DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD FOR SIMULTANEOUSLY DISPLAYING INFORMATION OF TWO PICTURES.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Greenberg (US 7,616,264) in view of Lee et al. (US PGPub 2018/0174555).
Regarding claim 1, Greenberg discloses a display method for a picture (column 1, lines 48-49, “an improved cropped and scaled PIP system and method”), comprising:
in a case of receiving a picture update command, reducing, by a timing control register, an original resolution to a (column 5, lines 34-36, “Similarly, the second image scaler 75 outputs a second image signal I2 that is a clipped and scaled video signal of the original video signal VS2”);
sending, by the timing control register, the (column 5, lines 32-34, “As shown in FIG. 4 the first image scaler 70 outputs a first image signal I1 that is a clipped and scaled video signal of the original video signal VS1” and column 6, lines 1-8, “FIG. 6 shows an embodiment of the invention. The first video image 10 is not clipped, but is scaled to become image 210”); and
receiving, by the timing control register, the first picture and the second picture, and splicing, by the timing control register, the first picture with the second picture into a picture with the original resolution to obtain a target picture (column 6, lines 1-8, “FIG. 6 shows an embodiment of the invention. The first video image 10 is not clipped, but is scaled to become image 210. The first video image 10 is scaled in such a way as to allow clipped second video image 50 to display adjacent to, not overlaying, the image 210. Therefore, the composite video image 230 does not include any image overlaying, thus avoiding an obscured image”), and sending, by the timing control register, the target picture to the screen for displaying (column 5, lines 57-58, “Consequently, the composite image signal CI is made available to the controller 150, which in turn outputs image data 132. Finally, the composite video image 30 may be displayed by the display device 160”).
While Greenberg discloses a method of displaying a composite video image which does not include any image overlaying and thus avoids an obscured image, by scaling the first video image by allowing a user to input a viewing preference (fig. 6, column 5, lines 32-48 and column 6, lines 1-7), it has been known to scale a video image to a preset resolution. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Lee discloses wherein the different resolution is a preset resolution ([0081], “the processor 120 may control the display 200 to display a main image at a preset image ratio. For example, the user may preset a ratio (e.g., 16:9, 4:3, or the like) of a displayed image, receive setting of a correlation between the display 200 and a content (e.g., fill the display 200, dispose the display 200 in a center, or the like), and control the display 200 to display the main image according to this preset state”).
In view of the teachings of Greenberg and Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the preset image ratio of Lee within the system of Greenberg where there are known advantages to having system automation and to user input as control, specifically automatic processes are typically more accurate and consistent.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Greenberg and Lee further discloses wherein reducing, by the timing control register, the original resolution to the preset resolution comprises any one of the following:
reducing, by the timing control register, a row resolution of the original resolution to obtain the preset resolution (Greenberg: fig. 6 and column 6, lines 1-7, where fig. 6 shows the first video image 10 is scaled to become image 210);
reducing, by the timing control register, a column resolution of the original resolution to obtain the preset resolution; and
reducing, by the timing control register, the row resolution and the column resolution of the original resolution to obtain the preset resolution.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Greenberg and Lee further discloses wherein splicing, by the timing control register, the first picture with the second picture into the picture with the original resolution to obtain the target picture comprises any one of the following:
in a case that the timing control register reduces the row resolution of the original resolution, splicing, by the timing control register, the first picture with the second picture at top and bottom to obtain the target picture (Greenberg: fig. 6 and column 6, lines 1-7, where fig. 6 shows the first video image 10 is scaled to become image 210 and the images 210 and 50 are shown adjacent to each other);
in a case that the timing control register reduces the column resolution of the original resolution, splicing, by the timing control register, the first picture with the second picture at left and right to obtain the target picture; and
in a case that the timing control register reduces the row resolution and the column resolution of the original resolution, splicing, by the timing control register, the first picture with the second picture in an embedded manner to obtain the target picture.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Greenberg and Lee further discloses wherein after sending, by the timing control register, the target picture to the screen for displaying, the display method further comprises:
in a case of receiving a command for exiting displaying the first picture, sending, by the timing control register the original resolution and an interruption signal to the display card, so that the display card outputs a picture with the original resolution to obtain a third picture, and sends the third picture to the timing control register, wherein the command for exiting displaying the first picture is a command for exiting the first picture; and sending, by the timing control register, the third picture to the screen for displaying (Greenberg: column 5, lines 32-46, “As shown in FIG. 4 the first image scaler 70 outputs a first image signal I1 that is a clipped and scaled video signal of the original video signal VS1. Similarly, the second image scaler 75 outputs a second image signal I2 that is a clipped and scaled video signal of the original video signal VS2. Both outputs I1 and I2 are available on a second bus 78 to be received by an image compositor 95, and optionally the buffer memory 80. An on-screen display circuit 90 may receive output from the buffer memory 80. The on-screen display circuit 90 may introduce a user menu onto the composite video image 30 that is displayed, allowing the user to input a viewing preference. Such menu items may be the relative image position of the two video signal displays, the relative scale of the two video signal displays, and the amount of clipping of each video signal display”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Greenberg and Lee further discloses wherein after sending, by the timing control register, the target picture to the screen for displaying, the display method further comprises:
in a case of receiving a updated first picture, updating, by the timing control register, the first picture in the target picture; and in a case of receiving a updated second picture, updating, by the timing control register, the second picture in the target picture (Greenberg: column 5, lines 49-58, “The image compositor 95 may also clip the video signals VS1 and VS2. In addition, the image compositor 95 may combine, or merge, the first image signal I1, the second image signal I2, and the on-screen display user menu into a composite image signal CI, using various techniques that are well known in the art which will not be discussed in detail. Consequently, the composite image signal CI is made available to the controller 150, which in turn outputs image data 132. Finally, the composite video image 30 may be displayed by the display device 160”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Greenberg and Lee further discloses wherein in the case of receiving the picture update command, before reducing, by the timing control register, the original resolution to the preset resolution, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the timing control register, a fourth picture sent by the display card, wherein the fourth picture is a last frame of a picture that is received by the timing control register before the timing control register reduces the original resolution to the preset resolution and is sent by the display card; and sending, by the timing control register, the fourth picture to the screen for displaying (Greenberg: column 4, lines 54-60, “The portion of the first video signal VS1 that is clipped may vary, e.g., from zero to one hundred percent. In other words, depending on user preference, the first video port 60 may not clip any part (zero percent clipping) of the first video signal VS1, subsequently outputting the entire first video signal VS1 as the first video signal portion VSP1”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Greenberg and Lee further discloses wherein in a case that the timing control register receives the first picture and the second picture, the display method further comprises:
receiving, by the timing control register, attribute information of the first picture sent by an embedded controller, wherein the attribute information at least comprises position information and color information of the first picture (Greenberg: column 5, lines 49-58, “The image compositor 95 may also clip the video signals VS1 and VS2. In addition, the image compositor 95 may combine, or merge, the first image signal I1, the second image signal I2, and the on-screen display user menu into a composite image signal CI, using various techniques that are well known in the art which will not be discussed in detail. Consequently, the composite image signal CI is made available to the controller 150, which in turn outputs image data 132. Finally, the composite video image 30 may be displayed by the display device 160”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Greenberg and Lee further discloses wherein the second picture is a picture output by the display card after the display card interrupts, in a case of receiving an interruption signal, a connection link with the timing control register and generates a new connection link according to the preset resolution, wherein the interruption signal is a signal for controlling the connection link between the timing control register and the display card to be interrupted (Greenberg: column 4, lines 61-67, “The second video port 65 removes, or clips, a part of the second video signal VS2, leaving a second video signal portion VSP2 that is subsequently output to the first bus 68. The portion of the second video signal VS2 that is clipped may vary, e.g., from zero to one hundred percent. In other words, depending on user preference, the second video port 65 may not clip any part (zero percent clipping) of the second video signal VS2, subsequently outputting the entire second video signal as the second video signal portion VSP2”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Greenberg and Lee discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises a program stored (Greenberg: column 6, lines 17-20, “Embodiments of the invention may include an article comprising a storage medium, the storage medium having stored instructions, that, when executed by a machine cause the machine to perform the method of the invention”); the program, when run, controls a device with the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the method of claim 1 and therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Greenberg and Lee discloses an electronic device (Greenberg: fig. 3, display system 100), comprising: one or more processors (Greenberg: column 4, lines 26-29, “the controller 150 may be a dedicated processor system that includes a microcontroller or a microprocessor to implement video compiler 200 as a software program or algorithm”), a memory (Greenberg: column 4, line 30, Read-only and random access memories 140 and 142), and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory, and are configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Greenberg: column 4, lines 20-24, “The controller 150 includes a video compiler 200 for cropping, scaling, and finally merging the received video signals 109 and 209. The video compiler 200 provides image data 132 to the display device 160”); and the one or more programs are configured to perform the method of claim 1 and therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claims 12-18 are device claims drawn to the method of claims 2-8 respectively and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Claims 19-21 are non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims drawn to the method of claims 2-4 and are therefore interpreted and rejected based on similar reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US PGPub 2017/0237931) discloses “If an instruction for selecting the left screen option 623b through the pointer 205 is received, the control unit 170, as shown in FIG. 7C, can display the game image 670 provided from a game console on the left screen of the display unit 180 and display the image 500 of the currently-displayed media content on the right screen” ([0133]).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629