Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (U.S Pub 2013/0283968) (“Smith”).
Regarding Claim 1, Smith discloses a drive system for stroking a sucker rod (Figure #14 – a counterbalance drive system used for oil well pumping units, [0002], [0049], [0061]), the drive system comprising:
a support base #1216 (Figures 12-14, paragraphs [0061]-[0062]);
a walking beam #1201 (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0062]);
a linear actuator #1210 having a lower end and an upper end (Figure 14), the linear actuator being adapted to expand and retract in length (paragraph [0013] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses that “the pitman arms (actuator 1210 is a pitman arm) from the walking beam after the device is installed as described above; a hydraulic, electric or magnetic linear actuator.”;
an upper bearing (Fig 14, the coupling between actuator 1210 and walking beam #1201) coupling the upper end of the linear actuator #1210 to the walking beam #1201, such that the actuator #1210 can pivot with respect to the walking beam #1201 as the linear actuator expands and retracts in length (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]); and
a lower bearing (Fig 14, the coupling between actuator #1210 and crank arms #1207) coupling the lower end of the linear actuator #1210 to the support base #1216, such that the linear actuator #1210 can pivot with respect to the support base as the linear actuator #1210 expands and retracts in length (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding Claim 2, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 1 further comprising an electric motor #1206 coupled to the lower end of the linear actuator #1210 (Figure 14, Page 6, paragraph [0061] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a motor receiving area #1206 that is installed to drive the crank arms #1207).
Regarding Claim 3, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 2 wherein the support base #1216 comprises an internal open space and wherein at least part of the electric motor #1206 extends into the internal open space, such that such part of the electric motor can move within the open space as the linear actuator #1210 pivots (respective pitman arm #1210 is pivotally connected to at one end to a respective crank arm #1207, [0061])) with respect to the support base (Figure 14, Page 6, paragraph [0061] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a motor receiving area #1206 that is installed to drive the crank arms #1207).
Regarding Claim 4, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 3 wherein the lower bearing comprises first and second lower bearing assemblies (Page 6, paragraphs [0062] and [0063]), each bearing assembly defining a pivot point about which the linear actuator can pivot with respect to the support base (Figures 12-14, first pivot connection #1226 connected to the respective counterbalance weight #1220 that comprises a second pivot connection #1227).
Regarding Claim 5, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 4 wherein each of the first and second lower bearing assemblies (Page 6, paragraphs [0062] and [0063]) takes the form of a graphite impregnated bronze bushing (Figures 12-14, first pivot connection #1226 connected to the respective counterbalance weight #1220 that comprises a second pivot connection #1227).
Regarding Claim 6, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 4 wherein at least part of the electric motor #1206 extends above the pivot point and at least part of the electric motor extends below the pivot point (Figure 14, Page 6, paragraph [0061] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a motor receiving area #1206 that is installed to drive the crank arms #1207).
Regarding Claim 7, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 1 wherein the upper bearing (Fig 14, the coupling between actuator 1210 and walking beam #1201) couples the linear actuator #1210 to the walking beam #1201 via a bearing saddle coupled to the walking beam (Figure 14, paragraph [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (U.S Pub 2013/0283968) (“Smith”) in view of Michalec et al (U.S Patent 11,168,550).
Regarding Claim 8, Smith discloses a drive system for stroking a sucker rod coupled to a sucker rod pump #1200 (Figure #14 – a counterbalance drive system used for oil well pumping units, [0002], [0049], [0061]), the drive system comprising:
a support base #1216 (Figures 12-14, paragraphs [0061]-[0062]);
a horse head #1203 coupled to the first end of the walking beam #1201 (paragraph [0061]);
a linear actuator #1210 having a lower end and an upper end (Figure 14), the linear actuator being adapted to expand and retract in length (paragraph [0013] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses that “the pitman arms (actuator 1210 is a pitman arm) from the walking beam after the device is installed as described above; a hydraulic, electric or magnetic linear actuator.” The substitution of the linear actuator from paragraph [0013] for the actuator shown in Figure 14 should be straightforward as it is already suggested in the reference);
an upper bearing (Fig 14, the coupling between actuator 1210 and walking beam #1201) coupling the upper end of the linear actuator #1210 to the walking beam #1201, such that the actuator #1210 can pivot with respect to the walking beam #1201 as the linear actuator expands and retracts in length (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]); and
a lower bearing (Fig 14, the coupling between actuator #1210 and crank arms #1207) coupling the lower end of the linear actuator #1210 to the support base #1216, such that the linear actuator #1210 can pivot with respect to the support base as the linear actuator #1210 expands and retracts in length (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Smith, however, fails to expressly disclose a Samson post assembly extending upwardly from the support base a walking beam having a first end and a second end, and a pivot bearing coupling the second end of the walking beam to the Samson post assembly, such that the walking beam assembly can pivot with respect to the Samson post assembly as the linear actuator expands and retracts in length.
Michalec teaches the drive system comprising a Samson post assembly #118 extending upwardly from the support base #116 a walking beam having a first end and a second end (Abstract; Fig 1, Col 2, lines 54-67 and Col 3, lines 1-20), and a pivot bearing coupling the second end of the walking beam to the Samson post assembly (crank arms #110 are pivotally connected to a pitman arm #124 by a bearing assembly #126), such that the walking beam assembly #120 can pivot with respect to the Samson post assembly as the linear actuator expands and retracts in length (Abstract; Figure 1, Col 3, lines 1-20) for the purpose of allowing the Samson post to act as a fulcrum that pivotally supports the walking beam via a center bearing assembly in order to provide an improved downhole reciprocating pumping system (Col 1, lines 13-15; Col 3, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Smith to incorporate a Samson post assembly extending upwardly from the support base a walking beam having a first end and a second end, as taught by Michalec, because doing so would allow the Samson post to act as a fulcrum that pivotally supports the walking beam via a center bearing assembly in order to provide an improved downhole reciprocating pumping system.
Regarding Claim 9, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 1 wherein the walking beam assembly has a generally "T" shape (Figures 12-14).
Regarding Claim 10, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 1 further comprising a first hard stop, wherein the first hard stop acts as a barrier #1225 limiting the ability of the linear actuator to pivot (Figures 12-16), relative to the support base, in a first direction (Page 6, paragraph [0063] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a stabilizer device that stabilizes the counterbalance weights from lateral motion. Each stabilizer device #1225 includes at least a first pivot connection and a second pivot connection; each stabilizer device includes a first arm portion #1230 and a second arm portion #1231).
Regarding Claim 11, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 3 further comprising a second hard stop #1225, wherein the second hard stop acts as a barrier limiting the ability of the linear actuator to pivot, relative to the support base, in a second direction (each stabilizer device #1225 includes at least a first pivot connection and a second pivot connection; each stabilizer device includes a first arm portion #1230 and a second arm portion #1231), and wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (Page 6, paragraph [0063] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a stabilizer device that stabilizes the counterbalance weights from lateral motion).
Regarding Claim 12, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 4 wherein the first hard stop #1225 is a cross member positioned in a fixed relationship to the support base (Page 6, paragraph [0063] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a stabilizer device that stabilizes the counterbalance weights from lateral motion. Each stabilizer device #1225 includes at least a first pivot connection and a second pivot connection; each stabilizer device includes a first arm portion #1230 and a second arm portion #1231).
Regarding Claim 13, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 5 wherein the second hard stop #1225 comprises a linkage having a first linkage end and a second linkage end (Page 6, paragraph [0063]), wherein the first linkage end is pivotably coupled to the cross member and wherein the second linkage end is pivotable coupled to the linear actuator at a point between the upper end of the linear actuator and the lower end of the linear actuator (each stabilizer device #1225 includes at least a first pivot connection and a second pivot connection; each stabilizer device includes a first arm portion #1230 and a second arm portion #1231).
Regarding Claim 14, Michalec teaches the drive system of claim 13 further comprising first and second Samson post #118 braces extending from the Samson post assembly, wherein the cross member is positioned between the first and second Samson post braces (Abstract; Fig 1, Col 2, lines 54-67 and Col 3, lines 1-20; crank arms #110 are pivotally connected to a pitman arm #124 by a bearing assembly #126).
Regarding Claim 15, Smith discloses a drive system for stroking a sucker rod coupled to a sucker rod pump #1200 (Figure #14 – a counterbalance drive system used for oil well pumping units, [0002], [0049], [0061]), the drive system comprising:
a walking beam #1201 having a longitudinal length, a first end, and a second end (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0062]);
a horse head #1203 coupled to the first end of the walking beam #1201 (paragraph [0061]);
a support base #1216, the support base comprising a first horizontal section extending in a direction substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal length of the walking beam and a second horizontal section extending substantially parallel to the first horizontal section (Figures 12-14, paragraphs [0061]-[0062]);
a walking beam #1201 bearing assembly coupled to the second end of the walking beam #1201 (Fig 12-14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]);
a pneumatically balanced linear actuator #1210 having a lower end and an upper end (Figure 14), the linear actuator being adapted to expand and retract in length and positioned, in a first direction, between the first and second horizontal sections of the support base and, in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, between the first and second support braces (paragraph [0013] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses that “the pitman arms (actuator 1210 is a pitman arm) from the walking beam after the device is installed as described above; a hydraulic, electric or magnetic linear actuator.” The substitution of the linear actuator from paragraph [0013] for the actuator shown in Figure 14 should be straightforward as it is already suggested in the reference);
wherein the upper end of the linear actuator #1210 is coupled to the walking beam #1210 via an upper actuator bearing (Fig 14, the coupling between actuator 1210 and walking beam #1201), such that the actuator #1210 can pivot with respect to the walking beam assembly as the linear actuator expands and retracts in length (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]); and
wherein the lower end of the linear actuator #1210 is coupled to the support base #1216 via a lower actuator bearing (Fig 14, the coupling between actuator #1210 and crank arms #1207), such that the linear actuator #1210 can pivot with respect to the support base as the linear actuator expands and contracts in length (Figure 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Smith, however, fails to expressly disclose wherein the drive system comprises first and second support posts, each extending vertically from the second horizontal section of the support base and coupled to the walking beam bearing assembly, such that the walking beam can pivot with respect to the first and second support posts; and first and second support braces, each such support brace extending from one of the first or second support posts to the support base.
Michalec teaches the drive system comprising first and second support posts (a Samson post assembly #118), each extending vertically from the second horizontal section of the support base #116 and coupled to the walking beam bearing assembly (Abstract; Fig 1, Col 2, lines 54-67 and Col 3, lines 1-20), such that the walking beam can pivot with respect to the first and second support posts (Abstract; Figure 1, Col 3, lines 1-20); and first and second support braces, each such support brace extending from one of the first or second support posts to the support base (crank arms #110 are pivotally connected to a pitman arm #124 by a bearing assembly #126) for the purpose of allowing the Samson post to act as a fulcrum that pivotally supports the walking beam via a center bearing assembly in order to provide an improved downhole reciprocating pumping system (Col 1, lines 13-15; Col 3, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Smith to incorporate first and second support posts, each extending vertically from the second horizontal section of the support base and coupled to the walking beam bearing assembly, as taught by Michalec, because doing so would allow the Samson post to act as a fulcrum that pivotally supports the walking beam via a center bearing assembly in order to provide an improved downhole reciprocating pumping system.
Regarding Claim 16, Smith in view of Michalec teach the drive system of clam 15 wherein the first and second support braces are coupled to the first horizontal section of the support base (crank arms #110 are pivotally connected to a pitman arm #124 by a bearing assembly #126) and the lower actuator bearing is located closer to the first horizontal section of the support base than to the second horizontal section of the support base (Abstract; Fig 1, Col 2, lines 54-67 and Col 3, lines 1-20).
Regarding Claim 17, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 15 further wherein the support base #1216 further comprises: (i) a third horizontal section extending in a direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal length of the walking beam #1201 and between the first and second horizontal sections of the support base (Fig 14, paragraphs [0061]-[0062]) and (ii) a fourth horizontal section extending in a direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal length of the walking beam #1201 and between the first and second horizontal sections of the support base #1216 and wherein the first, second, and third horizontal sections of the support base define an interior square region (Fig 12-14, paragraphs [0061]-[0063]).
Regarding Claim 18, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 17 wherein the interior square region defines (Fig 14), at least in part, an interior open space and wherein at least a portion of the pneumatically balanced linear actuator #1210 is positioned above the interior open space (Fig 12-14, paragraphs [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding Claim 19, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 18 further comprising a compressor coupled to provide compressed air to the pneumatically balanced linear actuator #1210 and wherein the compressor is positioned outside the interior square region (Page 6, paragraphs [0062]-[0063] [Wingdings font/0xE0] Smith discloses a suspension element #1219 supporting the counterbalance weight #1220 to match the weight on the bridle #1205).
Regarding Claim 20, Smith discloses the drive system of claim 18 wherein the first and second support braces extend from the first horizontal section of the support base (Abstract; Fig 1, Col 2, lines 54-67 and Col 3, lines 1-20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Watson (U.S Patent 6,173,768) – discloses an oil well pumping operation including a sucker rod pump #52 disposed within a tubing string #42 within a casing #34 of a wellbore #32 wherein the sucker rod pump is releasably attached to a sucker rod at one end and a side intake valve is disposed within the tubing string at a position down-hole from the sucker rod pump (Abstract; Figure 1A and 1B; Col 3, lines 42-67; Col 4, lines 22-40).
Singal et al (U.S Patent 10,900,481) – discloses a controller for operating a mover of a rod pumping unit that comprises of a processor operating a first stroke and a second stroke; the controller is also utilized to compute a first motor torque imbalance of the rod pumping unit (Abstract; Figures 1-2; Col 4, lines 13-45).
Leniek, SR (U.S Pub 2003/0037929) – discloses a dual displacement pumping system comprising a subsurface pump, a tubing string, and a surface pumping unit that includes a pump barrel mounted to the end of the tubing string and a plunger mounted to the end of a reciprocating member (Abstract; Page 1, paragraph [0011]).
/ASHISH K VARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3674
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674