Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of an indication member. However, the specification fails to disclose an indication member.
Claim 10 recites the limitations of a movable member. There is no support for a movable member in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 11, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mo (8,973,987).
Regarding claim 1, Mo discloses an infant car seat, comprising: a seat base 200; a stability leg 100a coupled to the seat base, the stability leg comprising: a mark 42 disposed on the stability leg; and an indication member 40 movable to cover the mark when the stability leg is in contact with a floor.
Regarding claim 2, Mo discloses the indication member 40 is hidden when the stability leg is not in contact with the floor.
Regarding claim 3, Mo discloses the mark 42 (col. 3, lines 40-50) is visible only when the stability leg is not in contact with the floor.
Regarding claim 4, Mo discloses the mark 42 is arranged near a bottom of the stability leg.
Regarding claim 5, Mo discloses the indication member 40 is positioned at least partially below the mark 42 (see figures) when the stability leg is not in contact with the floor.
Regarding claim 6, Mo discloses the indication member 40 (col. 3, lines 40-50) is translatable relative to the mark.
Regarding claim 7, Mo discloses the stability leg further comprises an elastic component 50 operably disposed between the mark and the indication member, wherein the elastic component is configured to bias the indication member toward the away from the mark.
Regarding claim 10, Mo discloses an infant car seat, comprising: a seat base 200; a stability leg 100a associated with the seat base and transformable between a non-contact mode and a contact mode in response to engagement with a floor (col. 3, lines 30-51), the stability leg comprising: at least one leg member; a first indication mark 42 at the at least one leg member; and a movable member 40, the first indication mark being visible at an exterior of the stability leg when the stability leg is in the non-contact mode and the first indication mark being blocked by the movable member when the stability leg is in the contact mode (col. 3, lines 30-51).
Regarding claim 11, Mo discloses the first indication mark 42 is not visible at the exterior of the stability leg when the stability leg is in the contact mode (see figures).
Regarding claim 16, Mo discloses an elastic component 50 operably coupled to the movable member, the elastic component being configured to bias the stability leg into the non-contact mode.
Regarding claim 17, Mo discloses the stability leg includes a first foot housing 20 and the elastic component 50 is positioned between the movable member and the first foot housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 12-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 8, Mo fails to disclose when the stability leg is not in contact with the floor, the mark is visible 360° about the stability leg.
Regarding claim 12, Mo fails to disclose the stability leg includes a second indication mark, the second indication mark being arranged at an exterior of the movable member.
Regarding claim 13, Mo fails to disclose the stability leg includes a first foot housing and a second foot housing, wherein the first indication mark is associated with the first foot housing and the movable member is movably associated with the second foot housing.
No other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or in combination can solve these dissimilarities.
Conclusion
/SYED A ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636