Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least one line element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“line element” does not have a reference number in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kappich (DE 102017119128 B4) in view of Richter et al. (DE 102008039622 A1) and Schramm et al. (DE 10052105 A1).
Re: claim 1, Kappich teaches an end wall (Fig. 1) for a motor vehicle body, comprising: a lower end wall part (31), an upper end wall part (21), which extends further upward in the vehicle vertical direction than the lower end wall part (See Fig. 1), and a connecting part (20), via which the lower end wall part (31) and the upper end wall part (21) are connected to each other (See Fig. 1), wherein the connecting part (20) protrudes perpendicular from the lower end wall part (31) and the upper end wall part (21) (See Fig. 1), and has first component (18), which is to be arranged in front of the end wall (In front of the lower end wall part (31)) in the vehicle longitudinal direction (See Fig. 1), and a second component (22), which is to be arranged behind the end wall (behind the upper end wall part (21)) in the vehicle longitudinal direction (See Fig. 1). Kappich fails to teach a media feedthrough opening through which at least one line element can be guided for connecting a first component and a second component.
However, Schramm et al. discloses a media feedthrough opening (Fig. 1 – 5) in the connecting part (2) for a first component (4) and a second component (3) to be connected. Schramm fails to teach at least one line element connecting the first and second component.
However, Richter et al. discloses a line element (Fig. 1 - 18) connecting a first (16) and second component (18) through a media feedthrough opening (14).
Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of motor vehicle wall components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Kappich’s apparatus with those of Schramm et al.’s opening in the connecting part and Richter et al.’s line element in order to provide the advantage of a system that is able to communicate with components in other areas of the vehicle and more secure system (i.e. communicating with the engine compartment and the passenger compartment without compromising the infrastructure of the end wall).
Re: claim 2, the combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. teach claim 1. The combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. does not expressly disclose wherein: an axial direction of the media feedthrough opening extends parallel to the vehicle vertical direction or at an angle which is less than 45 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. as in claim 1 to have an axial direction of the media feedthrough opening extends parallel to the vehicle vertical direction or at an angle which is less than 45 degrees since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. as in claim 1 would not operate differently with the claimed angle and since Kappich discloses the connecting part is a “horizontally extending partition” the device would function appropriately having the claimed angle. Further, applicant places no criticality on the angle claimed.
Re: claim 3, the combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. teach claim 1. Kappich further discloses wherein: the connecting part (Fig. 1 – 20) protrudes from the upper end wall part (21) to the rear in the vehicle longitudinal direction (See Fig. 1) and protrudes from the lower end wall part (31) to the front in the vehicle longitudinal direction (See Fig. 1).
Re: claim 4, the combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. teach claim 1. Richter et al. further discloses wherein: the line element (Fig. 1 – 18) for connecting a thermal management module, as the first component (16 – “air-conditioning unit”), and an interior air conditioning device, as the second component (20 – “climate control unit”), can be guided through the media feedthrough opening (14).
Re: claim 5, the combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. teach claim 1. Kappich further teaches wherein: the connecting part (Fig. 1 – 20) has a first support region (Annotated Fig. 1 – lower face) which faces downward in the vehicle vertical direction and via which the first component (18) can be supported on the end wall, and a second support region (Annotated Fig. 1 – upper face) which faces upward in the vehicle vertical direction and via which the second component (22) can be supported on the end wall.
Re: claim 6, the combination of Kappich, Schramm et al., and Richter et al. teach claim 1. Kappich teaches a motor vehicle (Fig. 1). Schramm et al. also teaches a motor vehicle (Fig. 1 – 10). Richter et al. also teaches a motor vehicle (“The present invention relates to an arrangement in a motor vehicle with a vehicle end wall” – Description Line 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re: claim 7, the cited prior art whether in full or in combination fails to teach or reasonably suggest at the very least the steps of fastening a first module having at least one first component to the floor assembly in a first joining direction running upward in the vehicle vertical direction, fastening a second module having at least one second component to the floor assembly in a second joining direction running downward in the vehicle vertical direction, wherein at least the second component is arranged on a side of the end wall facing rearward in the vehicle longitudinal direction. Modification of the prior art to meet this limitation would require substantial reconstruction, thus is determined to be allowable. Claims 8-11 depend on claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2022268386A1 and FR2991635A1 disclose vehicle end walls with media openings for receiving components.
/PHILIP C ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612