DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-23 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 101/112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/21/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10, 15-16, and 22-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van (US20140154185) in view of Xu (“Dynamic Glucose Enhanced (DGE) MRI for Combined Imaging of Blood–Brain Barrier Break Down and Increased Blood Volume in Brain Cancer”).
Regarding claim 1, Van teaches a method for at least one of magnetic resonance (MR) imaging (MRI) or spectroscopy (MRS) on an MR scanner for detecting the presence of a changed amount of a substance (“method for magnetic resonance (MR) imaging or spectroscopy on a MR scanner to detect tissue physiological parameters” abst) containing exchangeable protons in one or more tissue areas in a human or non-human subject (Claim 1, Abstract, [0009], [0033], [0038-0039], wherein sugar is the substance and changes to sugar concentration as a function of time is measured/detected, [0041-0042], [0064]), comprising:
subjecting the subject to an MR procedure capable of generating MR signals encoding at least one tissue area in the subject in which the amount of said substance is changing (Claim 1, Abstract, [0009], [0033], [0039], “… to measure changes in sugar concentration as a function of time”, [0041], “…recorded signals before and after a dose of sugar is administered to the subject 102 under observation to introduce a change in concentration of exchangeable protons to the tissue area”, [0042], [0064]);
acquiring at least one water saturation spectrum (Z-spectra) with a substantial direct water saturation (DS) component in the subject before and after a change in the amount of the substance (Fig. 4D, [0021], [0052], [0056], wherein figure 4D shows a Z-spectra with a substantial direct water saturation DS component, i.e. the trough at 0 ppm);
detecting at least one of a tissue-based or temporal variation as a consequence of the change in the amount of the substance (Fig. 2B, Claim 1, Abstract, [0009], [0043]);
determining at least one tissue-related parameter from the tissue-based or temporal variation (Fig. 2B, Claim 1, Abstract, [0009], “determining at least one tissue-related parameter from the temporal variation”, [0041], [0044], [0071-0072]); and
ascertaining whether the at least one tissue-related parameter is abnormal (Claims 1 & 3, Abstract, [0009], [0042]).
However, Van fails to teach wherein the detecting at least one of a tissue-based or temporal variation is in a width, a shape, or an integral of the DS component.
In an analogous magnetic resonance imaging procedure field of endeavor, Xu teaches such a feature. Xu teaches using dynamic glucose enhanced MRI to measure tissue response to an intravenous bolus of glucose; time-resolved glucose signal changes were detected using chemical exchange saturation transfer MRI (Page 1556 left column). Xu teaches acquiring the Z-spectra before and after glucose injection in a tumor and in a contralateral brain (Fig. 6, Page 1559 right column). Xu discloses the width of the Z-spectra shows significant broadening in the tumor (Fig. 6a, Page 1559 right column), therefore showing a temporal variation (before vs after). Xu teaches glucose reduces the water T2 relaxation through exchange, broadening the direct water saturation curve (DS component), which broadening effect can be seen in the Z-spectra acquired prior and post injection in the tumor region (Page 1561 right column, first paragraph). Xu further teaches wherein large tumors caused narrowing of the Z-spectra after injection (Page 1557 left column, “Implantation of Human Cancer Cells in Mice”). Xu therefore teaches detecting at least one of a tissue-based (tumor vs contralateral brain) or temporal variation (prior vs post glucose injection) in a width of the DS component (direct water saturation curve/Z-spectra).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Van to measure DS width as taught by Xu (Fig. 6a, Page 1559 right column, Page 1561 right column, first paragraph, Page 1557 left column, “Implantation of Human Cancer Cells in Mice”). Van teaches assessing tissue metabolism and perfusion ([0004], [0044]). Xu discloses MTRasym shows negligible differences in both tumor and brain, indicating that the longer-term difference was due only to broadening of the Z-spectrum and not due to a CEST based effect (Page 1561, right column). By measuring the DS width, a persistent glucose effect may be measured and analyzed and may also allow detection of tumors as shown by Xu.
Regarding claim 2, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Van further teaches wherein the substance containing exchangeable protons is at least one of a sugar or another carbohydrate or another chemical exchange saturation transfer (CEST) agent ([0033], “Detection of the administered sugar can employ MR procedures capable of generating signals from the changes in the water resonance due to the presence of the exchangeable protons in said sugar”, [0038], [0041], [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 2.
Van further teaches wherein the change in the amount of the substance containing exchangeable protons is due to one of administration of the substance to the subject or due to a physiological change in concentration of the substance induced in the subject through at least one of an intervention, a task, or a tissue-type change (Abstract, [0009], “administering to the subject a contrast enhancing physiologically tolerable amount of a sugar”, [0033], [0041], [0064]; sugar is administered).
Regarding claim 4, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 3.
Van further teaches wherein the at least one tissue-related parameter comprises at least one of delivery of the substance to the tissue area, uptake into that tissue area (Fig. 4, [0041], [0052]), transport of the substance into the tissue area, metabolism of the substance in the tissue area ([0041], [0044], “tissue sugar metabolism”), a pass-through-speed or pass-through-amount of the substance through the tissue area, a perfusion parameter, a blood volume, a pH, or a permeability parameter ([0041], “The physiologic parameter may include, for example, tissue uptake or metabolism or a perfusion parameter (blood flow, blood volume, blood transit time, tissue permeability) or tissue pH”, [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 3.
Van further teaches wherein the tissue-type change comprises at least one of a cancer, a vascular disease, an ischemia, a tissue degeneration, a tissue inflammation, or an infection (Claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 3.
Van further teaches wherein the at least one tissue area comprises one of a brain, an esophagus, a breast, a pancreas, a small intestine, a colon, a lung, a rectum, a liver, a kidney, a prostate, a uterus, a testicle, a muscle, a joint, a spine, a tumor, or a bone (Claim 4, [0037], [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 3.
Van further teaches wherein the administration comprises one of an intravenous (i.v.) administration, an oral administration, an intraperitoneal (i.p.) administration, an intranasal administration, or an administration of a gas through breathing ([0033], “administration comprises intravascular administering… In another embodiment, the invention employs oral administration and ingestion… In yet another embodiment, any other method of administration known to those skilled in the field can be used”).
Regarding claim 22, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Van further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising non-transient computer executable code, which when executed on a computer, causes the computer to perform the method according to claim 1 ([0010], “A computer-readable medium according to an embodiment of the current invention includes software instructions, which software instructions when executed by a computer, causes the computer, in conjunction with said MR scanner, to implement methods according to embodiments of the current invention”, [0073], “Computing engine 703 may be a computer with at least one central processing unit (CPU) and a plurality of memories”; software instructions executed by a CPU with memory are necessarily stored on a physical, non-transitory medium).
Regarding claim 23, Van in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Van further teaches an MRI or MRS system comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 1 ([0010], “A computer-readable medium according to an embodiment of the current invention includes software instructions, which software instructions when executed by a computer, causes the computer, in conjunction with said MR scanner, to implement methods according to embodiments of the current invention”, wherein the computer in conjunction with the MR scanner comprises an MRI system comprising a processor configured to perform the method, the computer having the processor, [0073], “Computing engine 703 may be a computer with at least one central processing unit (CPU) and a plurality of memories”).
Claims 8-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van ‘185 (US20140154185) in view of Xu (“Dynamic Glucose Enhanced (DGE) MRI for Combined Imaging of Blood–Brain Barrier Break Down and Increased Blood Volume in Brain Cancer”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van ‘502 (US20100286502).
Regarding claim 8, Van ‘185 in view of Xu teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Van ‘185 fails to teach wherein acquiring at least one water saturation spectrum (or Z-spectrum) with a substantial direct water saturation (DS) component includes acquiring one or more image volume elements (voxels), corresponding to at least one of a spatial 1D, 2D, or 3D map of such Z-spectra.
In an analogous CEST MRI field of endeavor, Van ‘502 teaches such a feature. Van ‘502 teaches acquiring a spatial map of the Z-spectra (Abstract, [0025]). Van ‘502 further teaches wherein the Z-spectrum can be obtained on a per-voxel basis to form a Z-image ([0005], [0026-0028]). Van ‘502 teaches providing a Z-spectrum at all voxel locations of a spatial map (Claim 4). Moreover, Van ‘502 teaches wherein the Z-spectra is dominated by direct water saturation effects (Claim 1, [0014], [0025]). Van ‘502 therefore teaches wherein acquiring a Z-spectrum with a substantial direct water saturation (DS) component includes acquiring one or more image volume elements (voxels), corresponding to at least one of a spatial map of the Z-spectra.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Van ‘185 to obtain the Z-spectra at each voxel and create a spatial map of the Z-spectra as taught by Van ‘502 (Claim 4, [0005], [0026-0028]). A spatial map of the Z-spectra which covers an entire tissue area/volume may provide a clinician with much more information of a target such as a tumor/lesion than compared to a Z-spectra of a single location or voxel of the target.
Regarding claim 9, Van ‘185 in view of Xu and Van ‘502 teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Van ‘185 fails to teach wherein the Z-spectra are acquired using one or more radiofrequency field (RF) pulses with a combined total RF field strength B1 and total RF saturation duration (tsat) that is sufficiently limited to produce a Z-spectrum dominated by the DS component, and that the DS component is sufficiently symmetric around the water frequency.
In an analogous CEST MRI field of endeavor, Van ‘502 teaches such a feature. Van ‘502 teaches acquiring a spatial map of the Z-spectra (Abstract, [0025]). Van ‘502 teaches using an RF saturation pulse of sufficiently low saturation power and sufficiently short duration such that the Z-spectra are dominated by direct water saturation effects and are substantially symmetric around the water center frequency ([0006], [0025]). Van ‘502 further teaches using a low field strength for WASSR and CEST acquisitions ([0045], “…at this low field strength”, [0047], “…it is desired that the magnetic field be unchanged between the WASSR and CEST acquisitions”). Moreover, the RF pulse emitted intrinsically includes an RF field strength B1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Van ‘185 to acquire the Z-spectra using an RF pulse with a combined RF field strength and saturation duration sufficient to produce a Z-spectrum dominated by the DS component and that the DS component is symmetric around the water frequency as taught by Van ‘502 ([0006], [0025], [0045], [0047]). By having the Z-spectrum be dominated by the DS component and having the DS component be symmetric, symmetry analysis may be performed to generate a spatial map of the water frequency to correct CEST data and to visualize the CEST effect as recognized by Van ‘185 (Abstract, [0006], [0026], [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Van ‘185 in view of Xu and Van ‘502 teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 9.
However Van ‘185 fails to teach in which the detecting of at least one of a tissue-based or temporal variation in the width or integral of the DS component as a consequence of a change in the amount of the substance is performed using at least one spectral assessment approach.
In an analogous magnetic resonance imaging procedure field of endeavor, Xu teaches such a feature. Xu teaches using dynamic glucose enhanced MRI to measure tissue response to an intravenous bolus of glucose; time-resolved glucose signal changes were detected using chemical exchange saturation transfer MRI (Page 1556 left column). Xu teaches acquiring the Z-spectra before and after glucose injection in a tumor and in a contralateral brain (Fig. 6, Page 1559 right column). Xu discloses the width of the Z-spectra shows significant broadening in the tumor (Fig. 6a, Page 1559 right column), therefore showing a temporal variation (before vs after). Xu teaches glucose reduces the water T2 relaxation through exchange, broadening the direct water saturation curve (DS component), which broadening effect can be seen in the Z-spectra acquired prior and post injection in the tumor region (Page 1561 right column, first paragraph). Xu further teaches wherein large tumors caused narrowing of the Z-spectra after injection (Page 1557 left column, “Implantation of Human Cancer Cells in Mice”). Xu therefore teaches using a spectral assessment approach (wherein Xu assesses the width of the Z-spectra) for detecting the tissue-based or temporal variation in the width of the DS component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Van ‘185 to assess the Z-spectra for determining the broadening of the direct water saturation curve as taught by Xu (Page 1561 right column first paragraph, Fig. 6, Page 1559 right column). Broadening of the DS curve or component may be seen in the Z-spectra as recognized by Xu (Page 1561 right column, first paragraph) and may allow detection of a tumor as further recognized by Xu (Fig. 6, Page 1559 right column).
Regarding claim 15, Van ‘185 in view of Xu and Van ‘502 teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 8.
However, Van ‘185 fails to teach wherein the Z-spectra are acquired using sufficiently high saturation field strength (B1) and length (tsat) to generate a detectable DS-component asymmetry due to a presence of fast or intermediate exchange of protons between the substance and water.
In an analogous CEST MRI field of endeavor, Van ‘502 teaches such a feature. Van ‘502 teaches acquiring a spatial map of the Z-spectra (Abstract, [0025]). Van ‘502 teaches CEST data acquisition entails acquiring the spatial map of Z-spectra using an RF saturation pulse of sufficiently high saturation power (i.e. field strength) and sufficiently long duration such that the Z-spectra exhibits a CEST feature and are substantially asymmetric ([0025]). Van ‘502 teaches in a phantom, the glycoCEST effect appears as asymmetric broadening of the direct water saturation (i.e. DS) curve ([0049]). Van ‘502 teaches wherein CEST employs selective RF irradiation of exchangeable solute protons which are detected through saturation of the water signal consequential to chemical exchange, i.e. exchange of protons between a substance and water ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Van ‘185 to perform CEST data acquisition using a RF pulse of sufficiently high saturation power and sufficiently long duration such that the Z-spectra and DS component are substantially symmetric as taught by Van ‘502 ([0025], [0049]). By using such power and duration, a CEST feature may be exhibited and analyzed, allowing to confirm presence the presence of a particular substance/molecule of interest for diagnosis.
Regarding claim 16, Van ‘185 in view of Xu and Van ‘502 teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 15.
However Van ‘185 fails to teach wherein the detecting of at least one of a tissue-based or temporal variation in the width, integral, or shape asymmetry of the DS component as a consequence of a change in the amount of the substance is performed using at least one spectral assessment approach.
In an analogous CEST MRI field of endeavor, Van ‘502 teaches such a feature. Van ’502 teaches obtaining CEST images/maps at an offset frequency where glycogen CEST signals are expected to be optimal and acquiring CEST Z-spectra (Figs. 4A-4B, [0040]). Van ‘502 teaches detecting asymmetric broadening of the direct water saturation (DS) curve (Figs. 4A-4B, [0040], [0049]). Because Van ‘502 teaches symmetry analysis of the DS spectral curve, Van ‘502 therefore teaches using at least one spectral assessment (symmetry analysis of the DS curve) approach for detecting shape asymmetry of the DS spectral component. Van ‘185 above teaches wherein the detection is of temporal variation, i.e. before and after infusion of glucose/sugar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Van ‘185 to detect shape asymmetry in the DS curve as taught by Van ‘502 (Figs. 4A-4B, [0049]). By detecting shape asymmetry of the DS curve, the presence of glucose or sugar may be detected as recognized by Van ‘502 ([0049], “the glycoCEST effect thus appears as an asymmetric broadening of the direct water saturation curve”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 and 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Within the context of claims 11, 17, and claims dependent therefrom, the prior arts cited fail to teach fitting of the DS component and/or Z-spectrum using three separate methods, i.e. interpolation, shape fitting, and Fourier transform, and additionally determining measurements such as width, integral, and/or asymmetry from each fitting method. Moreover, the prior arts cited fail to teach “fitting a resulting time-domain signal to determine at least one of a signal decay rate or signal integral followed by determining the width of the DS component from the decay rate of the time-domain signal” and “applying low-rank methods to the Z-spectrum to determine at least one of width, integral, or shape asymmetry of the DS component from motion and other artifacts”.
The most relevant prior art cited is Van ‘502 (US20100286502). Van ‘502 teaches chemical exchange saturation transfer (CEST) imaging and using a water saturation shift referencing (WASSR)-corrected CEST technique which involves acquiring both WASSR data and CEST data, each resulting in their own Z-spectrum ([0025]). Van ‘502 teaches various fitting algorithms on the Z-spectrum of the WASSR data including interpolation, fitting to a Lorentzian shape, and Fourier transform followed by zero-filling ([0026]). Van ‘502 teaches using similar fitting algorithms for the Z-spectrum of the CEST data including interpolation, fast Fourier transform (FFT), inverse FFT, line broadening (apodization), and zero-padding ([0028], [0038]). However, Van ‘502 fails to teach performing each method of fitting of the DS component and determining width, frequency, integral, and/or asymmetry from each method of fitting. In addition, Van ‘502 fails to explicitly teach baseline correcting, fitting a resulting time-domain signal to determine at least one of signal decay rate, signal frequency, signal integral followed by determining the width from the decay rate, and also applying low-rank methods to the Z-spectrum to determine width, frequency, or integral from motion and other artifacts. Moreover in specific regards to claim 17, Van ‘502 fails to further explicitly teach centering of the Z-spectrum and comparing of low and high frequency sides to assess signal asymmetry. Claims 11 and 17 are therefore novel and nonobvious as no other prior art reference was found to cure the deficiencies of Van ‘502.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797