Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: a period is missing at the end. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lacks a clear preamble to indicate what the method comprises.
Dependent claims rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YOON et al. (US 20210250061 A1).
Re claim 1. YOON discloses (abstract) a method of ranging for receiving a signal in anchors (FIG.2-3),
waiting for a signal from an initiator [0065, 0110, 0111] (FIG.2-3, 8-9),
wherein the signal is transmitted based on a ranging block; [0073-0074];
ranging anchors with the initiator based on the ranging block,
wherein the ranging block is divided into ranging rounds [0073-0076]; and
determining whether or not a signal is received based on the ranging block; [0007, 0073-0076, 0089, 0110-0111] (FIG.4-6,8-9) and
transmitting a response in response to reception of the signal, (i.e. FIG.14 – step S1440)
wherein the ranging block include specific time duration. [0099-0105]
Re claim 2. YOON discloses [0077-0078, 0101-0102] the method of claim 1,
wherein the ranging rounds in the ranging block are established based on timing for ranging exchange between at least one of the anchors and the initiator.
Re claim 3. YOON discloses [0110-0111] the method of claim 1,
wherein a state for at least one of the anchors is determined based on a time grid, and
wherein the state includes a sleep mode and a waiting mode.
Re claim 4. YOON discloses (as for claim 1) a device of ranging for receiving a signal in anchors, comprising:
a processor (FIG.19-20 – processors are inherent for devices processing anchor signals); and
a memory (FIG.19-20 - memories are inherent for devices processing anchor signals) configured to store control data for controlling the processor,
wait for a signal from an initiator, wherein the signal is transmitted based on a ranging block;
range anchors with the initiator based on the ranging block, wherein the ranging block is divided into ranging rounds; and
determine whether or not a signal is received based on the ranging block; and
transmit a response in response to reception of the signal,
wherein the ranging block include specific time duration.
Re claim 5. YOON discloses [0077-0078, 0101-0102] the device of claim 4,
wherein the ranging rounds in the ranging block are established based on timing for ranging exchange between at least one of the anchors and the initiator.
Re claim 6. YOON discloses [0110-0111] the device of claim 4,
wherein a state for at least one of the anchors is determined based on the time grid, and
wherein the state includes a sleep mode and a waiting mode.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 10/30/2023