DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinde (US 9,377,236 – provided by Applicant in the IDS) in view of Bartzsch (DE102017110560A1 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Hinde teaches a method of operating a refrigeration system (see Title), the method comprising:
operating a first evaporator of a plurality of evaporators in a refrigeration mode (14, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 41-45);
determining that operation of the first evaporator in a defrost mode is indicated (see col. 4, lines 22-35); and
after determining that operation of the first evaporator in the defrost mode is indicated, causing the first evaporator to operate in the defrost mode by adjusting a valve positioned downstream from one or more medium temperature compressors of the refrigeration system to direct a portion of refrigerant compressed by the one or more medium temperature compressors to the first evaporator (see Fig. 3A, col. 5, lines 8-30).
Hinde does not teach that the valve is a three-way valve. Bartzsch teaches a refrigerant circuit (Bartzsch, Title, Fig. 1) which has a three-way valve (Bartzsch, 20, Fig. 1, paragraph [0039]) positioned downstream from the compressor (Bartzsch, 2, Fig. 1, paragraph [0039]) which directs flow of the received compressed refrigerant to one or more of the evaporators of the plurality of evaporators based on an operation mode of the plurality of evaporators (Bartzsch, 9, Fig. 1, paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Hinde with a three-way valve downstream of the compressor to direct fluid to the evaporator, as Hinde already teaches a valve to direct compressed fluid therefore making a mere substitution of elements obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, further making it obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide greater versatility to the refrigeration system.
Regarding claim 2, Hinde as modified teaches the method Claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by a gas cooler of the refrigeration system, refrigerant from the one or more compressors and cooling the refrigerant (Hinde, 2, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 18-25); and receiving and storing, by a flash tank, the cooled refrigerant (Hinde, 4, Fig. 3A, col. 2, lines 50-58).
Regarding claim 3, Hinde as modified teaches the method of Claim 2, further comprising causing the first evaporator to operate in the defrost mode by:
closing a first valve located upstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit coupling a liquid outlet of the flash tank to the first evaporator (Hinde, 10, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 40-50, further see Abstract); and
closing a second valve located downstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit allowing flow of refrigerant towards the one or more medium temperature compressors (Hinde, 18, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 40-50, further see Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Hinde as modified teaches the method of Claim 3, further comprising:
at least partially opening a third valve located upstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit coupling an inlet of the flash tank to the first evaporator (Hinde, 11, Fig. 3A, col. 5, lines 20-45, further see Abstract); and
at least partially opening a fourth valve located downstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit allowing flow of refrigerant from the one or more medium temperature compressors to the first evaporator (Hinde, 19, Fig. 3A, col. 5, lines 20-45, further see Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Hinde teaches a controller of a refrigeration system (see control system noted in Abstract), the controller comprising:
an input/output interface communicatively coupled to a valve (see col. 3, lines 5-10 which notes the control system operates the gas bypass valve which therefore requires an input/output interface) positioned downstream from the one or more medium temperature compressors (19, Fig. 3A),
the valve configured to receive refrigerant compressed by one or more medium temperature compressors, wherein the valve is operable to direct flow of the received compressed refrigerant to one or both of a gas cooler (2, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 18-25) and one or more of the evaporators of the plurality of evaporators based on an operation mode of the plurality of evaporators (14, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 22-35, 41-45); and
processor configured to:
determine that operation of a first evaporator of a plurality of evaporators of the refrigeration system in a defrost mode is indicated (14, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 22-35, 41-45); and
after determining that operation of the first evaporator in the defrost mode is indicated, cause the first evaporator to operate in the defrost mode by adjusting the valve to direct a portion of the received compressed refrigerant to the first evaporator (see Fig. 3A, col. 5, lines 8-30).
Hinde does not teach that the valve is a three-way valve.
Bartzsch teaches a refrigerant circuit (Bartzsch, Title, Fig. 1) which has a three-way valve (Bartzsch, 20, Fig. 1, paragraph [0039]) positioned downstream from the compressor (Bartzsch, 2, Fig. 1, paragraph [0039]) which directs flow of the received compressed refrigerant to one or more of the evaporators of the plurality of evaporators based on an operation mode of the plurality of evaporators (Bartzsch, 9, Fig. 1, paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Hinde with a three-way valve downstream of the compressor to direct fluid to the evaporator, as Hinde already teaches a valve to direct compressed fluid therefore making a mere substitution of elements obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, further making it obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide greater versatility to the refrigeration system.
Regarding claim 10, Hinde as modified teaches the controller of Claim 9, wherein: the input/output interface is further communicatively coupled to:
a first valve located upstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit (Hinde, 10, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 40-50, further see Abstract) coupling a liquid outlet of a flash tank to the first evaporator (Hinde, 4, Fig. 3A, col. 2, lines 50-58), wherein, when the first evaporator is operating in a refrigeration mode, the first valve is open (Hinde, col. 4, lines 40-50); and
a second valve located downstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit allowing flow of refrigerant towards the one or more medium temperature compressors (Hinde, 18, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 40-50, further see Abstract),
wherein, when the first evaporator is operating in the refrigeration mode, the second valve is open (Hinde, col. 4, lines 40-50, further see Abstract); and the processor is further configured to cause the first evaporator to operate in the defrost mode by causing the first valve to close and causing the second valve to close (Hinde, col. 5, lines 20-40).
closing a second valve located downstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit allowing flow of refrigerant towards the one or more medium temperature compressors (Hinde, 18, Fig. 3A, col. 4, lines 40-50, further see Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Hinde as modified teaches the controller of Claim 10, wherein: the input/output interface is further communicatively coupled to:
a third valve located upstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit coupling an inlet of the flash tank to the first evaporator (Hinde, 11, Fig. 3A, col. 5, lines 20-45, further see Abstract), wherein, when the first evaporator is operating in a refrigeration mode, the third valve is closed; and
a fourth valve located downstream from the first evaporator in refrigerant conduit allowing flow of refrigerant from the one or more medium temperature compressors to the first evaporator (Hinde, 19, Fig. 3A, col. 5, lines 20-45, further see Abstract), wherein,
when the first evaporator is operating in the refrigeration mode, the fourth valve is closed; and the processor is further configured to cause the first evaporator to operate in the defrost mode by causing the third valve to open and causing the fourth valve to open (Hinde, Figs. 3A-3B).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinde in view of Bartzsch, further in view of Munns (US 2012/0067068 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Hinde as modified teaches the method of Claim 1, but does not teach:
determining that defrost mode operation of the first evaporator is complete; and after determining that defrost mode operation of the first evaporator is complete,
causing the first evaporator to operate in a transition mode,
wherein during operation in the transition mode at least a portion of the compressed refrigerant provided to the first evaporator is provided back toward the one or more medium temperature compressors.
Munns teaches a heat pump system (Munns, Abstract) which has a defrost mode and transition mode (Munns, paragraph [0010]) wherein after defrost mode completes, during the transition mode the indoor heat exchanger convey S refrigerant back into the system (Munns, paragraph [0010]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Hinde as modified with a transition mode after the defrost operation as taught by Munns, in order to ease the system back into normal operation.
Regarding claim 12, Hinde as modified teaches the controller of Claim 9, but does not teach that the processor is further configured to: determine that defrost mode operation of the first evaporator is complete; and after determining that defrost mode operation of the first evaporator is complete, cause the first evaporator to operate in a transition mode, wherein during operation in the transition mode at least a portion of the compressed refrigerant provided to the first evaporator is provided back toward the one or more medium temperature compressors.
Munns teaches a heat pump system (Munns, Abstract) which has a defrost mode and transition mode (Munns, paragraph [0010]) wherein after defrost mode completes, during the transition mode the indoor heat exchanger convey S refrigerant back into the system (Munns, paragraph [0010]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Hinde as modified with a transition mode after the defrost operation as taught by Munns, in order to ease the system back into normal operation.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinde in view of Bartzsch, further in view of Bzdega (EP2496893B1 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Hinde as modified teaches the method of Claim 1, but does not specifically teach that while the first evaporator is caused to operate in the defrost mode, a second evaporator of the plurality of evaporators is caused to operate in a refrigeration mode.
Bzdega teaches a refrigeration system (Bzdega, Title) which features a first and second evaporator (Bzdega, 18, 24, Fig. 1, paragraph [0028]), wherein one evaporator can be defrosted while the other is operated in refrigeration mode (Bzdega, paragraph [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Hinde as modified with operating one evaporator in defrost mode and the other in refrigeration mode, as taught by Bzdega, in order to avoid a full shutdown of the system when defrost is needed.
Regarding claim 15, Hinde as modified teaches the controller of Claim 9, but does not teach that while the first evaporator is caused to operate in the defrost mode, a second evaporator of the plurality of evaporators is caused to operate in a refrigeration mode.
Bzdega teaches a refrigeration system (Bzdega, Title) which features a first and second evaporator (Bzdega, 18, 24, Fig. 1, paragraph [0028]), wherein one evaporator can be defrosted while the other is operated in refrigeration mode (Bzdega, paragraph [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Hinde as modified with operating one evaporator in defrost mode and the other in refrigeration mode, as taught by Bzdega, in order to avoid a full shutdown of the system when defrost is needed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record is Hinde (US 9,377,236 - provided by Applicant in the IDS) in view of Bartzsch (DE102017110560A1) and Munns (US 2012/0067068).
The prior art of record when considered as a whole, either alone or in combination, does not anticipate or render obvious:
Regarding claims 6 and 13:
causing at least the portion of the compressed refrigerant to be provided back toward the one or more medium temperature compressors by at least partially opening a transition-mode valve.
Regarding claims 7 and 14:
during operation of the first evaporator in the transition mode: determining a pressure associated with the first evaporator; determining that the pressure is less than a threshold value; and after determining that the pressure is less than the threshold value, causing the first evaporator to operate in a refrigeration mode.
In the Examiner’s opinion, it would not be obvious to further modify the prior art structures to arrive at the claimed invention, absent impermissible hindsight. Therefore, rendering dependent claims 6-7, 13-14 with dependent claims therefrom are considered allowable.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763