Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claims 5-9) in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4 and 10-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
It is noted that Claim 3 is indicated as cancelled and withdrawn in the response dated 01/12/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In the response dated 01/12/2026, Applicant points to ¶00112, ¶00114, ¶00115 and ¶00133-¶00136 to indicate support for the amendments and newly added claims. There was no mention in the indicated areas of the specification of either a fluid manifold located between the inner and outer walls or a diffusion region. A search of the remainder of the specification did not yield any further descriptions to support the subject matter of Claims 32 and 35. The only mention of between the inner and outer walls is in a discussion referring to the fluid channels (See ¶0005 or ¶0030 for example). The term “diffusion” or similar was not found in the specification.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “at least one feature integral or interconnected on or within the structure of the body”. Claim 5 has been amended to remove the limitations regarding integrally formed or interconnected in relation to the “at least one feature”, resulting in the recitation in Claim 9 lacking antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5, 8-9 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gradl (US20190329355A1).
Claim 5
Gradl teaches a hybrid additive manufacturing method for forming a clad combustion chamber (¶0030 teaches various additive manufacturing techniques for forming portions of the thrust chamber assembly (TCA).) comprising: forming an integral regeneratively cooled body (Figures 1-3 teach a TCA (10) that has integral cooling channels (28, 38).) of a first material (¶0031 teaches the main combustion chamber (MCC) (20) is made from a material.) from a first manufacturing process (¶0032 teaches the MCC is made via powder bed fusion.), having an inner wall defining an open-ended combustion chamber volume (Figure 1, between 22 and 24), an outer wall having at least one inlet and at least one outlet disposed at different positions along a dimension thereof (Figure 1 shows two manifolds (40) positioned at locations along the outer wall having different dimensions. The detail views in Figures 2-3 show that these manifolds (40) are where inlet/outlets are located.), and a plurality of cooling channels formed between the inner wall and the outer wall and in fluid communication with the at least one inlet and the at least one outlet (Figures 2-3, Item 28); after forming the body, forming at least one feature (Manifold, 40) of a second material (¶0025 teaches the manifolds (40) are made from stainless steel or INCONEL.), from a second manufacturing process (¶0036 teaches the manifolds are formed using freeform deposition. Freeform deposition is defined by Gradl in ¶0035 as, for example, blown powder deposition. This is different from powder bed fusion.), wherein the at least one feature is in fluid communication with each of the at least one inlet and at least one outlet (Figures 2-3 show the manifold (40) is in fluid communication with the inlet (29) and the channels (28).); after forming the body, forming at least one structural cladding region of a third material extending around a perimeter of the body (Figures 2-3 show the manifolds (40) are formed such that there is a base that is integral with the outer wall of the MCC (20). The first layers of this base are a “structural cladding region”. These layers are made from stainless steel or INCONEL (¶0025). The claim does not require that the second and third materials are different.), wherein the at least one structural cladding region is formed from the second manufacturing process (The first base layers of each manifold are made from the same “second manufacturing process” as the rest of the manifolds, which is a freeform deposition or blown powder deposition process.), and wherein the at least one feature is integral or interconnected on or within the at least one structural cladding region (The manifold body is integral with the base of the manifold.); wherein the at least one inlet, at least one outlet, and the plurality of cooling channels of the body define a single fluid flow path therebetween having at least one termination at an end of the body (Figure 1 shows the manifold (40), where there is a termination outlet/inlet of the cooling channel (28) is located at the top end of the body (20).); wherein the third material of the at least one structural cladding region is metallurgically bonded to and structurally integrated around the perimeter of the body (¶0036 teaches the manifolds (including the bases or claimed “structural cladding region”) are integrally coupled to the outside surface of the TCA. ¶0035 teaches the manifolds “encircle” the TCA.).; wherein the first manufacturing process, and the second manufacturing process are different. (The first process is powder bed fusion, which is different from the freeform deposition technique that Gradl uses the form the manifolds.)
Claim 8
Gradl teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one structural cladding region is formed over at least a portion of the outer wall adjacent to or overlapping the at least one inlet and the at least one outlet. (Based on the interpretation that the “structural cladding” is the base portion of the manifolds (40). The base portion of the manifolds is located on a portion of the outer wall located adjacent to at least one inlet (29) as shown in Figures 2-3.)
Claim 9
Gradl teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one feature integral or interconnected on or within the structure of the body comprises at least one of a flange, a fluid manifold, or a thrust skirt. (The feature in Gradl is a fluid manifold (40).)
Claim 31
Gradl teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first manufacturing process and the second manufacturing process are performed according to a path plan that includes the first manufacturing process and the second manufacturing process. (Figure 4 shows the production method follows a plan.)
Claim 32
Gradl teaches the method of claim 5, the body further having a fluid manifold between the inner wall and the outer wall. (A manifold is interpreted as a chamber branching into openings. Figures 2-3 show a chamber at the inlet (29) that has two openings (above and below) that is located between the inner and outer walls.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gradl (US20190329355A1) in view of Takahashi (US20180281064A1).
Claim 5
Gradl teaches a hybrid additive manufacturing method for forming a clad combustion chamber (¶0030 teaches various additive manufacturing techniques for forming portions of the thrust chamber assembly (TCA).) comprising: forming an integral regeneratively cooled body (Figures 1-3 teach a TCA (10) that has integral cooling channels (28, 38).) of a first material (¶0031 teaches the main combustion chamber (MCC) (20) is made from a material.) from a first manufacturing process (¶0032 teaches the MCC is made via powder bed fusion.), having an inner wall defining an open-ended combustion chamber volume (Figure 1, between 22 and 24), an outer wall having at least one inlet and at least one outlet disposed at different positions along a dimension thereof (Figure 1 shows two manifolds (40) positioned at locations along the outer wall having different dimensions. The detail views in Figures 2-3 show that these manifolds (40) are where inlet/outlets are located.), and a plurality of cooling channels formed between the inner wall and the outer wall and in fluid communication with the at least one inlet and the at least one outlet (Figures 2-3, Item 28); after forming the body, forming at least one feature (Manifold, 40) of a second material (¶0025 teaches the manifolds (40) are made from stainless steel or INCONEL.), from a second manufacturing process (¶0036 teaches the manifolds are formed using freeform deposition. Freeform deposition is defined by Gradl in ¶0035 as, for example, blown powder deposition. This is different from powder bed fusion.), wherein the at least one feature is in fluid communication with each of the at least one inlet and at least one outlet (Figures 2-3 show the manifold (40) is in fluid communication with the inlet (29) and the channels (28).); wherein the at least one inlet, at least one outlet, and the plurality of cooling channels of the body define a single fluid flow path therebetween having at least one termination at an end of the body (Figure 1 shows the manifold (40), where there is a termination outlet/inlet of the cooling channel (28) is located at the top end of the body (20).); wherein the first manufacturing process, and the second manufacturing process are different. (The first process is powder bed fusion, which is different from the freeform deposition technique that Gradl uses the form the manifolds.)
Gradl does not explicitly disclose after forming the body, forming at least one structural cladding region of a third material extending around a perimeter of the body wherein the at least one structural cladding region is formed from the second manufacturing process, and wherein the at least one feature is integral or interconnected on or within the at least one structural cladding region; wherein the third material of the at least one structural cladding region is metallurgically bonded to and structurally integrated around the perimeter of the body.
However, Takahashi teaches after forming the body, forming at least one structural cladding region of a third material (¶0097 teaches the material is INCONEL 625 or 718.) extending around a perimeter of the body wherein the at least one structural cladding region is formed from the second manufacturing process (Figure 18 shows a previously formed combustor (2) that is having a cladding region (50) applied using a freeform deposition technique or blown powder deposition. This cladding region extends around the perimeter of the body.), and wherein the at least one feature is integral or interconnected on or within the at least one structural cladding region (In Gradl, the cladding (70) is applied after the manifolds (which are the “at least one feature”) are integrally connected with the body. Therefore, when substituting the process of Takahashi, the cladding is applied after the “at least one feature” and contacts the manifolds.); wherein the third material of the at least one structural cladding region is metallurgically bonded to and structurally integrated around the perimeter of the body. (¶0061 teaches the LMD process causes a part of the copper outer layer (30) to fuse with the powder of the LMD layer.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known reinforcing layer technique of Takahashi to the combustion chamber manufacturing process of Gradl in order to restrain the transformation of the combustion chamber walls by hoop load or pressure from the cooling medium (Takahashi ¶0062). Takahashi also discusses that the LMD technique allows the transfer of forces between the outer layer and LMD layer to be high (¶0064). Using this reinforcement layer also allows for the thickness of the inner and outer wall of the combustion chamber to be less. (Takahashi ¶0105)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known reinforcing layer technique of Takahashi to the combustion chamber manufacturing process of Gradl because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the outer liner/cladding region in Gradl will be formed using blown powder deposition based on the technique from Takahashi.
Claim 6
Gradl in view of Takahashi teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one structural cladding region differs from the integral regeneratively cooled body and the at least one feature in at least one material property. (Since the structural cladding (50) in Takahashi is made from a different material than the “at least one feature” in Gradl (INCONEL 718 vs stainless steel/Haynes 230), the two regions have different material properties.)
Claim 7
Gradl in view of Takahashi teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the at least one material property comprises at least one of a grain structure, a porosity, a surface finish and a mechanical property. (Since the structural cladding (50) in Takahashi is made from a different material than the “at least one feature” in Gradl (INCONEL 718 vs stainless steel/Haynes 230), the two regions have different mechanical properties.)
Claim 33
Gradl in view of Takahashi teaches the method of claim 5, wherein forming the at least one structural cladding region further comprises depositing two or more layers to achieve a cladding thickness. (Takahashi Figures 21-22 teach the application of multiple layers (50-1 and 50-2) to achieve a thickness. The claim does not specify the required thickness.)
Claim 34
Gradl in view of Takahashi teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the at least one structural cladding region comprises at least one structural property determined by the third material and the second manufacturing process. (Since the structural cladding (50) in Takahashi is made from a third material (INCONEL) and a second process (LMD or Blown Powder Deposition), the resulting cladding has structural properties. The claim does not indicate what the structural property is required to be.)
Claim 35
Gradl in view of Takahashi teaches the method of claim 5, wherein a metallurgical bond between the third material and the perimeter of the body exhibits a diffusion region. (Takahashi, ¶0061 teaches the laser beam fuses powder of the LMD layer (50) with the copper outer layer (30). This area of fusing is an “intermingling of substances”, or a diffusion region.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited Form.
US20200171604A1 – Figure 1A teaches the formation of a LMD layer (5) on the exterior of a combustion chamber wall surface. Figure 3B shows this occurs after the formation of the combustion chamber.
US20230407821A1 – Figure 5 shows a rocket thruster that includes regenerative cooling channels (508) that is formed using additive manufacturing (¶0047, PBF) from a material (¶0051).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726