DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
On pages 3-5 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that the combination of Geisler and Zass fails to disclose an environmental database storing environmental data, generating a location-associated script for environmental data, or compositing infographics representing environmental data.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Zass discloses a system for providing personalized weather forecast videos. Specifically, Zass discloses obtaining a weather forecast and obtaining a personalized profile associated with a user, using the personalized profile to select at least one characteristic of a character; generating a personalized script related to the weather forecast; and generating an output video of the character presenting the generated personalized script. The weather forecast may be read from memory, received through a communication network using a communication device, or may receive the weather forecast from an external device ([0515], [0521]-[0522]). The generated personalized script corresponds to a weather forecast and is related to the geographical location associated with the user ([0514]-[0515], [0525], Fig. 29). Lastly, Zass discloses that a background may include a depiction related to the weather forecast (for example, an image and/or a video of a location related to the weather forecast, a map related to the weather forecast, a graphical presentation of a weather forecast for a plurality of future days, a graphical summary related to the weather in past days, a graphic presentation of the current weather, and so forth) ([0525]).
Therefore, Zass discloses an environmental database storing environmental data, generating a location-associated script for environmental data, or compositing infographics representing environmental data.
On pages 5-6 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues with respect to claim 2 that the Examiner has conflated an end-consumer viewing profile database with a commercial “client database.” In the present invention, the client database stores commercial advertising client information, discreet physical business locations, and campaign targeting data. Zass fails to teach a client database as claimed.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the claim merely recites “a client database” and does not preclude an end-consumer viewing profile database as discussed in Zass. Examiner notes that the claims and only the claims form the metes and bounds of the invention. "Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure." In re Morris', 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-1055, 44USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). "Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim." In re Prater, 415 F.2d, 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969) (MPEP p 2100-8, c 2, 1 45-48; p 2100-9, c 1, 1 1-4). The Examiner has full latitude to interpret each claim in the broadest reasonable sense. Examiner will reference prior art using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler et al. (US Pub. 2025/0316010, which claims priority to 63/575,067 and 63/650,062) in view of Zass et al. (US Pub. 2020/0166670), herein referenced as Geisler and Zass, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Geisler discloses “A system for generating a hyperlocal video (Figs. 2, 4), the system comprising: at least one database…; and at least one computing node operatively coupled to the at least one database ([0182]-[0185], Figs. 2, 21), wherein the at least one computing node is configured to:
a generate a script… using a generative Al model ([0050]-[0051], [0080], [0099], Fig. 2, i.e., script generation module 212 generates a script using a large language model (LLM) that can be a generative model (e.g., artificial intelligence model));
generate a video segment based on the script, the video segment comprising an avatar delivering the script ([0048]-[0054], [0061], Fig. 2, i.e., avatar library 224 includes different avatars for selection, wherein the avatar performs the script. For example, the avatar is presented as speaking the words of the generated script);
composite the video segment with additional data to generate an output video ([0053]-[0056], [0059], Fig. 2, i.e., video assembly and arrangement module 214 can assemble video with background images and music); and deliver the output video to a delivery device.” ([0062], [0083], Figs. 2, 4, 18, 19-A-C, i.e., the final video is output by video output 220).
Geisler fails to explicitly disclose at least one database, wherein the at least one database includes an environmental database storing environmental data; and retrieve the environmental data associated with a physical location from the environmental database; generate a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model; wherein additional data comprises one or more infographics representing the environmental data.
Zass teaches the technique of providing at least one database, wherein the at least one database includes an environmental database storing environmental data ([0515], [0521]-[0522], i.e., obtaining a weather forecast. For example, Step 2902 may read the weather forecast from memory, may receive the weather forecast through a communication network using a communication device, may receive the weather forecast from an external device, may receive the weather forecast from a user, may generate the weather forecast (for example, based on satellite images, based on weather radar images, etc.), and so forth); and retrieve the environmental data associated with a physical location from the environmental database ([0514]-[0515], [0521]-[0522], Fig. 29, i.e., weather forecast related to a geographical location); generate a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model ([0514]-[0515], [0525], Fig. 29, i.e., a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to generate videos of characters presenting scripts from characteristics of characters and/or scripts, and step 2910 may use the trained machine learning model to generate the output video from the selected at least one characteristic of a character and/or the generated personalized script); wherein additional data comprises one or more infographics representing the environmental data ([0525], i.e., the background may include a depiction related to the weather forecast (for example, an image and/or a video of a location related to the weather forecast, a map related to the weather forecast, a graphical presentation of a weather forecast for a plurality of future days, a graphical summary related to the weather in past days, a graphic presentation of the current weather, and so forth)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing at least one database, wherein the at least one database includes an environmental database storing environmental data; and retrieve the environmental data associated with a physical location from the environmental database; generate a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model; wherein additional data comprises one or more infographics representing the environmental data as taught by Zass, to improve the video generation system of Geisler for the predictable result of generating personalized weather forecasts and providing new and improved ways for generating artificial voice for dubbing ([0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Geisler discloses generating video using user preferences ([0156]-[0157], [0161], [0167]), however fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the at least one database includes a client database.”
Zass teaches the technique of providing a client database ([0221], [0234], Fig. 4A, i.e., preferences of the user may be included in a user profile and stored in database 414). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a client database as taught by Zass, to improve the video generation system of Geisler for the predictable result of saving and storing user preferences for later use.
Regarding claim 3, Geisler discloses “wherein the at least one computing node is further configured to receive client data from the client … and wherein the generative Al model generates the script to include a script portion based on the client data.” ([0156]-[0157], [0161], [0167], Figs. 16-17, i.e., additional preferences can include a selection of video elements of what on-screen talent the user would like (digital avatar), what voices, and what music the user prefers).
Regarding claim 4, Geisler discloses “wherein the client data includes a location, wherein the script is customized to the location.” ([0045], [0091], i.e., user defined characteristics can include geographic location).
Regarding claim 5, Geisler discloses “wherein the at least one computing node is further configured to receive a background … wherein the additional data comprises the background, and wherein the compositing includes overlying the video segment atop the background.” ([0056], [0104], i.e., video assembly can also include background images or video. For example, if the product is a brand of coconut water, images or video of tropical beach settings can be used in the background. In another example, if the target audience is located in a particular city, images related to that city can be obtained).
Regarding claim 6, Geisler discloses “wherein the at least one computing node is further configured to receive auxiliary data from the client database, wherein the additional data comprises the auxiliary data, and wherein the compositing further comprises inserting the auxiliary data into the output video.” ([0042]-[0046], [0053], i.e., product images 202, product videos 204, product description 206, and user defined characteristics 208 can be added to the video. In particular, given a particular script and set of assets including the avatar and image content, for example, product images, the video assembly selection and arrangement module 214 determines an ordered sequence of scenes to compose the overall video).
Regarding claim 11, Geisler discloses “A method of generating a hyperlocal video (Figs. 2, 4), the method comprising: …generating a script…. using a generative Al model ([0050]-[0051], [0080], [0099], Fig. 2, i.e., script generation module 212 generates a script using a large language model (LLM) that can be a generative model (e.g., artificial intelligence model));
generating a video segment based on the script, the video segment comprising an avatar delivering the script ([0048]-[0054], [0061], Fig. 2, i.e., avatar library 224 includes different avatars for selection, wherein the avatar performs the script. For example, the avatar is presented as speaking the words of the generated script);
compositing the video segment with additional data to generate an output video… ([0053]-[0056], [0059], Fig. 2, i.e., video assembly and arrangement module 214 can assemble video with background images and music); and delivering the output video to a delivery device.” ([0062], [0083], Figs. 2, 4, 18, 19-A-C, i.e., the final video is output by video output 220).
Geisler fails to explicitly disclose retrieving environmental data associated with a physical location from an environmental database; generating a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model; wherein the additional data comprising one or more infographics representing the environmental data.
Zass teaches the technique of retrieving environmental data associated with a physical location from an environmental database ([0515], [0521]-[0522], i.e., obtaining a weather forecast. For example, Step 2902 may read the weather forecast from memory, may receive the weather forecast through a communication network using a communication device, may receive the weather forecast from an external device, may receive the weather forecast from a user, may generate the weather forecast (for example, based on satellite images, based on weather radar images, etc.), and so forth); generating a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model ([0514]-[0515], [0525], Fig. 29, i.e., a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to generate videos of characters presenting scripts from characteristics of characters and/or scripts, and step 2910 may use the trained machine learning model to generate the output video from the selected at least one characteristic of a character and/or the generated personalized script); wherein the additional data comprising one or more infographics representing the environmental data ([0525], i.e., the background may include a depiction related to the weather forecast (for example, an image and/or a video of a location related to the weather forecast, a map related to the weather forecast, a graphical presentation of a weather forecast for a plurality of future days, a graphical summary related to the weather in past days, a graphic presentation of the current weather, and so forth)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of retrieving environmental data associated with a physical location from an environmental database; generating a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model; wherein the additional data comprising one or more infographics representing the environmental data as taught by Zass, to improve the video generation system of Geisler for the predictable result of generating personalized weather forecasts and providing new and improved ways for generating artificial voice for dubbing ([0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Geisler discloses “receiving client data, wherein the generative Al model generates the script to include a script portion based on the client data.” ([0156]-[0157], [0161], [0167], Figs. 16-17, i.e., additional preferences can include a selection of video elements of what on-screen talent the user would like (digital avatar), what voices, and what music the user prefers).
Regarding claim 13, Geisler discloses “wherein the client data includes a location, wherein the script is customized to the location.” ([0045], [0091], i.e., user defined characteristics can include geographic location).
Regarding claim 14, Geisler discloses “wherein the additional data comprises the background, and wherein the compositing includes overlying the video segment atop the background.” ([0056], [0104], i.e., video assembly can also include background images or video. For example, if the product is a brand of coconut water, images or video of tropical beach settings can be used in the background. In another example, if the target audience is located in a particular city, images related to that city can be obtained).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, Geisler discloses “A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer executable instructions which, when executed by at least one computer processor ([0182]-[0185], Figs. 2, 21), cause the at least one computer processor to carry out a method of generating a hyperlocal video, the method comprising:
generating a script using a generative Al model ([0050]-[0051], [0080], [0099], Fig. 2, i.e., script generation module 212 generates a script using a large language model (LLM) that can be a generative model (e.g., artificial intelligence model));
generating a video segment based on the script, the video segment comprising an avatar delivering the script ([0048]-[0054], [0061], Fig. 2, i.e., avatar library 224 includes different avatars for selection, wherein the avatar performs the script. For example, the avatar is presented as speaking the words of the generated script);
compositing the video segment with additional data to generate an output video ([0053]-[0056], [0059], Fig. 2, i.e., video assembly and arrangement module 214 can assemble video with background images and music); and delivering the output video to a delivery device.” ([0062], [0083], Figs. 2, 4, 18, 19-A-C, i.e., the final video is output by video output 220).
Geisler fails to explicitly disclose retrieving environmental data associated with a physical location from an environmental database; generating a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model; wherein the additional data comprising one or more infographics representing the environmental data.
Zass teaches the technique of retrieving environmental data associated with a physical location from an environmental database ([0515], [0521]-[0522], i.e., obtaining a weather forecast. For example, Step 2902 may read the weather forecast from memory, may receive the weather forecast through a communication network using a communication device, may receive the weather forecast from an external device, may receive the weather forecast from a user, may generate the weather forecast (for example, based on satellite images, based on weather radar images, etc.), and so forth); generating a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model ([0514]-[0515], [0525], Fig. 29, i.e., a machine learning model may be trained using training examples to generate videos of characters presenting scripts from characteristics of characters and/or scripts, and step 2910 may use the trained machine learning model to generate the output video from the selected at least one characteristic of a character and/or the generated personalized script); wherein the additional data comprising one or more infographics representing the environmental data ([0525], i.e., the background may include a depiction related to the weather forecast (for example, an image and/or a video of a location related to the weather forecast, a map related to the weather forecast, a graphical presentation of a weather forecast for a plurality of future days, a graphical summary related to the weather in past days, a graphic presentation of the current weather, and so forth)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of retrieving environmental data associated with a physical location from an environmental database; generating a script associated with the physical location based on the environmental data using a generative AI model; wherein the additional data comprising one or more infographics representing the environmental data as taught by Zass, to improve the video generation system of Geisler for the predictable result of generating personalized weather forecasts and providing new and improved ways for generating artificial voice for dubbing ([0002]-[0004]).
Claims 7, 9, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler in view of Zass and in further view of Raichelgauz et al. (US Pub. 2015/0379751), herein referenced as Raichelgauz.
Regarding claim 7, the combination fails to disclose “wherein the auxiliary data comprises a QR code.”
Raichelgauz teaches the technique of providing wherein the auxiliary data comprises a QR code ([0012], [0023]-[0024], [0030], i.e., embedding codes in multimedia content, wherein the code may be a quick response code (QR code), a digital watermark, a shot code, semacode, a data matrix code, and the like). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the auxiliary data comprises a QR code as taught by Raichelgauz, to improve the video generation system of Geisler for the predictable result of allowing users to obtain additional related information by seamlessly embedding codes in multimedia elements ([0009]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination fails to disclose “wherein the at least one computing node is further configured to implement a watermarker, the watermarker configured to apply a watermark to the output video.”
Raichelgauz teaches the technique of providing wherein the at least one computing node is further configured to implement a watermarker, the watermarker configured to apply a watermark to the output video ([0012], [0023]-[0024], [0030], i.e., embedding codes in multimedia content, wherein the code may be a quick response code (QR code), a digital watermark, a shot code, semacode, a data matrix code, and the like). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the at least one computing node is further configured to implement a watermarker, the watermarker configured to apply a watermark to the output video as taught by Raichelgauz, to improve the video generation system of Geisler for the predictable result of allowing users to obtain additional related information by seamlessly embedding codes in multimedia elements ([0009]-[0010]).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 9.
Claims 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisler in view of Zass and in further view of Friedman et al. (US Pub. 2018/0020168), herein referenced as Friedman.
Regarding claim 10, the combination fails to disclose “wherein the video segment is keyed.”
Friedman teaches the technique of providing wherein the video segment is keyed ([0004], [0035]-[0036], i.e., chroma-keying using a software application wherein a picture of the person is separated into its component parts-the live person and the background screen). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing wherein the video segment is keyed as taught by Friedman, to improve the video generation system of Geisler for the predictable result of allowing users total control and enhanced creativity for video production.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is interpreted and thus rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER Q HUERTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 October 22, 2026