Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruhashi et al (US 2022/0158722 A1), hereinafter Maruhashi, in view of Avery et al (US 6,340,113), hereinafter Avery, and further in view of Wintermantel (US 2023/0275336 A1). (All applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 1, the structure of Maruhashi (Figures 1-12) would enable a method comprising the steps of:
obtaining a plastic waveguide (conductor plate 19 with substrate 2) comprising a dimple (recess in dielectric material layer 9)(Figure 12);
depositing solderable metal (19) on the dimples to form one or more waveguide metallic portions;
obtaining a printed circuit board (PCB) (1) comprising one or more PCB metallic portions (metallic portion surrounding the transmission line 6);
adhering solder balls (para [0074]) to the PCB metallic portions (metallic portion in 1).
Maruhashi does not explicitly teach that the plastic waveguide comprising a plurality of dimples.
Avery (Figures 3-5) teaches an assembly comprising a plastic body (circuit board 30 with substrate 32) including a plurality of dimples (36 and 52) on one or more external surfaces of the plastic body (30 and 32) and one or more waveguide metallic portions (conductive lines 34 and solder compositions 10/48/54) disposed on the dimples (36 and 52) of the waveguide, the waveguide metallic portions (34 and 48) corresponding to the PCB metallic portions (36); and solder (54/10) disposed between the waveguide metallic portions (48) and the PCB metallic portions (34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Maruhashi with a plurality of dimples on one or more external surfaces of the plastic body and one or more waveguide metallic portions disposed on the dimples, as taught by Avery, doing so would secure solder compositions for the dimple as well as improving frequency characteristics, since the number of structure parameters increases the degree of freedom in design.
Furthermore, in the field of plastic body waveguides, Wintermantel (Figures 3-5, para [0041], [0042] and [0055]) teaches the employment of plastic waveguides metallized on the surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Maruhashi/Avery to include thermoplastics as the plastic base material, as taught by Wintermantel, doing so would provide dimensional stable and heat-resistant injection molded parts which also have a very smooth surface for cost savings purposes.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Maruhashi does not explicitly teach that the step of depositing the solderable metal on the dimples comprises a physical vapor deposition (PVD) process.
Avery (col 4, lines 28-36) teaches an assembly wherein the depositions of the solderable metal comprise physical vapor depositions (PVD).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention apply physical vapor deposition process to deposit solderable metal on dimples, as taught by Avery, doing so would provide ultra-thin, highly uniform layers with exceptional purity and strong atomic-level adhesion.
Claims 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruhashi in view of Avery and Wintermantel, and further in view of Seler et al (US 2021/0225719 A1), hereinafter Seler. (Applicant’s cited prior art).
Regarding claim 3, Maruhashi/Avery/Wintermantel teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, except explicitly mention that the PCB comprises a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC); and arranging the plastic waveguide comprises arranging the plastic waveguide such that the plastic waveguide at least partially surrounds the MMIC.
Seler (Figure 10, para [0024] and [0065]) teaches a waveguide comprising a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) (14); and arranging the plastic waveguide comprises arranging the plastic waveguide such that the plastic waveguide (1000) at least partially surrounds the MMIC.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Maruhashi/Avery/Wintermantel to comprise a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC); and arranging the plastic waveguide comprises arranging the plastic waveguide such that the plastic waveguide at least partially surrounds the MMIC, as taught by Seler, doing so would accommodate the MMIC therein and to create a low-profile structure as well as to facilitate heat transfer therein.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 3, Seler (Figures 1 and 10, para [0024] and [0065]) teaches that the plastic waveguide comprises a plurality of thru holes (64); and the method further comprises placing solder within the thru holes; and applying heat to the plastic waveguide effective to melt the solder.
Regarding claim 6, Maruhashi/Avery/Wintermantel teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 1, wherein one of the waveguide metallic portions or a plurality of the waveguide metallic portions (34 and 48) surrounds an aperture of the plastic waveguide and Wintermantel (para [0047]) teaches the step of applying heat to the PCB or the plastic waveguide causes the solder balls to form an electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield for the aperture (solder balls 4.11 designed and arranged in a suitable manner and can constitute a band0rejection filter for the high frequency used and act as an Electromagnetic Band Gap (EBG) structure or EMI shield.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruhashi in view of Avery, Wintermantel and Seler, and further in view of Min et al (US 2016/0276308 A1), hereinafter Min. (Applicant’s cite prior art).
Regarding claim 5, Maruhashi/Avery/Wintermantel/Seler teaches the claimed invention, as applied to claim 4, except explicitly mention that the thru holes are proximate the MMIC; and applying the heat to the plastic waveguide comprises causing the solder to flow to a thermal interface material (TIM) of the MMIC.
Min (Figure 1A, para [0044]) teaches an assembly comprising thru holes (130) are proximate the MMIC; and applying the heat to the plastic waveguide comprises causing the solder (thermally conductive material) to flow to a thermal interface material (TIM) (117) of the MMIC.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Maruhashi/Avery/Wintermantel/ Seler to apply the heat to the plastic waveguide comprises causing the solder to flow to a thermal interface material (TIM) of the MMIC, as taught by Min, doing so would effectively facilitating heat transfer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Silber et al (CN 113970721A) discloses a radar sensor with plastic waveguide structure.
Wintermantel (DE 102020211254 A1) discloses a plastic waveguide with PCB.
Wintermantel (WO 2022053114A1) discloses a waveguide antenna made of PCB and a molded part.
Brandenburg et al (US 2022/0271437) discloses a plastic waveguide with conductive particles.
/HOANG V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845