DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C 103
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However upon further consideration new grounds of rejection are made in view of Umbehocker (U.S Pub # 20110246734).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11481393. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following.
Instant Application
Patent 11481393
Claim 1.
A computer-implemented method comprising:
executing, by a processor, a query on an original database, thereby obtaining a query result;
tracking, by the processor, all query records that are touched while the query is executed;
tracking, by the processor, one or more records that are linked to the query records;
producing, by the processor, a stand-alone subset database consisting of the query records and the one or more records that are linked to the query records;
wherein:
the original database is stored in a storage device;
the original device has a structure and a schema;
the stand-alone subset database has a schema that is identical to the schema of the original database: and
the stand-alone subset database has fewer records than the original database.
Claim 2.
wherein when tracking the query records and the one or more records that are linked to the query records, the method further comprises:
creating, by the processor, a listener object;
registering, by the processor, the listener object with a record fetcher;
recording, by the processor, a record handle of each tracked record by the listener object; and
storing, by the processor, the record handles in a collection.
Claim 3.
wherein the original database is a relational database.
Claim 1.
A computing system comprising:
Execute a query on the database, thereby obtaining a query result;
Track: all query records that are touched while the query is executed; and
One or more records that are linked to the query records;
Produce a stand-alone subset database consisting of the query records and the one or more records that are linked to the query records;
Wherein:
The stand-alone subset database has a schema that is identical to the schema of the original database;
The stand-alone subset database has fewer records than the database;
Claim 2.
Wherein when tracking the query records and the one or more records that are linked to the query records, the processor executes the processor-executable program code in order to cause the computing system to:
Create a listener object;
Register the listener object with a record fetcher;
Record a record handle of each tracked record by the listener object; and
Store the record handles in a collection.
Claim 5.
Wherein the original database is a relational databse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Rotterdam (U.S Pat # 8965899) in view of Ganti (U.S Pub # 20140280287) and in further view of Umbehocker (U.S Pub # 20110246734).
With regards to claim 1, Van Rotterdam discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
executing, by a processor, a query on an original database, thereby obtaining a query result ([Col. 1-2 lines 61-09] database query);
wherein:
the original database is stored in a storage device ([Col. 2 lines 49-61] database);
the original device has a structure and a schema ([Col. 2 lines 49-61] database structure storing different data categories);
the stand-alone subset database has fewer records than the original database ([Col. 1-2 lines 61-09] partial index).
Van Rotterdam does not disclose however Ganti discloses:
the stand-alone subset database has a schema that is identical to the schema of the original database ([0109] generate sample database 104 (e.g., a subset of the original database 102) having an identical schema); and
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Van Rotterdam by Ganti to generate a subset database that the same schema as the original database.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to generate a sample database that may store less data than those in the original database but exhibit the same structural schema, tables and views with the same number of columns and identical column names and column definitions (Ganti [0052]).
Umbehocker discloses:
tracking, by the processor, all query records that are touched while the query is executed ([0058] associated with the query – of storage blocks determined to have been touched);
tracking, by the processor, one or more records that are linked to the query records ([0058] determine which storage blocks have been touched, changed, and/or written to); and
producing, by the processor, a stand-alone subset database consisting of the query records and the one or more records that are linked to the query records ([0061] As such, the storage related entity can request a transfer, e.g., during a backup procedure, a replication procedure of storage blocks determined to have been touched, changed, and or written to before such procedure was initiated).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Van Rotterdam and Ganti by Umbehocker to track and isolate data touched by a query.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to remotely compute a signature of data of each storage element of the storage device utilizing one or more algorithms, and copying the data of the storage element to the remote storage device if the signature of the data has changed (Umbehocker [0003]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Rotterdam (U.S Pat # 8965899) in view of Ganti (U.S Pub # 20140280287) and in further view of Umbehocker (U.S Pub # 20110246734) and Peloski (U.S Pub # 20170262495).
With regards to claim 2, Van Rotterdam further discloses:
storing, by the processor, the record handles in a collection ([Col. 1-2 lines 61-09] progressively builds indexes as one or more ad-hoc queries "touch" the data).
Van Rotterdam does not disclose however Peloski discloses:
creating, by the processor, a listener object ([0037] creates a listener);
registering, by the processor, the listener object with a record fetcher ([0037] setup listeners to each virtual table so that when a data changes happens);
recording, by the processor, a record handle of each tracked record by the listener object ([0037] listener gathers and monitors only data necessary to satisfy the active query).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Van Rotterdam, Ganti and Umbehocker by Peloski to track data changes through listeners.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to invoke triggers automatically after a change is made to the data in tables (Peloski [0007]).
With regards to claim 3, Van Rotterdam does not disclose however Peloski discloses:
wherein the original database is a relational database ([0037] relational database).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Van Rotterdam, Ganti and Umbehocker by Peloski to track data changes through listeners.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to invoke triggers automatically after a change is made to the data in tables (Peloski [0007]).
Conclusion
/TONY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166