DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on 13 March 2024, 25 June 2024, and 9 July 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12315156, 10853938, 11763448, and 10679342. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate various user interfaces, improving user situational awareness.
Claims 3-4, 6, 9, 12-13, 15, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 and 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10853938. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to use the disposable, grooved, and barcode scannable containers in various applications.
Claims 5, 7, 14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11568537. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to use the indicating and absorbent container in various applications.
Examiner notes that the limitation of claims 1-2, 10-11, and 19 are not disclosed in the claims of previous patents listed above but are found in at least the specification. However, no disclosure of these limitations can be found in the Provisional Application 62/047325.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-10, 13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan (US 2010/0019042 A1) in view of Conley et al. (US 2009/0078606 A1) and Bachmann (US 5220970 A).
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 19, Barkan discloses a system for sterile compounding, comprising: a scale comprising: a base portion having an illumination source disposed therein [Barkan: FIG. 2]; and a platen supported by the base portion with a support to engage with a top surface of the scale [Barkan: FIG. 2], the platen comprising a light- transmissible portion configured to allow the illumination source to illuminate an object placed on the platen [Barkan: FIG. 2]; a housing including an image capture device therein, the image capture device having a field of view for capturing at least one image of an object placed on the platen [Barkan: FIG. 2]; and a user display in communication with the image capture device [Barkan: ¶ [0017] In one exemplary embodiment, the reader 10 is stationary and the image and decoder systems are supported within an interior region 18 of a housing 20 (see FIG. 1). The housing 20 may be integrated into a sales counter that of a point of sales system that includes, for example, a cash register, a touch screen visual display or other type user interface and a printer for generating sales receipts. The housing 20 depicted in FIG. 1 includes two transparent windows H, V], the user display configured to display information relating to the object. [Barkan: Claim 18: A multi-camera imaging-based bar code reader for imaging a target bar code on a target object, the bar code reader comprising: housing means supporting a plurality of transparent windows and defining an interior region bounded in part by the plurality of windows for imaging a target bar code; imaging means including a plurality of camera assemblies means coupled to an image processing system means wherein each camera assembly means of the plurality of camera assemblies means is positioned within the housing interior and define a field of view which is different than a field of view of each other camera assembly means of the plurality of camera assemblies means; sensing means for each camera assembly means including a sensor array, an imaging lens assembly for focusing the field of view of the camera assembly means onto the sensor array, and an illuminating device for shining light onto a camera assembly field of view; memory means for storing images from the sensing means; processing means for determining a presence of an object by activating one camera assembly, evaluating images from the one camera assembly and activating additional camera assemblies once an object is detected; and decoder means for evaluating images from a plurality of camera assemblies for determining a content of an identified bar code on a detected object].
Barkan may not explicitly disclose wherein the illumination source is configured to illuminate the light-transmissible portion with a visual indicator when a weight measured by the scale is within a target weight tolerance range.
However, Bachmann discloses wherein the illumination source is configured to illuminate the light-transmissible portion with a visual indicator when a weight measured by the scale is within a target weight tolerance range [Bachmann: Col. 3, ll. 37-45: The use of a common display device to indicate the tolerance range and to signal the quasi-stable standstill condition of the scale, in the case of optical indicators that either light up or are dark, leads to two possible solutions as regards standstill indication, in that the indicators either light up in the dynamic range of the weighing process and become dark when the stable range is reached, or are dark in the dynamic range and light up when entering the stable range].
Examiner notes, as written in the independent claims, the platen appears to be disclosed by the glass in a base portion of a standard bar code scanner. However, in the dependent claims it appears to suggest the platen is more of a tray, such as disclosed by Conley et al. (US 2009/0078606 A1), in ¶ [0028], which would have been obvious to combine with Barkan to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in order to improve the utility of products used in processes as well as the dynamic light indicator of Bachmann in order to provide the user with improved situational awareness.
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 10, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann discloses wherein the platen is configured to be disposable [Conley: ¶ [0032]].
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 10, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann discloses wherein the base portion further comprises a barcode scanner arranged therein [Barkan: Claim 18].
Claim(s) 2-3 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (US 2015/0010758 A1).
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 10, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann may not explicitly disclose wherein the platen further comprises a visual identifier configured to identify a center of the platen.
However, Ito discloses wherein the platen further comprises a visual identifier configured to identify a center of the platen [Ito: ¶ [109]: Moreover, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the imaging section 26A of the terminal device 26 that images the verification images may include a positioning means to determine the capture position of the tablet 30 that is subject to determination. In this example, a front face 26C of an imaging stage 26B on which the tablet 30 is placed is applied with a positioning marker 26D for identifying a capture position and capture orientation. Note that the positioning means is not limited to the illustrated marker or similar. For example, the positioning means may be configured by a recessed portion, such as a holder or pocket, that is indented in the shape of the tablets subject to management].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the refence identifier of Ito with the process of Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann in order to improve accuracy.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 10, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann may not explicitly disclose wherein the platen further comprises one or more grooves in an upper surface thereof.
However, Ito discloses wherein the platen further comprises one or more grooves in an upper surface thereof [Ito: FIG. 7].
Claim(s) 5, 7, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Stevens et al. (US 5011020).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 10, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Barkan in view of Conley may not explicitly disclose wherein the platen further comprises an absorbent material configured to absorb a liquid that contacts the platen.
However, Stevens discloses wherein the platen further comprises an absorbent material configured to absorb a liquid that contacts the platen [Stevens: Col. 1, ll. 57-62: In addition, it will usually include at least one absorbent pad on the removable tray, so that any materials which are spilled can be absorbed, thereby minimizing the risk of human contact with the toxic agents].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the absorbent material of Stevens with the process of Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann in order to minimize the risk of human contact with toxic agents.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 10, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann may not explicitly disclose wherein the platen further comprises a coating layer configured to indicate that a fluid has contacted the coating layer.
However, Stevens discloses wherein the platen further comprises a coating layer configured to indicate that a fluid has contacted the coating layer [Stevens: Col. 4, ll. 35-37].
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Koh (US 2006/0283766 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1 and 10, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann may not explicitly disclose wherein the platen further comprises a cover disposed over at least a portion of an upper surface thereof, and wherein the cover is configured to be disposable.
However, Koh discloses wherein the platen further comprises a cover disposed over at least a portion of an upper surface thereof, and wherein the cover is configured to be disposable [Koh: ¶ [0040]: FIG. 9a illustrates additional elements of the system including a tray cover 922 which could be constructed from clear plastic or any other suitable material to cover the pill counting tray. The edge 921 of the tray cover 922 may be outward sloping in order to prevent contamination of the disposable pill counting tray 405. FIG. 9b illustrates several tray covers 922 which have been stacked and nested together for convenient storage].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the lid of Koh with the process of Barkan in view of Conley and Bachmann in order to prevent contamination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: While use of illuminated lights to determine weight tolerance on a scale is known in the art, the use of change in colors to indicate a weight measured by the scale is within a target weight tolerance range along with all other limitations of the claims has not been found in the prior art.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482