumbnail 303, segment includes start/end time points).
However, the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam does not teach to display a visualization of digital content together with a visualization of other content item information comprising an indication of a number of interactions with the dynamic facet. Carlen teaches a method of searching documents including a visualization of digital content together with a visualization of other content item information comprising an indication of a number of interactions with the dynamic facet (Carlen, Fig.6, rank indicator 622; col.2, lines 38-45; col.5, line 59-col.6, line 26, number of hits). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Carlen‘s teaching with the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam in order to rank content that are most relevant.
Claims 11 and 18 are similar in scope to claim 4, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (“Hong”, US 2011/0153646), Moore et al. (“Moore”, US 7,769,794), Selfors (US 2021/0266641) and Tam et al. (“Tam”, US 2015/0149329) in view of Kong et al. (“Kong”, US 2020/0349179).
As per claim 6, the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam teaches the method of claim 5, however does not teach wherein determining the relationships between the content items and the filtering category comprises: generating, utilizing a content embedding machine learning model, category-specific embeddings for the content items: and generating embedding clusters for the content items within an embedding space of the content embedding machine learning model. Kong teaches a method of searching documents wherein determining the relationships between the content items and the filtering category comprises: generating, utilizing a content embedding machine learning model, category-specific embeddings for the content items: and generating embedding clusters for the content items within an embedding space of the content embedding machine learning model (Kong, para.34-37, 42, embedding models to predict similarities). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Kong‘s teaching with the method of Hong, Moore, Selfors and Tam in order to filter content to relevant categories.
Claims 13 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 6, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174