DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on May 1, 2025. Claims 1-15 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) were submitted on May 29, 2025 and October 9, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Request for priority to Provisional App. No. 63/649,982 filed May 21, 2024 is acknowledged. Examiner notes Applicant may be requested to perfect one or more of the claims in the situation where applied prior art has priority falling between the filing date of the non-provisional application the date of the provisional application. No action by Applicant is requested at this time.
Claim Interpretation
While the final two limitations of the independent claims appear to be optional limitations, the preamble of the claims each respectively requires the combine harvester to comprise a plurality of crop processing arrangements configured to sequentially process the crop flow through the combine harvester. This means that there must be at least one upstream crop processing arrangement or at least one downstream crop processing arrangement that is controlled. Because at least one control must be implemented, the claims are directed toward a practical application and are not abstract ideas under a 35 U.S.C. 101 analysis.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. crop processing arrangements… in claims 1 and 14. Structure for this limitation may be found at least at [0051]-[0053] of the instant specification;
b. control system… in claim 1, 4-10, and 12-13. Structure for this limitation may be found at least at [0139]-[0141] of the instant specification;
c. at least one rotatable element… in claim 3. Structure for this limitation may be found at least at [0086] of the instant specification;
d. a plurality of crop processing elements… in claim 11. Structure for this limitation may be found at least at Fig. 4 and [0114]-[0115] of the instant specification.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: A computer program product comprising computer program code means… in claim 15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 13, and 15 along with the corresponding dependent claims 2-3, 5-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term negligible in claims 1, 4, 13, and 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term negligible is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of this Action, Examiner is interpreting negligible to mean below a threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because claim 15 is not directed to a statutory category of invention under Step 1. Instead, claim 15 is directed toward software per se which does not fall into a statutory category. Examiner suggests amending the language of claim 15 to recite “A non-transitory computer program product.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN106576580 (hereinafter, “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses A control system for a combine harvester comprising a plurality of crop processing arrangements configured to sequentially process crop to define a crop flow through the combine harvester (see at least p. 3; the combine harvester including an auger and a propulsion system which controls the speed of the combine harvester, the control system being configured to (see at least p. 3, p. 5-6 and the publication generally; central processor 52 and corresponding software steps performed by the processor), for each crop processing arrangement in a subset of the plurality of crop processing arrangements:
receive at least one flow rate measure responsive to a maximum flow rate of crop through the crop processing arrangement for current operating parameters of the crop processing arrangement (see at least p. 5-6; torques sensor assembly. The torque value corresponds to a speed of the auger which indicates the flow rate of the crop through the auger);
predict whether or not the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement, being a crop processing arrangement in which the maximum flow rate of crop therethrough has reduced or has become negligible, by processing the at least one flow rate measure (see at least p. 5-6; when the torque value is greater than a torque preset value, it is determined that there is a blockage or prediction of an imminent blockage); and
responsive to predicting that the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement:
reduce a maximum flow rate through each, if any, upstream crop processing arrangement, being any crop processing arrangement that is upstream, with respect to the crop flow, of the flow-affected crop processing arrangement (see at least p. 6; the combine harvester speed decreases. Examiner notes that the propulsion system that facilitates the movement of the harvester is considered an upstream crop processing arrangement); and
control a maximum flow rate through each, if any, downstream crop processing arrangement to be greater than the maximum flow rate through each, if any, upstream crop processing arrangement, wherein each downstream crop processing arrangement is any crop processing arrangement that is downstream, with respect to the crop flow, of the flow-affected crop processing arrangement (Examiner notes that this limitation is not required as there are no downstream crop process arrangements taken into consideration for rejecting this claim).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset, each flow rate measure is a measure of an operational speed or rate of a component of the crop processing arrangement (see at least p. 5-6; the propulsion system speed and the auger speed).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein:
each crop processing arrangement in the subset comprises at least one rotatable element configured to rotate during processing of crop by the crop processing arrangement (see at least p. 5-6; the wheels to propel the combine harvester are a rotatable element of the propulsion system, and the rotation of the auger); and
for each crop processing arrangement in the subset, each flow rate measure is a measure of a rotation speed of a respective rotatable element of the crop processing arrangement (see at least p. 3-6; the flow rate is associated with the rotational movement of the rotatable elements. Speed of the combine harvester directly proportional to wheel rotation, and speed of the auger directly proportional to rotation thereof).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein the control system is configured to, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset, predict whether or not the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement by processing the at least one flow rate measure to predict whether or not the maximum flow rate of crop through the crop processing arrangement has become negligible (see at least p. 5-6; determining if the auger is blocked (i.e., flowrate become negligible) is determined).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein the control system is configured to, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset, responsive to predicting that the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement, stop an operation of each, if any, upstream crop processing arrangement (see at least p. 12; gradual deceleration is performed until the blockage is fixed. Examiner notes that, at least in some situations, this would result in stopping the combine harvester).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein the control system is configured to, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset and responsive to predicting that the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement, maintain a maximum flow rate through each, if any, downstream crop processing arrangement (Examiner notes that this is an optional limitation).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein the control system is configured to, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset and responsive to predicting that the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement:
for each, if any, downstream crop processing arrangement, stopping the operation of said downstream crop processing arrangement after a predetermined and non-zero period of time has elapsed (Examiner notes that this is an optional limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein the control system is configured to, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset and responsive to predicting that the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement, reduce a travel speed of the combine harvester (see at least p. 6; the travel speed of the combine harvester is reduced).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset, the control system is configured to predict whether or not the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement by comparing one or more flow rate measures for the crop processing arrangement to a respective set of one or more thresholds (see at least p. 5-6; the torque is compared to a threshold amount and corresponds to the flow rate through the auger).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses wherein, for each crop processing arrangement in the subset, the control system is configured to predict whether or not the crop processing arrangement is a flow-affected crop processing arrangement by performing a process that comprises identifying whether or not there are any step changes in each flow rate measure (see at least p. 3-6; dropping below a pre-set value for the rotation speed is considered a step change).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of WO2016/193800 (hereinafter, “Ducroquet”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Zhang discloses …the at least one flow rate measure comprises, for each crop processing element, an element flow rate measure responsive to a maximum flow rate of crop through the crop processing element for current operating parameters of the crop processing element (see at least p. 5-6; torques sensor assembly. The torque value corresponds to a speed of the auger which indicates the flow rate of the crop through the auger). However, Zhang does not explicitly teach at least one crop processing arrangement in the subset is a parallel processing arrangement that comprises a plurality of crop processing elements configured to process crop in parallel to one another. Ducroquet, in the same field of endeavor, teaches
at least one crop processing arrangement in the subset is a parallel processing arrangement that comprises a plurality of crop processing elements configured to process crop in parallel to one another (see at least Abstract and Fig. 4; the augers are in parallel, and the flowrate through each is monitored).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have been motivated to modify the disclosure of Zhang with the teachings of Ducroquet, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide an increased machine uptime; see at least Ducroquet at Background.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and after the above objections and rejections are remedied. Reasons for indicating allowable subject matter will be provided once one or more claims is in a state of allowance.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
JP2004/057121 which pertains to determining flowrate and blockages through a granular material discharge machine.
Conclusion
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665