DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Upon entry of the amendment filed on 30 September 2025, Claim(s) 1 is/are amended. The currently pending claims are Claims 1-5.
With respect to the provisional ODP rejection, Applicants state that the rejection be held in abeyance. It is noted that the provisional ODP is maintained until such time Applicants submit a timely filed terminal disclaimer.
Based on applicants’ remarks and amendments (e.g. the specific additive), the 112 rejections are withdrawn. However, they are not found persuasive regarding the 103 rejections and the rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12320016. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the selection of the claimed components would have been well within the purview of a skilled artisan since the US patent discloses similar method steps to achieve similar carbon nanotubes. It is noted that the structural variables are expected since the US patent discloses the same starting materials and a similar synthetic route.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Licht (US-20200032404-A1, cited in the IDS).
Claims 1-4: Licht discloses a process of making various carbon nanomaterials such as carbon nanotubes by heating a molten carbonate salt electrolyte in an electrochemical cell with a nickel anode and a cathode, introducing CO2 as a carbon feedstock, applying a current and collecting the carbon allotrope at the anode (abs, Figs 1, 2 and 8 with accompanying text, ¶9-16, 39-51 and examples). Further, Licht discloses (a) various types of anode and cathode components such as the pure nickel, copper, iridium, composites and/or alloys of the metals at different loading levels and (b) the selection and optimization of the experimental variables (e.g. types and amounts of electrolytes, temperatures, current density, types of anodes and cathodes) to achieve the desired shapes (e.g. nanotubes), diameters and lengths (e.g. 1-100 microns ). See at least Figs 1-4, 8 with accompanying text, ¶9-16, 24, 39-51, 53-57, 68, examples and claims 11-14, 22, 23 and 25.
The Licht reference discloses the claimed invention with the feature of various anodes, cathodes, electrolytes and structural parameters but does not disclose the method with the claimed elements and ranges with enough specificity to anticipate the claimed invention. Nevertheless, given that the Licht reference discloses each of the claimed elements and similar ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught components and optimize the experimental variables since the Licht reference teaches each one and is motivated to optimize the experimental to achieve the desired amounts, sizes and shapes (see at least Fig 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor - see MPEP 2143. Here, the Licht reference discloses each of the claimed components with similar loading ranges and is motivated to select and optimize the components to obtain carbon nanomaterials with the desired allotrope and structural features and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and/or optimization of the claimed components would be repugnant to a skilled artisan. It is noted that the percentage level is met since Licht discloses collecting specific carbon allotropes.
Claim 5: Licht discloses various current densities such as 0.1 A/cm2 (¶65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 4, filed 30 September 2025, with respect to the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 30 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asks that the rejection be held in abeyance (pg. 3 and 4).
It is noted that the provisional ODP is maintained until such time Applicants submit a timely filed terminal disclaimer.
Applicant argues that Licht does not provide guidance nor would it be obvious to arrive at the loading amount of 0.05-2 wt. % of the additive via a process optimization (pg. 6 and 7).
The examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Licht discloses (a) various types of anode and cathode components such as the pure nickel, copper, iridium, composites and/or alloys of the metals at different loading levels and (b) the selection and optimization of the experimental variables (e.g. types and amounts of electrolytes, temperatures, current density, types of anodes and cathodes) to achieve the desired shapes (e.g. nanotubes), diameters and lengths (e.g. 1-100 microns ). See at least Figs 1-4, 8 with accompanying text, ¶9-16, 24, 39-51, 53-57, 68, examples and claims 11-14, 22, 23 and 25. In particular, Licht discloses various loading amounts with specific embodiments at 0.05 and 1 wt. % (¶39-46 and examples). Given that the Licht reference discloses each of the claimed elements and similar ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the chemical art at the time of the invention to utilize any of the taught components and optimize the experimental variables since the Licht reference teaches each one and is motivated to optimize the experimental to achieve the desired amounts, sizes and shapes (see at least Fig 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since the reference is directed to a similar field of endeavor - see MPEP 2143. Here, the Licht reference discloses each of the claimed components with similar loading ranges and is motivated to select and optimize the components to obtain carbon nanomaterials with the desired allotrope and structural features and there is no evidence nor teaching that the selection and/or optimization of the claimed components would be repugnant to a skilled artisan.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764