DETAILED ACTION
The following is in response to the amendments and arguments filed 14 August 2026. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Objection to the Specification is withdrawn, applicant's arguments have overcome the prior Objections (rem 11-12)
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/640887, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Specifically, claims 1 and 11 include subject matter not supported in the written description of the priority provisional application. Claims 1 and 11 are directed to a system and method for credit score computation and the following limitations are not supported by the provisional application (specific features not supported are bolded and underlined):
Receiving the financial data from a plurality of disparate data sources
Generating a unified data structure based on aggregation of financial data
computing a credit score based on application of a monotonic neural network model to the unified data structure,
the monotonic neural network model comprises weight matrices with Lipschitz constraints ensuring bounded output changes for any input perturbation,
a GroupSort activation function configured to divide an input vector into sub- vectors of length 2 and internally sort elements within each of the sub-vectors while maintaining a unit gradient over a function domain of the GroupSort activation function, and
the Lipschitz constraints and the GroupSort activation function maintain bounded sensitivity to input perturbations and mitigate gradient attenuation as a network depth of the monotonic neural network model increases unit gradient over a function domain of the GroupSort activation function;
extract, from the unified data structure, a plurality of features that influence the credit score.
The limitations in dependent claims 2-4, 7, 9-10, 12, 15, 17-18 further define the limitations not supported in claims 1 and 11 in the provisional priority application. Claims 5, 6, 8, 13, 14, and 16 inherit the deficiencies of claims 1 and 11 respectively and are therefore also rejected.
The provisional application provides support for “Utilizing AI and ML models, the XAI enables transparent decision-making by providing interpretable insights into the LLM’s reasoning, ensuring accountability and trustworthiness. Concurrently, LAM facilitates seamless communication between users and the credit scoring system, enabling users to comprehend the factors influencing their credit score and take informed actions to improve it. Through a combination of XAI and LAM, the credit scoring system empowers users with actionable knowledge and facilitates responsible credit management in real time” (see para 23, figure 2 and figure 3 of originally filed specification in 63/640887).
Examiner notes: In light of the extensive 35 USC 112(a) rejections, for the purpose of applying prior art, the limitations not provided for (as indicated above) in the provisional application filed 5/1/2024 will be interpreted with the filing date of instant application, 5/1/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant's amendments and arguments have overcome the prior rejections under 35 USC 112. The prior rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-18 are directed to a system and method. The claims fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter).
Step 2A Prong 1
Claim 11, as exemplary, recites the abstract idea of a method for credit score computation …comprising: receiving … financial data from a plurality of disparate data sources…; generating… a unified data structure by aggregating the received financial data; computing, using…a credit score by: …extracting, a plurality of features influencing the credit score; ….generating… feature contribution scores quantifying magnitude and directionality of impact for each of the plurality of features on the credit score; identifying…a set of credit enhancement actions based on the feature contribution scores; and presenting …the identified set of credit enhancement actions and corresponding projected impact values.
These recited limitations fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” grouping of abstract ideas in the subgrouping of “Commercial or Legal Interaction” of business relations by processing information through a calculation where the business relation is the relationship between a user seeking actionable insights into creditworthiness and financial health sources (determining how a user can improve in which specific features of credit to improve credit scores). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
See MPEP 2106
Under Step 2A prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of computing a comprehensive credit score in a computer environment. The claimed computer components (processor, memory, server, monotonic neural network and language action models, GroupSort, XAI component, interface device ) are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform existing financial health scoring processes. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A prong 2, the claim describes how to generally “apply” the concept of how to compute a comprehensive credit score in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed separately and as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is ineligible.
Additionally, the recitation of applying a monotonic neural network model […] enforcing Lipschitz constraints […]implementing a GroupSort activation function […] extracting[…] a plurality of features […] generating, using an explainable artificial intelligence (XAI) component […] feature contribution scores […] identifying, using a language action model (LAM) […] merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. Although these additional elements limit the identified judicial exception, which involves computing a credit score by applying a monotonic neural network model using financing data to output explainable feature contributions to creditworthiness, this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (neural networks) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h) and updated MPEP 2106.04(d), 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.05 (a) and (f) (all included in the December 5, 2025 Memo). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".
As for claims 2, 7, 12 and 15, these claims recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in claim 11. In addition, they recite the additional elements of generating an API call. The processor in both steps is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, claims 2, 7, 12 and 15 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given in the above rejection of claim 11 The claims are ineligible.
As for dependent claim 3, the claim recites limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in claim 11. Therefore, claim 3 is considered patent ineligible for the reasons given in the above rejection of claim 11.
As for dependent claim 4, the claim recites limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in claim 11 with the same additional elements. Therefore, claim 4 is considered patent ineligible for the reasons given in the above rejection of claim 11.
As for dependent claim 5-6 and 13-14, the claim recites limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in claim 11. Therefore, claim 5-6 and claim 13-14 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given in the above rejection of claim 11.
As for dependent claim 8-9 and 16-17, the claim recites limitations that further define the same abstract idea noted in claim 11. Therefore, claim 8-9 and 16-17 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given in the above rejection of claim 11.
As for claims 10 and 18, these claims recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in claim 11. In addition, they recite the additional elements of generating unified data. The processor and memory in the steps is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, claims 10 and 18 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given in the above rejection of claim 11. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Chen et al. “Monotonic Neural Additive Models: Pursuing Regulated Machine Learning Models for Credit Scoring” 10/26/2022, ICAIF '22: Proceedings of the Third ACM International Conference on AI in Finance Pages 70 – 78) in view of Cem et al. ("Sorting out Lipschitz function approximation "Proceedings of the 36th International Conference on Machine Learning, Long Beach, California, PMLR 97, 2019.)
Specifically as to claims 1 and 11, Chen et al. disclose a computer-implemented system (and related method) for credit score computation (see abstract), the computer- implemented system comprising: a processor; a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: receive financial data from a plurality of disparate data sources (see page 72 subsection 3 monotonic neural additive models, “companies might have different ways to record features,… Therefore, two types of monotonicity constraints are required: (1) monotonicity of individual features…(2) monotonicity of pairwise features…”);generate a unified data structure by aggregating the received financial data (see page 72 subsection 3 monotonic neural additive models, “companies might have different ways to record features,… Therefore, two types of monotonicity constraints are required: (1) monotonicity of individual features…(2) monotonicity of pairwise features…”); compute a credit score by applying a monotonic neural network model to the unified data structure , wherein the monotonic neural network model comprises weight matrices with Lipschitz constraints ensuring bounded output changes for any input perturbation, and a GroupSort activation function configured to divide an input vector into sub- vectors of length 2 and internally sort elements within each of the sub-vectors while maintaining a unit gradient over a function domain of the Group Sort activation function, wherein the Lipschitz constraints and the GroupSort activation function maintain bounded sensitivity to input perturbations and mitigate gradient attenuation as a network depth of the monotonic neural network model increases unit gradient over a function domain of the GroupSort activation function (see page 72, section 3, and page 73 col 1 “the condition 𝑥𝛽=𝑥𝛾 must be met. Consider 𝑥𝛽and𝑥𝛾 as the recent and historical inquiries, respectively. For An applicant with no inquiry record, an additional recent inquiry with(𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(1,0 )should produce a larger 𝑓 compared to an additional historical inquiry with (𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(0,1). However, we cannot directly compare the case of (𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(5,0) with the case of(𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(2,3).An applicant with a large 𝑥𝛽 might be affected by the diminishing marginal effect, and (𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(2,3)”) ; extract, from the unified data structure, a plurality of features influencing the credit score (see page 72, col 2, 2.3 normalization factor); generate, using an explainable artificial intelligence (XAI) component (see page 70, explainability), feature contribution scores quantifying magnitude and directionality of impact for each of the plurality of features on the credit score (see page 73 monotonicity pairwise and individual features, two monotonic constraints can be verified for a differentiable function); identify, using a language action model (LAM), a set of credit enhancement actions based on the feature contribution scores (see page 74, 4.1.3 Conceptual soundness and fairness, sensitivity based feature importance on page 75); and present, via a user interface (UI), the identified set of credit enhancement actions and corresponding projected impact values (see page 76 assumption demonstrating the usefulness of the sensitivity-based”) but does not specifically disclose implementing a GroupSort activation function configured to divide an input vector into sub- vectors of length 2 and internally sort elements within each of the sub-vectors while maintaining a unit gradient over a function domain of the Group Sort activation function, wherein the Lipschitz constraints and the GroupSort activation function maintain bounded sensitivity to input perturbations and mitigate gradient attenuation as a network depth of the monotonic neural network model increases.
Cem et al. disclose to combine a gradient norm preserving activation function, GroupSort, with norm-constrained weight matrices. We show that norm-constrained GroupSort architectures are universal Lipschitz function approximators and show that norm constrained GroupSort networks achieve tighter estimates of Wasserstein distance than their ReLU counterparts and can achieve provable adversarial robustness guarantees with little cost to accuracy (see page 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the credit scoring system of Chen the ability to provide precision without losing expressive power as taught by Cem et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. A person of ordinary skill would have understood prior art teachings, or what a person of ordinary skill would have known or could have done.
Specifically as to claims 2 and 12, receive, via the UI, a selection of one or more credit enhancement actions from the identified set; generate one or more API calls to execute the selected credit enhancement actions; and update the credit score based on execution status of the API calls (see figure 10).
Specifically as to claim 3, wherein the plurality of disparate data sources comprises financial transaction data from banking systems, credit report data from credit bureaus, asset ownership records, and business revenue data (see abstract, financial data).
Specifically as to claim 4, the monotonic neural network model implements Lipschitz constraints by normalizing, in an input layer of the monotonic neural network model, each element of a weight matrix based on an absolute value of the element such that weights of the weight matrix have an absolute magnitude of 1; and normalizing, in each subsequent layer of the monotonic neural network model, each column of the weight matrix by a sum of absolute values of elements in the column (see page 73 col 2, required constraints).
Specifically as to claims 5 and 13, calculating, for each of the plurality of features, a quantitative measure of influence on the credit score; determining whether each feature's influence is positive or negative; and ranking the plurality of features based on their respective quantitative measures of influence (see page 72-72, equations and calculations).
Specifically as to claims 6 and 14, analyzing the feature contribution scores to identify features having negative impact on the credit score; determining specific actions that can improve the identified features; and estimating an expected credit score improvement for each specific action (“until penalty terms vanish.” See page 73, col 2; section 4.2, give me some credit).
Specifically as to claims 7 and 15, formatting API requests according to specifications of target financial systems; establishing secure connections with the target financial systems; transmitting the formatted API requests; and receiving and validating responses from the target financial systems (see introduction) .
Specifically as to claims 8 and 16, monitor, in real-time, changes in the financial data from the plurality of disparate data sources; detect significant changes in one or more of the plurality of features based on the monitored changes; and automatically recompute the credit score and update the feature contribution scores based on the detected significant changes (see section 4.2.3 soundness and fairness).
Specifically as to claims 9 and 17, generate, for each credit enhancement action in the identified set: an explanation of causative relationship between the credit enhancement action and potential credit score improvement, a quantitative projection of expected credit score change, and a sequence of steps required for action execution (see section 4.2. Kaggle dataset and Taiwan data 4.1 on page 74 col. 1).
Specifically as to claims 10 and 18, standardizing data formats from the plurality of disparate data sources; resolving conflicts between overlapping data from different sources; identifying and handling missing or incomplete data; and maintaining data consistency across all sources (see page 72, section 3, and page 73 col 1 “the condition 𝑥𝛽=𝑥𝛾 must be met. Consider 𝑥𝛽and𝑥𝛾 as the recent and historical inquiries, respectively. For An applicant with no inquiry record, an additional recent inquiry with(𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(1,0 )should produce a larger 𝑓 compared to an additional historical inquiry with (𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(0,1). However, we cannot directly compare the case of (𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(5,0) with the case of(𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(2,3).An applicant with a large 𝑥𝛽 might be affected by the diminishing marginal effect, and (𝑥𝛽,𝑥𝛾)=(2,3)”) ; extract, from the unified data structure, a plurality of features influencing the credit score (see page 72, col 2, 2.3 normalization factor).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to priority, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The standard for support as provided in 35 USC 112 (a) as reasoned above.
35 USC 101
Under Step 2A Prong 1, Applicant submits that the amended claims are eligible because they do not recite a judicial exception that falls within Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity groupings of abstract ideas and is inextricably ties to a machine , Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are directed to the abstract idea of collecting financial data, analyzing the data using integrated artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning (ML) models, explainable AI (XAI) and language action model (LAM) features to generate a real time credit score, and generating credit enhancement actions, which is clearly a "Commercial or Legal Interaction” of business relations by processing information through a calculation where the business relation is the relationship between a user seeking actionable insights into creditworthiness and financial health sources (determining how a user can improve in which specific features of credit to improve credit scores).that falls under a method of organizing human activity. Therefore, it seems reasonable for the Examiner to prefer to group the abstract idea under “Certain methods of organizing human activity”. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
The claims here do not recite an improvement in computers. The claims do not improve the functioning of the computer or solve any technological problem. Rather, the claim simply “includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” and “does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use”. The claim uses generic computer components and generic computer functionality to calculate a credit score and generate credit enhancement actions. The claims merely use instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or, alternatively, merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Here, the additional limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claims here are not directed to a specific improvement to computer functionality nor an inventive solution to any computer specific problem/internet-centric problem. Limiting the use of an abstract idea “‘to a particular technological environment’ does not confer patent eligibility as this cannot be considered an improvement to computer or technology and so cannot be “significantly more.”
In addition, Applicant submits that the claims show an integration of the technical improvement (improves neural network-based credit scoring model) into a practical application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees that the claims are directed to an improvement in computer technology. As found by the courts “In order for the addition of a machine to impose a meaningful limit on the scope of a claim, it must play a significant part in permitting the claimed method to be performed, rather than function solely as an obvious mechanism for permitting a solution to be achieved more quickly . . ..” SiRF Tech., Inc. v. Int'l Trade Comm'n, 601 F.3d 1319, 1333 (Fed. Cir. 2010); see also Content Extraction, 2013 WL 3964909, at *12 (“the mere use of a computer to more quickly and efficiently . . . accomplish a given task does not create meaningful limitation on an otherwise abstract and wide-ranging concept”).
A claim may be found to be eligible if it integrates a judicial exception into a practical application as cited by Applicant. However, examiner notes that "claiming the improved efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not provide an inventive concept (see MPEP §2106.05(f)(2).) Claiming improved data processing efficiency is inherent with applying any improvement to the judicial exception itself on a computer does not provide an inventive concept. The claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claims here are not directed to a specific improvement to computer functionality nor an inventive solution to any computer specific problem.
Under Step 2A, prong two, integration into a practical application requires an additional element(s) or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application are those that are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.-see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application include:
• Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
• Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition - see Vanda Memo
• Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
• Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing -see MPEP 2106.05(c)
• Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e).
In the instant case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, because none of the above criteria is met. The amended limitations of the claims do not result in computer functionality improvement or technical/technology improvement when the underlying abstract idea is implemented using technology. All the features in the Applicant’s claims can at best be considered an improvement in the abstract idea. The advantages over conventional systems are directed towards improving the abstract idea. Hence, the additional elements in the claims are all generic components suitably programmed to perform their respective functions (a processor configured to compute a credit score by applying a MNN model, enforcing Lipschitz constraints, implementing GroupSort activation function and generate a set of credit enhancement actions using XAI and LAM). The additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computer arrangement. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Hence, the claims as a whole are not integrated into a practical application.
The claims as a whole do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are generic computer components claimed to perform their basic functions. The processor is a general-purpose processor that performs general-purpose functions. The use of a machine learning model to find patterns and generate influencing features does not remove the claim from the abstract idea. The recitation of the claimed limitations amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer (using the processor as a tool to implement the abstract idea). Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, each step of the process performs purely generic computer functions. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. The claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements are simply a generic recitation of a computer processor performing its generic computer functions. Accordingly, claims are ineligible.
For these reasons the rejection under 35 USC § 101 directed to non-statutory subject matter set forth in this office action is maintained.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-18 as rejected under 35 USC 102 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chi et al. disclose how to introduce the monotonicity constraint in the credit risk evaluation model to ensure that the prediction result is consistent with the actual economic logic. Kharoub et al. disclose computing credit scoring with neural networks. Bryce et al. disclose using API calls in predicting credit scoring and usage, specifically what features have more or less of an impact on the score.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Kelly S. Campen
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3691
/KELLY S. CAMPEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kelly Campen whose telephone number is (571)272-6740. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6am-3pm.
Kelly S. Campen
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3691
/KELLY S. CAMPEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691