Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-27 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claims 25 and 27, “the table accessory” lacks antecedent basis, since it hasn’t been positively claimed previously. Note: the accessory is part of intended use statements previously. For claim 38, it is unclear whether or not the “ a plurality of legs” are the plurality of legs claimed previously in claim 36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arey et al (1,803,830). Arey teaches a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a table top (1) defining a side surface (rectangular frame 1); a leg (2) configured to support the table top with respect to a support surface (the floor); and a plurality of retention posts (a; see annotated figure below) protruding from the side surface of the table top (via 4), each retention post of the plurality of retention posts configured to detachably engage a table accessory. Wherein each retention post of the plurality of retention posts are separated by a space (5) from an adjacent retention post, the space defining a slot configured to retain the table accessory. Wherein: a retention post of the plurality of retention posts defines a cap (b) at an end of the retention post opposite a side surface of the table top; and a diameter of the cap is larger than a width of the slot. Wherein: the table system comprises the table accessory (5); and the table accessory is a cup holder.
Claims 28-31, 33, 34, and 36-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morgan (2,818,261). Morgan teaches a table system (Fig. 1) comprising: a table support (a; see annotated figure below) configured to rest on a ground surface; and a main portion (23) coupled to the table support, the main portion defining: a top surface (d); and a retention feature (21) recessed from the top surface, the retention feature formed along a periphery of the main portion and defining a continuous slot (22) along at least a portion of a side of the table, the retention feature configured to accept a table accessory (cards) inserted downwards into the retention feature. Wherein: the continuous slot extends parallel to a side surface of the main portion; the table system further comprises the table accessory (cards);the table accessory comprises a retainer end (bottom of cards) configured to fit into the slot; and the slot is accessible to the retainer end of the table accessory at least via a first opening from a top surface. Wherein the retainer end of the table accessory is configured to slide within the slot such that the table accessory is positionable at different locations along the slot. Wherein: the retention feature further defines an internal ledge (b) within the slot; and a portion of the retainer end overlaps with the internal ledge thereby preventing a rotation the table accessory. Wherein: the retention feature is a first retention feature formed adjacent to a first side surface of the main portion and spanning an entire length of the first side surface; and the main portion further comprises a second retention feature (21) perpendicular to the first retention feature, the second retention feature formed adjacent to a second side surface of the main portion and spanning an entire length of the second side surface (Fig. 1). Wherein the table support comprises: a plurality of legs; and a leg retention system (c) configured to articulate each leg of the plurality of legs with respect to the main portion.
Morgan further teaches a table (Fig. 1) comprising: a plurality of legs (a); and a table top (23) supported by the plurality of legs, the table top defining: a top surface (d); a side surface (e); and a retention slot (22) positioned at a distance from the side surface, the retention slot defining an undercut with respect to the top surface, the retention slot configured to slidably retain a table accessory (cards). Wherein: the retention slot defines: a first end of a recess (f); a ledge (g) opposite the first end of the recess; and a diagonal surface (h); the ledge and the diagonal surfaces are configured to support the table accessory; and the diagonal surface is configured to guide the table accessory into the retention slot. Wherein the table further comprises: a plurality of legs (a); and a leg retention system (c) configured to articulate each leg of the plurality of legs with respect to the table top. Wherein: the retention slot (22) is one of a plurality of retention slots; and each retention slot of the plurality of retention slots is positioned along a respective side of the table (Fig. 1).
Claims 28, 29, 31, 32, 36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Green (2,879,896). Green teaches a table system (Fig. 1) comprising: a table support (12) configured to rest on a ground surface (via 24); and a main portion (20) coupled to the table support, the main portion defining: a top surface (a; see annotated figure below); and a retention feature (b) recessed from the top surface, the retention feature formed along a periphery of the main portion and defining a continuous slot (c) along at least a portion of a side of the table, the retention feature configured to accept a table accessory (14) inserted downwards into the retention feature (Fig. 3). Wherein: the continuous slot extends parallel to a side surface of the main portion; the table system further comprises the table accessory (14); the table accessory comprises a retainer end (42) configured to fit into the slot; and the slot is accessible to the retainer end of the table accessory at least via a first opening (d) from a top surface. Wherein: the retention feature further defines an internal ledge (26c) within the slot; and a portion of the retainer end overlaps with the internal ledge thereby preventing a rotation the table accessory. Wherein the slot is further accessible to the retainer end of the table accessory via a second opening (e) formed along the side surface of the main portion.
Green further teaches a table (Fig. 1) comprising: a plurality of legs (24); and a table top (20) supported by the plurality of legs, the table top defining: a top surface (a); a side surface (f); and a retention slot (c) positioned at a distance from the side surface, the retention slot defining an undercut with respect to the top surface, the retention slot configured to slidably retain a table accessory (such as a card or paper within slot). Wherein the retention slot is configured to retain a retention end (42) of a table accessory (14) having a spherical shape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 25 and 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilkens
October 21, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637