DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA on 05/08/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Chinese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unidirectional prediction module configured to” and “determining module configured to” in claims 6-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laroche et al. (US 20140241436 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Laroche et al. teaches a computer device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program that is stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to implement operations (Paragraphs 91-92) comprising:
when an inter prediction of a current coding unit is performed (Paragraph 7), obtaining a first rate- distortion cost in a skip mode and a second rate-distortion cost in a merge mode, and determining a current best rate-distortion cost based on the first rate-distortion cost and the second rate-distortion cost (Paragraphs 160-184; clearly teaches comparing rate distortion in both merge and skip modes, and deciding best candidate); and
performing a unidirectional prediction in two directions sequentially, and traversing several neighboring reference frames in time domain sequentially when a unidirectional prediction in one direction is performed, wherein the following steps are performed during each reference frame traversal (Paragraphs 17-20):
constructing a prediction motion vector list, and determining an actual motion vector and a motion vector difference of a current reference frame by searching the prediction motion vector list, wherein the motion vector difference is a difference between a prediction motion vector and the actual motion vector (Paragraphs 10-13; Paragraphs 16-20; Paragraph 39; Paragraph 71; Paragraph 128);
determining a minimum rate-distortion cost of the current reference frame, and determining a quantity of bits required for coding the motion vector difference (Paragraph 26; Paragraphs 32-36; Paragraph 152; Paragraphs 160-184); and
terminating traversal of the reference frame and performing a unidirectional prediction in a next direction or ending the unidirectional prediction when a traversal of the current reference frame is completed and the minimum rate-distortion cost and the quantity of bits meet a preset condition (Paragraph 26; Paragraphs 32-40; Paragraph 78; Paragraph 152; Paragraphs 160-184; Paragraph 200).
Regarding Claim 12, Laroche et al. teaches the computer device according to claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: proceeding to a traversal of a next reference frame when the traversal of the current reference frame is completed and the minimum rate-distortion cost and the quantity of bits do not meet the preset condition (Paragraph 26; Paragraphs 32-40; Paragraphs 52-68; Paragraph 152; Paragraphs 160-184).
Regarding Claim 13, Laroche et al. teaches the computer device according to claim 12, wherein the preset condition comprises: the minimum rate-distortion cost is greater than N times the current best rate-distortion cost, and the current best rate-distortion cost is greater than M times a product of the quantity of bits and a Lagrange multiplier used by the current coding unit, wherein N and M are greater than 1 (Paragraph 26; Paragraphs 32-40; Paragraphs 51-68; Paragraph 152; Paragraphs 159-184).
Regarding Claim 14, Laroche et al. teaches the computer device according to claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a motion complexity of the current coding unit; and determining a value of N based on the motion complexity (Paragraph 78; Paragraphs 160-184; Paragraph 200).
Regarding Claim 15, Laroche et al. teaches the computer device according to claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a prediction residual of the current coding unit when a rate-distortion cost is calculated; and calculating the rate-distortion cost based on the prediction residual, the quantity of bits, and a Lagrange multiplier of the current coding unit (Paragraph 26; Paragraphs 32-40; Paragraphs 51-68; Paragraph 71; Paragraph 125-128; Paragraph 152; Paragraphs 159-184).
Regarding Claims 1-5, these claims are drawn to the method of using corresponding apparatus claimed in claims 11-15, and are rejected for the same reasons as above.
Apparatus claims 6-10 contain similar limitations to those of computer system claims 11-15 and are rejected for the same reasons as used above.
Non-Transitory Computer Readable Medium claims 16-20 are drawn to storing a computer program which causes a processor to perform the method of claims 1-5 and are rejected as above. Laroche et al. further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform the reference frame processing method (Paragraphs 91-92).
Conclusion
/FARHAN MAHMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483