DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley et al. (US 2012/0046553) in the view of Crowley et al. (US 2012/0245457).
Regarding claim 1, Buckley teaches an intraluminal imaging device, comprising (fig. 2, para. 0023; an ICE catheter 18):
a flexible elongate member (fig. 2, paras. 0004 and 0024; an ultrasound catheter comprises a flexible catheter housing defining a distal end; The ICE catheter 18 further includes a catheter housing 58 enclosing the transducer array 50, motor and gear box 52, interconnect 56 and drive shaft 54.);
an imaging core coupled to a distal portion of the flexible elongate member (fig. 2, para. 0024; The ICE catheter 18 comprises a transducer array 50, a motor and gearbox 52, which may be internal or external to the space-critical environment, a drive shaft 54, and an interconnect 56. The ICE catheter 18 further includes a catheter housing 58 enclosing the transducer array 50, motor and gear box 52, interconnect 56 and drive shaft 54. In the depicted embodiment, the transducer array 50 is mounted on drive shaft 54 and the transducer array 50 is rotatable with the drive shaft 54.);
one or more electromagnetic position sensors coupled to the distal portion of the flexible elongate member, the one or more electromagnetic position sensors having a known position relative to at least one of the imaging core, the distal portion of the flexible elongate member, or another electromagnetic position sensor of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors (fig. 2, paras. 0028-0030; the ICE catheter 18 includes an integrally attached tracking element 20 disposed within the catheter housing 58. The integrally attached tracking element 20 is adapted to estimate the position and orientation of the ICE catheter 18. While the tracking element 20 is depicted as comprising a field sensor 15. The field sensor 15 may comprise two or more coils adapted to track the ICE catheter 18 with six degrees of freedom. The tracking element 20 may be positioned immediately adjacent to the distal end of the catheter housing 58, away from the motor. For purposes of this disclosure, the term "immediately adjacent" refers to the depicted arrangement wherein there are no other components disposed between the tracking element 20 and the distal end. The examiner notes that the tracking element comprise electromagnetic sensor positioned relative to the distal portion of the elongated member.);
a pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to a proximal portion of the flexible elongate member (paras. 0024 and 0030; Motor controller 60 and motor 52 control the rotational motion of the transducer array 50. Interconnect 56 refers to, for example, cables and other connections coupling the transducer array 50 with the ICE imaging device 32 (not shown) for use in receiving and transmitting signals. the tracking element 20 may be positioned in other locations within the catheter housing due to other constraints, for example insufficient space for the tracking element cables to pass by the transducer array. The examiner notes that although the cables of the tracking elements are not shown in the figures, Buckley disclose the arrangement of the tracking element relative to the distal end of the elongated member and the transducer array allows the cables of the tracking elements and the transducers to extend to the proximal end of the catheter.); and
a shield extending along a length of the flexible elongate member from the distal portion to the proximal portion, the shield having a magnetic permeability between about 80,000 and about 400,000 (paras. 0017-0018; an ultrasound catheter housing 10 may include an inner polymer layer 12, a metal layer 14, and an outer polymer layer 16. In regions where the ultrasound catheter housing is in the acoustic path, the metal layer 14 may be from 0.1 to 10 microns in thickness, preferably from 0.8 to 1.5 microns in thickness, and have high conductivity. Suitable metals include, but are not limited to, copper, aluminum, gold, and silver. The metal layer provides EM noise reduction, including RF noise reduction, without significantly impairing ultrasound performance. High-permeability magnetic shielding alloy includes alloys composed primarily of nickel. The remainder of the material includes iron, molybdenum, chromium, copper, and combinations thereof. The high permeability materials may act to absorb and redirect magnetic flux. In certain embodiments high permeability alloys such as CO-NETIC.RTM. from Magnetic Shield Corp may be used, or high permittivity alloys known generically as "mu metal". The examiner notes that the housing of the catheter comprise a layer of electromagnetic shielding that is made of a high permeability material such as mu metal that is known to have a magmatic permeability of 80,000 to 100,00).
However, Buckley fails to explicitly teach a handle coupled to a proximal portion of the flexible elongate member.
Crowley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an intraluminal device comprising a handle coupled to a proximal portion of the flexible elongate member (para. 0027; a body insertable imaging device for the production of data and subsequent images therefrom consisting of an elongate, hand manipulable device carrying at least two ultrasound transducers and an electromagnetic position function operably oriented with respect to at least one transducer near a distal portion of the imaging device, and a proximally located three channel connector attached in electrical communication to an imaging display.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the proximal end of an ICE catheter of Buckley with the proximal end of a hand manipulable device that comprise a handle, as taught by Crowley, because such modification would allow the user to manipulate the device and control the navigation of the device.
Regarding claim 4, Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 1, wherein the shield comprises at least one of a mu-metal or a metallic glass alloy (para. 0018; The high permeability materials may act to absorb and redirect magnetic flux. In certain embodiments high permeability alloys such as CO-NETIC.RTM. from Magnetic Shield Corp may be used, or high permittivity alloys known generically as "mu metal").
Regarding claim 5, Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 1, wherein the shield surrounds the pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to the proximal portion of the flexible elongate member (paras. 0017 and 0031; a shielded catheter housing. The process comprises creating a polymer inner layer supported on an inner form or mandrel, coating the polymer layer with metal, adding a polymer outer layer over the metal layer, and removing the inner form or mandrel. The examiner notes that the catheter housing comprises the electromagnetic shield that surrounds all components of the catheter including the transducers, the electromagnetic sensors, and cables).
Regarding claim 6, Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 5, wherein the shield is embedded within a tubular wall of the flexible elongate member (paras. 0017 and 0031; an ultrasound catheter housing 10 may include an inner polymer layer 12, a metal layer 14, and an outer polymer layer 16. In regions where the ultrasound catheter housing is in the acoustic path, the metal layer 14 may be from 0.1 to 10 microns in thickness, preferably from 0.8 to 1.5 microns in thickness, and have high conductivity. Suitable metals include, but are not limited to, copper, aluminum, gold, and silver. The metal layer provides EM noise reduction, including RF noise reduction, without significantly impairing ultrasound performance. a shielded catheter housing. The process comprises creating a polymer inner layer supported on an inner form or mandrel, coating the polymer layer with metal, adding a polymer outer layer over the metal layer, and removing the inner form or mandrel.).
Regarding claim 7, Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 6, wherein the tubular wall defines an outer surface of the flexible elongate member (paras. 0017 and 0031; an ultrasound catheter housing 10 may include an inner polymer layer 12, a metal layer 14, and an outer polymer layer 16. In regions where the ultrasound catheter housing is in the acoustic path, the metal layer 14 may be from 0.1 to 10 microns in thickness, preferably from 0.8 to 1.5 microns in thickness, and have high conductivity. Suitable metals include, but are not limited to, copper, aluminum, gold, and silver. The examiner notes that the shield is in the walls of the housing).
Regarding claim 8, Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 5, wherein the shield surrounds a plurality of wires extending from the imaging core to the proximal portion of the flexible elongate member (paras. 0017 and 0031; an ultrasound catheter housing 10 may include an inner polymer layer 12, a metal layer 14, and an outer polymer layer 16. In regions where the ultrasound catheter housing is in the acoustic path, the metal layer 14 may be from 0.1 to 10 microns in thickness, preferably from 0.8 to 1.5 microns in thickness, and have high conductivity. Suitable metals include, but are not limited to, copper, aluminum, gold, and silver. The examiner notes that the housing of the catheter comprise the shielded layer and the housing surrounds all the internal components of the catheter including the wires of the transducers).
Regarding claim 9, Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 5, wherein a plurality of wires extending from the imaging core to the proximal portion of the flexible elongate member are positioned outside of the shield (paras. 0020 and 0032; the metal layer may have one or more small openings, either to enhance adhesion between the inner and outer polymer layers or to allow one to see through the shield to inspect the contents of the housing. In certain embodiments, the metal layer may be a metal mesh having small and separate openings; in other embodiments the opening may comprise a narrow non-metalized strip, positioned in a straight line or spiraling around the inner polymer layer. The intervening layer between the polymer layers and the metal layer may also be a "tie" layer; a bifunctional material with functional groups which bond well to the polymer and metal, respectively. The examiner notes that the shielded layer can be only attached to selected regions where electromagnetic interference can be caused).
Regarding claim 10, Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a multiplexer positioned within the handle or the proximal portion of the flexible elongate member, the multiplexer configured to process signals carried by the pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to remove electromagnetically induced noise.
Crowley, in the same field of endeavor, disclose a multiplexer positioned within the handle or the proximal portion of the flexible elongate member, the multiplexer configured to process signals carried by the pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to remove electromagnetically induced noise (paras. 0057 and 0070-0074; frequency division multiplexing of the signals may be effective to separate the two desired signals without undue interference therebetween. As smaller devices are used and more sensitive receivers are desired, this isolation, which may be in the order of 40 dB or more, may be insufficient. Therefore an additional measure is taken to assure no interference between ultrasonic and low frequency AC signals, by use of time division sharing of the single transmission line. Time division multiplexing of image information and P&O information is thus accomplished with this simple timing expedient. The examiner notes that the handle of the catheter comprise processing circuitry that comprise a frequency multiplexer and time division multiplexer to process the signals received form the electromagnetic coils and the transducer to remove interference.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the ICE catheter of Buckley with the processing circuit which includes a multiplexer, as taught by Crowley, because such modification would allow to process the signals using timing slots and ensure no interference is present in the data, which will allow the generation of noise free images and accurate position data as disclosed within Crowley in para. 0070.
Regarding claim 11, Buckley teaches an intraluminal imaging device, comprising (fig. 2, para. 0023; an ICE catheter 18):
a flexible elongate member (fig. 2, paras. 0004 and 0024; an ultrasound catheter comprises a flexible catheter housing defining a distal end; The ICE catheter 18 further includes a catheter housing 58 enclosing the transducer array 50, motor and gear box 52, interconnect 56 and drive shaft 54.);
an imaging core coupled to a distal portion of the flexible elongate member (fig. 2, para. 0024; The ICE catheter 18 comprises a transducer array 50, a motor and gearbox 52, which may be internal or external to the space-critical environment, a drive shaft 54, and an interconnect 56. The ICE catheter 18 further includes a catheter housing 58 enclosing the transducer array 50, motor and gear box 52, interconnect 56 and drive shaft 54. In the depicted embodiment, the transducer array 50 is mounted on drive shaft 54 and the transducer array 50 is rotatable with the drive shaft 54.);
one or more electromagnetic position sensors coupled to the distal portion of the flexible elongate member, the one or more electromagnetic position sensors having a known position relative to at least one of the imaging core, the distal portion of the flexible elongate member, or another electromagnetic position sensor of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors (fig. 2, paras. 0028-0030; the ICE catheter 18 includes an integrally attached tracking element 20 disposed within the catheter housing 58. The integrally attached tracking element 20 is adapted to estimate the position and orientation of the ICE catheter 18. While the tracking element 20 is depicted as comprising a field sensor 15. The field sensor 15 may comprise two or more coils adapted to track the ICE catheter 18 with six degrees of freedom. The tracking element 20 may be positioned immediately adjacent to the distal end of the catheter housing 58, away from the motor. For purposes of this disclosure, the term "immediately adjacent" refers to the depicted arrangement wherein there are no other components disposed between the tracking element 20 and the distal end. The examiner notes that the tracking element comprise electromagnetic sensor positioned relative to the distal portion of the elongated member.);
a pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to a proximal portion of the flexible elongate member (paras. 0024 and 0030; Motor controller 60 and motor 52 control the rotational motion of the transducer array 50. Interconnect 56 refers to, for example, cables and other connections coupling the transducer array 50 with the ICE imaging device 32 (not shown) for use in receiving and transmitting signals. the tracking element 20 may be positioned in other locations within the catheter housing due to other constraints, for example insufficient space for the tracking element cables to pass by the transducer array. The examiner notes that although the cables of the tracking elements are not shown in the figures, Buckley disclose the arrangement of the tracking element relative to the distal end of the elongated member and the transducer array allows the cables of the tracking elements and the transducers to extend to the proximal end of the catheter.); and
However, Buckley fails to explicitly teach a handle coupled to a proximal portion of the flexible elongate member and a multiplexer positioned within the handle or the proximal portion of the flexible elongate member, the multiplexer configured to process signals carried by the pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to remove electromagnetically induced noise.
Crowley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an intraluminal device comprising a handle coupled to a proximal portion of the flexible elongate member (para. 0027; a body insertable imaging device for the production of data and subsequent images therefrom consisting of an elongate, hand manipulable device carrying at least two ultrasound transducers and an electromagnetic position function operably oriented with respect to at least one transducer near a distal portion of the imaging device, and a proximally located three channel connector attached in electrical communication to an imaging display.); and a multiplexer positioned within the handle or the proximal portion of the flexible elongate member, the multiplexer configured to process signals carried by the pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to remove electromagnetically induced noise (paras. 0057 and 0070-0074; frequency division multiplexing of the signals may be effective to separate the two desired signals without undue interference therebetween. As smaller devices are used and more sensitive receivers are desired, this isolation, which may be in the order of 40 dB or more, may be insufficient. Therefore an additional measure is taken to assure no interference between ultrasonic and low frequency AC signals, by use of time division sharing of the single transmission line. Time division multiplexing of image information and P&O information is thus accomplished with this simple timing expedient. The examiner notes that the handle of the catheter comprise processing circuitry that comprise a frequency multiplexer and time division multiplexer to process the signals received form the electromagnetic coils and the transducer to remove interference.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the proximal end of an ICE catheter of Buckley with the proximal end of a hand manipulable device that comprise a handle with a processing circuitry comprising a multiplexer, as taught by Crowley, because such modification would allow the user to manipulate the device and control the navigation of the device and allow to process the signals using timing slots and ensure no interference is present in the data, which will produce noise free images and accurate position data as disclosed within Crowley in para. 0070.
Regarding claim 15, Buckley teaches an apparatus, comprising: an intracardiac catheter sized and shaped for advancement through a blood vessel (fig. 2, para. 0023; an ICE catheter 18. The examiner notes that the catheter is intracardiac echocardiography (ICE) catheter that is advanced through blood vessels.):
an imaging core coupled to a distal portion of the intracardiac catheter (fig. 2, para. 0024; The ICE catheter 18 comprises a transducer array 50, a motor and gearbox 52, which may be internal or external to the space-critical environment, a drive shaft 54, and an interconnect 56. The ICE catheter 18 further includes a catheter housing 58 enclosing the transducer array 50, motor and gear box 52, interconnect 56 and drive shaft 54. In the depicted embodiment, the transducer array 50 is mounted on drive shaft 54 and the transducer array 50 is rotatable with the drive shaft 54.);
one or more electromagnetic position sensors coupled to the distal portion of the intracardiac catheter, the one or more electromagnetic position sensors having a known position relative to at least one of the imaging core, the distal portion of the intracardiac catheter, or another electromagnetic position sensor of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors (fig. 2, paras. 0028-0030; the ICE catheter 18 includes an integrally attached tracking element 20 disposed within the catheter housing 58. The integrally attached tracking element 20 is adapted to estimate the position and orientation of the ICE catheter 18. While the tracking element 20 is depicted as comprising a field sensor 15. The field sensor 15 may comprise two or more coils adapted to track the ICE catheter 18 with six degrees of freedom. The tracking element 20 may be positioned immediately adjacent to the distal end of the catheter housing 58, away from the motor. For purposes of this disclosure, the term "immediately adjacent" refers to the depicted arrangement wherein there are no other components disposed between the tracking element 20 and the distal end. The examiner notes that the tracking element comprise electromagnetic sensor positioned relative to the distal portion of the elongated member.);
a pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to a proximal portion of the intracardiac catheter (paras. 0024 and 0030; Motor controller 60 and motor 52 control the rotational motion of the transducer array 50. Interconnect 56 refers to, for example, cables and other connections coupling the transducer array 50 with the ICE imaging device 32 (not shown) for use in receiving and transmitting signals. the tracking element 20 may be positioned in other locations within the catheter housing due to other constraints, for example insufficient space for the tracking element cables to pass by the transducer array. The examiner notes that although the cables of the tracking elements are not shown in the figures, Buckley disclose the arrangement of the tracking element relative to the distal end of the elongated member and the transducer array allows the cables of the tracking elements and the transducers to extend to the proximal end of the catheter.); and
a shield extending along a length of the intracardiac catheter from the distal portion to the proximal portion, the shield having a magnetic permeability between about 80,000 and about 400,000 (paras. 0017-0018; an ultrasound catheter housing 10 may include an inner polymer layer 12, a metal layer 14, and an outer polymer layer 16. In regions where the ultrasound catheter housing is in the acoustic path, the metal layer 14 may be from 0.1 to 10 microns in thickness, preferably from 0.8 to 1.5 microns in thickness, and have high conductivity. Suitable metals include, but are not limited to, copper, aluminum, gold, and silver. The metal layer provides EM noise reduction, including RF noise reduction, without significantly impairing ultrasound performance. High-permeability magnetic shielding alloy includes alloys composed primarily of nickel. The remainder of the material includes iron, molybdenum, chromium, copper, and combinations thereof. The high permeability materials may act to absorb and redirect magnetic flux. In certain embodiments high permeability alloys such as CO-NETIC.RTM. from Magnetic Shield Corp may be used, or high permittivity alloys known generically as "mu metal". The examiner notes that the housing of the catheter comprise a layer of electromagnetic shielding that is made of a high permeability material such as mu metal that is known to have a magmatic permeability of 80,000 to 100,00).
However, Buckley fails to explicitly teach a handle coupled to a proximal portion of the intracardiac catheter and a multiplexer positioned within the handle or the proximal portion of the intracardiac catheter, the multiplexer configured to process signals carried by the pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to remove electromagnetically induced noise.
Crowley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an intraluminal device comprising a handle coupled to a proximal portion of the intracardiac catheter (para. 0027; a body insertable imaging device for the production of data and subsequent images therefrom consisting of an elongate, hand manipulable device carrying at least two ultrasound transducers and an electromagnetic position function operably oriented with respect to at least one transducer near a distal portion of the imaging device, and a proximally located three channel connector attached in electrical communication to an imaging display.); and a multiplexer positioned within the handle or the proximal portion of the intracardiac catheter, the multiplexer configured to process signals carried by the pair of wires extending from each of the one or more electromagnetic position sensors to remove electromagnetically induced noise (paras. 0057 and 0070-0074; frequency division multiplexing of the signals may be effective to separate the two desired signals without undue interference therebetween. As smaller devices are used and more sensitive receivers are desired, this isolation, which may be in the order of 40 dB or more, may be insufficient. Therefore an additional measure is taken to assure no interference between ultrasonic and low frequency AC signals, by use of time division sharing of the single transmission line. Time division multiplexing of image information and P&O information is thus accomplished with this simple timing expedient. The examiner notes that the handle of the catheter comprise processing circuitry that comprise a frequency multiplexer and time division multiplexer to process the signals received form the electromagnetic coils and the transducer to remove interference.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the proximal end of an ICE catheter of Buckley with the proximal end of a hand manipulable device that comprise a handle with a processing circuitry comprising a multiplexer, as taught by Crowley, because such modification would allow the user to manipulate the device and control the navigation of the device and allow to process the signals using timing slots and ensure no interference is present in the data, which will produce noise free images and accurate position data as disclosed within Crowley in para. 0070.
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley et al. (US 2012/0046553) in the view of Crowley et al. (US 2012/0245457) in further view of Dietz et al. (US 2010/0280316).
Regarding claim 2, modified Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the shield comprises a cylindrical braid.
Dietz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches shield comprises a cylindrical braid (para. 0182; The shield layer 98 may be used to shield components internal to the shield layer 98 (e.g., the electrical interconnection member 104) from external electrical noise. The shield layer 98 may be in the form of a double served wire shield or braid.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the shield of a catheter of Buckley in the view of Crowley with braided shield of Dietz, because braided shields are well known for providing a 360 degree electromagnetic shielding while maintaining flexibility, bendability, torque transmission, and durability.
Regarding claim 3, modified Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 1, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the shield comprises a coil.
Dietz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches shield comprises a coil (para. 0182; The shield layer 98 may be used to shield components internal to the shield layer 98 (e.g., the electrical interconnection member 104) from external electrical noise. The shield layer 98 may be in the form of a double served wire shield or braid.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the shield of a catheter of Buckley in the view of Crowley with coil shield of Dietz, because shields comprising coils are known to be used for electromagnetic shielding and thus changing the mu metal shield with a shield comprising coil is a design choice.
Claim(s) 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckley et al. (US 2012/0046553) in the view of Crowley et al. (US 2012/0245457) in further view of Khait et al. (US 2013/0080119).
Regarding claim 12, modified Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 11, wherein the multiplexer is configured to perform time-division multiplexing with a time slot (Crowley, paras.0071-0074; Therefore an additional measure is taken to assure non interference between ultrasonic and low frequency AC signals, by use of time division sharing of the single transmission line. Timing diagrams shown herein are not to scale, emphasis being placed on relationship of events. Time division multiplexing of image information and P&O information is thus accomplished with this simple timing expedient).
However, fails to explicitly teach time-division multiplexing with a time slot length between about 0.25 microseconds and about 1.0 microsecond.
Khait, in the same field of endeavor, teaches time-division multiplexing with a time slot length between about 0.25 microseconds and about 1.0 microsecond (para. 0038; Clock pulses originating from a master clock of the in-vivo device may be used to count time units (a time `unit` may equal to, e.g., 1 microsecond) relative to a reference time. Any synchronization bit or group of bits that is/are contained in a data frame (e.g., prefix data, suffix data, etc.) that is transmitted by the in-vivo device may be used by a receiver (e.g., data recorder) to restore the clock pulses originating from the in-vivo device. Prefix data or suffix data, or both data, have the same relative location within each working cycle ((they do not change from frame to frame). Therefore, such data may be used to obtain synchronization. The restored clock pulses may be used by the receiver to count time by using the same time units and relative to the same reference time. Based on the time counting, the LSS may start transmitting a localization signal when the time count has a first value; e.g., Count1, and terminate the transmission when the time count has a second value, e.g., Count2 (where Count2>Count1).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the time division multiplexed time slots of Buckley in the view of Crowley with 1 microsecond time slot of Khait, because such modification would allow a fast update rate, sufficient signal acquisition time, and minimize cross channel interference.
Regarding claim 13, modified Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 12, however, fails to explicitly teach wherein the multiplexer is further configured to perform the time-division multiplexing by subtracting a signal based on an immediately preceding time slot from a signal based on a current time slot.
Khait, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the multiplexer is further configured to perform the time-division multiplexing by subtracting a signal based on an immediately preceding time slot from a signal based on a current time slot (para. 0143; Starting at step 840, cancelling out the electromagnetic interference signal from the (noisy) alternating output signal may include sampling, using sampling specifics, a first portion of the alternating signal (e.g., in the positive portion of the alternating/output signal) during a first sampling window/period to obtain a first set of (e.g., positive) sample values (at step 840), calculating a first (e.g., positive) number, N.sub.P, by adding up the first set of sample values (at step 850); sampling, using the sampling specifics, a second portion of the alternating signal (e.g., in the negative portion of the alternating/output signal) during a second sampling window/period to obtain a second set of (e.g., negative) sample values (at step 860); calculating a second (e.g., negative) number, N.sub.N, by adding up the second set of sample values (at step 870), and, at step 880, calculating a representative number, N.sub.R, for example by subtracting the second, or negative, number N.sub.N from the first, or positive, number N.sub.P (e.g., N.sub.R=N.sub.P-N.sub.N). The representative number N.sub.R may represent, or indicate, the genuine (interference free) alternating signal, and thus it may reliably represent the location and/or orientation of the in-vivo device.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the time division multiplexer of Buckley in the view of Crowley with the subtraction of signals of adjacent samples of Khait, because such modification would allow the electromagnetic interference signals to be canceled out and generating an accurate and reliable representation of the location and orientation of the catheter using this common noise cancelation technique as disclosed within Khait in para. 0143.
Regarding claim 14, modified Buckley teaches the intraluminal imaging device of claim 13, wherein the multiplexer is further configured to receive analog input signals and output analog output signals, wherein the analog input signals include the signal based on the immediately preceding time slot and the signal based on the current time slot (Crowley, paras. 0070-0074; the examiner notes that the time division multiplexer receives analog data from the electromagnetic sensor and outputs analog data without converting the analog output to digital output to enable further processing and filtering.).
Conclusion
/ZAINAB MOHAMMED ALDARRAJI/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797