DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 15 recite the limitation "configuration information" in line 8. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to revise as “the configuration information”.
Claims 2-10 are depending on claim 1 and claims 12-20 are depending on claim 15 and therefore they are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 13 recite “the second set of beams”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13-17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reial et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210360429 A1), hereinafter Reial, in view of Wu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200359445 A1), hereinafter Wu.
With respect to claim 1, Reial teaches A first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising ([0041], WCD):
a processor configured to ([0076], processor):
receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises beam sweep information ([0006], receiving beam sweeping information from a wireless communication device);
the beam sweep information ([0006], receiving beam sweeping information from a wireless communication device); and
based on configuration information ([0006], based on beam sweeping information).
Although Reial teaches receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises beam sweep information as set forth above. Reial does not explicitly teach to determine a set of beams to perform a beam pair link establishment with a second WTRU; determine the set of beams based on; send an indication of the set of beams to the second WTRU; and based on the determined set of beams, perform the beam pair link establishment with the second WTRU.
However, Wu teaches to determine a set of beams to perform a beam pair link establishment with a second WTRU ([0029], the second UE indicates a preferred transmission beam for the beam pair link); determine the set of beams based on ([0089], both the first UE 115-c and the second UE 115-d may perform beam sweeping operations to allow the other UE 115 to perform such measurements. Information may be exchanged between the UEs 115 that indicates the preferred beams); send an indication of the set of beams to the second WTRU ([0089], both the first UE 115-c and the second UE 115-d may perform beam sweeping operations to allow the other UE 115 to perform such measurements. Information may be exchanged between the UEs 115 that indicates the preferred beams); and based on the determined set of beams, perform the beam pair link establishment with the second WTRU ([0029, 0089], determined set of beams, [0044], a beam sweeping procedure used to maintain or modify a beam pair link between UEs using beamformed communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises beam sweep information as set forth above. Reial does not explicitly teach to determine a set of beams to perform a beam pair link establishment with a second WTRU; determine the set of beams based on; send an indication of the set of beams to the second WTRU; and based on the determined set of beams, perform the beam pair link establishment with the second WTRU, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial does not explicitly teach wherein the set of beams is a first set of beams, wherein the processor is further configured to receive an indication of a second set of beams from the second WTRU, and wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the indication of the second set of beams.
However, Wu teaches wherein the set of beams is a first set of beams ([0089]), wherein the processor is further configured to receive an indication of a second set of beams from the second WTRU ([0029, 0089]), and wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the indication of the second set of beams ([0029, 0044, 0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, wherein the set of beams is a first set of beams, wherein the processor is further configured to receive an indication of a second set of beams from the second WTRU, and wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the indication of the second set of beams, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration information comprises reporting configuration information, and wherein the processor is configured to receive the indication of the second set of beams based on the reporting configuration information.
However, Wu teaches wherein the configuration information comprises reporting configuration information, and wherein the processor is configured to receive the indication of the second set of beams based on the reporting configuration information ([0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, wherein the configuration information comprises reporting configuration information, and wherein the processor is configured to receive the indication of the second set of beams based on the reporting configuration information, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive an indication from a network node and based on the indication ([0006]).
Reial does not explicitly teach to establish the beam pair link with the second WTRU, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the set of beams based on the indication.
However, Wu teaches to establish the beam pair link with the second WTRU, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the set of beams based on the ([0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, to establish the beam pair link with the second WTRU, and wherein the processor is configured to determine the set of beams based on the, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial does not explicitly teach wherein the indication comprises a quality of service (QOS) requirement, and wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the QoS requirement.
However, Wu teaches wherein the indication comprises a quality of service (QOS) requirement ([0092]), and wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the QoS requirement ([0029, 0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, wherein the indication comprises a quality of service (QOS) requirement, and wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the QoS requirement, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to determine one or more frequency resources or one or more time domain resources, based on the configuration information, to determine the set of beams.
However, Wu teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine one or more frequency resources or one or more time domain resources, based on the configuration information, to determine the set of beams ([0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, wherein the processor is configured to determine one or more frequency resources or one or more time domain resources, based on the configuration information, to determine the set of beams, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to send an indicator to the second WTRU, wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the indicator.
However, Wu teaches wherein the processor is configured to send an indicator to the second WTRU ([0089]), wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the indicator ([0029, 0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, wherein the processor is configured to send an indicator to the second WTRU, wherein the processor is configured to perform the beam pair link establishment based on the indicator, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial does not explicitly teach wherein the beam link establishment is performed based on one or more of: a quality of service (QOS) value.
However, Wu teaches wherein the beam link establishment is performed based on one or more of: a quality of service (QOS) value ([0029, 0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, wherein the beam link establishment is performed based on one or more of: a quality of service (QOS) value, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial teaches wherein the processor is configured to send one or more reference signals via the set of beams ([0051]).
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Reial and Wu teaches the WTRU of claim 1. Reial does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: receive information to perform a beam refinement procedure; and perform the beam refinement procedure based on the received information.
However, Wu teaches wherein the processor is configured to: receive information to perform a beam refinement procedure ([0044]); and perform the beam refinement procedure based on the received information ([0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, wherein the processor is configured to: receive information to perform a beam refinement procedure; and perform the beam refinement procedure based on the received information, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 11, Reial teaches A method performed by a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the method comprising ([0041], a method performed by a WCD):
receiving configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises beam sweep information ([0006], receiving beam sweeping information from a wireless communication device);
the beam sweep information ([0006], receiving beam sweeping information from a wireless communication device); and
based on configuration information ([0006], based on beam sweeping information).
Although Reial teaches receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises beam sweep information as set forth above. Reial does not explicitly teach to determine a set of beams to perform a beam pair link establishment with a second WTRU; determine the set of beams based on; send an indication of the set of beams to the second WTRU; and based on the determined set of beams, perform the beam pair link establishment with the second WTRU.
However, Wu teaches to determine a set of beams to perform a beam pair link establishment with a second WTRU ([0029], the second UE indicates a preferred transmission beam for the beam pair link); determine the set of beams based on ([0089], both the first UE 115-c and the second UE 115-d may perform beam sweeping operations to allow the other UE 115 to perform such measurements. Information may be exchanged between the UEs 115 that indicates the preferred beams);
send an indication of the set of beams to the second WTRU ([0089], both the first UE 115-c and the second UE 115-d may perform beam sweeping operations to allow the other UE 115 to perform such measurements. Information may be exchanged between the UEs 115 that indicates the preferred beams); and based on the determined set of beams, perform the beam pair link establishment with the second WTRU ([0029, 0089], determined set of beams, [0044], a beam sweeping procedure used to maintain or modify a beam pair link between UEs using beamformed communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wu, receive configuration information, wherein the configuration information comprises beam sweep information as set forth above. Reial does not explicitly teach to determine a set of beams to perform a beam pair link establishment with a second WTRU; determine the set of beams based on; send an indication of the set of beams to the second WTRU; and based on the determined set of beams, perform the beam pair link establishment with the second WTRU, into the teachings of Reial, in order to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support radio link maintenance for sidelink wireless communications (Wu, [0005]).
With respect to claim 12, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 13, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 14, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 15, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 5, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 16, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 6, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 17, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 18, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 8, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 19, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 9, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 20, this claim recites the WTRU of claim 10, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20190254110 A1; “He”, ([0220])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469