DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 or a2 as being anticipated by Hickernell (USP 11433969). (it is important to note; Hickernell explicitly discloses in writing an alternative embodiment than what is shown in the figures; one having ordinary skill in the art would have no difficulty understanding how this would be envisioned. While references are being made below with reference to these figures, the rejection must be thought of as referring to the disclosed embodiment which is an opposite arrangement of the bearings shown in fig.2)
Independent claims -
Regarding claim 1, Hickernell discloses a pedal comprising:
a pedal body member (fig.2, 10) having a shaft cavity (cavity through 14 and 16 seen in fig.2);
an axle (23) including a threaded end (threaded end 21) and a shaft (shaft part at 23), the shaft having a longitudinal axis (axis along the axle), and the shaft extending into the shaft cavity in a first direction away from a pedal crank side of the pedal body member (evident in figures); and
a bearing (40) secured to the pedal body member adjacent the pedal crank side of the pedal body member (while not explicitly shown in the figures, the specification clearly describes from col.4, lines 66+ to col.5, lines 1-4: “In accordance with a seventh alternate embodiment of the pedal 70, a horizontal rotational axis 50 configured with a spherical rolling joint 40 mounted on the first end of the axle shaft 23 and a roller bearing 30 retained to the second end of the axle shaft 23, can accommodate a cyclist's anatomical preference for an XY-axis located on the first end of the axle shaft 23.” This specifically talks about an alternative embodiment wherein you would have bearing 40 on the first end which is the side with the crank axle and bearing 30 on the second end which is the side with threads 26. For a frame of reference, the first end/second end of the pedal axle are clearly defined in col.3, lines 24-28.), the axle shaft being rotatably mounted to the bearing, the bearing having a central pivot axis (as evident in fig.3, bearing 40 would have two axes, one allowing it to pivot about the pedal axle and a central one allowing it to pivot about x1, x2 in fig.3), the pedal body member being rotatable around the central pivot axis, the central pivot axis being different than the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft (clearly visible from fig.3 the axes would be different).
Regarding claim 9, Hickernell discloses a pedal comprising:
a pedal body member (fig.2, 10) having a shaft cavity (cavity through 14 and 16 seen in fig.2);
an axle (23) including a threaded end (threaded end 21) and a shaft (shaft part at 23), the shaft having a longitudinal axis (axis along the axle), and the shaft extending into the shaft cavity in a first direction away from a pedal crank side of the pedal body member (evident in figures); and
a bearing (40) secured to the pedal body member adjacent the pedal crank side of the pedal body member (while not explicitly shown in the figures, the specification clearly describes from col.4, lines 66+ to col.5, lines 1-4: “In accordance with a seventh alternate embodiment of the pedal 70, a horizontal rotational axis 50 configured with a spherical rolling joint 40 mounted on the first end of the axle shaft 23 and a roller bearing 30 retained to the second end of the axle shaft 23, can accommodate a cyclist's anatomical preference for an XY-axis located on the first end of the axle shaft 23.” This specifically talks about an alternative embodiment wherein you would have bearing 40 on the first end which is the side with the crank axle and bearing 30 on the second end which is the side with threads 26. For a frame of reference, the first end/second end of the pedal axle are clearly defined in col.3, lines 24-28.), the axle shaft being rotatably mounted to the bearing, the bearing having a central pivot axis (as evident in fig.3, bearing 40 would have two axes, one allowing it to pivot about the pedal axle and a central one allowing it to pivot about x1, x2 in fig.3), the pedal body member being rotatable around the central pivot axis, the central pivot axis being perpendicular the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft (clearly visible from fig.3 the axes would be perpendicular and that is because bearing 30 would be restricted to pivot along a slot).
Regarding claim 17, Hickernell discloses a pedal comprising:
a pedal body member (10) having a shaft cavity (seen in fig.2);
a bearing (40) seated in an annular recess (annular recess that would be in part 16) in the pedal body member adjacent to a pedal crank side of the pedal body member (while not explicitly shown in the figures, the specification clearly describes from col.4, lines 66+ to col.5, lines 1-4: “In accordance with a seventh alternate embodiment of the pedal 70, a horizontal rotational axis 50 configured with a spherical rolling joint 40 mounted on the first end of the axle shaft 23 and a roller bearing 30 retained to the second end of the axle shaft 23, can accommodate a cyclist's anatomical preference for an XY-axis located on the first end of the axle shaft 23.” This specifically talks about an alternative embodiment wherein you would have bearing 40 on the first end which is the side with the crank axle and bearing 30 on the second end which is the side with threads 26. For a frame of reference, the first end/second end of the pedal axle are clearly defined in col.3, lines 24-28.), the bearing being rotatable around a first axis and a second axis, the first axis being different than the second axis (as evident in fig.3, bearing 40 would have two axes, one allowing it to pivot about the pedal axle and a central one allowing it to pivot about x1, x2 in fig.3; the axes would clearly be different) and
an axle (23) including a threaded end (crank side threads at 21) and a shaft (23), the shaft extending into the shaft cavity (evident from figures), the shaft mounted to the bearing and having a longitudinal axis coaxial with the second axis of the bearing (evident from figures), the pedal body member being rotatable in a first direction around the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft and in a second direction around the first axis of the bearing (evident from fig.3, the rotation capability is possible; it is important to keep in mind that the pedal would function the same in the reverse or alternative arrangement disclosed).
Dependent claims-
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Hickernell discloses at least one distal bearing (30) rotatably mounted to the axle shaft at a location spaced apart from the pedal crank side of the pedal body member (based on the embodiment discussed at the end of col.4 into col.5; this bearing would be located at end 26).
Regarding claims 5, and 13, Hickernell discloses a spherical bearing mount (42 reads on the spherical bearing mount) secured to the pedal body member, and the bearing is mounted within the spherical bearing mount (the bearings 62, 63 providing bearing functionality and mounted therein).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Hickernell discloses the spherical bearing mount is at least partially mounted within a machined pocket in the pedal body member (would be mounted in the pocket visible in figures; the machined aspect is treated as product by process it doesn’t impart any differing structure).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Hickernell discloses wherein the spherical bearing mount is disposed for pivotal movement around the central pivot axis to allow the axle shaft to move laterally within the shaft cavity (evident from figures).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Hickernell discloses wherein the bearing is a self-aligning bearing (the bearing is capable of self-aligning and thus reads on it) seated in an annular recess (seen in figures) in the pedal body member.
Regarding claim 17, Hickernell discloses wherein the first axis of the bearing is perpendicular to the second axis of the bearing (this is described in the rejection of claim 9; the axes would be perpendicular).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (TW 105206570 U) in view of Hickernell (USP 11433969).
Independent claims -
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a pedal comprising:
a pedal body member (fig.5, 10) having a shaft cavity (cavity seen in fig.5 for pedal axle);
an axle (20) including a threaded end (threaded end 21) and a shaft (shaft part seen in fig.5), the shaft having a longitudinal axis (axis along the axle), and the shaft extending into the shaft cavity in a first direction away from a pedal crank side of the pedal body member (evident in figures); and
a bearing (40) secured to the pedal body member (seen in fig.5), the axle shaft being rotatably mounted to the bearing (seen in fig.5), the bearing having a central pivot axis (evident in fig.5; bearing 40 would have a central pivot axis which is perpendicular into the page), the pedal body member being rotatable around the central pivot axis, the central pivot axis being different than the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft (clearly visible from fig.5 the axes would be different).
Li fails to explicitly disclose the reverse arrangement of the bearings or an alternate arrangement where the spherical bearing is mounted to the first end or crank end, specifically a bearing secured to the pedal body member adjacent the pedal crank side of the pedal body member.
Hickernell teaches and/or suggests the concept/technique of changing a pedal structure, such that a spherical bearing is mounted to a pedal crank side of a pedal body along with the other bearing being mounted to the opposite side. In other words, Hickernell teaches reversing the arrangement of the bearings and pedal structure accordingly (while not explicitly shown in the figures, the specification clearly describes from col.4, lines 66+ to col.5, lines 1-4: “In accordance with a seventh alternate embodiment of the pedal 70, a horizontal rotational axis 50 configured with a spherical rolling joint 40 mounted on the first end of the axle shaft 23 and a roller bearing 30 retained to the second end of the axle shaft 23, can accommodate a cyclist's anatomical preference for an XY-axis located on the first end of the axle shaft 23.” This specifically talks about an alternative embodiment wherein you would have bearing 40 on the first end which is the side with the crank axle and bearing 30 on the second end which is the side with threads 26. For a frame of reference, the first end/second end of the pedal axle are clearly defined in col.3, lines 24-28.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pedal body and bearings in Li, in accordance with the teaching/suggestion as provided by Hickernell in order to provide the same predictable result of allowing the pedal body to rotate about two different axes, simply put the pivot point for the multi-pivot or XY axes would simply be in the opposite location. Or rather as noted by Hickernell this would accommodate the cyclist anatomical preference for where the axis that allows the XY or multi pivot to be. It is further understood that it would be well within the level and creativity of one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pedal assembly in Li according to this concept and thus rearrange the disclosed structure accordingly.
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses a pedal comprising:
a pedal body member (fig.5, 10) having a shaft cavity (cavity seen in fig.5 for pedal axle);
an axle (20) including a threaded end (threaded end 21) and a shaft (shaft part seen in fig.5), the shaft having a longitudinal axis (axis along the axle), and the shaft extending into the shaft cavity in a first direction away from a pedal crank side of the pedal body member (evident in figures); and
a bearing (40) secured to the pedal body member (seen in fig.5), the axle shaft being rotatably mounted to the bearing (seen in fig.5), the bearing having a central pivot axis (evident in fig.5; bearing 40 would have a central pivot axis which is perpendicular into the page), the pedal body member being rotatable around the central pivot axis, the central pivot axis being perpendicular the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft (clearly visible from fig.5 the axes would be perpendicular).
Li fails to explicitly disclose the reverse arrangement of the bearings or an alternate arrangement where the spherical bearing is mounted to the first end or crank end, specifically a bearing secured to the pedal body member adjacent the pedal crank side of the pedal body member.
Hickernell teaches and/or suggests the concept/technique of changing a pedal structure, such that a spherical bearing is mounted to a pedal crank side of a pedal body along with the other bearing being mounted to the opposite side. In other words, Hickernell teaches reversing the arrangement of the bearings and pedal structure accordingly (while not explicitly shown in the figures, the specification clearly describes from col.4, lines 66+ to col.5, lines 1-4: “In accordance with a seventh alternate embodiment of the pedal 70, a horizontal rotational axis 50 configured with a spherical rolling joint 40 mounted on the first end of the axle shaft 23 and a roller bearing 30 retained to the second end of the axle shaft 23, can accommodate a cyclist's anatomical preference for an XY-axis located on the first end of the axle shaft 23.” This specifically talks about an alternative embodiment wherein you would have bearing 40 on the first end which is the side with the crank axle and bearing 30 on the second end which is the side with threads 26. For a frame of reference, the first end/second end of the pedal axle are clearly defined in col.3, lines 24-28.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pedal body and bearings in Li, in accordance with the teaching/suggestion as provided by Hickernell in order to provide the same predictable result of allowing the pedal body to rotate about two different axes, simply put the pivot point for the multi-pivot or XY axes would simply be in the opposite location. Or rather as noted by Hickernell this would accommodate the cyclist anatomical preference for where the axis that allows the XY or multi pivot to be. It is further understood that it would be well within the level and creativity of one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pedal assembly in Li according to this concept and thus rearrange the disclosed structure accordingly.
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses a pedal comprising:
a pedal body member (10) having a shaft cavity (seen in fig.5);
a bearing (40) seated in an annular recess (annular recess seen in fig.5) in the pedal body member, the bearing being rotatable around a first axis and a second axis, the first axis being different than the second axis (as evident in fig.5, bearing 40 would have two axes) and
an axle (20) including a threaded end (crank side threads at 21) and a shaft (seen in fig.5), the shaft extending into the shaft cavity (evident from figures), the shaft mounted to the bearing and having a longitudinal axis coaxial with the second axis of the bearing (evident from figures), the pedal body member being rotatable in a first direction around the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft and in a second direction around the first axis of the bearing (evident from fig.5, the rotation capability is possible).
Li fails to explicitly disclose the reverse arrangement of the bearings or an alternate arrangement where the spherical bearing is mounted to the first end or crank end, specifically a bearing secured to the pedal body member adjacent the pedal crank side of the pedal body member.
Hickernell teaches and/or suggests the concept/technique of changing a pedal structure, such that a spherical bearing is mounted to a pedal crank side of a pedal body along with the other bearing being mounted to the opposite side. In other words, Hickernell teaches reversing the arrangement of the bearings and pedal structure accordingly (while not explicitly shown in the figures, the specification clearly describes from col.4, lines 66+ to col.5, lines 1-4: “In accordance with a seventh alternate embodiment of the pedal 70, a horizontal rotational axis 50 configured with a spherical rolling joint 40 mounted on the first end of the axle shaft 23 and a roller bearing 30 retained to the second end of the axle shaft 23, can accommodate a cyclist's anatomical preference for an XY-axis located on the first end of the axle shaft 23.” This specifically talks about an alternative embodiment wherein you would have bearing 40 on the first end which is the side with the crank axle and bearing 30 on the second end which is the side with threads 26. For a frame of reference, the first end/second end of the pedal axle are clearly defined in col.3, lines 24-28.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pedal body and bearings in Li, in accordance with the teaching/suggestion as provided by Hickernell in order to provide the same predictable result of allowing the pedal body to rotate about two different axes, simply put the pivot point for the multi-pivot or XY axes would simply be in the opposite location. Or rather as noted by Hickernell this would accommodate the cyclist anatomical preference for where the axis that allows the XY or multi pivot to be. It is further understood that it would be well within the level and creativity of one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pedal assembly in Li according to this concept and thus rearrange the disclosed structure accordingly.
Dependent claims-
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the combination discloses at least one distal bearing (fig.5 in Li, bearing 31, etc would be the bearing) rotatably mounted to the axle shaft at a location spaced apart from the pedal crank side of the pedal body member (based on the combination, this bearing would not be located at the opposite or far end of the pedal body member).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 18, Li discloses a forward spring (either spring 34 depending on frame of reference for forward/rear) supported by the pedal body member and positioned to impart a force to move the axle shaft toward a rear side of the pedal body member; and a rear spring (either spring 34 depending on frame of reference for forward/rear) supported by the pedal body member and positioned to impart a force to move the axle shaft toward a forward side of the pedal body member.
Regarding claim 4, 12, and 19, Li discloses a forward sleeve (seen in annotated fig.5) enclosing a portion of the forward spring, and a rear sleeve (seen in annotated fig.5) enclosing a portion of the rear spring.
Regarding claims 5, and 13, Li discloses a spherical bearing mount (41 reads on the spherical bearing mount) secured to the pedal body member, and the bearing is mounted within the spherical bearing mount (seen in figures; analogous to Applicants arrangement).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Li discloses the spherical bearing mount is at least partially mounted within a machined pocket in the pedal body member (would be mounted in the pocket visible in figures; the machined aspect is treated as product by process it doesn’t impart any differing structure).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Li discloses wherein the spherical bearing mount is disposed for pivotal movement around the central pivot axis to allow the axle shaft to move laterally within the shaft cavity (evident from figures).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Li discloses wherein the bearing is a self-aligning bearing (the bearing is capable of self-aligning and thus reads on it) seated in an annular recess (seen in figures) in the pedal body member.
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses wherein the first axis of the bearing is perpendicular to the second axis of the bearing (this is described in the rejection of claim 9; the axes would be perpendicular).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102 rejection relying on Hickernell, Applicants generally argue that there is no specific explanation or disclosure as to how the disclosed embodiment in Hickernell would be embodied. In light of the mechanical arts being highly predictable and thus considering the level of ordinary skill in the art. A Phosita would have no issue envisioning how this embodiment that is disclosed in Hickernell would be embodied. The core concept is that the bearing arrangement is reversed. One having ordinary skill in the art would have no difficulty in understanding how any modification that is needed to the shaft or bearings would be easily changed. In addition, it is important to note that the claims are broad and do not require any specific arrangement that would distinguish from the prior art.
Applicant’s further argue that it is not clear how the spherical bearing in the art would have a central pivot axis which is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft. A spherical bearing can pivot about a central pivot axis which is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the axle shaft and thus would have said axis as one of the potential axis for this type of bearing. One having ordinary skill in the art would understand how this is possible. In addition, the rotational aspect of this is shown in various of the figures in the prior art.
Regarding the 103 rejection, Applicants generally make two arguments. The first appears to be related to bodily incorporation of the concept taught by Hickernell into Li. In response to applicant's argument, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The mechanical arts are a highly predictable art and a person having ordinary skill in the art would have little difficulty in reversing the arrangement of the bearings and related structures disclosed in Li in accordance with the concept being taught in Hickernell. In fact these types of concepts go back as far as 1929 such as what is disclosed in DE 475362 C.
Applicant’s further argue that the combination would require a substantial reconstruction and redesign and change the basic principles under which the reference was designed to operate or rather that change the invention so as to not function for its intended purpose. This is not persuasive as simply reversing the arrangement of the bearings and structure would simply change the manner in which the pedal pivots and this concept is directly taught by Hickernell. Again, the bodily incorporation of this concept into Li, would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. It is noted that the claims are broad enough that even a Foldable pedal such as USP 1087258 may read on them as a 102. Something like this isn’t necessarily close to the intended invention so it wasn’t applied.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS C DIAZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617