DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/2/26 and 5/5/26 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “wherein at least some of the (i) the first physiological data, (ii) the second physiological data, or (iii) both the first physiological data and the second physiological data” should recite --wherein at least (i) the first physiological data, (ii) the second physiological data, or (iii) both the first physiological data and the second physiological data-- for clarity purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a mobile device in claim 1.
For “a mobile device” in claim 1, the specification discloses “the mobile device 170 can be, for example, a mobile device such as a smart phone, a tablet, a gaming console, a smart watch, a laptop, or the like” (¶100). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the mobile device to be a smart phone, a tablet, a gaming console, a smart watch, a laptop, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 43-44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 43-44 and 46 seem unclear. MPEP 2173.05(p): A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). It is unclear "whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the user [to use the input means], or whether infringement occurs when the user actually uses the input means."). Claims 43 and 44 recite both a system and a method. Claim 46 recites both a non-transitory computer readable medium and a method.
In claim 44, the limitation of “an untreated sleep disorder” seems unclear. Claim 43 depends from claim 1 which recites “an untreated sleep disorder” in lines 1-2. It remains unclear how the limitation in claim 44 is different than the limitation in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner is interpreted “an untreated sleep disorder” to be the same as the untreated sleep disorder in claim 1.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites “receiving positional data associated with the user” and claim 26 which depends from claim 1 recites “wherein the sensor data includes positional data associated with the user.” Therefore, claim 26 does not further narrow claim 1 which it depends from. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12, 16-20, 22-31, 43-44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea.
Step 1
The claimed invention in claims 1-12, 16-20, 22-31, 43-44, and 46 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a method, a system, and a non-transitory computer readable medium for determining a percentage likelihood that a user has an untreated sleep disorder.
Step 2A, Prong One
Regarding claim 1, the recited steps are directed to certain methods of organizing human activity and a mental process of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (II) and (III)).
Regarding claim 1, the limitations of “receiving first physiological data associated with the user during a first time period; analyzing the first physiological data to determine (i) a first respiration rate for the first time period, (ii) a first plurality of sample heart rate values, and (iii) first heart rate variability parameters for the first time period; receiving second physiological data associated with the user during a second time period; analyzing the second physiological data to determine (i) a second respiration rate for the second time period, (ii) a second plurality of sample heart rate values, and (iii) second heart rate variability parameters for the second time period, the second respiration rate being less than the first respiration rate; determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters and the second heart rate variability parameters; receiving positional data associated with the user; and analyzing the received positional data to determine a body position of the user” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving a print out of first and second physiological data, analyzing the data to determine a respiration rate, a plurality of sample heart rates, and heart rate variability parameters, determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters and the second heart rate variability parameters, receiving a print out of positional data associated with the user, and analyzing the positional data to determine a body position of the user.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of “based, at least in part, on the determined body position of the user and the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, causing the user to change the body position” is a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that are directed to organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional based, at least in part, on the determined body position of the user and the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, instructing or waking the user to change the body position.
Step 2A, Prong Two
For claim 1, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites “a heart rate sensor, a pulse sensor, an accelerometer, a pulse oximeter, an ECG device, or any combination thereof of the mobile device.” The heart rate sensor, pulse sensor, accelerometer, pulse oximeter, ECG device, or any combination thereof of the mobile device amount to nothing more than pre-solution activity of data gathering. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into
a practical application, the additional element of a heart rate sensor, a pulse sensor, an accelerometer, a pulse oximeter, an ECG device, or any combination thereof of the mobile device amounts to nothing more than mere pre-solution activity of data gathering, which does not amount to an inventive concept. Moreover, a heart rate sensor, a pulse sensor, an accelerometer, a pulse oximeter, an ECG device, or any combination thereof of the mobile device are recited at a high level of generality and are well-understood, routine, and conventional structures as evidenced by US 20050027203 (¶56-a conventional portable electrocardiograph), US 20140047259 (Abstract-accelerometer in the portable device), US 20200337583 (¶27-conventional portable ECG systems), and US 20220015709 (¶3-it is known that both the smart band and the fingertip pulse oximeter are portable). Further, simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)).
Regarding dependent claims 2-12, 16-20, 22-31, 43-44, and 46, the limitations of claim 1 further define the limitations already indicated as being directed to the abstract idea.
Claims 2, 8, 18, 12, and 31 are further directed to the abstract idea indicated in claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 3-4, the limitations of “wherein the first heart rate variability parameters for the first time period include a maximum heart rate for the first time period, a minimum heart rate for the first time period, a heart rate range defined by the maximum heart rate and the minimum heart rate for the first time period, an average heart rate for the first time period, a median heart rate for the first time period, a standard deviation of heart rates for the first time period, or any combination thereof” and “wherein the second heart rate variability parameters for the second time period include a maximum heart rate for the second time period, a minimum heart rate for the second time period, a heart rate range defined by the maximum heart rate and the minimum heart rate for the second time period, an average heart rate for the second time period, a median heart rate for the second time period, a standard deviation of heart rates for the second time period, or any combination thereof” are mathematical calculations of performing addition, subtraction, division, exponentials, and square roots in order to determine a percentage likelihood that a user has an untreated sleep disorder.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations of “in response to the heart rate range for the second time period being no greater than the heart rate range for the first time period, determining that the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder is greater than 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, or 90%” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional determining the second time period is no greater than the heart rate range for the first time period and determining that the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder is greater than 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, or 90%.
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of “based at least in part on the heart rate range for the second time period not exceeding a threshold value, determining that the user is likely to have the untreated sleep disorder” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional determining the heart rate range for the second time period does not exceed a threshold value and determining that the user is likely to have the untreated sleep disorder.
Claim 7 is further directed to the abstract idea indicated in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of “receiving a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period; and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving a print out of a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period; and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations of “receiving a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period; and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving a print out of a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period; and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations of “receiving additional physiological data associated with the user during an additional time period; analyzing the additional physiological data to determine (i) an additional respiration rate for the additional time period, (ii) an additional plurality of sample heart rate values, and (iii) additional heart rate variability parameters for the additional time period, the additional respiration rate being less than the first respiration rate; and determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters, the second heart rate variability parameters, and the additional heart rate variability parameters” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving a print out of additional physiological data associated with the user during an additional time period, analyzing the additional physiological data to determine (i) an additional respiration rate for the additional time period, (ii) an additional plurality of sample heart rate values, and (iii) additional heart rate variability parameters for the additional time period, the additional respiration rate being less than the first respiration rate, and determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters, the second heart rate variability parameters, and the additional heart rate variability parameters.
Claim 16 is directed to post-solution activity of displaying an indication of the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation of “in response to the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder exceeding 50%” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, this limitation is nothing more than a medical professional determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder exceeds 50%. Displaying an indication of the determined percentage likelihood that the user is likely to have the untreated sleep disorder is post-solution activity.
Regarding claims 19-20, the limitations of “prior to receiving the second physiological data associated with the user during the second time period, causing the user to breathe slower than the first respiration rate” and “wherein the causing the user to breathe slower than the first respiration rate includes instructing the user to stay still and relax” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that are directed to organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional instructing the user to stay still and relax.
Regarding claims 22-23, the limitations of “wherein the causing the user to change the body position includes causing a sound or a vibration to be communicated to the user” and “wherein a level of the sound or the vibration to be communicated to the user is (i) proportional to a determined severity of the untreated sleep disorder” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that are directed to organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional instructing the user to change the body position, wherein the sound communicated to the user is (i) proportional to a determined severity of the untreated sleep disorder.
Regarding claim 24, the limitation of “based at least in part on the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, instructing the user to wear a treatment device” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that are directed to organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional instructing the user to wear a treatment device based at least in part on the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder.
Regarding claim 25, the limitation of “(i) generate sensor data” amounts to pre-solution activity of data gathering and the limitation of “ii) cause a sound or a vibration to be communicated to the user” amounts to post-solution activity.
Claim 26 is further directed to pre-solution activity of data gathering.
Regarding claims 27-28, wherein the motion sensor includes an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or any combination thereof amounts to pre-solution activity of data gathering. An accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or any combination thereof amounts to a well-understood, routine, and conventional structure as evidenced by US 20100149541 (¶4-conventional accelerometers), US 20130305823 (¶4-conventional gyroscopes), and US 20050156601 (¶6-conventional induction magnetometers).
Regarding claim 29, the limitations of “analyzing the generated sensor data to determine (i) a sleep disorder event associated with the user, (ii) chest movement of the user, (iii) a heart rate of the user, or (iv) any combination thereof” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional analyzing a print out of generated sensor data to determine (i) a sleep disorder event associated with the user, (ii) chest movement of the user, (iii) a heart rate of the user, or (iv) any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 30, the respiratory therapy system amounts to pre-solution and/or post-solution activity. The respiratory therapy system is a well-understood, routine, and conventional structure as evidenced by US 5535738 (col. 2 and lines 47-48-conventional treatments such as pressure support, CPAP or bi-level therapy), US 20160228661 (¶6-one known patient ventilator system), and US 4163450 (col. 1 and lines 39-40-conventional ventilator).
Regarding claim 43, the control system and memory are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than parts of a generic computer.
Regarding claim 44, the control system is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to nothing more than a part of a generic computer.
Regarding claim 46, the non-transitory computer readable medium and computer are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than parts of a generic computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-4, 12, 16-17, 22, 43-44, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda (US 20190053754 filed on 8/16/18) in view of Zavora (AU 2014262250 published on 12/4/14 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Gowda teaches a method for determining a percentage likelihood that a user has an untreated sleep disorder, the method comprising: receiving, by a mobile device coupled to the user's chest (¶28-sensors may be placed on the chest of the user; ¶7-mobile device; ¶49), first physiological data associated with the user during a first time period (¶7-receive the set of features from the mobile device; ¶10-first sensor data; ¶86-sensor data is generated during a first period); analyzing, by the mobile device, the first physiological data (¶81-analyze the sensor data) to determine (i) a first respiration rate for the first time period (¶8-generate respiration data indicative of the user's respiration rate; ¶86-sensor data is generated during a first period), (ii) a first plurality of sample heart rate values (¶42-data representing the heart rate of the user of the wearable device 100 are calculated; ¶86-sensor data is generated during a first period), and (iii) first heart rate variability parameters for the first time period (¶42-data representing heart rate variability of the user of the wearable device 100 are calculated; ¶86-sensor data is generated during a first period); receiving, by the mobile device, second physiological data associated with the user during a second time period (¶7-receive the set of features from the mobile device; ¶10-second period, second sensor data); analyzing, by the mobile device, the second physiological data ¶81-analyze the sensor data) to determine (i) a second respiration rate for the second time period (¶8-generate respiration data indicative of the user's respiration rate; ¶10-sensor data is generated during a second period), (ii) a second plurality of sample heart rate values (¶42-data representing the heart rate of the user of the wearable device 100 are calculated; ¶10-sensor data is generated during a second period), and (iii) second heart rate variability parameters for the second time period (¶42-data representing heart rate variability of the user of the wearable device 100 are calculated; ¶10-sensor data is generated during a second period), the second respiration rate being less than the first respiration rate (¶56-classifies the temporal window as breathing disturbed based on detecting a pattern of low respiration (below a threshold level of respiration over a threshold amount of time)); determining, by the mobile device, the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters and the second heart rate variability parameters (¶71-the breathing disturbance score is one of normal (e.g., below 5%), mild (e.g., 5-10%), moderate (e.g., 10-20%), or severe (e.g., 20% or above); ¶87-determine the likelihood that the user is (or was) having a breathing disturbance during the given minute based on the similarity between the features extracted from the sensor streams and one or more predetermined features indicative of user having a breathing disturbance; ¶42-data representing the heart rate, heart rate variability, respiration rate, and/or oxygen saturation of the user of the wearable device 100 are calculated, and the resulting data is an additional input for classifying the temporal periods or generating the breathing disturbance score); receiving positional data associated with the user (¶47-sense position); wherein at least some of the (i) the first physiological data, (ii) the second physiological data, or (iii) both the first physiological data and the second physiological data are received from a heart rate sensor, a pulse sensor, an accelerometer, a pulse oximeter, an ECG device, or any combination thereof of the mobile device (¶7-photoplethysmographic (PPG) sensor; ¶39-the motion sensor(s) of the wearable device 100 (e.g., a multi-axis accelerometer 161, a gyroscope 162, or another motion sensor); ¶102-Sp02, electrical monitoring of heartbeats (ECG); ¶10).
However, Gowda does not explicitly teach analyzing the received positional data to determine a body position of the user; and based, at least in part, on the determined body position of the user and the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, causing the user to change the body position.
Zavora relates to the field of treating sleep disorders and more specifically to systems and methods using position therapy (PDT) to treat sleep disorders (¶1). Zavora further teaches the invention using the following steps:
analyzing the received positional data to determine a body position of the user (¶61-the position detector 110 comprises one or more accelerometers that can be used to determine that the user's body position); and based, at least in part, on the determined body position of the user and the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder (¶8-the device can be configured to limit the amount of time that the user spends sleeping in a supine position for users for whom it is not recommended to sleep in a supine position, such as OSA patients; ¶26-snoring can be an indicator of obstructed breathing, and the PTD 100 can be used in a therapy regime for OSA in which a user is discouraged from sleeping in a supine position. In an example, microphone 105 can be used to capture audio signals to assess snoring magnitude and frequency, which are likely to be position dependent; ¶67-for example, in an OSA patient, the patient's breathing can be interrupted resulting in the patient gasping for air. The data collected by the accelerometers can be analyzed to identify such events), causing the user to change the body position (¶8-the device can be configured to provide feedback to a user if the user is sleeping or is positioned in a target position to induce the user to change positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include analyzing the received positional data to determine a body position of the user; and based, at least in part, on the determined body position of the user and the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, causing the user to change the body position of Zavora in order to limit the amount of time that the user spends sleeping in a supine position for users for whom it is not recommended to sleep in a supine position, such as OSA patients (Zavora, ¶8).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first heart rate variability parameters for the first time period include a maximum heart rate for the first time period, a minimum heart rate for the first time period, a heart rate range defined by the maximum heart rate and the minimum heart rate for the first time period, an average heart rate for the first time period, a median heart rate for the first time period, a standard deviation of heart rates for the first time period, or any combination thereof (Gowda, ¶58-maximum change in heart rate over various timescales; and (ii) rolling median, average, or some other quartile of the distribution of heart rate derivative over various timescales; ¶86-a first period).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the second heart rate variability parameters for the second time period include a maximum heart rate for the second time period, a minimum heart rate for the second time period, a heart rate range defined by the maximum heart rate and the minimum heart rate for the second time period, an average heart rate for the second time period, a median heart rate for the second time period, a standard deviation of heart rates for the second time period, or any combination thereof (Gowda, ¶58-maximum change in heart rate over various timescales; and (ii) rolling median, average, or some other quartile of the distribution of heart rate derivative over various timescales; ¶10-second period).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the untreated sleep disorder includes untreated obstructive sleep apnea (Zavora, ¶1-treating sleep disorders; ¶8-OSA patients).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the untreated sleep disorder includes untreated obstructive sleep apnea of Zavora because it is not recommended to sleep in a supine position for OSA patients (Zavora, ¶20).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising displaying an indication of the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder (Gowda, ¶7-the mobile device to receive the determined score(s) from the server and cause the score(s) to be displayed on a display screen of the mobile device; ¶89-at block 520 , the system outputs the breathing disturbance score for presentation to the user; ¶71-the breathing disturbance score is one of normal (e.g., below 5%), mild (e.g., 5-10%), moderate (e.g., 10-20%), or severe (e.g., 20% or above). In another example, breathing disturbance score is one of normal (e.g., below 5%) or not normal (e.g., 5% or above)).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising in response to the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder exceeding 50%, displaying the indication that the user is likely to have the untreated sleep disorder (Gowda, ¶7-the mobile device to receive the determined score(s) from the server and cause the score(s) to be displayed on a display screen of the mobile device; ¶89-at block 520 , the system outputs the breathing disturbance score for presentation to the user; ¶71-the breathing disturbance score is one of normal (e.g., below 5%), mild (e.g., 5-10%), moderate (e.g., 10-20%), or severe (e.g., 20% or above). In another example, breathing disturbance score is one of normal (e.g., below 5%) or not normal (e.g., 5% or above); ¶72-a sleep apnea severity score (e.g., normal for AHI below 5, mild for AHI of 5 or greater and below 15, moderate for AHI of 15 or greater and below 30, and severe for AHI of 30 or above). The system may also output a graph illustrating the trend in the breathing disturbance scores or metrics of the user over time (e.g., daily, weekly, monthly, and/or yearly)).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the causing the user to change the body position includes causing a sound or a vibration to be communicated to the user (Zavora, ¶26-provide haptic and/or audiovisual feedback to the user to induce the user to shift to a different sleep position; ¶9-generate a control signal to cause the haptic feedback device to provide tactile feedback to the user to induce the user to change to a different, non-target sleep position if the user of the device is in a target sleep position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the causing the user to change the body position includes causing a sound or a vibration to be communicated to the user of Zavora in order to limit the amount of time that the user spends sleeping in a supine position for users for whom it is not recommended to sleep in a supine position, such as OSA patients (Zavora, ¶8).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches a system comprising: a control system including one or more processors (Gowda, ¶24-processor 120 (which may be a set of processors)); and a memory having stored thereon machine readable instructions (Gowda, ¶25-the memory 130 may store instructions); wherein the control system is coupled to the memory (Gowda, ¶25-the memory 130 may store instructions for causing the processor 120 to perform certain actions), and the method of claim 1 is implemented when the machine executable instructions in the memory are executed by at least one of the one or more processors of the control system (Gowda, ¶31-a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches a system for determining a percentage likelihood that a user has an untreated sleep disorder, the system including a control system configured to implement the method of claim 1 (Gowda, ¶31-a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 1 (Gowda, ¶11-non-transitory physical computer storage storing instructions. The instructions may, when executed by one or more processors, configure the one or more processors; ¶31-a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Insler (US 20170172522 filed on 12/22/16 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not teach wherein the second respiration rate is at least 10% less, at least 20% less, at least 30% less, at least 40% less, at least 50% less, at least 60% less, or at least 70% less than the first respiration rate.
Insler teaches wherein the second respiration rate is at least 10% less, at least 20% less, at least 30% less, at least 40% less, at least 50% less, at least 60% less, or at least 70% less than the first respiration rate (claim 7-respiratory rate… 10-15 percent decrease below a baseline established for the individual).
Insler relates to transmitting, if the alarm was interrupted, information that the individual may have sleep apnea (¶20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the second respiration rate is at least 10% less, at least 20% less, at least 30% less, at least 40% less, at least 50% less, at least 60% less, or at least 70% less than the first respiration rate of Insler because reduced respiratory rate is consistent with conditions such as sleep apnea (Insler, ¶21).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Christopherson (US 20170128002 filed on 8/17/1 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 4. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach in response to the heart rate range for the second time period being no greater than the heart rate range for the first time period, determining that the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder is greater than 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, or 90%.
Christopherson teaches in response to the heart rate range for the second time period being no greater than the heart rate range for the first time period, determining that the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder is greater than 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, or 90% (¶82-sleep disordered breathing behavior is confirmed via detection of a decreasing heart rate; ¶135-heart rate is known to decrease at the onset of an obstructive apnea; ¶140-the number of apneas, the duration of an apnea, and intensity of apneas (as well as other physiologic data) are combined into a severity score; ¶137; ¶145).
Christopherson relates to an implantable stimulation system for stimulating and monitoring soft tissue in a patient, and more particularly, the present disclosure relates to a method of automatically initiating and adjusting therapeutic treatment of sleep apneas (¶2). Christopherson additionally relates to being adapted to treat sleep disordered breathing behavior, such as obstructive sleep apnea (¶28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include in response to the heart rate range for the second time period being no greater than the heart rate range for the first time period, determining that the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder is greater than 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, or 90% of Christopherson in order to treat sleep disordered breathing behavior, such as obstructive sleep apnea (Christopherson, ¶28).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pu (US 20100204586 filed on 2/12/09 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 4. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach based at least in part on the heart rate range for the second time period not exceeding a threshold value, determining that the user is likely to have the untreated sleep disorder.
Pu teaches based at least in part on the heart rate range for the second time period not exceeding a threshold value, determining that the user is likely to have the untreated sleep disorder (¶70-heart rate cyclically falls below a threshold baseline heart rate 1205 during an interval 1210 in which both bradycardia and cyclic variation in heart rate are present; ¶75- collective scoring of tachycardia indices, bradycardia indices, and variation in heart rate indicates that a sleep disorder is present).
Pu relates to detecting the existence of a sleep disorder in an individual using heart activity (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include based at least in part on the heart rate range for the second time period not exceeding a threshold value, determining that the user is likely to have the untreated sleep disorder of Pu in order to report an obstructive sleep apnea event in response to the determination that sleep apnea is indicated (Pu, ¶10).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Pu teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period (Gowda, ¶9-respective temporal window of a plurality of temporal windows within the sleep period); and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder (Gowda, ¶70- determine the severity of breathing disturbance for a given sleep period).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora, and further in view of Pu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Shinar (US 20130281866 filed on 6/19/13 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Pu teaches the method of claim 6. However, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Pu does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold value is 6 bpm, 7 bpm, 8 bpm, 9 bpm, 10 bpm, 11 bpm, 12 bpm, 13 bpm, 14 bpm, 15 bpm, 16 bpm, 17 bpm, 18 bpm, 19 bpm, 20 bpm, 21 bpm, or 22 bpm.
Shinar teaches wherein the threshold value is 6 bpm, 7 bpm, 8 bpm, 9 bpm, 10 bpm, 11 bpm, 12 bpm, 13 bpm, 14 bpm, 15 bpm, 16 bpm, 17 bpm, 18 bpm, 19 bpm, 20 bpm, 21 bpm, or 22 bpm (¶161-a threshold amount of more than 15 beats per minute; ¶163-a heart rate threshold of 22 beats per minute).
Shinar relates generally to predicting and monitoring physiological conditions. Specifically, some applications relate to methods and apparatus for monitoring a subject by monitoring the subject's respiration rate and/or the subject's heart rate (¶5). Shinar additionally relates to predicting an onset of apnea (Abstract; ¶197).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the threshold value is 6 bpm, 7 bpm, 8 bpm, 9 bpm, 10 bpm, 11 bpm, 12 bpm, 13 bpm, 14 bpm, 15 bpm, 16 bpm, 17 bpm, 18 bpm, 19 bpm, 20 bpm, 21 bpm, or 22 bpm of Shinar in order to predict an onset of apnea (Shinar, Abstract, ¶197).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shinar.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach wherein the determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder includes comparing the first heart rate variability parameters to the second heart rate variability parameters.
Shinar wherein the determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder includes comparing the first heart rate variability parameters to the second heart rate variability parameters (¶157-(i.e., thresholds for the difference between median or maximum heart rate and those of the previous day) for determining the likelihood of a subject undergoing (a) any adverse clinical event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder includes comparing the first heart rate variability parameters to the second heart rate variability parameters of Shinar in order to predict an onset of apnea (Shinar, Abstract, ¶197).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora, and further in view of Pu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Fujita (WO 2016093347 filed on 12/11/15 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Pu teaches the method of claim 6. However, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Pu does not explicitly teach receiving a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period; and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder.
Fujita teaches receiving a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period; and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder (Abstract, page 12-calculates the number of appearances thereof per unit time, and estimates
the risk of disease related to sleep from the relationship between the calculated number of appearances; page 1, last ¶).
Fujita relates to a biological condition analyzing apparatus and a computer program for analyzing the state of a person from a biological signal, and more particularly to a biological state analyzing apparatus and computer program for analyzing the state of a person (page 1, ¶1). Fujita additionally relates to estimating a sleep-related disease risk including sleep apnea syndrome (page 1, 3rd to last ¶).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include receiving a first time stamp associated with the first time period and a second time stamp associated with the second time period; and based at least in part on the first time stamp and the second time stamp, determining the percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder of Fujita in order to estimate a risk of sleep apnea syndrome (Fujita, page 1, 3rd to last ¶).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Somers (US 20100323379 filed on 9/25/08 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach wherein (i) the first time period, (ii) the second time period, or (iii) both the first time period and the second time period are within 30 minutes, an hour, two hours, or three hours of the user waking up.
Somers relates to methods and materials involved in diagnosing sleep apnea (e.g., obstructive or central sleep apnea) and assessing the effectiveness of a treatment for sleep apnea (¶7).
Somers teaches wherein (i) the first time period, (ii) the second time period, or (iii) both the first time period and the second time period are within 30 minutes, an hour, two hours, or three hours of the user waking up (¶40-measurements can be obtained before and immediately after sleep, and if necessary, several hours after waking). Somers therefore envisions a time period after the user wakes up. While Somers is not specific on the amount of hours after waking, the Examiner contends it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the time period to be two or three hours, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum size involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 11, 19-20, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shouldice (WO 2017032873 filed on 8/26/16 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach receiving additional physiological data associated with the user during an additional time period; analyzing the additional physiological data to determine (i) an additional respiration rate for the additional time period, (ii) an additional plurality of sample heart rate values, and (iii) additional heart rate variability parameters for the additional time period, the additional respiration rate being less than the first respiration rate; and determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters, the second heart rate variability parameters, and the additional heart rate variability parameters.
Shouldice teaches receiving additional physiological data associated with the user during an additional time period; analyzing the additional physiological data to determine (i) an additional respiration rate for the additional time period, (ii) an additional plurality of sample heart rate values, and (iii) additional heart rate variability parameters for the additional time period, the additional respiration rate being less than the first respiration rate; and determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters, the second heart rate variability parameters, and the additional heart rate variability parameters (¶50-detect a change in the parameter over a period of time; ¶49-at least one of the one or more physiological parameters or the additional physiological parameter may be one of breathing rate, heart rate; ¶50-heart rate variability (HRV); ¶230-a respiration rate of 27 breaths per minute during a respiratory attack, reducing the respiration rate to 20 breaths per minute in the hour after treatment for an event, and then further reducing to baseline of 17 breaths per minute); ¶103-monitor and/or detect user specific patterns related to onset and severity of chronic respiratory diseases).
Shouldice relates systems and methods for monitoring a patient suffering from a chronic disease, such as a chronic respiratory and/or cardiac disease, including, for example, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or congestive heart failure (CHF), based on multiple sources of information, and managing the patient's condition in the context of their overall lifestyle (¶2). Shouldice additionally relates to treating Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) (¶35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include receiving additional physiological data associated with the user during an additional time period; analyzing the additional physiological data to determine (i) an additional respiration rate for the additional time period, (ii) an additional plurality of sample heart rate values, and (iii) additional heart rate variability parameters for the additional time period, the additional respiration rate being less than the first respiration rate; and determining a severity of the untreated sleep disorder based at least in part on the first heart rate variability parameters, the second heart rate variability parameters, and the additional heart rate variability parameters of Shouldice in order to treat Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) (Shouldice, ¶35).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach prior to receiving the second physiological data associated with the user during the second time period, causing the user to breathe slower than the first respiration rate.
Shouldice teaches prior to receiving the second physiological data associated with the user during the second time period, causing the user to breathe slower than the first respiration rate (¶230-a respiration rate of 27 breaths per minute during a respiratory attack, reducing the respiration rate to 20 breaths per minute in the hour after treatment for an event, and then further reducing to baseline of 17 breaths per minute).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include prior to receiving the second physiological data associated with the user during the second time period, causing the user to breathe slower than the first respiration rate of Shouldice in order to treat Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) (Shouldice, ¶35).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Shouldice teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the causing the user to breathe slower than the first respiration rate includes instructing the user to stay still and relax (Shouldice, ¶164-a person in a pre-exacerbation phase of the condition may be instructed to undertake relaxing breathing exercises such as meditation; ¶230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the causing the user to breathe slower than the first respiration rate includes instructing the user to stay still and relax of Shouldice in order to treat Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) (Shouldice, ¶35).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach based at least in part on the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, instructing the user to wear a treatment device.
Shouldice teaches based at least in part on the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, instructing the user to wear a treatment device (¶169-estimate a likelihood that a specific person will suffer progression (e.g., worsening) of a specific disease; ¶54-communicating data concerning application of a treatment by using a treatment device adapted for treating the chronic condition of the user, instruct the user to effect a treatment, or to undertake an action; ¶68-the physiological monitor may be adapted to be wearable by the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include based at least in part on the determined percentage likelihood that the user has the untreated sleep disorder, instructing the user to wear a treatment device of Shouldice in order to treat Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) (Shouldice, ¶35).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Shouldice teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the treatment device is configured to (i) generate sensor data, (ii) cause a sound or a vibration to be communicated to the user, or (iii) both (i) and (ii) (Shouldice, ¶46-wearable by the user and may be operative to generate a first physiological signal associated with a first physiological parameter of the user, the method may include receiving one or more generated physiological signals; ¶129- the device may provide or trigger an alert to the user 202 (audio, visual or vibration)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the treatment device is configured to (i) generate sensor data, (ii) cause a sound or a vibration to be communicated to the user, or (iii) both (i) and (ii) of Shouldice in order to treat Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) (Shouldice, ¶35).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Shouldice teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the sensor data includes positional data associated with the user (Gowda, ¶47-sense position).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Shouldice teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the sensor data is generated using a motion sensor (Gowda, ¶10-one or more motion sensors).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Shouldice teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the motion sensor includes an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or any combination thereof (Gowda, ¶25-motion sensors or inertial sensors (e.g., accelerometer, gyroscope, digital compass, etc.); ¶28-the wearable device 100 includes an accelerometer 161 (e.g., a multi-axis accelerometer), a gyroscope 162, a magnetometer 163).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Shouldice teaches the method of claim 25, further comprising analyzing the generated sensor data to determine (i) a sleep disorder event associated with the user, (ii) chest movement of the user, (iii) a heart rate of the user, or (iv) any combination thereof (Gowda, ¶71-the breathing disturbance score is one of normal (e.g., below 5%), mild (e.g., 5-10%), moderate (e.g., 10-20%), or severe (e.g., 20% or above); ¶87-determine the likelihood that the user is (or was) having a breathing disturbance during the given minute based on the similarity between the features extracted from the sensor streams and one or more predetermined features indicative of user having a breathing disturbance; ¶42-data representing the heart rate, heart rate variability, respiration rate, and/or oxygen saturation of the user of the wearable device 100 are calculated, and the resulting data is an additional input for classifying the temporal periods or generating the breathing disturbance score).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Gowda, Zavora, and Shouldice teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the treatment device is a respiratory therapy system (Gowda, ¶74-CPAP therapy).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Wren (WO 2019122413 filed on 12/21/18 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 22. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not explicitly teach wherein a level of the sound or the vibration to be communicated to the user is (i) proportional to a determined severity of the untreated sleep disorder.
Wren teaches wherein a level of the sound or the vibration to be communicated to the user is (i) proportional to a determined severity of the untreated sleep disorder (¶12-the control signal to change a setting of the interactive audio device may include a change in volume based on a detection of user distance from the interactive audio device, user’s state or user’s location; ¶180-users with various health conditions, including respiratory conditions such as sleep apnea, COPD, cardiac issues and so forth).
Wren relates to detecting bio-motion associated with living subjects with audio equipment. More particularly, the present technology relates to using acoustic sensing with audio equipment to detect physiological characteristics such as physiological movement such as breathing movement, cardiac movement and/or other less cyclical body movement of a living subject (¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein a level of the sound or the vibration to be communicated to the user is (i) proportional to a determined severity of the untreated sleep disorder of Wren in order for waking the user up (Wren, ¶220).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gowda in view of Zavora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shouldice and Bennett-Guerrero (US 9028407 filed on 12/13/13 as cited in the IDS), hereinafter referred to as Bennett.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Gowda and Zavora teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Gowda and Zavora does not teach wherein the first respiration rate is more than six breaths per minute, and the second respiration rate is six or fewer breaths per minute.
Shouldice teaches wherein the first respiration rate is more than six breaths per minute (¶333-12 breaths per minute; ¶230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda wherein the first respiration rate is more than six breaths per minute of Shouldice in order to treat Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA) (Shouldice, ¶35).
While Shouldice teaches a respiration rate (¶333), the combination does not teach wherein the second respiration rate is six or fewer breaths per minute.
Bennett teaches the second respiration rate is six or fewer breaths per minute (col. 29 and lines 54-55-the respiratory rate is less than a default value, e.g., 6 breaths per minute).
Bennett relates to 1) varying the frequency of chest incline measurements, such as based on changing patient conditions; 2) certain applications of monitoring patient inclines over time, such as addressing seizures, SIDS, sleep related conditions, etc., and generating various types of relevant reports, e.g., indicating a percentage of time in which the patient chest incline angle is less than a certain angle (e.g., 30 degrees) over a certain period (e.g., over 24 hours); and 3) using the same accelerometer that measures patient incline to also measure other patient conditions, i.e., respiration, heart rate, gastrointestinal function, and related applications (col. 3 and lines 47-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gowda to include wherein the first respiration rate is more than six breaths per minute, and the second respiration rate is six or fewer breaths per minute of Bennett in order to diagnose sleep-related conditions, including but limited to sleep apnea (Bennett, col. 12 and lines 17-18).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20070073181: relates generally to respiration detection and monitoring and, more particularly, to use of respiration rate variability and a footprint of same to detect, monitor, predict, and/or treat a patient condition (¶2).
/LAURA HODGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3792